View Full Version : A few prawns but need some help

BayDog
20-02-2008, 10:15 AM
Caught a few prawns around victoria point the other day but i was wondering what are the prawns movements in regard to the tides. when do they school up and when are the best times to target them? low to high, high to low.... i have a tinny and would like to target them in the russell island area, what should i look for? the deepest holes, drop offs, corners of channels, small bays??? appreciate any tips you could spare

timddo
20-02-2008, 10:52 AM
Mate, best time is mid high to low.

Get a good sounder and look for other boats. With russell island . it's usually deep their so lots of lead on your nets.

baitwaster
20-02-2008, 11:13 AM
Look for my boat, and do the exact opposite of what I am doing.

I have been out twice chasing them and so far have caught 4 prawns.

You may find that people who know where they are seem reluctant to tell anyone.

Mid to low tide seems right from what I have seen others bringing back
to the boat ramp, and of course, if you see a pack of boats full of yellow
raincoats, and nets flying everywhere, get in there mate.

20-02-2008, 01:10 PM
I only ever start Prawning after the turn of the tide on the way out. In the shallow water they seem to school better closer to the low tide. But that's in water only 1 or 2 mtrs deep. The mother load schools that hang around drop offs 4 to 5mtrs seem less affected, but I never bother prawning in coming tides any more, you seem less likely to find them. Prawning most of the outgoing tide is more than enough time for my shoulder to be throwing the net a couple of hundred times!! If they school up, I dream of days I can get my 10 litres in only a few casts, as most would::)

BayDog
21-02-2008, 11:05 AM
thanks guys that will be a big help for when i go out next. cheers

big_steve001
21-02-2008, 08:18 PM
i found the best is the dead of the tides doesnt seem to matter. if prawning down southern bay usually the w's are really productive in about 40ft of water the norm. you will need lots of lead and i usually use a 12ft net atm. prawns are very scattered atm due to the big fresh that just came through. will be out again this weekend will let you no

kingtin
21-02-2008, 09:00 PM

Mate, I know that you fish the pine. Give the areas in this thread a go:

http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/showthread.php?t=125280

In particular, the spot round the bend from Castle Hill. Chuck just near the green buoy but not too far inside it or 'you'll snag on the wreck. Also, see which way the tide is running so that you don't snag on the buoy's chain. Good luck.

timddo
21-02-2008, 11:09 PM
also, a secret. If there is a crowd throwing nets in an area. Observe the direction they are moving. Then move 30 or so meters in front of them and cast.

There is no point casting your net in the scattered school. Also once you have cast your net, move another 3o meters.

Oh. And buy a top pocket net.

Lapras
22-02-2008, 06:33 AM
Oh. And buy a top pocket net.

Hi,

I'm also a novice at prawning but have heard that nylon nets are not as good because they don't sink fast enough - does anyone know if that is true, and if so what sort of net is best.

Thanks,

kingtin
22-02-2008, 07:46 AM
Hi,

I'm also a novice at prawning but have heard that nylon nets are not as good because they don't sink fast enough - does anyone know if that is true, and if so what sort of net is best.

Thanks,

You can upgrade the leads if you think they don't sink fast enough, but I think experienced cast netters use nothing else. String nets are far too heavy when wet and I'm not absolutely sure but I don't think they're made in a size or type, good enough for prawning.

Freeeedom
22-02-2008, 01:11 PM
After using a cotton net for the last 10 years or so I've recently bought a nylon net as the old one was getting rather second hand, with multiple mends all over it. The new 12 foot nylon net weighs about half what the cotton one does when wet and is SO EASY to cast compared with the old heavy one. The only thing I've had to change is to add some extra cord to it so that I can reach the bottom in the deeper holes.
My experience is that the prawns are where you find them. I can't see any link between the tide - I've had good and bad days on all tides, high and low, rising and falling. You've just got to keep trying and sooner or later you hit the jackpot. I was out in the Pine River this morning. I got about 100 prawns of which 99 were greasies. Just a day or so I was getting at least one third bananas. At least I got some free bait, and sweated out about 5 kilos in the process
Cheers Freeeedom

pickers
23-02-2008, 07:32 PM
I was lucky enough to get half a 50ltr esky in one throw one time and couldn't believe my eyes when I pulled up the net to see the top chocka block full , my first thought was a heep of those black and white striped catfish as they get around in big balls and thank f##K it wasn't .
pickers

BayDog
27-02-2008, 01:59 PM
some good tips thanks guys. i was down around the powerlines and the w's on monday morning low and didn't get a prawn to my name, although we caught a baby jew about 15cm which was great to see. managed a mixed bag from the pin of bream, whiting and flathead. caught a couplke of moses, is there a size limit on these. also a couple of muddies but unfortunately had 4 pots flogged!! fark it pisses me......oh well

heard there are a few prawns around the nudgee, brissy river area, anyone been trying there???

baitwaster
27-02-2008, 02:10 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by baitwaster http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/images/buttons/viewpost.gif (http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/showthread.php?p=769155#post769155)

Mate, I know that you fish the pine. Give the areas in this thread a go:

http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/sho...d.php?t=125280 (http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/showthread.php?t=125280)

In particular, the spot round the bend from Castle Hill. Chuck just near the green buoy but not too far inside it or 'you'll snag on the wreck. Also, see which way the tide is running so that you don't snag on the buoy's chain. Good luck.

Thanks Kev - I just saw this post again, muchly appreciated

whitingkiller
27-02-2008, 03:07 PM
baydog,

where u where prawning is one of the first spots that they show in the southern bay..

low tide is best preferably around daylight with a small high tide (less than 6ft) in the early afternoon...not so much run and the prawns hang around all tide..

was talking to a pro crabber on the weekend, and he told me that the weekend after easter is when the first show should be..

warm that shoulder up!!

Pero
28-02-2008, 05:50 PM
went out today, nothing around the powerlines. I left with 4 prawns. Caught a ripper Tiger prawn (24 Centimetres)in the Redland bay channel . Disappointing day thoughonly 20 prawns all up. And a 30cm Whiting in the net !

BayDog
01-03-2008, 11:10 AM
My prawning debacle continues with a trip to Boggy Creek after a friend of mine got his bucket limit on the weekend throwing off the bank! So off I went yesterday and on my second throw I stood on the neck of a broken beer bottle that someone had thoughtfully stuck into the mud upside down! Wayne Kerrs. Went right through my wetsuit boots and into my heel. So a bit of first aid and back into it and after about a dozen throws and nothing I managed to net something with all the characteristics of an engine block and believe it or not my net came apart before it did!!

Any prawns anyone?

Need help….

BayDog
10-03-2008, 08:43 AM
if anyone regularly fishes this area and would like to trade info through pm's or email let me know. i spend a lot of time on the water which equates to a large fuel bill, trading tips could save a lot of time or money but i dont want to post really juicy stuff here for lazy bums who dont bother to get out and do the groundwork. dont get me wrong i will be the first to help you with tips and techniques but a hot bite is best kept under wraps imo

Pero
10-03-2008, 07:18 PM
if anyone regularly fishes this area and would like to trade info through pm's or email let me know. i spend a lot of time on the water which equates to a large fuel bill, trading tips could save a lot of time or money but i dont want to post really juicy stuff here for lazy bums who dont bother to get out and do the groundwork. dont get me wrong i will be the first to help you with tips and techniques but a hot bite is best kept under wraps imo
Which "Area" are we talking about?

BayDog
10-03-2008, 09:05 PM
normally head out from redland bay ramp and work my way from the w's down to the powerlines and maybe over to the logan. theres also the salt mines i try

hateworkin
11-03-2008, 11:05 AM
Hi,

I have been reading alot of these posts and i can't find some of the descriptions of places on any maps that i have, for example, w's and salt mines. can anyone point me in the direction of a map that will show these and other common names for places.

marty_z
11-03-2008, 11:42 AM
John,

The w's are the Karragarra W's - a small channel shaped like a W just west of Karragarra Island. There are a number of red and green channel markers that mark the "W". Look for deep holes in this area when prawning.

Can't help with the salt mines - keen to know myself though?

Marty

whitingkiller
11-03-2008, 01:33 PM
salt mines is actually called salt works..and there is 2 spots named this.

spot 1 is the south western tip of macleay island

spot 2 is on north straddie opposite the north eastern tip of russell

both hold prawns when they r around

hateworkin
12-03-2008, 07:39 AM
Thanks Guys,

Nuggets Pin maps shows quite a few names but does not go up much past the powerlines, I normally launch at Cabbage Tree and have not ventured up past the powerlines. Maybe more fish on the north side then south of the lines. ????

I am interested in spots that anyone could recommend for castnetting live bait, Mullett and Hardie Heads?

BayDog
15-03-2008, 10:57 AM
Went out yesterday morn for a throw and managed 1/2kilo :( Good size bananas though. Very patchy with only 1, maybe 2 a throw.

Re. Hateworkin, just throw around creek mouths or drains or along the edges of channels for bait. You can usually see mullet and gar on the surface so just stalk them and throw.

Pero
17-03-2008, 11:59 AM
The silence is deafening.
The Prawns are out there!
Redland Bay channel had 12 boats there yesterday morning and a similar amount again today. Most would have picked up close to their quota. Including two oriental gents today that appeared to get heaps- disappear for half an hour- and then cane the prawns again.( wonder where they went to?)Surely not to unload?

17-03-2008, 02:16 PM
Redland Bay channel had 12 boats there yesterday morning and a similar amount again today. Most would have picked up close to their quota. Including two oriental gents today that appeared to get heaps- disappear for half an hour- and then cane the prawns again.( wonder where they went to?)Surely not to unload?

Sssshhhhhhhhhhhh!!!!!!!!

Pero
31-03-2008, 06:26 PM

Karma!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was at the powerlines yesterday (Sunday along with 100 other boats)It was a Car Park!. Got there at dawn, had 3 kilos by 9AM. It was quieter than Thursday when the prawns were in good numbers.
Anyway, these same two oriental gents and a passenger were slaying it again. When suddenly the Water Police pulled up and manouvered through the scrum of boats and made a bee-liine straight to these said guys, who happened to be next to me at that very moment. The policeman politely asked for a look at the esky on their boat which was jam packed with prawns and said-" I think you are close to your limit for the day." And I didn't see the guys after that! I noticed most of the yellow raincoats disappeared within an hour of that. Thank god for the water Police8-)

Pero
31-03-2008, 06:28 PM
Thank god for bag limits.

marty_z
31-03-2008, 08:25 PM
From all reports the prawns were on in a number of the "usual" spots and people got anywhere from a feed to their limit. Pity I was away with the family!

Hopefully the prawns will hang around this year (unlike the last couple) and we will all get a few good sessions.

Marty

BayDog
01-04-2008, 07:40 AM
Anyone been prawning on the northside? Nudgee area? heard this is a good spot and that the prawns stay on longer there? would be keen to try a new spot.

ps dont throw the net at marks rocks at the logan, lots of prawns and lots of rocks! destroyed my $300 net there yesterday

max007
01-04-2008, 08:31 AM
BayDog

Nothing around Nudgee or Shorncliffe/Sangate yesterday - Spent a couple of hours looking for prawns but no luck. Got heaps of baby catfish but no prawns yet.
I've checked my calendar from last year and I was getting really good numbers around Anzac Day.

If and when they do arrive here it will be the last season of prawning here thanks to the State Government who are about to turn this whole area (Bramble Bay) into a green zone.