View Full Version : Tackle for Swains trip
seastorm
02-03-2008, 07:06 PM
Going on my first trip to the Swains reef in August for a seven day trip :D I know this is a wide open question but what gear should I take and how much gear?
poundalead
02-03-2008, 07:33 PM
I have never fished the Swains but fish the Bunkers at least once a year.
I would take:
15kg overhead with mono for mainline
Heavier overhead or spin with 37kg braid or mono
Heavy handline say 20-30kg
At least 10 snapper leads per day
At least 10 ball sinkers per day if you floatline
15kg leader
30kg leader
40kg leader
50kg leader
Wire for bities when trolling
Bait jigs for livies
Good quality swivels
10-20 trolling lures
Sunscreen
Wide-brimmed hat
Long sleeve shirts
Travacalm
Stubby holder
Camera
An esky to put all fish in when you get off
More piss than you think you will drink
And....... I forgot the kitchen sink
Cheers Benny
Steve B
02-03-2008, 09:46 PM
Dont forget the 100lb handline. Best thing for rippin OS trout off bombies. Simple and effective. And a veiwing bucket if they dont provide one. They are awesome for finding good bombies that hold fish.
Thats all the pro trout fishos use.
MattChew
03-03-2008, 11:09 AM
Hi Seatorm, I've just read an article from a few year old Queensland Fishing Monthly Annual, I'll see which one it was ... sounds like you should take all the terminal tackle you can and be prepared to loose the as much as you take ... I don't fish outside but from what I read 37kg gear with 80 - 100lb Braid ... leader is your choice but most things out there are big and have teeth so wire is almost essential. One comment in the article was that nothing was small because all the small fish were too scared to come out and play.I can probably photocopy the article if you like, or if you are around brisbane I could lend you the magazine.
Ta
Outsider1
03-03-2008, 09:18 PM
To poundalead's list I would add;
- a Gimbal belt
- fishing gloves (the cheap yellow ones are fine)
- some lures, poppers if you fancy spinning the reefs for GTs etc, and metal
lures for the inevitable acre or two of pelagics blowing up near the boat at
various stages
I have a TLD 25 on a Live Fibre 24kg rod loaded with 80lb braid for the bottom, and a Big Baitrunner on a 15kg Silstar for the spinning side.
OldManRiver
04-03-2008, 08:26 PM
G'day Seastorm
I'am going to swain's in September for the first time.I've known for 6 months so i've had plenty of time to research the place.The best thing you can do is type Swains into the search engine on this forum and about 250 Threads will come up with the word swains in them. I've read them all;some several times and the wealth of information is awesome. Once you've read some of the better ones you will have a much better understanding of how the place works.
Basically you'll need big hand lines for the Dories to be used in conjuction with burley(opitional but recommended).
A spin rod and robust spinning reel ( i'am taking a Stella ) for poppers, soft plastics, jigs for along the reef edges and dropoffs.
Heaps of lures for trolling such as Laser pros, rapalas, Big Tremblers, mackmaulers etc
A good boat rod/reel combo for on the mothership with 50lb up mono or braid and good quality leader material.
Hooks 6/0 or 7/0 for gangs, experiment with circle hooks if you want.
Hope this helps reguards Phil
Ally Jack
05-03-2008, 12:25 AM
Seastorm,
poundalead has pretty much got it covered
I've been going to the Swains for a couple of years now, and still haven't taken all the right gear yet, maybe this year
I'm taking this year
rod for trolling, rod for poppering/trolling in dories, rod for bottom bashing big boat, rod for bottom bashing in dories.
One thing I will add is have a small tackle box for going in the dories. Not much room in a 4mtr boat if there is 3 guys and all the gear.
Ally Jack
rando
06-03-2008, 02:26 PM
Scrap the 100lb hand line.
If you do get bricked its a bastard to try and break off .
Go with 1X 45lb & 1x 75lb the hand reels with a winder handle are a big help as you often end up with lots of line in the bottom of the boat. A quick wind up when you move spots saves heaps of tangles.
One spin rod , one overhead troll rod.
Plenty of terminal gear.
07-03-2008, 01:58 PM
Try and get some prickle proof bike tube for finger stalls.
You got to look after your fingers you''ll need them. ;)
Which boat you going on?
Braid and reef don't mix. Unless you use a long leader a couple of meters at least.