View Full Version : Rod and Reel Advice

AndrewC77
28-02-2008, 05:56 PM
G'day all,

I am 30 yo, from Melbourne and cant even remember the last time I went fishing. I have decided to get into it again, but as it's been so long I have no gear left at all.

I have been getting around checking out reels and rods and asking plenty of questions, but just can't decide what to get. I'm really hoping I can get some great adivce from here.

The type of fishing I will be doing is off piers and jetties in the bays (Port Phillip and Corio(Geelong)) and off ocean piers such as Lorne. I want something that will be suitable for the smaller stuff in the bays but can also handle it if something bigger jumps on down at Lorne.

I'm also considering the odd spot of surf fishing off the beach.

So far, I think I've decided that I would prefer fibreglass rather than graphite, I'm told it is more durable. Besides that, I'm not real sure what brand, length, weight class, etc, to look for.

So far, have looked at Ugly Stick, Penn and Silstar, all 10'. Is this the right length or should I maybe look for something a bit shorter?

I also need help with reels and what line is best to use on them, the only one I have really looked at so far is the Okuma Avenger AV65.

Any help or advice from you guys would be much appreciated.

Oh, and the budget at this stage is about $200.

Thanks in advance, I look forward to your replys.

28-02-2008, 07:23 PM
Your choice of rods sounds fine, considering your budget, 10' is a versatile length.

28-02-2008, 10:26 PM
mate since you were looking last the value for money for a fair thing has probably improved considerably.

depending on how fussy you are you may even be able to get two outfits for the budjet.

remember don't buy anything that isnt on sale...... particulrly at the moment.

There are some screaming deals going arround at the moment iff you look for them.

AndrewC77
29-02-2008, 04:56 PM

One thing I forgot to ask about the reels is, baitcast or spin. Can someone please explain the difference to me and pros and cons?

As for the screaming deals, where can I find these in Melbourne? Also, can anyone recommend some where I can shop and get good advice in Melbourne, maybe somewhere you've had a good experience.

Thanks again.

29-02-2008, 06:56 PM
Andrew I'd stick with a spinning reel initially, certainly easier to master.
Make sure you get a rod specifically made for a spinning reel.

AndrewC77
02-03-2008, 04:44 PM
Thanks for the advice guys, much appreciated.

fleety77
02-03-2008, 05:34 PM
mate i grew up fishing corio bay moved to qld 10 years ago do u know how the fishing is?? me and me best mate use to ty rods to our pushys abd ride down there real easry, we used to sneak on to shells peir and some of the other big ones, also pilkingtons that t bar rock wall and cunningham pier ect was the best years mate would always catch a bucket full!!

AndrewC77
02-03-2008, 09:22 PM
Haven't fished there yet, just starting out again. I used to fish around Werribee a fair bit when I was a kid.

CreelReaper
02-03-2008, 11:08 PM
Hey AndrewC77,
I'm with Nigelr and Old boot. One thing I might suggest for the surf is to stay away from using baitcasters and spinning reels. Jump into Cash Converters or whatever and find yourself a good "cheap Alvey sidecast. Great for the surf and there is no worries when the new reel gets dunked. Sidecasts love it.
The other added advantage is that they will take a bashing and you can usually winch your fish up a fair distance when fishing from a pier. Gears in spinning reels and baitcasters are not designed for this type of work.

Shane