View Full Version : $1000 stella versus an old alvey
wayneoro
18-02-2008, 09:07 PM
ok both have same line hooks bait on a reef one guy has a $1000 stella other bloke has a old alvey worth $20 will there be any catch difference ::)
Wahoo
18-02-2008, 09:12 PM
ok both have same line hooks bait on a reef one guy has a $1000 stella other bloke has a old alvey worth $20 will there be any catch difference ::)
pull up say 7-8 35lb reds in one run, that will sought them out
18-02-2008, 09:13 PM
Suppose it would come down to the skill on the Alvey operator in that situation. You would spew if you had the alvey and the skipper said. "OK NOW IT'S TIME FOR SOME JIGGING". Or even spinning into some mackeral. But for bottom bouncing alveys do a job. Many still use them so they can't be that bad. I for one only use alvey for beach fishing and on my blackfish rod.
Cheers Chris
budge
18-02-2008, 09:50 PM
Hahaha I laughed at this for a solid five minutes, then i thought you can't be that left behind and so technophobic because you are on a computer. Lets look at the difference, the true "old alvey" basically makes you look like you have been jerking off non stop for three months. It has no drag therefore your hands look like an albino on a beach holiday, red and covered in blisters. Secondly it has a 1:1 ratio so after fishing on your 80m reef for a day you will have forearms the size of your chest. Combining this you are going to lose more fish as you have a much less reliable less efficient and less capable drag. You will lose more fish due to sharkings and spat hooks due to the fact theres no humanly possible way you can wind in line as fast as the stella. Finally you loose time so therefore you lose fish. This doesn't even start to go into the capabilities of different fishing styles used these days. I think you picked the wrong battle. Maybe there won't be that much of a difference in your cheaper and the stella for spinning metals or bottom bashing but comparing an alvey theres just comparison.
It must have been an old 2nd hand Alvey at $20 ;D
So whats the point here :-/ You may have well said a Alvey vs Handline::) Nagg
spears
19-02-2008, 12:32 AM
I would have rather seen the title.. a alvey 650BC versus stella..
Cause the alvey 650BC has the lever drag.the alvey will only cost $130 and can have any stopping power by slowing down the reel during a strong run or putting on the brakes with 50LB line and have around 600m of mono..
you can cast it, fish deep and you can have seven of em for the price of a stella.
i think a 650BC retrieves about a half a meter per one rotation.
with the average wage earner bringing home around $600 PW and a mortgage kids etc,most people would love to have a stella or saltiga but can’t afford one..
i’d like a chysler C300 but can only afford a 96 commodore.
The people that get these $1000 stella’s are the hard core fisherman who only think about fishing and want to have the best for the best fighting chance of capturing that fish..
But then it makes me think,what did people use before the saltiga's and stalla's came out !!!!
wayneoro
19-02-2008, 07:44 AM
ok all my 3 alvey reels have drag two i paid $20 for at shalom markets bundy the other is a alvey reef master [$300 2nd h] i have been bidding on 10,000 and 20,000 stellas no luck yet so wondered what the do i need it ::)
Jeremy87
19-02-2008, 07:51 AM
But then it makes me think,what did people use before the saltiga's and stalla's came out !!!!
Smaller fish
19-02-2008, 07:55 AM
OK then (especially "budge who is not a technophobe) can anyone tell me how the same bait presented the same way by the same guy on the same line on an Alvey or a Stella will look any different to a fish??? so in answer to your question is a very resounding NO it cannot make one iota of difference, BUt the Angler experience may be enhanced by using a $1,000 reel over an Alvey, and it may be less tireing (maybe) but will either hook more or bigger fish?? never in a million years! and handline will attract the same fish if all things are equal.
19-02-2008, 07:58 AM
wooops I forgot one extra thing for Budge, how much line do you think an 8" Alvey would retreive in one revolution compared to any spinning reel with a spool diametre of about 2", by the way I am not a Technophobe in any way!
Keechie
19-02-2008, 08:11 AM
its simple you can feed a dog using an alvey reel but with the stella thats impossible;D . plus the stellas look better and you don't want to hurt there feelings;D .
regards,
keechie
For me ..... once the hookup does comes ......... I'd want that fish attached to a Stella / Saltiga ....... Not an alvey
I like to fight the fish & not the gear!
Nagg
baitwaster
19-02-2008, 09:14 AM
All depends which one I am holding. If I had the stella, and a half-trained monkey had the alvey, the stella wouldn't even get a look-in. ;D
ok all my 3 alvey reels have drag two i paid $20 for at shalom markets bundy the other is a alvey reef master [$300 2nd h] i have been bidding on 10,000 and 20,000 stellas no luck yet so wondered what the do i need it ::)
Do you need it .... Probably not! .......
Do you want it .... Probably YES ABSOLUTELY WITHOUT A DOUBT!!!;D
Nagg
Life's too short to bugger around with an Alvey::)
budge
19-02-2008, 12:23 PM
Noelm what i said was not meant to be a personal attack on any singular person I was just stating what i think are the facts. If you took it that way I'm sorry you took what I have said out of the context of what was meant. Of course two hooks next to each other with the same bait are not going to make a difference to the size number of fish you can "hook", though there is no way you can honestly tell me that there will not be a difference in the ability of the size and number of fish you CAN "land" using a alvey vs any high end reel. This is just the age old why should i pay so much for something argument. It was just a bad comparison. Thats life isn't it some people can afford things some people can't so you make do with the hand you deal yourself in life. Though when it comes down to it your high end reel worth $1000 is going to give you more ability over any cheaper reel all day 367 days a year, that doesn't mean you should not go fishing and enjoy yourself if you cant afford a stella. By the way noelm I think its great that you aren't technophobic, for after all if we aren't learning we may as well be dead. By my calculations your 8" alvey is going to bring in roughly 64cm per revolution give or take for rough conversions of SI units and a rounded pi while your stella 10000 brings in around 113cm per cranking revolution. This doesn't even take into account the ergonomics of using both reels which is a whole new element to the discussion.
19-02-2008, 12:53 PM
nah, never took it personally and do agree that better gear is better to use, I was just pointing out what was asked in the question (as I understood it) It was asked if an Alvey using the same line and other stuff will get more fish than a high priced reel, in which case the answer was and still is NO, but if asked what would be nicer to use or feel more comfortable after a few hour, then the wanswer would have been different, don't worry about "attacking" me, I am used to it now, never was afraid to say what was on my mind even if it is completely the oposite to the "mainstream"
spears
19-02-2008, 02:15 PM
I think that buying a $1000 stella is because you need it.
Now have a look at some of the fishing that takes place in different states.
Are you going after eg: tuna.well to catch one in SA you would have to fish at port Lincoln,if you fish the Adelaide waters you won’t find tuna..
i buy the gear that suites that type of fish your chasing.Would I buy a stella>NO as a $400 reel is good enough for this place..
move to tuna country then YES..
Chase sharks in SA then an avley will bring them in..
breamnut
19-02-2008, 04:50 PM
lets see how the alvey 650bc handles those massive samson fish in WA in over 100ft of water.
or putting a jig down to 20+ kilo gt on a wreck.
there is no way an alvey is anywhere near a stella or saltiga. no mater who says oh but i caught a 20kg kingy on an alvey once bla bla bla.
yes the old alvey has caught its fair share of fish but the stella 10,00 and 20,000 was disigned for serious ofshore work were no other reel can do the job.
i would love to see 2 guys one with an alvey and one with a stella or saltiga fish sor some BIG hard running and dirty fighting fish over structure.
an alvey isnt even in the same compatition as a stella!::)
youngy
19-02-2008, 05:04 PM
Bring Your $1000 Stella up to Fraser for a week's hard core beach fishing and see what it is like after a good dunking in the surf and sand. cheers Wayne.
The Fraser beach fishing is not a reef, but I get your point Youngy, even still I swaped my Alvey's for TSS4's for use off the beach 20 years ago ;D .
breamnut
20-02-2008, 08:14 AM
Bring Your $1000 Stella up to Fraser for a week's hard core beach fishing and see what it is like after a good dunking in the surf and sand. cheers Wayne.
stella was not made for beach fishing.
also i said serious fish not 4kg tailor! my 2000 sol can handle them!
20-02-2008, 09:57 AM
Cannot see why the correct Alvey wouldn't be a match for the stella offshore for reef fish, the single deciding factor for me would be high gunnels with alveys just don't work well, the correct alvey really rips a weigheted line in but who doesn't use a pump retrieve when onto a good fish at depth anyway?
TonyM
20-02-2008, 11:57 AM
Another important point - I wouldn't like to be running braid on an Alvey, I've got stuff all fingers left as it is! :-X
edit: Not that I don't like Alveys - I have half a dozen including ancient little wooden and bakelite ones up to big lever drags. It's horses for courses
krazyfisher
20-02-2008, 01:08 PM
I have used an alvey for reef fishing and also use my torsa I think people would be surprised how easy the alvey does pull up fish and yes I use braid
20-02-2008, 04:02 PM
wooops I forgot one extra thing for Budge, how much line do you think an 8" Alvey would retreive in one revolution compared to any spinning reel with a spool diametre of about 2", by the way I am not a Technophobe in any way!
The Alvey would retrieve about 90cms ! The saltiga dog fight retreives about 1.5 m per turn! Plus the alvey is heavier and cannot match the drag of the other reels so although you would hook the same fish you wouldn't land as many! Laying braid on a alvey would be dangerous and cuts would happen , that of course is if you still had the energy for fighting the fish after trying to inpart action into your jig using a 8 inch alvey.
For general reef fishing Alveys are fine( maybe a little heavy) but once you get into other area's no way. As for handlining againg good, but imagine tying a jig to 80lb braid and handlining that!!:o
rockfisho
20-02-2008, 05:17 PM
They are different tools for different jobs. You wouldn't see a serious beach fisherman using a stella, because salt ruins everything. Equally you wouldnt see someone jigging or doing serious shallow water game fishing with light lines and an alvey.
I am a dedicated alvey man from the beach and rocks, where reliability and durability is crucial to catching fish, but i dont like them in a boat because you need really heavy lead.
In the case of higher price reels catching more fish, it technically is a fallacy. I know there are probably superstitions
Owen
20-02-2008, 07:26 PM
A lot of guys who want to stop big Reds use Alveys (winches) ;D or even something like a 925;)
If the same line is 80lb mono I would back the Alvey hands down;D
For just about everything else the Stella would beat it but at a premium cost
wayneoro
20-02-2008, 07:30 PM
looks like some of us have lost the basic skills to fish so now rely on high dollar gear to make up . 40 yrs ago i hand lined snapper with string soaked in tar with string traces then came catgut traces wow that was a biggie . i have never caught more fish then with the handline . i think as the gear gets better more people fish =less fish and i am staying with the alvey it is fool proof and does a perfect job call it direct drive u can feel everything and are in total control , there is nothing that can break or fail it will cast forever no back lash no big knotted mess u just cant beat it i think ps i have braid on 2 alveys but 100lb mono on the reef winch
spears
20-02-2008, 08:09 PM
I was going to say the same thing about alvey reels.
One big advantage with alveys is no one ever seems to say it broke.No bail arms breaking,no handles breaking,no stripped gears.simple reels for simple fishing..Any reel like an avley can be mastered to work in experienced hands..
I like using spinning reels for most of my fishing but deep sea shark fishing the alvey comes out.
Buy the right size for your type of fishing and it works.
And if you hook something really big and your trying to stop it just palm the spool.
reggy
20-02-2008, 08:20 PM
Using an Alvey for any kind of fishing would be taking a giant step backwards for me, right back to my childhood, and I am in my mid fifties.
Any reel is only as good as it`s drag, and Alveys just don`t cut it for me.
I would enjoy using a deck winch about as much as a net. Give me a rod and reel anyday.What I can`t get to the boat with my Avets and Penns, I don`t want in the boat.
After saying that, I think everyone has the right to use whatever blows their hair back.
Reggy
TonyM
20-02-2008, 08:37 PM
It'd make my day to see someone chucking lures at impoundment Barra in the sticks with an Alvey :wut: :hammer: :stunned:
seriously I can't believe how crazy some of the posts in this thread are getting. ::) ;D
I agree with Tony. Have another look at the subject title.
If it had been a $1000 stella versus a NEW Alvey, there would have been no contest :=)
Good luck,,
TonyM
20-02-2008, 09:32 PM
I agree with Tony. Have another look at the subject title.
If it had been a $1000 stella versus a NEW Alvey, there would have been no contest :=)
Good luck,,
hehe yep the new ones win hands down! :D
One big advantage with alveys is no one ever seems to say it broke.No bail arms breaking,no handles breaking,no stripped gears.simple reels for simple fishing..Any reel like an avley can be mastered to work in experienced hands..
I like using spinning reels for most of my fishing but deep sea shark fishing the alvey comes out.
And if you hook something really big and your trying to stop it just palm the spool.
Thats what Santiago thought ! ( Hemingways ... The old man & the sea);D Imagine if he had a Stella ;)
Nagg
spears
20-02-2008, 11:25 PM
Thats what Santiago thought ! ( Hemingways ... The old man & the sea);D Imagine if he had a Stella ;)
Nagg
And if you hook something really big and your trying to stop it just palm the spool
Well not really without glove or towel..i have had too a few times and i used the bottom part of my jumper this is while the drag is on max..it works
But hey no biggy its only a fishing thingo....................
I don't want a stella i want a van staal,one day when i can afford one..
breamnut
21-02-2008, 09:13 AM
they should have a fishing show catching big blacks of cairns.
alvey is good in its own right but as for stopping big powerful fish that take massive runs or go straight for the bottem they were not made for it.
wayneoro
21-02-2008, 09:23 PM
gee guys i am not going to be able to sleep tonite worring about catching 7-8 big reds in a run ,giant samson fish,
big blacks on a alvey lol how long since any one caught any of these fish let alone worry about wearing yourself out catching to many lol . pro line fishermen use hand lines or alvey winches , why because that is obviously the easist and most efficient productive way . now u might say ok how many kilos is not wot im about i am a sportsman fine then be sporting use a safty pin and a ball wool lol anyway that basic pro fact eliminates any doubts about catching more fish with a high dollar reel . ps my thread was for reef fishing
spears
21-02-2008, 09:36 PM
Why is it that i'm picking up this vibe from stella owners ..
sounds a bit like " if ya aint got a stella ya aint gonna catch nuffin "...
Here in SA not worth havin a stella we aint got no big fish..
21-02-2008, 10:03 PM
Why is it that i'm picking up this vibe from stella owners ..
sounds a bit like " if ya aint got a stella ya aint gonna catch nuffin "...
Here in SA not worth havin a stella we aint got no big fish..
No big fish hey? I'll swap you your big bay snapper down there for our Moreton bay snapper up here.
From memory the record King fish cam from SA last year. I t was rediculously massive. Like 44kg or something.
Not that I have a stella nor need one at the moment but the goal is to 1. Need one and 2. Be able to justify a grand just for the reel.
Cheers Chris
21-02-2008, 10:22 PM
Many less experienced anglers may confuse the use of expensive and high tech gear with true skill developed using a wide varity of equipment. An Alvey may be basic but is certainly capable of knocking over most fish in SEQ. I get a huge amount of satisfaction from the direct contact with the fish
As Obi_Wan said "Use the Force". You would be amazed at what you can catch on an Alvey if you understand their limitations and advantages
NO one sits over a reef fishing with bait using a Stella, that is the forte of Alvey's, overheads and baitrunners, the same as no one goes deep jigging with Alvey's. The question was stupid from the start and the topic has been going around in a big circle and will soon disappear into the same abyss it came from::) .
wayneoro
22-02-2008, 07:26 AM
em getting touchy i think alvey has won this thread hands down lol
wayneoro
22-02-2008, 07:28 AM
It'd make my day to see someone chucking lures at impoundment Barra in the sticks with an Alvey :wut: :hammer: :stunned:
read the thread before making dumb post reef reef reef fishin
Because I'm not a Qld'er ..... I'll say it " I hate Alveys!"
Never liked them during my rock fishing days! , Never liked them boat fishing!
I've owned 3 over the years ( so I tried) Off the rocks I reckon Alveys are just to heavy to use all day ( & only good for baitfishing ..... not spinning ) ..... So I reverted back to spin & overhead gear!
In a boat ... I felt I was just winching fish ( no fun) .... & except for bottom bouncing that's all they were good for!
I've drifted here a little ....... but I would much rather use gear that I enjoy using , can use all day without fatigue & that can tackle the target species!
Seriously ..... It would be very hard to defend an Alvey .... once you have used or owned a high end reel like a Stella or Saltiga ! .... These reels will knock over anything an Alvey can & then some
In the end .... it boils down to $$$ & what you can afford or what you a willing to spend !
TECHNOLOGY RULES;)
Nagg
Wahoo
22-02-2008, 07:39 AM
catching 7-8 big reds in a run
lol how long since any one caught any of these fish
4 weeks ago;D
Wahoo
22-02-2008, 07:42 AM
gee guys i am not going to be able to sleep tonite worring about catching 7-8 big reds in a run
after pulling up these with them other reels i would'nt be able to sleep also ;D
TonyM
22-02-2008, 08:07 AM
read the thread before making dumb post reef reef reef fishin
Mate if ya wanna make a dumb post comparing apples and oranges ya get dumb replies ::)
p.s. I read the whole thread, I had a good laugh too - Thanks :)
p.p.s If you're sense of humour is turned off and you only want serious replies heres one for you:
If you're purely in to winching meat over the side, yes an Alvey winch is probably the best way to go. If like most of us you go fishing mainly to have fun and aren't a pro or someone who like to keep the freezer chockas then some more refined gear can make the day out much more enjoyable.
I started out fishing with Alveys and handlines about 38 years ago and I still use a few of my larger alveys when I go over to fraser beach fishing but other than that I use o/heads for bottom bashing as I feel they are far more suitable for 99% of bottom bashing (unfortunately I don't get to fish for big reds etc very often) although find my o\heads more than up to the job of bottom bashing in general
So to answer your question I feel neither of those reels is the best for bottom bashing...
There ya go ;)
Mate if ya wanna make a dumb post comparing apples and oranges ya get dumb replies ::)
p.s. I read the whole thread, I had a good laugh too - Thanks :)
p.p.s If you're sense of humour is turned off and you only want serious replies heres one for you:
If you're purely in to winching meat over the side, yes an Alvey winch is probably the best way to go. If like most of us you go fishing mainly to have fun and aren't a pro or someone who like to keep the freezer chockas then some more refined gear can make the day out much more enjoyable.
I started out fishing with Alveys and handlines about 38 years ago and I still use a few of my larger alveys when I go over to fraser beach fishing but other than that I use o/heads for bottom bashing as I feel they are far more suitable for 99% of bottom bashing (unfortunately I don't get to fish for big reds etc very often) although find my o\heads more than up to the job of bottom bashing in general
So to answer your question I feel neither of those reels is the best for bottom bashing...
There ya go ;)
I gotta say ....... The post was a bit like that:-/ ..... One of those rainy day posts
Nagg
22-02-2008, 10:21 AM
em getting touchy i think alvey has won this thread hands down lol
LOL we would need a "who won the stella V alvey" poll to know for sure;D
It's a crackup;D;D
breamnut
22-02-2008, 03:07 PM
seriously though. stella and alvey are 2 completly different reels.
its hard to campair the 2 but a stella is suited to more things. plastics,jigging,game fish and its still fine for bait fishing.
i dont own a stella but ive fished with them. if your a rock or beach fisho an alvey is fine but for anything including lures or massive game fish stella.
reggy
22-02-2008, 04:49 PM
or as marlin brando said, in "a streetcar named desire", STELLA!!
Sorry fellers, well it is friday arvo, I`ll put down the glass now.::)
rEGGY
spears
22-02-2008, 07:08 PM
Gee owning a stella or two like some people have,you guys must have your own corporation or company with big bucks.$1000 for a fishing reel,i can buy a whole car for that..
reggy
22-02-2008, 07:42 PM
Gee owning a stella or two like some people have,you guys must have your own corporation or company with big bucks.$1000 for a fishing reel,i can buy a whole car for that..
G`day Spears
The most I have ever paid for a reel is $430.00. It was for a Calcutta700, the first model, and I have been very dissapointed with it .The next most expensive was a TLD 15,which was $349.00, also a dissapointing reel.
But I have forgiven Shimano, and since then bought aTorium20 and a Tekota 500
which have proven to be good reels.
I got my 2 Avets on sale at $300.00 each, by far my favourite reels and a bargain.
Reggy;D
TonyM
22-02-2008, 08:06 PM
I don't think I've seen a single person on this post who's said they own a Stella? :-/
Although I do have a few nice Diawa reels! And I love each of them :smitten:They are all excellent for the task I need them to do. I haven't always had flash tackle, although having worked hard to get what I have over more than 40 years I love and appreciate each and every one of them. :-*
At the end of the day spears we are all lucky that we get to enjoy fishing, it's taken a lot of hard work and more than a few tears for me to get to the stage that I have a few bits of nice kit - Nothing has ever been handed to me on a platter, why begrudge people what they have worked hard for? :ears:
Tetsuo
22-02-2008, 08:40 PM
Yeah alveys are good for the beach and handlines are good for hauling meat onboard. How fun. I would like to know if any of these alvey enthusiasts have ever used a decent reel while out in the boat or are they working on the ignorance is bliss mentality. I cant imagine that after spending some time with a high end reel that anyone could think anything about an alvey is OK. By the way, you dont have to be a tycoon to buy a good reel, you just have to want it enough to save and stop wasting money on smokes and what ever else. (Sorry to those who are genuine and not just tight)
chief 1
22-02-2008, 08:46 PM
Go the almighty alvey (Sorry,i've only used a stella once and the alvey 50 or more times)
spears
22-02-2008, 09:19 PM
As TonyM writes:
I don't think I've seen a single person on this post who's said they own a Stella?
Well then who's got a $1000 stella.Speak up
How about some people go out and buy a Gloomis rod $400 and get $150 worth of line onto a $600 stella and cast plastics to catch a 30cm bream.would of spent $1150..Do you really need all this elite stuff to catch a 30 cm bream.
Wahoo
22-02-2008, 09:35 PM
As TonyM writes:
I don't think I've seen a single person on this post who's said they own a Stella?
How about some people go out and buy a Gloomis rod $400 and get $150 worth of line onto a $600 stella and cast plastics to catch a 30cm bream.would of spent $1150..Do you really need all this elite stuff to catch a 30 cm bream.
no Stellas, but have 4 Saltigas;D
Have a look at my avatar, that's my jigging one ;D , I have a couple of models for Popping and lighter jigging, I also still have a Alvey Reefmaster and a couple of small Alveys left from the 5-6 I have owned in my last 35 years of fishing, although I haven't used any for 20 years since I started using overheads [Sealines and then TLD's] and spinning reels [Shakespear Sigmas and Penn]. I sold a Alvey 925 last year as nobody has used it when reef fishing from my boat for 12 years as they prefer overheads like TLD's and Tekotas etc.
It all comes down to personal taste.;)
22-02-2008, 10:21 PM
IMHO anyone who spends 1000 on a reel has rocks in their head. I challenge anyone to catch more fish on the $1k reel as opposed to a $150 reel. Its bullshit, and makes no difference.
Reality Andy.
Put it in perspective: If a fisherman who smoked a pack a day gave up, he could buy a Stella 8k in 8 weeks or a Daiwa Certate Hyper 4k in 7 weeks with the money saved :o , personal choices not bullshit :thumbsup:
I would rather chase an GT or Ambo on a Stella then a Alvey Reef Queen [top deckwinch] which is still going to cost you $650 ;D .
Tetsuo
23-02-2008, 08:27 AM
Real Andy,
If you are fishing for big kings or samsons , of course the stella will catch more fish because the $150 real you thought looked so fantastic for the price would sh!t itself on the second fish, not to mention the stella's drag could stop more fish from hitting reef. I use diawa not shimano but if you havn't used a good reel you have no idea
banshee
23-02-2008, 08:30 AM
IMHO anyone who spends 1000 on a reel has rocks in their head. I challenge anyone to catch more fish on the $1k reel as opposed to a $150 reel. Its bullshit, and makes no difference.
So which $150 reel would be your choice for jigging........and what would the wager be for the said challange should anyone be stupid enough to take you on?
PlasticFantastic
23-02-2008, 09:23 AM
Why is it that it seems to be the norm to spend a few grand on a set of golf clubs to wack a silly little ball around a padock but as a fisherman if I tell someone my cars value doubles when I put my fishing gear in it they think i'm crazy. Here's an interseting one jigging for Dogtooth Tuna with a 400gm jig in say 100m of water with a Alvey, all I can say is good luck.
PlasticFantastic
budge
23-02-2008, 10:18 AM
I think it all comes down to people fear what they do not know. No one is saying you need to buy a thousand dollar reel to go fishing but in some circumstances the quality of real that you need for an certain fishing style necessitates the high quality that is produced in such a reel. Sure you can get away with cheaper stuff but how long will it last in extreme conditions. The other thing i see a lot is that we Aussies love the tall poppy syndrome, if someone has something that we can not afford we say you don't need that, why would you waste your money. Only a certain select few of the population say how can i put myself into the position of being able to afford that or what are the benefits of having such items. I guess our population has just developed a heavily defeatist and cynical nature over the years, I suppose that goes to aid in the age old saying of the rich get richer.
spears
23-02-2008, 12:50 PM
I would say on the average most people who are regular fisho's would have reels pricing from$100 to $500 probably average a $300 to $350 reel..
tony2dogs
23-02-2008, 02:33 PM
I have been using a 5.5 inch Alvey for about 25 years.
I don't look after it except to say: the maintenance routine has been to dunk it into saltwater. It works fine. If the reel sounds a bit crunchy on the wind - well loosen that nut in the middle and dunk it again to wash the sand out. It gets a fresh water spray at home mainly for the sake of the line, the rod bindings, and the smell.
It's hooked up on world record Queenies (that don't count unless you're in a club and all the rest of whatever), metre + barra, macks, grunter, mongrel dart, trevally, flatties, jacks, bream, whiting and one particular extreme fishing moment when a 16 kg golden trevally towed me and the reel fully submerged for a good 5 min before I got into the tender (and it's videotaped) - basically everything in Qld waters. The difference is clearly the ABUSE and saltwater.
The eggbeaters I use for baitfish and the kids, a stella? No offence but WTF is that? Sounds like that beer that I got drunk on at that rich dudes wedding.
In saying this, as easy and reliable as an Alvey is, for me it is easier for the kids to stick with the eggbeaters. Whether it just be a shielded life, laziness, or lack of funds, I reckon it's whatever you were brought up on. As for $1000 for a reel, well I've just bought about $800 worth of gear for a Hinchinbrook trip that got me an abu baitcaster, shimano rod, a Penn level wind combo, braid, a stack of soft plastics and hard bodied lures.
If you can afford $1000 for one reel, well, maybe if you drop it you can afford another one. It's like when my old man bought the latest model Ford LTD for whatever price, he then complained about how much it cost to get it serviced - like what did he expect.
If I was a rich dude maybe... but on my wage I think I the $800 plus the other trip expenses is where the fun is for now.
It's all good.
ps. I knocked the Alvey off my workbench 2 months ago - the spool cracked and it cost me $27.50 for a new one. Maybe I should have spent the thousand after all.
breamnut
24-02-2008, 08:17 AM
As TonyM writes:
not stella's as i dont use shimano spin reels but daiwa certates ,sol's,tierra and saltist.
guys who fish with lures usually have better quality gear because fishing with lures puts alot of stress on a reel with all the casting and winding. its ends up costing less buying a good quality reel then a few cheepies and there much nicer to use. ;)
yes i also use good quality rods and you cant understand this untill you get experiance lure fishing and you will find that cheap stuff just isnt up to the task.
with a good quality graphite rod they are much lighter and more sensitive.
its also the places we fish to catch bream that we use quality rods,reels,lines,hooks everything!
there are a alot of people on these forums who use good gear and fish tournies and guys who dont fish tournies but know the importance of quality tackle.
you cant argue with over a hundred people fishing these comps every time the are on and its only getting bigger!;D
not just bream that we use this tackle for. with such good braid out there guys can use 15lb which is like 4-6lb mono! and the reels can put on so much pressure that you can easily just tie on a new leader and lure and go target some bigger fish like jack.8-)
udlman
24-02-2008, 09:01 AM
I have seen it quite a few times. Barra and bass on alveys and 9ft surf rods, really pulls them up quick.
At least with an alvey on the reef, U catch a couple of fish, get gorilla arms, go home and leave fish for next time. With the high end reels, u don't get buggered, therefore catch and take more fish, therefore reducing the numbers for next time.
Brad
breamnut
24-02-2008, 09:41 AM
I have seen it quite a few times. Barra and bass on alveys and 9ft surf rods, really pulls them up quick.
At least with an alvey on the reef, U catch a couple of fish, get gorilla arms, go home and leave fish for next time. With the high end reels, u don't get buggered, therefore catch and take more fish, therefore reducing the numbers for next time.
Brad
that is the stupidest thing ive ever read on these forums!:hammer:
countbaysea
24-02-2008, 11:25 AM
My stella and hyper certate has payed for itself from the amount/quality/enjoyment of providing a feed over many years of hard fishing. If i had to go and purchase the fish i have caught over the years it would well be over $3000. This gear is still like new and will last a lifetime. As Breamnut says it is the versatility in these reels (popper/lure, troll bbounce) that attracts them to buyers. i still use alveys now and then from the beach but mainly a tss4 or plastic gear.
Consistant 36kg of standup in a spin reel who would of thought?
I dont smoke, take drugs or drink alot. Fishing is my vice.
spears
24-02-2008, 01:32 PM
My stella and hyper certate has payed for itself from the amount/quality/enjoyment of providing a feed over many years of hard fishing. If i had to go and purchase the fish i have caught over the years it would well be over $3000. This gear is still like new and will last a lifetime. As Breamnut says it is the versatility in these reels (popper/lure, troll bbounce) that attracts them to buyers. i still use alveys now and then from the beach but mainly a tss4 or plastic gear.
Consistant 36kg of standup in a spin reel who would of thought?
I dont smoke, take drugs or drink alot. Fishing is my vice.
You have worded the stella as "versatility" which makes good sense and i myself would love to have a stella or saltiga and have that versatility in my fishing but find it hard to fork out between $700-$1000 for a reel.
So the question i'm going to ask from the large variety of fishers here is what other reel would serve us in versatility where we outlay less amount of $$$ and are able to get some thing still decent..spinning reels only..
looking forward to your reply guys cause i'm in the market for something good..
Yes countbaysea, 'I TOO AM A TACKLEHOLIC':o .
Brad [udlman], that was a stupid statement:dizzy: , the amount of fish that gets taken home comes back to the person fishing, on my boat we take enough for a couple of feeds [fresh], we never chase bag limits and freeze nothing.
countbaysea
24-02-2008, 02:40 PM
spears
"
So the question i'm going to ask from the large variety of fishers here is what other reel would serve us in versatility where we outlay less amount of $$$ and are able to get some thing still decent..spinning reels only.."
shimano spheros 12/14000, spinfisher 8500/9500, banax gts, daiwa entoh, daiwa emblem pro. okuma eclipz. All of these would need drag upgrades.
Maybe try a search on "budget jigging gear"
hope this helps
shane
spears
24-02-2008, 03:24 PM
I've had some of those and they are around the $150-$250 price range.i would have thought of something in the $250-$400 range.i have an idea that even in that price range that when you open them up and look inside at the workings they may be no different that the cheaper $200 reels
i'll start a new thread on this as its going off topic
The new Spheros FB will be released later in the year, it comes as a standard upgraded Spheros, with the extra ball bearing and Carbontex drag ;D .
Also a next level up reel called a Saragosa which comes with 7 BB and Dartainium Drag :cheesy:
mattooty
24-02-2008, 08:57 PM
You have worded the stella as "versatility" which makes good sense and i myself would love to have a stella or saltiga and have that versatility in my fishing but find it hard to fork out between $700-$1000 for a reel.
So the question i'm going to ask from the large variety of fishers here is what other reel would serve us in versatility where we outlay less amount of $$$ and are able to get some thing still decent..spinning reels only..
Spheros. = $200
Drag upgrade = ~$25-30
Bush to bearing = $20
And you have yourself a heavy duty jigging outfit. If you cant afford the stella go the spheros and get it upgraded, they dont call it the sphella (spheros with upgrades) for nothing. they will cop a fair amount of abuse, but wil eventually break down.
I for one would rather save the money for a stella but until then my spheros is covering my bases.
[
quote=TonyM;770413]I don't think I've seen a single person on this post who's said they own a Stella? :-/
Does this one count ? 21954
I wont be using it to fish for reefies though ;)
Nagg
I'd be looking at a Daiwa Saltiga ........ but not buying it in OZ! You'll save a few hundred dollars without any of the compromise that are part & parcel of buying a cheaper reel! ...... I do this with all my mid & high end gear these days ..... So I get what I want .... & don't have to compromise8-)
Nagg
24-02-2008, 10:56 PM
In all fairness it is a bit of a mis match, but not an unreasonable discussion.
I've heard a lot of people bag the alvey drag or complete lack of it on some models.
the modern reels do have much better drag systems than the older ones that had a single washer.
As far as breaking an alvey......has anybody seen someone break an alvey apart from droping it from a great height or running over it with the car?
The other thing is if you worked the drags in the alvey... laped the washers and selected the friction material for your desire the drag would be even better.
Isnt ther a good market for doing this to egg braters and overheads....
I've heard a lot of emotive rubbish and preconceptions bandied about.... lets talk facts.
yes the stella will most cretaily be a more sofisticated reel and will problay have many advantage in lots of situations
but so will the alvey
The stella simply can not touch a big alvey for line capacity
The alvey will cretailny be cheaper..... perhaps the compariston should have been with a $150 egg beater or an entry leve overhead
There will be differenced in how a fish is played on the two different styles of reel. but this talk of just winching stuff in.....is rubbish........or do you acknoweledge that the alvey has more pulling power;D .
you problay wouln't use the same line on both reels but lets say comparble breaking strain.
you would use them on very different rods
and you would fish them both differently.
as far as getting lets asy a standard fish..... lets say a decent snapper...... landed once hooked.
equal fishermen with similar skills on their tackle.
I recon they would both have an even chance.as long as the alvey was a recent large bc or c series.
just as a matter of interest
My young brotherinlaw loves to fish for snapper out in the bay....he has a good selection of tackle.........he uses an old b series alvey on a 12 foot custom rod and 30 lb mono........he has a great time and catches decent fish.......the whole rig cst him less that $300 hook line & sinker.
If he had $1000 to spend on fishing.... it would go toward a bigger boat, not a fancy reel
I cant say his rig would be my choice....... but it works for him.
I woudn't be spending $1000 on any reel either.
spears
25-02-2008, 12:19 AM
There have been a lot of things said by the new generation fisho’s but we do have people here which had started fishing 40 years ago and have been comfortable using so called out dated gear,but these alvey reels have been reliable for us.
I have 2 alvey’s and I have one with a modded drag and I rely on that reel to bring in the big fish.
Give me a stella or saltiga any day for free and I’ll use it but I won’t pay $800-$1000 for a reel..
If I were fishing for a living I would buy something that’s realable and makes it easy for me to make a living.which one would I use alvey / saltiga ..don’t know I’m not a pro fisherman out there every day,but they would know..do we have one here..
This is a simple sport for enjoyment but were heading into rocket science for reels.
Welcome to the 21st century !
& to those with their eyes shut ........ You probably aint seen nothing yet ( so open your eyes)
Yes $1000 is a fair bit of cash to outlay for a fishing reel ...... but no different to when I was spending $700 on a Finnor or $500 on a Penn International lever drag game reel to catch YFT & other game fish (25 years ago) ...... Technology & precision doesn't come cheap ....... but it does become cheaper
Reels like the Stella & Saltiga use today's technology (materials) which have allowed previously uncharted waters to be crossed! ..... 10 years ago you would have laughed at someone who was going to target Marlin , Tuna ( incl dogtooth) , samson fish , kingfish etc etc etc on Spin gear ( It just wasn't up to it .... or had the line capacity) Now we have reels that not only can handle the drag & stresses ..... but because of the use of thin braided lines , we now have the capacity to boot! :P
So what does this all mean to the average Jo fishoe who wants to target big fish ...... In simple terms they will have much much lighter gear which is user friendly ..... can handle pretty well the biggest fish , is versatile & should last ( with care) as long as an Alvey ........... Also this new technology allows our kids & wives to participate because the tackle is now manageable .
An Alvey will always have its place ........ however it continues to be pushed further back as we continue to embrace technology
Yes ours is a simple sport ..... But these days its been made a lot more enjoyable because of the tackle which is available ....... Actually these days It is "ROCKET SCIENCE"
Nagg
PS .... I'd hate to go back to jigging for Kingies with 4/0 Penn Senators & 7ft fiberglass rods ( 1982 style) ....... :thumbsdown:
Chalk and cheese again oldboot, you wouldn't buy a big 'top end' HD reel for fishing in the bay for Snapper, the brotherinlaws rig is an older style which is made for that style of fishing and he is happy with it [which is the whole point], but a lot of fishers these days chase the same fish with smaller spinning reels in the 2500-4000 sizes with SP's and 10-20lb braid, and they are just as happy, but they are not the $1000 reels referred to:-/ .
Also the line capacity becomes irrelevant when bottom fishing especially in the bay, in the 1980's when I used my Alvey Reef Master and 925 Boat Reel fishing the deep water outside the Barwon Banks, I would only replace the top 200-250m as only 150-200m was ever used, the spool had to be filled up with cheap backing.
wayneoro
25-02-2008, 09:22 AM
top post nagg ty ok made my mind up will buy stella or simler reel ,sell my reefmaster, keep my alvey 600 c37(timber) and 650c57(glass) but will try buy upgraded washers etc ty all plus of cause my main reel tld20 i die owning lol
larfin
25-02-2008, 03:28 PM
If you just look at the reel in the box at the takle store it is hard to justify the money for the stella but once you have used a stella in anger you will never go back .They are just so good.
greg
spears
25-02-2008, 03:42 PM
If the stella reel is so good why did they only give 12 month warranty when there are other reels giving 5 years.
12 month warranty on a 20000 at $1190 geez
breamnut
25-02-2008, 04:41 PM
to put it symple for some of u guys. THERE ARE ALOT OF FISH OUT THERE THAT AN ALVEY CANT HANDLE! the stella is a super strong and the 20000 holds over 37kilo of drag!. (no way an alvey can do this) not many guys buy stella if they are only bait fishing.
and yes the alvey is a solid reel but i dont know many people stupid enough to run over there reel in there car. or drop it from a considerable hight.
alvey is fine for what its designed for but i dont see why people dont understand that a $150-$200 reel WILL NOT LAST on some fish!
has anyone seen the IFISH dvd when lee pulled in that massive dog tooth tuna on the stella? that was a 37kilo t,curve jig rod he was using. try stopping that fish on your alvey;);D
25-02-2008, 04:47 PM
There is no way I would try to tell anybody that an Alvey any Alvey was a better reel in all situations, certainly when it comes to big game & repitition casting they are simply not in the race.
But there is one reason and one reason only that the Alvey products don't have the market volume they deserve..... and that is marketing.
There is one small company marketing a side cast centre pin reel in the world now.
there are at least 5 major players and heaps of minor players marketing thredlines and overheads of some sort, and the combined marketing force and sheer volume of product on the shelves, makes it dificult for the poor old Alvey to be actulay judged on its merits.
I completely realise that southerers in general look down on alvies and always have...... lets face it there is a lot of...... um........ culture ( bull$%#@) associated with every part of fishing, and it is difficult to have a discussion without preconceptions, dogma and marketing getting in the way of reason.
no where has the idea of being "up to date" been better sold to a bunch of suckers than in fishing (if you exclude computing).
The fish don't know & dont care how much your reel cost or how many bearings it has in it, they'll rap you arround a pillon just as fast regardless of the type of line you have on.
I dont think I have seen anything I could consider a truly inovative recent development...it has all been fiddling arround the edges or repackaging of old ideas.
The major changes have been in qulaity of manufacture, reduction in price and marketing.... marketing everwhere.
It is a very long bow to say this type reel or that, this rod or the other, and on down the line to sinkers & hooks... is better or worse......... just different and suitable for different applications.
personaly I own something like 5 threadlines, 8 or so Alvies and 1 "Reel of Satan" ( baitcaster).....I can see the advantages of various types of tackle.
Unfortunately there is an eliment that can not possibly understand what an Alvey can do for you.
Certainly the concept of not having a drag system is a hard one for some to get past......
None of the other reels can match them for simplicity, sensitivity, durability and outright value for money.
You can look down on the poor old Alvey all you like....... but that is your loss.....sucker;D :P ;D . Makes the bidding on ebay easier for the rest of us.
manchild
25-02-2008, 05:08 PM
Sure the stella makes it easier,but people fished before they came about.Alveys has a good feeling and in many cases history.I doubt you going to give the stella to your grandson one day .Besides that you can have the best reel if you dont have the skill to use it.
George
There is one small company marketing a side cast centre pin reel in the world now.
I always thought that replication was the greatest form of flattery ..... good ideas usually are ! ;)
Nagg
25-02-2008, 06:06 PM
Replication is easy when they all come out of the same factories in china .:chinese: :tongue:
Very true ..... but not always
I loved it when a spruiker in Malaysia said to me " You want to buy a Genuine Rolex copy watch ?" ;D ;D ;D I cracked up
Nagg
Jimbo73
25-02-2008, 06:54 PM
[
Does this one count ? 21954
I wont be using it to fish for reefies though ;)
NaggIf i ever need to spend a 1000 dollars on a reel to catch guppies like that or any other fish i will sell my boat,fishing gear the whole lot. I guess some of you guys have more money then sense. I guess you would pay 2000,3000,4000 anything cause you think that without these reels you wont handle a decent fish. What a load of S#@T . I bet any money fish are still lost while fishing with these 1000 dollar reels.
spears
25-02-2008, 07:03 PM
Then maybe we can agree that avey has its place on the beach and stella have there place every where..but i know i can use an avley in most fishing situations..can you ???..
If i ever need to spend a 1000 dollars on a reel to catch guppies like that or any other fish i will sell my boat,fishing gear the whole lot. I guess some of you guys have more money then sense. I guess you would pay 2000,3000,4000 anything cause you think that without these reels you wont handle a decent fish. What a load of S#@T . I bet any money fish are still lost while fishing with these 1000 dollar reels.
Its a lovely little bass ...... caught in wild country ( worth every cent)
Jimbo73
25-02-2008, 07:25 PM
Its a lovely little bass ...... caught in wild country ( worth every cent)A 5 dollar e bay reel could handle that guppie. I hope you had your 1000 dollar drag syatem done up tight for that one. Your lucky you had it,you might of lost such a grand fish without that reel.
25-02-2008, 07:26 PM
"alvies belong on the beach"
Yep thats a southerner talking:P
In the not too distant past along with the pictures and stories of fellas with a lot of money using big overheads on big game style roods off the rocks & other places... there were plenty of pictures of ordinary working class panel van driving guys battling all sorts of monsters with........ big alvies...... thats all they cuold get or afford.
This was in times when we saw pictorial easys in fishing magazines not just a few hundred words and a picture of a bloke or shela holding a fish.
Don't ever say you couln't land XYZ with an Alvey..... because you can bet your boots someone has pictures of just that.
I've got one old mag here that shows a bloke sittin' on his bum on the sand with his heels doug in, big rod bent like a hoola hoop being draged into the surf...pictures show him later with the fish landed..... fabulous series of picks.
Similar pictures of some madman up at fraser in the early days, straped into a home made harness with an enormous rod and the biggest alvey..... he was after sharks.......aparantly there was a bit of a craze up there at the time.
Never underestimate an Alvey or a bloke who knows how to use one.
THERE ARE ALOT OF FISH OUT THERE THAT AN ALVEY CANT HANDLE! the stella is a super strong and the 20000 holds over 37kilo of drag!. (no way an alvey can do this) not many guys buy stella if they are only bait fishing.
has anyone seen the IFISH dvd when lee pulled in that massive dog tooth tuna on the stella? that was a 37kilo t,curve jig rod he was using. try stopping that fish on your alvey;);D
Ive used the big stella's and ive also seen what a 925 alvey can handle. When it comes to bottom bouncing (not jigging) and big fish, dont think the alvey is out gunned by any means....
"alvies belong on the beach"
Yep thats a southerner talking:P
Never underestimate an Alvey or a bloke who knows how to use one.
So true old boot ...
Jimbo73
25-02-2008, 07:44 PM
Heres a quick pic of one of many bass ive caught ,not the biggest but still alright. This one was caught on a Halco Scorpion,4lb braid a $50 silstar rod and the reel wasnt an Alvey but i have no doubt i could catch one on a Alvey, it was a $33 Abu reel picked up on special from #####"worth every cent".
Wahoo
25-02-2008, 07:48 PM
this thread is getting funny, but i have gained a bit of respect of the alvey reel
then comes along the guys saying that PPL must be crazy to spend $$$$$ on reels, if you have a spare $$$$ to get a reel why not, each to there own, what business is it where other ppl spend there money, gets me fu@*ed
Jimbo73
25-02-2008, 08:02 PM
I dont give a S#@T what they spend their money on. To me alot of fish are won and lost because of the fishermens ability not how much his reel is worth.
For bottom fishing in the 70's we used hand lines, in the 80's we progressed to Alvey's, in the 09's it was TLD's, and now in the year 2008 I use Tekotas and Accurate 665's with bait, but spend 80% of my time Jigging the reef with the 'MIGHTY STELLAS', It must be what is called 'Evolution'';D .
After 40 yrs of working my butt off I can buy and use what reel's I like, so LW you can stick your $33 ABU where the sun don't shine because a hand line can still catch a fish and is cheaper:thumbsup: .
25-02-2008, 08:32 PM
There are still blokes who fish for parrot and prefer to use a hand line...... they recon that if you need a drag... its too late.
top tak it one step further ..... never underestimate a black fella with a hand line..... those blokes don't have money to waste & they like to catch fish.
TonyM
25-02-2008, 08:33 PM
I dont give a S#@T what they spend their money on. They can wipe their A hole with their 1000 for all i care. To me alot of fish are won and lost because of the fishermens ability not how much his reel is worth.
And a lot of debates are won and lost without the need to carry on like a 2 year old... ::)
Mate if you're happy with a $30 reel good on you, if other people enjoy fishing enough to invest a bit more in it why should it bother you?
A 5 dollar e bay reel could handle that guppie. I hope you had your 1000 dollar drag syatem done up tight for that one. Your lucky you had it,you might of lost such a grand fish without that reel.
Jamie ...... stop tryin to be a rick with a capitol P
Obviously you have no idea about tackle ..... otherwise you wouldn't mention a $1000 price tag ( Guess again) ...... & I didn't even pay that !
Regardless ..... That little reel will punch well above its weight division ! (4kg of drag) ..... get that out of your department store special ::)
sorry about the Guppy ..... it was the only close up I had of the reel .
You know what ...... you stick with your $50 reel .... & I'll enjoy some true quality!
Nagg
25-02-2008, 08:40 PM
Ive used the big stella's and ive also seen what a 925 alvey can handle. When it comes to bottom bouncing (not jigging) and big fish, dont think the alvey is out gunned by any means....
I think this puts the arguement to bed;D Its the definitive answer IMHO
The Jap high tech gear is designed to appeal to Japanese fisherpersons who will in all probability never come across the sort of fish we regularly catch as a matter of course.
The selling points are based on engineering and not functionality. The amount of bearings, the number of holes they can drill in the spool and even in the reel stem is of major importance to this market segment. The fact that an overhead reel has major mechanical advantages in both fundamental mechanics and drag efficiency is lost on them due to the marketing thrust.
It is amazing that they can get a threadline to change the vectors of force so many times and still perform as well as an Alvey is a great feat of engineering
Super heavy drags with zero stretch line are also a recipe for disaster on many fishing situations. Its horses for courses
Use what you are comfortable with but don't let the marketing gurus take your money without thinking through the range of options available.
I dont give a S#@T what they spend their money on. They can wipe their A hole with their 1000 for all i care. To me alot of fish are won and lost because of the fishermens ability not how much his reel is worth.
I forgot to ask ...... Does an ANSA Sportfishing masters qualify me for having some ability ?
Nagg
25-02-2008, 08:56 PM
I forgot to ask ...... Does an ANSA Sportfishing masters qualify me for having some ability ?
Nagg
Did you do it on an Alvey?;D
I think this puts the arguement to bed;D Its the definitive answer IMHO
The Jap high tech gear is designed to appeal to Japanese fisherpersons who will in all probability never come across the sort of fish we regularly catch as a matter of course.
The selling points are based on engineering and not functionality. The amount of bearings, the number of holes they can drill in the spool and even in the reel stem is of major importance to this market segment. The fact that an overhead reel has major mechanical advantages in both fundamental mechanics and drag efficiency is lost on them due to the marketing thrust.
It is amazing that they can get a threadline to change the vectors of force so many times and still perform as well as an Alvey is a great feat of engineering
Super heavy drags with zero stretch line are also a recipe for disaster on many fishing situations. Its horses for courses
Use what you are comfortable with but don't let the marketing gurus take your money without thinking through the range of options available.
Is it marketing ..... or a blunt reality ......??? These days we have spin reels that can handle fish that you would not have attempted to catch 10 years ago..... ( by the way ... I have a preference for overheads)
Like a close mate ...... He couldn't accept that the little Subaru Liberty GT that I owned ....... would kick a Ford Falcons GTHOs butt ( welcome to technology Vs a dinosaur)
Nagg
PS .... I'd love to own a GTHO for its investment value
Did you do it on an Alvey?;D
Nah mate ..... just a collection of Shimano & ABU baitcasters ....... & one little Shimano spin reel ..... Oh & a steelite centrepin reel ( nearly an Alvey ;) )
Nagg
TonyM
25-02-2008, 09:09 PM
Is it marketing ..... or a blunt reality ......??? These days we have spin reels that can handle fish that you would not have attempted to catch 10 years ago..... ( by the way ... I have a preference for overheads)
Like a close mate ...... He couldn't accept that the little Subaru Liberty GT that I owned ....... would kick a Ford Falcons GTHOs butt ( welcome to technology Vs a dinosaur)
Nagg
PS .... I'd love to own a GTHO for its investment value
Nice comparison Chris, I own'd a Phase 3 many years ago, gobs of grunt but handled like crap compared to the sports cars we have nowadays, and god help you if you had to stop in a hurry! :o
Whilst I loved that car I loved my mCoupe far more while I had it - was always a laugh when some hoon in a V8 sat next to me gunning it at the lights, I always used to let them hit the other side of the lights before I took off and shot past them ;D (sorry mate but I woulda passed you too) ::) ;D
25-02-2008, 09:11 PM
Th car comparison is not fair the early holdens and falcons was always an ineficient lumbering piece of iron...... thats why 4 cylinder cotrinas won 3 years in a row and mini won two years running at bathurst in that era.
But lets no digress onto cars:-X
25-02-2008, 09:15 PM
Is it marketing ..... or a blunt reality ......??? These days we have spin reels that can handle fish that you would not have attempted to catch 10 years ago.....
Blunt reality I'm afraid Nagg:-/
What sort of fish would I have not attempted to catch:o I'll have a go at anything with the trusty gear I have;)
Bloody hell, even my old Penn 850 would knock, most fish over.::)
I think we have created a generation of fishos reluctant to rely on their own ability and developed skills rather than the abilities of Japanese engineers to do the job for them.:P
Each to their own but do not be so naive as to believe that less sophisticated gear will not do the job8-)
Jimbo73
25-02-2008, 09:21 PM
. seems ive upset a few guys cause im receiving some nasty comments directed at me ;D . I can take it unlike some. To answer the original question"no i dont think there would be any difference in the catch"so for me that makes the alvey a better buy cause you still have 980 in your pocket;) .
TonyM
25-02-2008, 09:29 PM
Th car comparison is not fair the early holdens and falcons was always an ineficient lumbering piece of iron...... thats why 4 cylinder cotrinas won 3 years in a row and mini won two years running at bathurst in that era.
Go the mighty Cortina GT :thumbsup: (I digress often - bad habit but fun)
Each to their own but do not be so naive as to believe that less sophisticated gear will not do the job
I agree with that, although more sophisticated gear (that's appropriate for the job) can add an element of finesse that some of us find enjoyable - Like you said earlier "horses for courses" (exactly what I said somewhere way back at the start of this very entertaining thread) :)
think we have created a generation of fishos reluctant to rely on their own ability and developed skills rather than the abilities of Japanese engineers to do the job for them.:P
What a load of pure unnadulterated bollocks! lmao ;D
Blunt reality I'm afraid Nagg:-/
What sort of fish would I have not attempted to catch:o I'll have a go at anything with the trusty gear I have;)
Bloody hell, even my old Penn 850 would knock, most fish over.::)
I think we have created a generation of fishos reluctant to rely on their own ability and developed skills rather than the abilities of Japanese engineers to do the job for them.:P
Each to their own but do not be so naive as to believe that less sophisticated gear will not do the job8-)
Sorry Neil .... I got distracted! ..... I meant to say attempted to catch on "SPIN GEAR!" ..... 10 years ago the spin gear not up to catching big reefies , dog tooth tuna , big GTs & Marlin etc etc ............ Today its a case of "No big deal"
Mate my sister inlaw fishes with line wrapped around a 600ml coke bottle .... & still catches good flathead up at Hawkes nest! ::) ....... me i need my Certate 1500 or Stella 2000;)
Nagg
26-02-2008, 02:10 PM
hehe that's funny, 10 years ago spin gear was not up to catching big reefies! maybe Kmart spin gear. don't know too many people who catch big GT's Marlin and Dogtooth everyday! (except in the pub after a few beers) most are out for a feed and/or some fun ,and, back to the very first question, will a Stella catch more fish than an Alvey?? the answer is still NO, and I don't own an Alvey!!!
Jeremy87
26-02-2008, 03:25 PM
I've kept my nose out of this thread for the most of it but i've noticed a point that no one has really brought up yet. To me the superiority of top shelf tackle does not always lie in its ability to catch fish once hooked, but more its ability to deliver a lure accurately and repetitively to its target without fatiguing the angler. Yes for the likes of baiting and trolling etc etc the differences seem more trivial, but when compared to the fact that a stella/saltiga/certate is designed not only to handle big fish in proportion to their size but also to cast with then you really appreciate them.
I predominantly cast lures, when i fish with bait i have little doubt that something like an alvey will pull up the same fish. Working in a tackle store i know the difference in quality of a 20, 50, 200 and 500 dollar spinning real. I see it every day when old mate comes back with his piece of crap combo looking for a refund. The difference is performance and longevity. A sedona will handle any estuary species you can throw at it (with size and line matched), cast ok, handle braid ok have a reasonable life. But a stella is lighter, stronger, will handle larger fish per size, cast further, lay line better etc etc. It will also last a hell of alot longer as well.
I would like to see an alvey punch a 20gram slug 70+metres accurately towards a single 15kg longtail, have enough speed to bring it back to the surface if required. Have a smooth enough drag to run 4kg of pressure without popping the hooks or parting the knots on 15lb braid.
I would like to see and alvey cast a big harbody into thick timber, and then pull out an angry barra. i'd like to see the person doing this be able to keep this up for 12 hours a day in the middle of summer.
I would like to see an alvey cast a weightless 2inch plastic, land it on the face of a big bream and have enough finesse to handle this fish on 1kg line.
This is what top shelf tackle is all about, if you don’t do it then you won’t get it.
hehe that's funny, 10 years ago spin gear was not up to catching big reefies! maybe Kmart spin gear. don't know too many people who catch big GT's Marlin and Dogtooth everyday! (except in the pub after a few beers) most are out for a feed and/or some fun ,and, back to the very first question, will a Stella catch more fish than an Alvey?? the answer is still NO, and I don't own an Alvey!!!
OK you dont know too many people that catch GTs , Marlin & Dogtooth ( everyday:wiseguy: ) Well I dont know anyone that catches bream or flathead everyday either!
However there are a bucket load of fishoes that target these fish on a regular basis ! with their high tech spin gear...... Hell there are charter operators that make a living on it!
Gee .... Look these days we target 50,60,70lb barra on baitcast tackle ..... & now some are starting to use 3000 size spin reels ..... All on the back of technology
I agree that you probably wouldn't land more reefies ( up & down bait fishing) using a Stella ........ But I do reckon you stand a much better chance of landing an above average fish :happy:
Nagg
And what happened after that ? ........... V8s
Until they changed the regs ..... & some little high tech Jap & Euro Turbo 4cyl won:P
But lets keep off cars ( too much similarity with High Tech Stellas & 1970 V8s/Alveys)
Nagg
26-02-2008, 08:14 PM
I've kept my nose out of this thread for the most of it but i've noticed a point that no one has really brought up yet. To me the superiority of top shelf tackle does not always lie in its ability to catch fish once hooked, but more its ability to deliver a lure accurately and repetitively to its target without fatiguing the angler. Yes for the likes of baiting and trolling etc etc the differences seem more trivial, but when compared to the fact that a stella/saltiga/certate is designed not only to handle big fish in proportion to their size but also to cast with then you really appreciate them.
I predominantly cast lures, when i fish with bait i have little doubt that something like an alvey will pull up the same fish. Working in a tackle store i know the difference in quality of a 20, 50, 200 and 500 dollar spinning real. I see it every day when old mate comes back with his piece of crap combo looking for a refund. The difference is performance and longevity. A sedona will handle any estuary species you can throw at it (with size and line matched), cast ok, handle braid ok have a reasonable life. But a stella is lighter, stronger, will handle larger fish per size, cast further, lay line better etc etc. It will also last a hell of alot longer as well.
I would like to see an alvey punch a 20gram slug 70+metres accurately towards a single 15kg longtail, have enough speed to bring it back to the surface if required. Have a smooth enough drag to run 4kg of pressure without popping the hooks or parting the knots on 15lb braid.
I would like to see and alvey cast a big harbody into thick timber, and then pull out an angry barra. i'd like to see the person doing this be able to keep this up for 12 hours a day in the middle of summer.
I would like to see an alvey cast a weightless 2inch plastic, land it on the face of a big bream and have enough finesse to handle this fish on 1kg line.
This is what top shelf tackle is all about, if you don’t do it then you won’t get it.
yes but repetitive casting is not what alvies do best.
It also not reasonable to expect someone to use braid an an alvey either....... in fact there is less reason to use braid with an Alvey.
You fish an alvey differently.
As far as casting a long way and accurately...... that is where an alvey lives...... all thru the sixties, seventies and early eighties blokes were spinning with alvies.
remember it is traditional to mount an alvey up on a much longer rod than you typicaly will other reels..... you can hurl 20 to 30 grams an awfull long way and more accuratey than most of the modern spin boys would expect.
As far as getting the slug moving and running higher in the water........ remamber the long rod......to start with is is much higher and if you give the rod a big sweep & wind you can get speeds that you can only dream about buy winding alone.....remember a big alvey isnt far behing a high ratio egg beater or coffee grinder in outright wind speed anyway.
remember we arent running braid and we have a long rod.... between the elasticity of the mono and the action of the rod you'l have less problems with hook pulling.........and consider you can easlily get lots more than half a Klick of line on the alvey. you arent despirately concerned that you will be spooled.
remember also a fully optioned alvey has three drag systems and you have direct contact with both the line and the reel.......the tactility of the alvey can not be matched...... you can feel everything that is going on.
As far as fishing 1kg line well that is a silly game regardless.
If you believe the advertising 1kg braid will break at 2.5 to 3kg so how different is that to the 6lb mono on my alvey
But casting lightly wieghted baits is what an alvey does best.......try casting half a peeled prawn with no weight on your plastics rig as see how far you go.
if you realy want a party trick...... see how far you can cast a unweighted unloaded #2 carlile with your egg beater.
Now lets talk about hurling soft fragile baits.... a small well tuned alvey on a soft action rod is just the thing.
I think we all know that a alvey isnt a good reel for repitition casting.... and not there reel of choice for chucking hard bodies.
thinking about accuracy...... that realy isnt a finction of the reel..... that is mostly down to the rod.
If you are judging one form of tackle by methods used with others, it not a realy valid thing.
pulling a barra out of a snag with an alvey..... I'm sure its been done.
there are always horses for courses
thats what inexpensive tackle is all about is being able to afford a variety of riggs that are more than adequate in their appropriate situation.
For $1000
I could by
a nice big alvey on a long rod for the surf
a light soft rod with a small alvey for finesse bait fishing
a graphite rod with a sweet little egg beater for plastics
and
a heavier rod with a bigger egg beater or overhead for a bit of heavier stuff.
and still have some cash left over for some tackle
Thats fine & beaut for those of us that don't need a status purchase.
Now big brother of mine....if he wants guaranteed barra for dinner.....he'll use a hand line & leave the rods in the truck.
Jeremy87
26-02-2008, 09:48 PM
Your just playing silly buggers now oldboot. You've completely ignored what i've said and substituted it with your own reality. When you buy a small to mid sized stella/certate then you buy it for luring, i'd like to hear of anyone who has brought one for chucking around unweighted prawns. similarly if you buy a big stella or saltiga you get it for popping and jigging, and you have the added bonus of being able to drop baits down and handle big ooglies. You cannot detach a deck winch and cast a big popper with it.
I think most people know what an alvey is capable of, but how many alvey fishermen may seen a 1000+ dollar spinning outfit (let alone a 1000 dollar reel)properly put through its paces by someone who knows how to use it. I probably don't think i'd be that surprised if someone was to take the likes a a 650 alvey and say a 12ft rod and have a go at casting a 20 grammer with it. It's simple physics, long rod means less control and less accuracy. Alveys are great for heavy slugs but i think with a rod and reel like that the 20 would get a bit lost during the cast, even if it gets the distance the chances of it landing within 10 metres of the target seems pretty unlikely to me, plus all that extra length and weight is pretty tough to use in a boat for long periods. True the extra length and flex of the mono will absorb alot of the shock but 4kgs over a long rod like that is a tough fight. If we get a spottie season next year i'll have to have a fish off with some of you alvey anglers so you can get a true appreciation of just how far i'm talking and how accurate. your probably thinking of a tss4 when your making your comparison. A tss4 on an ugly stick with 20lb mono will fall 30 metres short of how far my loomis/sustain combo will punch a 20grammer. People put to much emphasis in line per turn rates, a super smooth easy winding stella would flog the pants off how many handle turns/sec you can make for and alvey with the same line/turn rate over long periods.
I'm sure there are plenty of big barra that have been caught on an alvey, but how many big barra have been caught snag bashing in heavy timber? And how long can the angler keep it up for.
Yes alveys are cheaper, yes they are really versatile for all soughts of bait fishing and they can even cross over and do a bit of luring. But the notion that they are a superior reel for specialist luring is utter nonsense gibberish. Take the examples i gave before, it's not that the alvey can't do some of these things, it's that it can't do all of these things.
Many lureres have at least at some point gone through the bait fishing process, but how many started off as lures using top shelf gear and then decided to go to bait drowning? I'm not taking it out of bait fishin i'm just saying that the guys who buy a stellaare probably well aware of what and alvey has to offer before they do so.
banshee
26-02-2008, 11:13 PM
yes but repetitive casting is not what alvies do best.
It also not reasonable to expect someone to use braid an an alvey either....... in fact there is less reason to use braid with an Alvey.
You fish an alvey differently.
As far as casting a long way and accurately...... that is where an alvey lives...... all thru the sixties, seventies and early eighties blokes were spinning with alvies.
remember it is traditional to mount an alvey up on a much longer rod than you typicaly will other reels..... you can hurl 20 to 30 grams an awfull long way and more accuratey than most of the modern spin boys would expect.
As far as getting the slug moving and running higher in the water........ remamber the long rod......to start with is is much higher and if you give the rod a big sweep & wind you can get speeds that you can only dream about buy winding alone.....remember a big alvey isnt far behing a high ratio egg beater or coffee grinder in outright wind speed anyway.
remember we arent running braid and we have a long rod.... between the elasticity of the mono and the action of the rod you'l have less problems with hook pulling.........and consider you can easlily get lots more than half a Klick of line on the alvey. you arent despirately concerned that you will be spooled.
remember also a fully optioned alvey has three drag systems and you have direct contact with both the line and the reel.......the tactility of the alvey can not be matched...... you can feel everything that is going on.
As far as fishing 1kg line well that is a silly game regardless.
If you believe the advertising 1kg braid will break at 2.5 to 3kg so how different is that to the 6lb mono on my alvey
But casting lightly wieghted baits is what an alvey does best.......try casting half a peeled prawn with no weight on your plastics rig as see how far you go.
if you realy want a party trick...... see how far you can cast a unweighted unloaded #2 carlile with your egg beater.
Now lets talk about hurling soft fragile baits.... a small well tuned alvey on a soft action rod is just the thing.
I think we all know that a alvey isnt a good reel for repitition casting.... and not there reel of choice for chucking hard bodies.
thinking about accuracy...... that realy isnt a finction of the reel..... that is mostly down to the rod.
If you are judging one form of tackle by methods used with others, it not a realy valid thing.
pulling a barra out of a snag with an alvey..... I'm sure its been done.
there are always horses for courses
thats what inexpensive tackle is all about is being able to afford a variety of riggs that are more than adequate in their appropriate situation.
For $1000
I could by
a nice big alvey on a long rod for the surf
a light soft rod with a small alvey for finesse bait fishing
a graphite rod with a sweet little egg beater for plastics
and
a heavier rod with a bigger egg beater or overhead for a bit of heavier stuff.
and still have some cash left over for some tackle
Thats fine & beaut for those of us that don't need a status purchase.
Now big brother of mine....if he wants guaranteed barra for dinner.....he'll use a hand line & leave the rods in the truck.
It took me a full minute to read this.........I want my minute back.
metaloid
26-02-2008, 11:13 PM
Silly me spending all that money on rods and lures for all these years only to realise now (after reading this thread) that reel X catches more fish than reel Y! ;)
All right, all right, I'm taking the piss... That's reel Z that catches the most fish, everyone knows that!;D
More seriously, Alveys wouldn't be so popular if they didn't work, and also sane people wouldn't spend their hard-earned $ on a Stella or a Certate if they didn't work. See, everyone is a winner!:)
26-02-2008, 11:34 PM
I most certainly havn't ignored anything in your post.
You said " I would like to see an alvey cast a weightless 2" plastic..............."
I chalenged that with the unweighted prawn example. and followed with the unweighted hook example... I mentioned nothing about a specifc reel.
The fact remains a well tuned alvey with light line will cast light weights very well indeed, and as far as finesse, you cant beat playing a fish with the line passing thru your fingers and in the case of a small bakalite reel well lubricated... the lightness of touch and lack of a gear train in the way gives you a very direct feel in the fingers of you winding hand.
as far as the use of an expensive spin reel..... I would expect it would be exactlky the same as using a cheaper similra item if anything easier.
If I was casting 20 or 30 grams I probably wouldn't use a 650...or a hheavy 12" rod..If I was after good casting distance I would be looking more arround 5" and something arround 10'
You also have to remember that casting an alvey is very different to the modern style casting with treadlines.......the length of the rod is not an impediment to accuracy......in fact a long rod can make for more accuracy.
who ever said that an alvey was a superior lure fishing reel.
If I was chucking lures I would be using an egg beater and when my casting improves sufficiently to be seen in public, a bait caster.
I know what your preferences are it is obvious from your posts and talking to you at the shop.....From wht I hear you are very good with lures and plastics and like you casting game and your expensive toys.
Me...I'll use whatever it takes to do the job and like a variety of methods no matter what I do.
I have some nice egg beaters and will by a decent " Reel of Satan" when my casting improves...... but I also like what an alvey can do for me and am disapointed by the condecentive attitude of dedicated geared reel devotees to the Alvey and it ways.
Very few of us start out with top shelf gear, and most of us start out with stinky bait.......It is most unfair to consider fishing bait to be a backward step.
there are a lot of us that consider casting and retreving till you arm drops of a silly game anyway.
No worries jamie I'll fish with you,....... but I cant promise I'll use an alvey...... but I might;D .
spears
27-02-2008, 01:08 AM
Both Jeremy87 (http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/member.php?u=27509) and oldboot (http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/member.php?u=45107) bring up some good points but I think that most people would use what’s at there disposal.
I have seen people be it boats,jetty or beach using the wrong gear,that might be cause that’s all they got.i have been fishing for over 40 years and I have different types of reels for different types of fishing and places be it beach or boat.
It comes down to what fish one is targeting and is it boat,jetty,river or beach.
I love using my alveys but that will be mainly for beach shark or mulloway,I might use the alvey off the boat bottom bouncing looking for those big predators but I wouldn’t use a smaller size alvey for garfish or whiting,that’s where spinners come in to it or even a bait caster,depends what one’s got at there disposal.
A lot of these young folk that walk into a tackle store looking for a reel and while looking through the range available would look past the alveys as non compliable but a lot of us grew up using alveys and we know what they can do for us.But it won’t work miracles on all fish species or locations..
Casting accuracy & alvey should not be used in the same sentence :-X I couldn't cast one to save my life ( 45 deg from the intended direction) ...... give me an overhead anyday.
As far as I'm concerned an Alvey is a cheap ( but functional) piece of kit ...... On a beach , rocks or bottom bashing ....... but it is basic!
Now unless you have actually used a high quality spin reel ...... you would have no idea of what it is capable of::) nor the enjoyment of using such tackle. So its really difficult for judgement to be passed (dont you think ?) On the other side of the coin Fortunately most of the pro technology lot ,would have used an Alvey or two over the years ...... & so are more qualified to give an opinion.... when comparing the two.
I think this argument/discussion is more about what you are willing ( or not willing) to spend on your sport ........ & that's fine ( just like my sister in law with her coke bottle with line wrapped on it!)
Nagg
27-02-2008, 08:06 AM
OK, can't help myself, lets look at the very first post/question, will an Alvey with the same bait, line, hook etc, catch more fish than a Stella the answer is STILL a resounding NO, it has Jack all to do with Technology, how many hundreds of thermo nuclear bearings it has, it is so simple, any Fish has got no idea how much the reel costs or it's operating principal when it swims by and sees a well presented Bait and is hungry, there was never any mention of casting for a week non stop, catching 50 Marlin in a day or anything else, it was a fairly simple straight forward question (well I thought anyway) but then I am a simple guy, but I do like new "gizmos" and technology, never said I didn't, BUT it will NOT catch more fish or last any longer than an Alvey, that's my bit!
27-02-2008, 08:10 AM
ooops I forgot to add, Naggs sister with her Coke Bottle, if she also had the same line, hook and all the rst will also have as much chance of hooking as many fish as a Stella an Alvey or a tiagra, it will not matter, this may come as a surprise to some, THE FISH DOES NOT KNOW!!!! they are simple minded creatures (like me) now after it is hooked, it COULD be much more fun on a Stella, but then maybe not, a good fish on a handline can be very memorable, been there and done that!!!
The line bit is right Noelm, but show me a $20 Alvey you would use on a reef, it is as relevant [or silly] as using a Stella on a reef for bottom fishing with bait :stupid: :hammer: .
27-02-2008, 08:35 AM
you are still missing the whole point of the first question, all things being equal, the fish does not know what is in use, so it will NOT catch more fish, and I am sure there is a million cheap Alveys in use for reef fishing, as well as Stellas bait fishing, it will all come down to your wallet, if you have a load of cash, then why not use the most expensive item to do whatever you want??? geees now I am getting away from the original question!!!
27-02-2008, 10:37 AM
So Banshee, you wasted your minute:P :cry: who said this was a serious question.....we all know that threads like this are a complete waste of time, but so is a large portion of the rubbish we talk on forums.
regardless of your field of endeavor you will find similar arguments, price V quality, this brand or method V that, the respondents at the various ends of the scale almost without exception will not conceed that the other has a valid position or point.
The types at the low end of the market will state with pride that"I'd never spend that much on an XYZ & people that do have more money than sence", while those at the top end will look down on the "poor fools" and their budjet priced gear and say "they have no idea how bad their gear is because they have never used decent stuff".
For me the truth of the matter is somewhere in between ( isn't it always).
For example.
I have woodworking friends who have some very expensive hand planes and other tools, yeh they are very nice to use and look at. I have neither the money to spend nor the need for that sort of equipment. I happy to get the best out of my modest tools.
Speaking of woodies.......if you want to see a spirited argument, look at any thread on sharpening...... same, same but with a relegious zeel worthy of the middle east.
So for the most part these threads are pointless.... but for those who want to learn there my be a small gem or two to be had..... even if it is.....don't believe everything a zellot says or believes.;D
It is helpfull to know where the bloke behind the tackle store counter stands (yeh I know behind the counter).......If he has a zellous like for a particular style, you can factor that when considering his advice......I not saying his advice is bad... I am saying it is more valuable when tempered with the knoweledge of his preferences.
When it comes down to it its all a waste of time:hammer:
No Noelm, I get the point, and that the question was pointless. Swap '$20 Alvey' for 'anchor winch' and '$1000 Stella' to 'tie it on your old fella' and the answer would be the same:D .
budge
27-02-2008, 11:33 AM
What a merry go round.... this thread has turned into a bad episode of the jerry springer show. I think it is easy to see that it has all come down to the fact that some people can not grasp the conception of someone paying so much for a fishing reel. If you can't who cares, keep using what you would like to use and thats about the whole story told. Don't imply that someone is an imbecile because that choose to spend their money in a certain way. As for the array of statements that the new technology that has gone into threadline reels (or any other gear) such as increase ball bearings, composite materials or general construction of a reel based upon our increased knowledge of physics is worthless and solely a money grab, this just proves your lack of reality to be able to grasp the innovation and technology of the year 2008. Perhaps some people who have been lucky enough, or may i put it have worked hard enough to be able to own such gear, should take some of these other guys out on an introduction to technology trip and see what they say after they actually used some of this gear. I know I wouldn't turn down the chance to get out and use some quality gear and learn a thing or two but thats only my mentality of life I can see its not shared by all.
27-02-2008, 12:12 PM
no one is really calling anyone bad names, it is all in the name of debate and good humor (most times) I seriously doubt that given the choice you would choose a $15 reel over a $1000 reel, there is more serious things in life to really worry about than all this rubbish, but it is fun, has some benefit to some people, and above all is what makes us all different, and I have used, owned and loved/hated a lot of very expensive reels over the years (and still do) including a Stella, but because I owned one does not mean I think it is the only thing in the Universe, Technology is part of my every day life as I am in the Industry, but will still never fail to express my opinion and most things, regardless of how lame it may seem!
banshee
27-02-2008, 12:49 PM
What a merry go round.... this thread has turned into a bad episode of the jerry springer show. I think it is easy to see that it has all come down to the fact that some people can not grasp the conception of someone paying so much for a fishing reel. If you can't who cares, keep using what you would like to use and thats about the whole story told. Don't imply that someone is an imbecile because that choose to spend their money in a certain way. As for the array of statements that the new technology that has gone into threadline reels (or any other gear) such as increase ball bearings, composite materials or general construction of a reel based upon our increased knowledge of physics is worthless and solely a money grab, this just proves your lack of reality to be able to grasp the innovation and technology of the year 2008. Perhaps some people who have been lucky enough, or may i put it have worked hard enough to be able to own such gear, should take some of these other guys out on an introduction to technology trip and see what they say after they actually used some of this gear. I know I wouldn't turn down the chance to get out and use some quality gear and learn a thing or two but thats only my mentality of life I can see its not shared by all.
Couldn't have put it any better,sums up my thoughts exactly.
spears
27-02-2008, 02:55 PM
'tie it on your old fella' and the answer would be the same:D .
Hmm must try that,sounds exciting..
Hey lets go to "how long is a piece of string " i know its 600mm do you agree.LOL
27-02-2008, 03:41 PM
Now there are a whole list of lines that come to mind... light, medium or heavy action.
Shall we just take them as being done & chuckle quielt to our selves;) ;D ;D
no one is really calling anyone bad names, it is all in the name of debate and good humor (most times) I seriously doubt that given the choice you would choose a $15 reel over a $1000 reel, there is more serious things in life to really worry about than all this rubbish, but it is fun, has some benefit to some people, and above all is what makes us all different, and I have used, owned and loved/hated a lot of very expensive reels over the years (and still do) including a Stella, but because I owned one does not mean I think it is the only thing in the Universe, Technology is part of my every day life as I am in the Industry, but will still never fail to express my opinion and most things, regardless of how lame it may seem!
Very true & well said . I know my Stella is not my favorite reel! ...
When it comes to choosing tackle , I will always buy the best I can afford ( & try to buy it at the best price) .... + it needs to be what I want to use8-)
Anyhow threads like this are a bit of fun!
Nagg
Jeremy87
27-02-2008, 07:17 PM
Fun who said anything about fun! Shun the non believer i say:behead: . But at the end of the day the alvey users will keep using their alveys and the technology guys will keep using their stella's etc and thats fine. I can't think of anything else i'd rather spend my money on, so i might aswell do it in style. We need to have a cast off at the next meet and greet i reakon. Theme music, mascots and what not just like a crappy american high school movie.
If you want to meet and greet I will be 35nm NE of Mooloolaba jigging with my Stella family, theme music is Led Zep and Gunners, a bit of 'Heavy Metal ':thumbsup:
countbaysea
27-02-2008, 08:23 PM
Technology Changes, $50 might get you an old typewriter, tap out a leter with your thoughts and send it by mail to us all. Or you could get a $1000 computer and converse by email, send a picture do your banking etc.
They both work.
28-02-2008, 11:15 AM
Yeh but when the power goes off the old oliveti still works and there is no blue screen of death to contend with..... AND you havn't sold your soul to bill gates.;D
TonyM
28-02-2008, 11:42 AM
Yeh but when the power goes off the old oliveti still works and there is no blue screen of death to contend with..... AND you havn't sold your soul to bill gates.;D
How true!
By the way, what speed internet connection have you got on the typewriter? ::)
countbaysea
28-02-2008, 11:52 AM
But wasnt it easy and practical to respond on your $1000 computer in this situation?
shane
28-02-2008, 07:51 PM
Hell it didnt cost $1000 it was made from second hand upgrade leftovers from a superggek frend of mine;D
OK if I include the flatscreen monitors it was more than that.;) .
He bought it with change left over from buying an Alvey:computer::cheesy:
gunna
28-02-2008, 10:07 PM
Its all horses for courses I reckon. I have a collection of overheads, spinning reels and Alveys. When I troll outside I use the reel that suits - not the Alvey. When I flick plastics the same thing.
Buit as an interesting aside. I grew up with Alveys. Never had drag models. I was always a bait fisher. Used them for 30 years. Then a tackle store convinced me to join the 20th century and sold me a spin reel. The more I used it the more I liked it. In particular it showed me that I had probably been too heavy handed for 30 years. Not that I lost a lot of fish - but when I did it was a good one. You never lose tiddlers. So I moved on to spinners and overheads for the past 15 years.
Then a funny thing happened. I went bream fishing with Pinhead and dragged out the old Alveys. What fun. Next time I bait fished I did the same. I now find myself using them almost exclusively when I bait fish. Why - because there is just such a blast having that direct contact with a good fish and using your skill to palm the reel and keep the fish under control.
So would a Stella catch more. Dunno - but I would hate to spend that money only to find myself reaching for the Alvey all the time - just for the sheer fun of it.
28-02-2008, 10:07 PM
;D ;D ;D
actualy it havs baught me quite a few alvies and other stuff.