View Full Version : Shimano Saragosa = pimped Spheros
bronziebasher
01-03-2008, 10:49 AM
Gday guys, does anyone know when the new Saragosa reels will hit australia? They look the goods, especially for guys who use modded Spheros 14000, with more bearings, upgraded drag, bigger spool and stella handle as standard.
As far as I could tell they will retail for $300 in USA, dont know how much here.
Very interesting....
http://fish.shimano.com/catalog/fish/products/group_detail.jsp?FOLDER%3C%3Efolder_id=25343743020 59305&ASSORTMENT%3C%3East_id=1408474395181270&bmUID=1204332498658
Bronzie
They should be released after the 'Tackle show' in August, there is a upgraded SPheros coming out as standard as well as the Saragosa [a level higher than the Spheros] and a new Baitrunner.
:laola: .
bayfisher
01-03-2008, 01:33 PM
They are already available in the USA, with the Aussie dollar ridding high i wouldn't be waiting half a year till stock arrives here in Australia.
take a look...
http://shimano.fishing-store.us/shimano-saragosa-spinning-reels.html
http://www.fishermansheadquarters.com/shimano_saragosa.htm
Cheers Chris
05-05-2008, 08:10 PM
Stock is available here in Australia. I just bought one from the local bloke a few days ago. Tested it out over the long weekend chasing macs, Very good reels, great value IMO. I got mine for $320, normal retail is about 390-400
Champilly
05-05-2008, 08:32 PM
Played with one today at The Tackle Warehouse. I am pretty sure the Spheros is being phased out - could be wrong.
Scott - hate to tell you this $289 for the 3000 and $299 for the 4000 and that is the RRP. Also makes the $300 US look expensive......
BARRAkid
05-05-2008, 09:54 PM
I dont think they are phasing out the spheros because they are make a bigger one then the 1400 if i remember correctly
cheers BK ;)
06-05-2008, 11:47 AM
I didn't get the 3 or 4000, I went another size up I got the 5000, hence the price diff. The sizes go all the way up to 18000 for any one else wondering.
Latitude
14-05-2008, 08:48 AM
Saw them on this site
www.bluewater.net.au/catalog/advanced_search_result.php?keywords=saragosa (http://www.bluewater.net.au/catalog/advanced_search_result.php?keywords=saragosa)
bronziebasher
14-05-2008, 03:07 PM
$500 for a 18000 model is about what i expected, so $300 US isnt too bad.
Dont know if they will be $300 better than the popular Spheros 14000 though.....
Anyone bought a big one yet and fished it?
14-05-2008, 03:16 PM
Havn't got a big one, though the 5000F I have performed very well last weekend, handled a big shark no worries, can't see the larger sizes differing much from the way this one went.
abbot_86
14-05-2008, 07:46 PM
i had a look at the 18000 the other day atmy local tackle shop. it would be a great allternitane to the 20000 stella or the saltiga z4500 for the once a year jigger!!
Bashir
14-05-2008, 09:38 PM
I have already heard of line lay issues with them! Dunno if I can link to the sites though??
Pistol_P
14-05-2008, 10:01 PM
I had a look recently at the shop at work at.
To be honest I wasnt overly impressed.:-/
The first thing was the bail arm looked very flimsy and a very small line roller which isnt great if you want to use wind on leaders or twisty's.
They reckon they can get 22kg of drag pressure but they are not even close.
At full lock you can turn the spool quite easily.
Just my opinion.
bronziebasher
14-05-2008, 10:49 PM
I havent seen one yet, but are very keen to....apparently the drag washers are very small...wont comment until it outperforms my spheros 14000
lampuki
15-05-2008, 01:53 AM
Ive got one, the 8000, I will reserve judgment until i use the thing. I bought in the states around the 250 us mark. Im gonna be dissapointed if there is a line lay issue, as i was hoping to run braid. I will let you know how i go.