View Full Version : Cardwell over Easter

Wahoo
20-02-2008, 05:46 PM
heading to Cardwell over the Easter break for 4 days, if anyone is keen, there will be my boat plus another, with my luck it should be raining:-/

20-02-2008, 06:42 PM
Might be able to catch up with you out around Otter or something ,Daz.
I'm also keen to do some crabbing in Missionary bay .

Rod Fishing
21-02-2008, 07:59 PM
Wahoo,

Me, the missus and the boy, a mate and his girlfriend will be at the Kookaburra holiday park from Thursday 20 March till Monday 24 March. Will be taking the boat. Was thinking of heading down to the sugar jetty one or two nights to try for a couple of those frieght trains that hang out under there.

Cheers Rod....8-)

Wahoo
22-02-2008, 07:45 AM
Might be able to catch up with you out around Otter or something ,Daz.
I'm also keen to do some crabbing in Missionary bay .

that would be great Scott, there is room in the boat if you want a day's out on the reef ;)

Wahoo
22-02-2008, 07:49 AM
Wahoo,

Me, the missus and the boy, a mate and his girlfriend will be at the Kookaburra holiday park from Thursday 20 March till Monday 24 March. Will be taking the boat. Was thinking of heading down to the sugar jetty one or two nights to try for a couple of those frieght trains that hang out under there.

Cheers Rod....8-)

G'day Rod

the place you are staying at is great, they have a large area for wash down for the boat, another large area to clean the fish, we have stayed there a few times and the owners are very helpfull, is the boat your takeing the one in your avatar?

Rod Fishing
22-02-2008, 08:12 PM
G'day Rod

the place you are staying at is great, they have a large area for wash down for the boat, another large area to clean the fish, we have stayed there a few times and the owners are very helpfull, is the boat your takeing the one in your avatar?

Daz,

Yeah mate that is the bad girl that will be coming with me, hopefully should have the stickers for her name by then.

Was also thinking of a reef run if the weather was kind enough. The only problem i have is that i reckon that i only have about 150km round trip in her.

Cheers Rod....8-)

22-02-2008, 10:00 PM
that would be great Scott, there is room in the boat if you want a day's out on the reef ;)

thanks Daz,I'll take you up on the offer if mother nature is kind to us.
Where are you thinking of going...otter ...britomart..?

Wahoo
25-02-2008, 07:54 PM
Daz,

Yeah mate that is the bad girl that will be coming with me, hopefully should have the stickers for her name by then.

Was also thinking of a reef run if the weather was kind enough. The only problem i have is that i reckon that i only have about 150km round trip in her.

Cheers Rod....8-)

No worries Rod, i'll keep an eyeout on that boat, im sure 150k round trip will get you out to the reef with a good days fishing, i will have a look at the charts sometime

Wahoo
25-02-2008, 08:06 PM
thanks Daz,I'll take you up on the offer if mother nature is kind to us.
Where are you thinking of going...otter ...britomart..?

Scott unsure where to head out, i will look into it, them 2 reefs good?

Rod Fishing
05-03-2008, 08:05 AM
Wahoo,

I was thinking of heading to Bramle reef from Lucinda. A quick look at the chart and its oly about 40km out from there so range shouldn't be a problem.

Cheers Rod....8-)

05-03-2008, 08:11 AM
Hope the weather gods mile on you fella's, I am home alone during that period so need to hang close.

Look forward to any reports.

levinge
05-03-2008, 03:49 PM
Might See you guys up there, My lot are going to based out of Wanderers at Lucinda from 21st to the 24th. Will be fishing Hinchinbrook and the coveyer wharf areas.

06-03-2008, 05:12 PM
If you're deperate for a deckie, I could possibly drive up and take over anchor duties...

Wahoo
06-03-2008, 08:07 PM
If you're deperate for a deckie, I could possibly drive up and take over anchor duties...

your more than welcome Dan

Wahoo
06-03-2008, 08:11 PM
Wahoo,

I was thinking of heading to Bramle reef from Lucinda. A quick look at the chart and its oly about 40km out from there so range shouldn't be a problem.

Cheers Rod....8-)

how far of a drive is Lucinda from Cardwell?
i had a look on the GPS and from the marina in Cardwell to the Reef is about 55Klms

Wahoo
06-03-2008, 08:12 PM
Might See you guys up there, My lot are going to based out of Wanderers at Lucinda from 21st to the 24th. Will be fishing Hinchinbrook and the coveyer wharf areas.

no worries Brett, what boat have you?

Wahoo
06-03-2008, 08:14 PM
Hope the weather gods mile on you fella's, I am home alone during that period so need to hang close.

Look forward to any reports.

thanks Scott,
might be good fishing close, while everyone is away;)

levinge
06-03-2008, 08:24 PM
Sorry Dan,
Taking to brood up there and we will be involved in a Fishing Comp. But your number one on the list if I need a deckie.

levinge
06-03-2008, 08:35 PM

I presently have a 4M Sea Jay Side Console with a 30HP Johno on the back. Can't miss it Big Red Ausfich decals on the port and Stbd sides as well as all the tackle stickers (if I use it, its on the side of the boat). Next few months will see another boat in the yard 5.8M Formosa Centre Cab with all the bells and whistles. Its good having a missus who is as passionate about fishing as I am.

Done a bit of work to her over the years but you'll get the general idea from the jpeg. Definitely a good boat for offroad and up the cape trips.

Wahoo
06-03-2008, 09:03 PM

I presently have a 4M Sea Jay Side Console with a 30HP Johno on the back. Can't miss it Big Red Ausfich decals on the port and Stbd sides as well as all the tackle stickers (if I use it, its on the side of the boat). Next few months will see another boat in the yard 5.8M Formosa Centre Cab with all the bells and whistles. Its good having a missus who is as passionate about fishing as I am.

Done a bit of work to her over the years but you'll get the general idea from the jpeg. Definitely a good boat for offroad and up the cape trips.

Sweet, that boat is ideal for up north, damn that Formosa is going to be a great boat, what HP will be hanging off the back?

levinge
06-03-2008, 09:28 PM
Total package is going to be around 48k, dropping a 135hp Honda 4 stroke on the back, rigging with kill tank, extra rod holders, stereo, deck wash, bait boatboard etc. setting it up for off shore, its a pity that I will have to wait for the outriggers, but they are part of the long term plan as well as two down riggers.

Figure the 135HP Honda will give good economy and plenty of grunt

She's going to be a fishing boat not a funning boat....

Rod Fishing
07-03-2008, 07:36 AM
Daz,

It's only about 50 or so km to Lucinda ffrom Cardwell, I believe that it is well worth the drive. Not only that if you strike out at the reef there is always the sugar loader to chase fingermark, etc.

Cheers Rod....8-)

Rod Fishing
07-03-2008, 07:40 AM
Brett, your new rig sounds awsome. I was looking at one before I bought the Haines, the main reason i bought the Haines was because it was was about $25000 cheaper. I have no regrets though, you cant beat the ride a Hanes gives you.

Cheers Rod....8-)

major-defect
07-03-2008, 08:14 AM
Bugger I'm working through easter.I hope the weather is better than it was for us last year Rod.Is Kookaburra caravan park the one we stayed at last year?I'm going away for the school holidays out to Lawn hill national park and Karumba but I'm not taking the boat, I'll try and hire one in Karumba instead.
Good luck fellas.

Rod Fishing
07-03-2008, 03:01 PM
Paul,

Mate the Kookaburra is the one I was staying at on the left as you head north through Cardwell. Would have been good to catch up with you again. Hope you guys have a great time in Karumba and get amungst them.

Cheers Rod....8-)

Wahoo
07-03-2008, 07:35 PM
Total package is going to be around 48k, dropping a 135hp Honda 4 stroke on the back, rigging with kill tank, extra rod holders, stereo, deck wash, bait boatboard etc. setting it up for off shore, its a pity that I will have to wait for the outriggers, but they are part of the long term plan as well as two down riggers.

Figure the 135HP Honda will give good economy and plenty of grunt

She's going to be a fishing boat not a funning boat....

Hi Brett
sounds like a great setup, bet ya cant wait

as for outriggers and down riggers, i thought that was what B;days and Xmas was for ;D

Wahoo
07-03-2008, 07:38 PM
Bugger I'm working through easter.I hope the weather is better than it was for us last year Rod.Is Kookaburra caravan park the one we stayed at last year?I'm going away for the school holidays out to Lawn hill national park and Karumba but I'm not taking the boat, I'll try and hire one in Karumba instead.
Good luck fellas.

Hi Paul, long time no see, shame ya cant make it, be good to catch up again, yep thats the same place we cooked up the mother spanish you caught:D

levinge
07-03-2008, 07:39 PM
Realise that, gradually training the missus to the requirements of a big boat, all good things take time and before I know it, she will come up with the idea for outriggers and some downriggers. Those fishing shows on TV allow for alot of cross-lounge comments on what a great setup it is for catching the big stuff. It's suttle but if you think of it, women have been using this tactic on us for years.

Now its my turn, but don't let the secret out or I'll be shot, ground up and presented at the next fishing trip as a really good burley.

Wahoo
07-03-2008, 07:40 PM
Daz,

It's only about 50 or so km to Lucinda ffrom Cardwell, I believe that it is well worth the drive. Not only that if you strike out at the reef there is always the sugar loader to chase fingermark, etc.

Cheers Rod....8-)

G'day Rod
thats sounds ok, might look into that, whats the ramp like?

levinge
07-03-2008, 07:52 PM
Wahoo,
Ramp is good, around enough room for 2 to 3 boats to launch, little side area next to the Ramp. Pontoons within 50m of the Ramp. Stop and Go area and from memory a wash down area as well. Parking in the area for about 50 to 60 at a guess. Just watch the channel out from the ramp until you hit open water, sand bars have a habit of changing as there is a strong current that funnels down through the Hinchinbrook Channel. Big Rock bar on the Left (as you Leave) the last few markers. Lowish tide don't cut the corners, utilise the channel markers as it shallows up dangerously in some places and will catch out unwary fishos.

Once your in open water its confusing, because it all looks so good, Reef, Channel, Mangroves, Sugar Wharf. Spoilt we are!!!!

Hope the Weather is Glass!!

Wahoo
07-03-2008, 08:05 PM
Wahoo,
Ramp is good, around enough room for 2 to 3 boats to launch, little side area next to the Ramp. Pontoons within 50m of the Ramp. Stop and Go area and from memory a wash down area as well. Parking in the area for about 50 to 60 at a guess. Just watch the channel out from the ramp until you hit open water, sand bars have a habit of changing as there is a strong current that funnels down through the Hinchinbrook Channel. Big Rock bar on the Left (as you Leave) the last few markers. Lowish tide don't cut the corners, utilise the channel markers as it shallows up dangerously in some places and will catch out unwary fishos.

Once your in open water its confusing, because it all looks so good, Reef, Channel, Mangroves, Sugar Wharf. Spoilt we are!!!!

Hope the Weather is Glass!!

thanks for the headsup Brett, much appreciated;)

major-defect
08-03-2008, 06:45 AM
Hi Daz I was wondering if it was you.Yeah I was off the site for a while as I was having computer trouble ended up buying a knew one and it's all good now.We'll have to get together again for a fish again sometime.