View Full Version : Changing boat name???? Yes or No????
JOHNBULL
19-02-2008, 06:54 AM
I have been told by a few people that it is bad luck to change a boat name in anyway, shape or form. Is this true or not?
I want to change the boat name cos i don't like the current one. Can i move the name to somewhere on the boat where it can't be seen by other people??
baitwaster
19-02-2008, 07:13 AM
It is bad luck, but you can write the old name under a seat or something in nikko, then put the new name on, and that is OK.
19-02-2008, 07:18 AM
do you hesitate to walk under an open ladder (apart from when the WH&S Inspector is about)....do you feel odd around black cats (apart from allergies)...do you get worried by Friday the 13th (apart from not having enough cold ones for the weekend)....change the name mate if the answer to the above is "no". Otherwise the Niko trick as Baitwaister suggests might help...
I would hesitate to change a vessels name, and Im not superstitious in any way!
here you go...
http://www.google.com.au/search?q=changing+a+boat+name&ie=utf-8&oe=utf-8&aq=t&rls=org.mozilla:en-US:official&client=firefox-a
19-02-2008, 07:25 AM
Long as you do the ancient ritual for changing the names the seas will be kind to you.
DR's link will show you how.
Martijnf
19-02-2008, 07:30 AM
I think it's not so much the bad luck that would keep me from doing it as the tradition.
But sometimes boat names are just awful and need to be changed and as the boys pointed out, as long as you do it the right way it's ok.
Maybe it's stupid, but I think esp with something like boats tradition matters...
Brumby
19-02-2008, 07:51 AM
Yeah change it, but follow the prescribed ancient formula just in case!
Seriously though there are some shockers around and I wouldn't own a boat some with of them painted on the side.
JOHNBULL
19-02-2008, 01:11 PM
Well the boat name is .....DINGY..... Not really a name that i could get used too. So i want to change it from DINGY and name it in memory of my daughter.....JESSIE KAY....
Thanks you all for helping me so far, it is great to have a site like this where everyone helps out everyone no matter who you are.......
19-02-2008, 01:23 PM
just change the name mate..all that so called tradition crap and bad luck..all baloney..bad as the crap about bananas on boats etc etc etc..never heard so many wives tales as those associated with boats.
Taroona
19-02-2008, 01:56 PM
My previous boat was a Sonata 26 Sloop which I bought from a guy in Newcastle who changed the name when he bought it. About a year later he broke his mast while racing.
So There you go, change a name and see what happens!!!!
19-02-2008, 03:28 PM
did the Titanic have a name change???
on-one
19-02-2008, 04:48 PM
depends whether you believe the conspiracy theory that it was really her sistership the olympic that sank in the atlantic.
But you go right ahead and change the name johnbull you'll be fine, probably
19-02-2008, 11:19 PM
From what I here its bad luck to chenge the name of a boat whilst it is on the water............infereing that you usulay slip a boat to do a refit and it is common to change the name at the time of refit............from that point the boat is just like a new one.
The english navy used to routinely change names of captured vessels befor putting them under its own colours........ but note, they always gave them much better and more glorious names that they previously had.
If posideon, (or who ever you belive in) is suposed to be the gardian of all ships.....I'm sure he( she) would be happier if said ship had a good name rathere than something........ um......... unworthy.
I believe it is also unlucky to give a ship a bad or unworthy name.
many sailors of old would refuse to travel on a ship with a bad name.
How do you expect to catch fish out of a boat called " catchin' nothin'"
death_ship
20-02-2008, 06:12 AM
heres the link to the ceremony for changing the name.
http://www.boatsafe.com/nauticalknowhow/rename.htm
i changed mine and followed this ceremony, theres was no way i would ignore such an ancient tradition. Ever since i did it i have been catching heaps more fish.
This is far more than superstition, ignore at your peril!!
Shagga
20-02-2008, 07:20 AM
Death ship don't tell me this is what the new name on your boat is.
Xahn1960
20-02-2008, 11:17 AM
I don't know about Tradition, and I'm not superstitious but my boat was plagued with small problems from the moment I bought it. I discovered that the name had been changed when I went to transfer the rego so I included the old name in my "how to" book I keep on board. Since then she has been perfect !! not so much as a minor hicup...... So who knows??? maybe theres something to all this, then again..... maybe an overhaul and rewire had something to do with it :)
Bill.
20-02-2008, 02:23 PM
I don't know about Tradition, and I'm not superstitious but my boat was plagued with small problems from the moment I bought it. I discovered that the name had been changed when I went to transfer the rego so I included the old name in my "how to" book I keep on board. Since then she has been perfect !! not so much as a minor hicup...... So who knows??? maybe theres something to all this, then again..... maybe an overhaul and rewire had something to do with it :)
Bill.
Yes there is something in it, it's called poor maintenance by the previous owner.
As for all that other bullshit about name change. There's fairies in the garden as well.
Little grey men
20-02-2008, 03:19 PM
So i want to change it from DINGY and name it in memory of my daughter.....JESSIE KAY....
I'm sure that such a loving and thoughtful gesture would be smiled upon from above. I'd certainly feel good doing that.
With something as important as that, to hell with tradition and superstition.....go for it.:)
abundy
20-02-2008, 03:35 PM
I read somewhere a boat name can be changed as long as the boat was in dry dock. I think the bubbly was for everyone to get pissed and come up with a good name
Cheers Al
Rod Fishing
20-02-2008, 04:51 PM
Mate talking to few mates in the Navy, they dont want to sail on the new HMAS Hammersly, because of the number change to the new patrol boat, let alone the change of name.....
Consider that.......
death_ship
21-02-2008, 09:39 AM
Death ship don't tell me this is what the new name on your boat is.
ha no its just a piss take for the anti fishing people