View Full Version : Best braid for barra
10-03-2008, 03:35 PM
I just bought a abu 5600 c4 and an 4-8kg ugly stick at the k-mart 30% off sale.
I intend using it for flicking lures and maybe some trolling in the creeks and around hinchinbrook for barra ,jacks etc.
What would be a suitable poundage and brand of braid for this setup?
steve99
10-03-2008, 03:49 PM
I intend using it for flicking lures and maybe some trolling in the creeks and around hinchinbrook for barra ,jacks etc.
Forget about using braid when trolling for barra. Stick with mono.
Steve99
BARRAkid
10-03-2008, 05:54 PM
30lb bionic would be ok
Scott ..... Whatever braid you buy ( try to avoid the thermally fused braids) These braids break down quicker & have lower abrasion resistence ( in general) .
Go for something like superbraid in 20lb ..... or if you wish to pay a bit more for quality ... go Nitlon or Daiwa TD Sensor
fish_on
11-03-2008, 03:01 PM
20lb nitlon braid about 50lb leader. should cover you up there mate. you wont find nitlon at k mart
Southwind_UB19
11-03-2008, 03:16 PM
I have used 30lb bionic and am currently using 50lb finns, which is overkill but I like to be able to pull lures off snags without breaking. Both braids are good but I preferred the bionic, maybe because it was lighter.
Nick
11-03-2008, 08:53 PM
Forget about using braid when trolling for barra. Stick with mono.
Steve99
Hi Steve,
I have a little charter special and an old olympic dolphin both loaded with mono I can use for trolling anyway.
Just interested in why I shouldn't use the braid for trolling?
11-03-2008, 08:58 PM
Thanks guys, looks like 30lb Bionic and nitlon sound popular...
I'll have a look at the local tackle shop tomorrow...... though they carry a pretty limited range.http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/../yabbfiles/Templates/Forum/default/sad.gif
steve99
11-03-2008, 09:46 PM
Hi Steve,
I have a little charter special and an old olympic dolphin both loaded with mono I can use for trolling anyway.
Just interested in why I shouldn't use the braid for trolling?
Bottom fishing in deep water is the only time I'd consider using braid. It certainly has an advantage over mono in that situation.
However, trolling for barra is completely different. A marginally hooked barra is more likely to throw the hooks when jumping because braid offers no resistance agianst shock.
The true believers say, use a few metres of mono leader - I say rubbish
People only use braid today because its fashionable and tackle companies have done a good job marketing the stuff
Steve99
12-03-2008, 06:46 AM
My main reason for wanting the braid is that I want to use a line with 20-30lb breaking strain but to use mono would mean that there would be bugger all on the spool as the reels capacity is 205 yards of 12 lb.
BTW I only currently use braid in deep water situation.
Splash
12-03-2008, 10:18 AM
Scott ..... Whatever braid you buy ( try to avoid the thermally fused braids) These braids break down quicker & have lower abrasion resistence ( in general) .
Go for something like superbraid in 20lb ..... or if you wish to pay a bit more for quality ... go Nitlon or Daiwa TD Sensor
NAGG - What are some of these brands that are thermally fused?
Is Bionic Braid thermally fused?
Spalsh
Splash
12-03-2008, 10:21 AM
I have used 30lb bionic and am currently using 50lb finns, which is overkill but I like to be able to pull lures off snags without breaking. Both braids are good but I preferred the bionic, maybe because it was lighter.
Nick
Southwind - do u think youre lure action is not compromised when usign braid fro trolling/flicking?
Have you lost fish due to minimal elasticity in braid (even when usign a mono leader)?
SPlash
12-03-2008, 11:33 AM
I only use braid an all my rigs, mainly because I can get mor on the spool, as other advantages are few and far between, very low shock absorbtion, low abrasion resistance to name a couple. But the extra line capacity sells me and the extra sensitlvity when using baits, (not to mention ll the pretty colours).
Finns PRT is a new favourite of mine. I also use superbraid and fireline.
Splash
12-03-2008, 11:48 AM
Scott - do u get better lure action when trolling with braid?
chewy01
12-03-2008, 04:34 PM
Mate,
stick with braid,whichever you use you will br happy with. i use fireline and have no problems though some have.One of the main advantages with briad for trolling for barra is the feel(sensitivity) right through to the lure. Though i dont troll much for impoundment barra i get plenty of saltys trolling and while some just inhale the lure quite often they wiil miss resulting in a lure momentarily becoming stationary(it sort of gets pushed forward.)If you feel this thru the braid and drop the lure back then jig it you will hook up 75% of the time. you will not feel this sensation through mono. I used to fish mono exclusively but definately hook more barra with braid. this is just my opinion but i have caught a couple. Also the braid results in A more positive hookset in my opinion.Yes braid may result in more straightened hooks?? but if you arent hooking them in the first place i guess its not a worry. Ps i only use 20 lb.Hope this has helped...
chewy....
Splash
12-03-2008, 05:58 PM
Thansk Chewy.
Always great to obtain different poitns of view and I must say I am suprised to learn of people trolling with braid - so it must be not al lthat bad..
Splash
12-03-2008, 09:07 PM
Scott - do u get better lure action when trolling with braid?
No idea, though I do use a rod length of leader and snaps (for ease of changing) I would imagine any benefit (if any) in lure action from using braid would be eaten up and then some from using a snap, but still manage to get fish so I've never had a problem. Most of my trolling has been done with the rod with fireline and it has performed very well for me.
I should mention the not ALL my rigs have braid, I do have a 24kg setup used for both bottom bashing and trolling that has 50lb Platypus pretest mono. Though i haven't done much trolling with this, I haven't raised a fish doing so.
reggy
13-03-2008, 10:38 AM
Watch your rod tip when trolling with braid. You will see every pulse of that lure(talking bibbed lures)
When the pulse stops, you will know you have a piece of weed or something has hit the lure and it is not tracking correctly.
Watch your rod tip when trolling with mono and your rod is lifeless. This is because the stretch in the mono has taken all the action out of the lure.
If you get weed on the front of it now, you could travel a long way thinking everything is ok.:-/
Splash
13-03-2008, 04:44 PM
would a Tcurve Medium (10-15kg) rod be too flexible at tip to distinguish this lure action at tip?
13-03-2008, 05:03 PM
Dont get confused here splash.
I'm enquiring about inshore trolling for barra in the bays and creeks.(because I have not done it before)
Trolling for macky's using big laser pro 190's etc there is no problem seeing the pulsing rod tips on 10-15kg rods using mono.No prob's at all and yes reggy is correct you will notice this stop when fouled with crap though even with mono.
13-03-2008, 05:16 PM
Splash.
For pelagic trolling try both,if you like,and see what you prefer.
In the photo below of a solo reef trip I bagged out about lunchtime last year.
Nanny's all on braid.
Spanish and shark Mackeral all trolled up on mono.(Every one hooked I landed)
The trip a week or so before was identical except for one less shark mackeral and was funny because i took my old man out for only his second ever reef trip and he failed to hook a fish though I bagged out on nanny's and spanish.http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/../yabbfiles/Templates/Forum/default/undecided.gif
For trolling Mono's a bit more forgiving for a rough fisho like mehttp://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/../yabbfiles/Templates/Forum/default/wink.gifhttp://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/../yabbfiles/Templates/Forum/default/grin.gif.
chewy01
13-03-2008, 07:58 PM
Scott, if your just chasing jacks and barra in the creeks you will only need a topshot(125yds) braid on top of your mono backing.thaat way you only need to fork out for a shorter amount.
13-03-2008, 08:46 PM
Reggy, there's no need for me to watch the rod tip. when I troll for barra, its done at a very slow speed (engine just clicked in gear) and give the rod sudden jerks (much like when casting, but bigger, longer jerks) to help the lure catch up with the boat and suspend for a brief period. I find that most hits will occur when the lure has stopped 'working' and is just sitting relatively motionless, the sudden jerks I spose help to imitate a injured of skiddish baitfish and also make a bit of racket to get the attention of any predators around. But yes I do feel the lure working quite well through the rod.
most of my barra trolling isn't done in creeks, but in real close to rockwalls of the marinas and port, so close sometimes I barely miss rock just below the surface. I like the extra line capacity as every now and again, a decent GT will jump on and with only 20 or 30lb braid some of these fish go off like the clappers.
13-03-2008, 08:55 PM
Chewy,good idea. A topshot sounds like the go.
Scott nthQld,do you try different speeds or always just idle along and in the creeks are you trying to get as close to the banks or mangroves as you can or it's not that important?
reggy
14-03-2008, 06:58 AM
have a look at 15kg nitlon
14-03-2008, 09:18 AM
I mainly troll the rockwalls around Townsville, but yeah just idling along and as close in as you can get. Some times when the fish are hard to find try doing laps of the same stretch, just working your way out little by little on each lap, find this works on low tide on a hot day when the fish might be in some deeper, cooler water, Also has the benefit of finding any rocky bars, structure or deepholes in the middle of the creek that you might want to drop a bait onto later.
I like to use a lure that will dig up to bottom everry now and then, just to stir things up, many swear by using flatz rats and deep tilsans. I've had most success at night using a bomber lure in the bright green/yellow colour, every time I have used that lure while trolling at night, I have picked up at least 1 fish
levinge
14-03-2008, 10:18 PM
Hey Scott, I mainly use Berkley Gorilla Braid, hard to get in OZ but I regularly find it in the USA. I use the Camo stuff 35lb and 50lb. Seems a little excessive but no matter where I fish, rockwall, reef, shoals or trolling, I find it can handle big stuff like spaniards etc and still be sensitive enough to feel Bream and Grunter.
THis braid has got my young fella 2 club records in his time fishing with it.
Splash
14-03-2008, 11:13 PM
best luink for Berklry Gorilla Braid?
Why have you chosen this brand over others (like Bionic Braid)?
SPlash
PNG1M
15-03-2008, 12:12 AM
My vote would be YGK Jig Man Ultra x8 Dyneema 44lb (although there is a cheaper x4 strand YGK Power Hunter version).
You can get the lines lighter than 44lb if you want - or heavier.
I order them online from Japan Tackle.
They are colour coded every five metres so handy when trolling to know exactly how much line is out. And if jigging a deep hole you can tell how deep the hole is.
With mine I use Seaguar 50lb fleuro leader. I've caught plenty of black bass and barra when fishing in PNG and currently I wouldn't even bother trying any other line. Works for me.....!
Splash
15-03-2008, 03:34 AM
png - why have u chosen ygk over bionic braid?
Splash
15-03-2008, 04:15 AM
PNG - largest spool of YGK Jig Man Ultra x8 Dyneema 44lb available?
How would thi sline go for trolling (large pelagics) and what is diameter?
Splash
Splash
15-03-2008, 09:23 AM
thougths anyone?
15-03-2008, 12:28 PM
Alright I think I'll go with either bionic or fins.
Either will cost around $30 for 150 m.
This will get me started.
Some of the other brands like jigman sound great but realistically do I need to spend more on line than the reel just to catch barra?
I'll just use my little overheads with mono for trolling.
Thanks for the help.Cant wait for the floods to recede and try and catch a barra.
PNG,mate that's a ripper you have there.
levinge
15-03-2008, 12:39 PM
Splash, I use Gorilla Braid for a number of reasons.
It lays across the water almost like fly line
great visibility of the line when casting
light through the air and able to achieve very good accuracy when casting
Tough enough to tackle big queenies, Spaniards, Big Barra (best yet 116cm on 30lb Gorilla)
Easy to do knots with, doesn't slip like some other brands
Extremely durable, have had the same braid on 2 of my reels for over 6 years now, with very little sign of deterioration.
I hunt high and low for this stuff and when I get the chance I grab hold of it.
Drooos
15-03-2008, 01:02 PM
Hi mate, i use 20-30lb fire line on all my gear, over heads flicking and trolling and egg beaters for bottom bouncing.
Tie it off with a doule uni knot to my 50lb 10X leader of about 3ft and a quick release clip at the end of that for fast lure changes and i have never lost a fish due to line breaks, bites or knots.
I almost got pulled overboard in the HIncinbrook onc day, though i was snaged tightend the drag right up then it just took off only had my legs still in the boat when the hooks pulled that was 20lb.
Becareful with you knots too some briads work with some knots when others wont i found that out thru trial and error hense why i now only use fireline i know my knots work well with it.
The lighter the line the more drag and a lighter touch.
tailorboi99
15-03-2008, 03:59 PM
I'd use mono for Barra's as they'll take you into the sticks alot and rub through braid easily. Use 15-15lb mono
Cheers Tom
PNG1M
16-03-2008, 12:45 AM
YGK over Bionic...to tell yu the truth don't know as I haven't tested out bionic yet.
Before discovering the YGK Jig Man Dyneema I must have tried at least six other types but just didn't like the characteristics. I find the Jig Man easy to cast; it's nice & smooth (quite tubular) and supple with very low memory. It works fine on the troll, is easy to tie leaders on to and I've caught plenty of quality fish since I started using it around 3 years ago. Hence I've had no need to try anything else.
Most of what I have been using up to now has been the YGK Jig Man Power Hunter (I think its a x4 four strand dyneema and it's cheaper that x8)
The Ultra x8 is fairly new on the market and I am yet to prove its reliability & consistency over the Power Hunter.
I was using 52lb a lot but some mates were landing quite decent fish using other brands of lower breaking strain - down to 30lb. I then dropped to the 20kg mark (on the spool they say it is 44lb maximum) as opposed to 24kg (52lb).
If you look at the Japan Tackle site they should have the YGK Power Hunter 100% Dyneema on sale for only US$19.00 per 100m spool. That's less than 30 bucks Oz so at that price, at least worth a test. In the meantime I'll also give the Bionic a bit of a burst later on to see how it compares with the Jig Man - that I consider tried & proven.
8-)
Splash
16-03-2008, 10:09 AM
Thanks mate. Are the spools connected so I can obtain around 600m in one hit?
levinge
16-03-2008, 02:05 PM
If your refering to the Gorilla Braid, bigest I have seen (Rare) is 1000yds, but I frequently get it in 300yds spools, its worth the search
PNG1M
16-03-2008, 07:53 PM
Hi again,
The YGK spools are connected. The Power Hunter x4 version is great line as I've explained in the above threads. It comes in a good range of breaking strains.
I just sussed out the Japan tackle site and the pricing in $USD is as follows per 100m spool:
(YGK Compact) 8lb $13; 10lb $12; 16lb $11; 21lb $10; 15lb $10;
(YGK Power Hunter) 35lb $19; 44lb $19; 52lb $19; 66lb, 80lb, 90lb, 110lb all $23
POSTAGE is USD$5.00 per two spools so quite cheap overall for quality line.
See following blurb pasted from Japan Tackle website::::
YGK Power Hunter braided lines (PE spectra) (soft body, thin coating)
PE, polyethylene braided line is the revolution line to have almost 0 stretch with the maximum sensitivity. The diameter is about a third of monofilament lines, and weight ratio is 0.98 lighter than water. The must for fishing farther than 30yds casting or vertical fishing from boat. Adding to the great profiles of the PE braided lines, the YGK Power Hunter is colored by every 10meter (11yds). Also every 1 and 5 meter, color marking is added. Quality is proven. We recommend you add at least 2ft monofilament leader to use these PE braided lines to exploit the best performance of the line. Made in Japan.
See http://www.japantackle.com/Lines/Power_hunter.htm
The YGK Ultra x8 is an advanced version of the same style of line (but more expensive).
Cheers, png
Splash
16-03-2008, 08:04 PM
Thanks fo rthe extra effort PNG!
So much cheaper than Austrlaian suppliers - unfortunately...
S[;ash
PNG1M
16-03-2008, 08:24 PM
Hey Splash,
I aint quite done yet...I must be on a roll...see below for the Japan Tackle blurb about the Ultra x8. I checked the details and it is currently available in 200m spools as follows:
33lb Mono equivalent 6lb Diameter in mm 0.235 Price USD$95 (ouch)
47lb " " " 8lb " " " 0.285 Price USD$82
62lb " " " 12lb " " " 0.33 Price USD$67
I couldn't really comment on how effective this line might be for trolling for pelagics as it was originally designed for vertical jigging. Then it became known for its good castability. In casting & trolling for barra & bass it's fine but trolling out in the wide blue yonders I couldn't be sure...
See blurb below: (and no, I don't work for Japan Tackle..! I just like the line.)
YGK Ultra Jig Man X8 braided lines (PE spectra, Ultra Dyneema, super premium) (soft body, thin coating)
Among the braided lines in market, this Ultra Jig Man X8 has the smoothest surface and the smallest line diameter. It has 40% more maximum strength compared to standard spectra braided lines in the same diameter. The material is upgraded to Ultra Dyneema, and the line is constructed by 8 strands. The small diameter line is essential for deep water jig fishing, where thinner lines will cut through current to reach target range faster. The diameter is about a fifth of monofilament lines, and weight ratio is 0.98 lighter than water. Adding to the great profiles of the PE braided lines, this line is colored by every 10meter (11yds). Made in Japan.
darylive
16-03-2008, 08:36 PM
Well I just treated myself to a new Shimano Curado. Fishing Monduran and Awoonga Barra. I have always settled for 20 or 30lb braid and never had problems and I have pulled in the odd magic metre fish. ::)
Now the question is. I am spooling the new reel, I have 30lb and 50lb braid in the cupboard. I know many who are going the 50lb, but do we think it is really necessary. :-/
Steve B What do you reckon? you seem to be there more than most. ;)
Splash
17-03-2008, 07:08 AM
thanks PNG
Steve B
17-03-2008, 10:15 AM
Darylive,
thanks for dropping me into this thread!! I have been quietly reading it an learning heaps. Thanks to PNG and Lavinge for their info on Gorilla braid and YGK, very usefull and would be definatly worth a try for OS impoundment barra and wild ones too.
I am currently in a bit of a test mode with braid, trying to find whats suits me the best for impoundments, points, timber etc.
heres what I have-
1.- Abu REVO STX with 30 FINNS - great line, casts great, looses flouro colour, but I like that. Never busted, good knot strenght.
2.- 2 x Team Daiwa Advantage super tuned - 1 with 40lb and one with 50lb Nitlon PE. Stiff line at first but gets better with age, a little thicker IMO than other PE braids, again I dont mind as it adds to its excellent abrassion resistance around the timber. never busted in trees ect. Casts great as loosens up with age. I personally like the 40lb better for alround purposes.
3. - Daiwa Zillion with 44lb Yamatoyo PE (blue) Bit dearer than most, but worth the cash. Casts better than any other line out of the box IMO. Thin PE, Has busted once in a straight line hit on a big fish (braid is known to do this), has landed plenty of others easilly.
ALL reels are matched with EGrell rods....cant rate them highly enough. I'll probably change reels and braid over the years.....but I wont be changing rods. They are just prefect for these impoundment barra (and all types of fishing)
Darylive
My pick for the money Vs Satisfaction would be 40lb nitlon PE, mainly because its in between 30 -50lb which covers more bases. You sound like a pretty competant angler from your previous posts, so you could easilly get away with 30lb at Monduran, as long as its quality braid.
I wish more companies would put out 40lb stuff, most seem to jump from 30 to 50 which is a big step IMHO.
cheers steve