View Full Version : Yamaha observation
20-02-2008, 02:07 PM
This is NOT started to become a brand bashing of any kind, so lets get that straight right away, I am a member of a couple of US sites as well as here and it seems to me that by far the biggest requests for help now seems to have switched to Yamaha, now this could be because there is simply more Yammies than any other brand now! as mentioned I do not intend to bash them in any way, I have owned a couple and have no regrets, has anyone else noticed this?? might be just a "thing" at the moment where there is just so many in use that percentages dictate that more must be broken at any one time.
20-02-2008, 02:10 PM
I must add to this, there is more posts about Etecs, but most are info/bashing/praising based and not "I have a probelm" topics.
SgBFish
20-02-2008, 03:29 PM
Tough one to measure Noel.
If you had info an the number of warrantee claims over time as a proportion of those sold in each period you may pick something up but as you say you need to account for the volume issue.
It surprises me there aren’t more issues with current outboards when you the neglect and treatment some of them get.
tin can marlin
20-02-2008, 05:24 PM
I think you would find it is due to the amount they sell. When your doing over 30000 just in aus you are bound to have a few issues. And then you look at etec they did 3000 last year and had more people not happy on aus fish than yamaha.
mark
20-02-2008, 05:50 PM
I agree with TCM, the more units you sell the more likely you will have issues...ya never here of the ones that have been thru hell and still goin..u just hear the whingers :P
Wahoo
20-02-2008, 06:10 PM
I think you would find it is due to the amount they sell. When your doing over 30000 just in aus you are bound to have a few issues. And then you look at etec they did 3000 last year and had more people not happy on aus fish than yamaha.
mark
Hi Mark
im a member on quite a few boating forums, Aus, NZ, and USA, i can honestly say i have never come across an unhappy E-Tec owner, or have heard of any major probs with them, i do agree with there is a hell of alot of yams about in Aus, and are bound to get a few hickups
Leighton
20-02-2008, 06:35 PM
I was told ( dont shoot the messenger ) that Mercury is the largest outboard producer in the world and they only export a mere 7% to the rest of the World
Offshore^Jack
21-02-2008, 12:43 AM
Yamaha,Mercury,Suzuki,Evinrude,Honda all produce very good products but in the end,they are machines and machines break down from time to time,no matter what flavour it is.They're all backed with 4-5 year warranty's these days and if something is going to happen,it's usually in the first couple of hundred hours,so we're pretty safe.
When i import my Wellcraft 290 Coastal (i'm in Negotiations now) it will be fitted with twin 200hp Vmax's that are now backed with a 3 year non-declining warranty.I'll put 1,000 hours on them in 3 years,so it's great piece of mind to be covered for everything for the first 1,000 hours.
From numerous reports i've read on the HPDI in the States,it's the best 200hp on the market,including the F200 & 225,no problems in 3,000+ hours:o
Norto1
21-02-2008, 06:43 AM
First let me say G'Day everyone new to the forum but love me fishing and I must say it's good to read and virtually listen to what everyone has too say on so many subjects........ On the Yamaha my father in law has a 2 stroke 25hp and we were out at his place weeks ago we kicked her in the guts and it has not been started for 2 years and went on the second kick pretty damn good I reckon , which is why I bought a boat with one on. Just my opinion as a newbie..
Norto.
21-02-2008, 07:15 AM
I will tell you how I made my "observation", on 2 US sites and one in Aus, on the same day each week I counted the NEW posts about Motors needing repairs/advice on problems and so on, none were counted that were just about fuel consumption or any other what I called "info" and Yamaha was by far the most asked about, followed by Honda then OMC/BRP then Merc, now I realise this is no real indication of anything other than me wasting time and effort to get some pretty dodgey data from fairly unreliable sources, but none the less, that was what I had found, my next step is to try to find accurate data on World wide sales of all the popular brands for all HP and operating system (that is 2 stroke/4stroke) and group them by Brand only, and see if it "adds up" not too sure where I will get that info from, but I will find it somewhere. As mentioned it has noting to do with what is best, what is a dud or anything remotely sinister like that!
Offshore Jack, if you are importing directly from the US have you checked that your warranty will be honoured here in Australia? Mercury is in the process of a policy change but at the time I enquired (a few months back) an imported engine only carried a 12 month warranty.
A good friend and Yammy dealer also said the same thing - 12 months. He has also pointed out that there are small differences between the engines we receive and the engines in the US and Canada. Therefore, some parts will not be available via the Australian Yamaha parts guides. Local dealers will source the part if you track down the part number you require but they would take no responsibility of the part being the right one. If its not in their parts guide they won't want to know about it.
You will also find some/many dealers may not particularly be interested in helping you with your engine since the offshore purchase has circumvented the local dealers and they don't appreciate that.
21-02-2008, 07:42 AM
correct, seen a few go down that road as well and end up in a sh!t fight to get warranty (if needed) I don't think a Dealer can refuse Warranty, BUT they can make sure you are at the end of the line for a while, and take their time doing the repair( regardless of how unfair it may seem) the same thing applies to a lot of Imported goodies, some are covered by a global warranty, some are not covered at all outside the Country of purchase, some are, but you get stuffed around.
Offshore^Jack
21-02-2008, 11:21 PM
Hi BM,
When i said they will be fitted with 200hp Vmax's,i meant that they will be fitted here on the Gold Coast,I'm buying the hull only from California and i'm waiting for a transport quote.I'd rather the motors fitted here for warranty and service reasons although they're a lot dearer even with the high Aussie dollar,dealers just can't drop their prices even though they're buying at lower prices.>:(
In that case, no worries then. The likelihood of hull issues is small so with local engines it should be all cool. :)
22-02-2008, 01:45 PM
Gday Noel - I reckon that there would be very few of us with the Yammy Carbed outboards that would be whinging...but I reckon any computer controlled fuel injected motors will develop intermittent (and at times untraceable - eg earthing issues) - problems in time (and even from the start).
mowerman
22-02-2008, 03:59 PM
No whinging here.
90hp 2003 2 stroke oil injected carby job.
Rod