View Full Version : aerator with yabbies

vb_is_4_me
06-03-2008, 04:29 PM
just wondering how yabbies go in a aerator. I've got a fish tank full of baby yabbies at the moment and I want to take them on a 5 hour drive to the murray to use as bait. Is the aerator the go or is there another method I should go with.

oldsalty
06-03-2008, 05:49 PM

Ive had a lot of success using an esky and ice brick method.

Get an ordinary 6-pack size foam esky and put a frozen ice brick at the bottom. Put some fly screen on a frame and fit it inside the esky suspended above the ice brick but not touching. Put the yabbies on the fly screen and put the lid on the esky.

I have kept yabbies alive for 15+ hrs in the shade with this method. Sorry, don't have a pic.

pommy
06-03-2008, 10:09 PM
G'day mate!

Yabbies love aerators. The water temperature is the most important thing. If the water gets too warm they start to die and the dead ones speed the process up by decaying in the warm water. Keep it cool. Suspend small kiddies freezer blocks in the bucket to keep it on the cool side.

Rob.

Mark-P
07-03-2008, 04:13 PM
The biggest problem with yabbies is the ammonia that they pass into the water, change it regularly & keep them cool !! They should last a few days this way ...
unless the fish are biting !!

mattooty
07-03-2008, 09:40 PM
We'vebeen breeding yabbies for a few years and we've found, that as well as using an icebrick, put a large amount of straw in the bucket or tub you're transporting them in. This way they can spread out further and will reduce your chances of them killing each other.