View Full Version : Noosa River Littered

fish_on
09-03-2008, 05:59 PM
Hey guys just have to have a whinge but this really pissed me off today. my brother and i went up to check our crab pots today and on the way up the river we passed a group of young guys having a fish in a hire boat obviously still going from last night all on the piss yellin out stuff at us and my brothers two kids.

anyway on our way home we stopped and collected 15 floating glass stubbies of beer, the carton that they were in, several chip packets etc. this is in a stretch of about 500m. >:( >:( we caught up with them and there were two blokes on the roof trying to tip it over for a start. we pulled up next to them grabbed the boat and i wont repeat what we said to them but you get the idea. one of the things we said was have some respect for your local river, other people and your country. my bro rang the police so hopefully they were waiting for them or got the water police onto them. bit sad :(

seapup
09-03-2008, 06:16 PM
Thats no good Benny I hate it when people dont respect our waterways. Good on ya for blasting them!
Benny.

Pistol_P
09-03-2008, 07:21 PM
Yeah..Its a low act to pollute waterways and anywhere else for that matter...

I cant tell you how many bags of other peoples rubbish we used to carry out from rock ledges Benny....filthy pigs...>:( >:(

Good on Jase for ringing the cops eh...

marty+jojo
09-03-2008, 07:39 PM
I had a very similar experience on the Maroochy river, there were two of the pontoon style boats loaded with about 10-15 guys on each, they were all drinking beers and having a good time ( no problem ) then they started swerving at each other and throwing half full cans of beer at each other,,, i saw red, so i called the cops and told them, they said they would call swan boat hire and let them know,,,, so we collected a heap of beer cans and moved away from them. IDIOTS are everywhere.
Marty.

JawstheOriginal
09-03-2008, 07:47 PM
A shame idiots like this are on the water. Bad for the wildlife, the waterway and other human beings who may not want to encounter a drunkard.

I pick up line and crap that other people leave around too. It's not hard to take your rubbish to a bin. Maybe they should have bigger fines for littering.

ffejsmada
09-03-2008, 08:26 PM
Onya Benny,
They probably sh!t themselves when you and Jase pulled alongside, but then again, the old dutch courage could have chimed in!

F@#$in Ar$eho@#s!!!!! Filthy littering troublemakers!>:(

They deserve a visit from the police!

Jeff.

09-03-2008, 09:54 PM
A "drunk in charge of a water craft" would be a nice little wake up for these types, particularly when it dawns on them they have done their car licence too.

mutter>:( mutter>:( mutter>:( .

I'm sure the boat hire would be very interested too.

RayDeR
09-03-2008, 10:10 PM
Gday!

It would be nice to think the Police took immediate action. And I don't mean ringing the boat hire mob.

The next action is to write to the Commissioner if there is lack of action noted to reports like this. Ringing the boat hire is not appropriate action to a report of being drunk in charge.

Ray De R

09-03-2008, 10:20 PM
There is nothing wrong with a quiet brewski or 3 out on the water but some people are just deadset disrespectful morons.
These are probably the types of people I have to constantly pick up after at my local swimming hole....beer cans,bottles and numerous bundy and rum cans thoughtlessly thrown away or smashed.F@ckin idiots!!!
Good onya though,fishon, for at least confronting the bloody fools and hopefully they got picked up.

09-03-2008, 10:36 PM
Mutter mutter, thats where you get broken glass in swinning holes from.

When I was a kid in scouts one of my mates got cut on the foot good and proper from a smashed beer bottle in a swimming hole.

We ended up draining the hole & searching it out for glass..... we pulled out quit a bit........ the interesting thing is if you smash the bottom of a beer bottle & then chuck it in the water it will often sink kneck down and lodge with the jagged pointy bits pointing up.... nice>:(

Idiots from the same stock 35 years later.

LeeannP
10-03-2008, 09:10 AM
On a positive note it's great to see that the majority of Ausfishers have respect for this great land of ours and tidy up after other people (even though they shouldn't have to).

Good on you all!!!!!

abbot_86
10-03-2008, 09:24 AM
i rekon it woulda been that bloody jimboa and his mates full of piss again:P letting his hais down on his holidays;D

ffejsmada
10-03-2008, 09:43 AM
Lmfao:):):):):):):):):):)

Poseidon
10-03-2008, 01:28 PM
Filthy ferals is all I can say. Nothing gets up my nose more than people too lazy or inconsiderate to look after their rubbish.

Unfortunately there seems to be quite a bit of this going hand in hand with a day outdoors. Doesn't matter where you visit, how pristine an area is, it won't escape the scourge of senseless litter. Is it any wonder that areas are being added to the no go zones,both on the water and off when littering is becoming the norm for a large number of people in the community. Easier to lock an area away rather than get tough with these ferals and actually start dishing out fines to deter the practice.

Littering has almost become an accepted practice to the authorities when it should be treated with zero tolerance and large fines applied where possible.

fish_on
10-03-2008, 04:43 PM
yeah dont get me wrong i love a beer sometimes when im out fishing but whatever it is, how hard is it to put it away and dispose of it when you get back to shore. another funny thing was they were like - oh what bottles ?? and there is the clown sitting up the front with one in his hand.

mbt
11-03-2008, 07:37 AM
Anyone that gets around the creeks in the forestry’s that surround the mainland side of the bribie passage will know of the rubbish that is left behind, stubbies , fires left alight , it’s a effin discrace….and because the authorities don’t do anything about it and charge these maggots it will get worse, but what will happen is that it will go into the to hard basket and then the powers to be will just shut down access to these places to the public…eg mud flats at burpengary has already been closed….it will happen in more and more places, and again it will be the minority spoiling it for the rest.

PaulMark
11-03-2008, 02:17 PM
We had a houseboat on the broadwater last May.We were off North Straddie when another houseboat pulled up next door,like 15 feet away and were gonna stop there.Fortunately son in law is 6'8'' built like a brick one.When they saw him they moved off, about 100m but all afternoon and night there was a constant stream of cans and stubbies floating past,collected by us or a boat further down.We rang their boat hire mob,about the litter and the noise they said thanks but little they could do.

Chris Ryan
11-03-2008, 02:57 PM
and we get blamed for raping the environment as fisho's. WTF!

Probably the EPA officers on a bender after closing off another area for us to go to.

:(

11-03-2008, 05:14 PM
What about after the garbo goes thru, The amount of crap left to blow around will amaze you. I drive for a living so i get to see plenty of roads and thats a lot of shit that will end up in the water.

SummerTrance
12-03-2008, 04:35 PM
all afternoon and night there was a constant stream of cans and stubbies floating past,collected by us or a boat further down.We rang their boat hire mob,about the litter and the noise they said thanks but little they could do.

These hire boat companies need to be made more accountable. The above answer of 'there is little we can do' IS NOT GOOD ENOUGH! How about warn the people hiring the boat, that if there's any reports of litter or carrying on like f**king idiots, that you wont get you bond/security deposit back. I'm sure then they wont throw stuff over the side if they know it will cost them $$$$$

They should also provide better or more storage area for rubbish.

Espcially these party pontoon boat hire mobs. They make money from allowing these drunks loose on the river, then claim there's nothing they can do when they litter and act like tools. What do they expect when 10 young blokes wearing flouro, get on the boat with 4 eskys. Once again, charge them a hefty security deposit, and warn them they wont get it back if there's any complaints.

Or better yet. Just ban party pontoon boats altogether.