View Full Version : Would you buy another Minn Kota

17-02-2008, 10:55 AM
Hey all ..... just reading Foxy's issues with his Kota reminded me of the woes that I've had with mine during its first year ( & a bit) ....... Its always a point of concern when I go away on a trip ( will it play up or not).

So after hearing on going issues with many a Kota ....... I was wondering if you would buy another when or if the need arose :-/

Nagg

17-02-2008, 11:20 AM
I'll start it off ...... I'm undecided!
When the Kota is going ... its the best ! ... I love the autopilot.
The Kota (Riptide) is tough as ...... I 've hit oyster racks , rocks & snags at speed with no issues:P
The breakdowns have been a total pain ..... Once while away & another was 1 week out from going to N Qld ............... The reliability is a real concern ....:anxious:

The technical / service support from BLA has been exceptional ...... However once the warranty runs out ..... Who knows ???

So I'll sit back & see what happens with the new models before I commit!

Nagg

ffejsmada
17-02-2008, 11:35 AM
Yes I would. I've got a 55 Riptide with AP and it's been great. It's done a lot of work in 12 months, never let me down.
Only problem I've had is with the Anderson plug corroding very badly on the positive wire, other than that she's been a ripper.

Jeff.

Leighton
17-02-2008, 12:09 PM
Had my Kota for 6 months, on my second foot pedal. BLA have also been great, new foot pedal in 2 days.
The Devil you know is better than the Devil you dont!

17-02-2008, 12:09 PM
I've been down the motorguide road not again. My kota is A1 without a single hiccup and as soon as the money turns up im buying a co-pilot remote control for it.

Minn kota have released recently a new lineup of saltwater trolling motors that look the goods even tho they are quite exy.

17-02-2008, 06:04 PM
I've been down the motorguide road not again. My kota is A1 without a single hiccup and as soon as the money turns up im buying a co-pilot remote control for it.

Minn kota have released recently a new lineup of saltwater trolling motors that look the goods even tho they are quite exy.

Jack .... I'll be interested to hear from you ... if the co-pilot removes the issues associated with the foot controls:-/
Nagg

TonyM
18-02-2008, 07:27 AM
Untill something better comes along definately kota for me.

Just can't do without a/p and knock on wood the one I've got hasn't played up since I bought it 3 years ago!

chewy01
18-02-2008, 09:50 AM
Hi jeff,
there seems to be a common problem with the positive wire and johnson/anderson plugs. The ap55 draw about 50 amps flat out and i'm not convinced the smaller plugs are up to the task.Im going to either remove the plug altogether or go to the big 175 amp ones as i have already had to replace the red wiire right to the motor.
chewy...............

ffejsmada
18-02-2008, 05:33 PM
Hi jeff,
there seems to be a common problem with the positive wire and johnson/anderson plugs. The ap55 draw about 50 amps flat out and i'm not convinced the smaller plugs are up to the task.Im going to either remove the plug altogether or go to the big 175 amp ones as i have already had to replace the red wiire right to the motor.
chewy...............

My problem was the red wire from the battery to the Anderson plug. I picked up a new plug today, they told me to disconnect positive wire from battery pole when not in use to stop the charge going through to the plug. Makes sense I suppose, I'll disconnect from now on and see what happens.

Cheers Jeff.

tin can marlin
18-02-2008, 09:24 PM
I think motor guide is the yamaha of elec motors so i would go that way.

wheezer
18-02-2008, 09:39 PM
my RT55 has been playing up bigtime of late, steering motor issues. sent it back and it came back very promptly apparently fixed...well it wasn't. back it went, came back and they fixed the steering motor, in the process though the autopilot stopped working! back it went for a 3rd time, seems ok now. can't fault BLA's service just wish they could make the autopilot more reliable....keen ot have a look at the new terrovas, hopefully these kinds of issues are fixed

18-02-2008, 10:57 PM
I think motor guide is the yamaha of elec motors so i would go that way.

Hmm ...... Owners of Motorguides are a silent bunch though ( dont say much ..good or bad:-/ )

Nagg

aussiebasser
19-02-2008, 02:50 PM
I have a top of the line Motorguide digital steer on the Stratos and a Minn Kota RT55 AP on my Hornet. I will never own another Motor Guide. I will be replacing this one with a new Terrova in the very near future. Cable steer is not an option for me, I move around the boat too much.

TonyM
19-02-2008, 03:18 PM
I've had 2 cable steer motorguides and found them very frustrating

Maybe I'm just unco-ordinated but I hate the heel/toe foot control - don't mind a bit of heel and toe in a car on a racetrack but that's different! ;D

I read on another post somewhere where someone reffered to it as having to be like the karate kid - summed it up perfectly I thought :D

Why-ting
19-02-2008, 06:32 PM
I have a 80lb motor guide cable steer and i wont go pack to a foot control minn kota. They are too slow for turning for me and the response of the cable steer is awesome and silent. i hate the drowning noise of the riptides. I have had alot of trouble with my riptide on my smaller tinny foot pedal problems and trouble with the AP.

Im not saying i wont buy another minn kota just not a AP mechanical steer.

Whytey

Dodgy_Back
19-02-2008, 09:46 PM
I am on my 2nd boat with a motor guide cable steer and a condition of purchase was to have a cable steer Motorguide on it. In the 3 and a bit years of having a motorguide cable steer and it getting used atleast once a week, all I had go wrong was that a switch in the footpedal broke and was able to fix this myself without sending anything anywhere.
I reckon they are a rock solid electric motor, highly responsive and fool proof.
Move the pedal and the boat moves ,none of this push the button and watch the motor move.

The only thing is it did take me a bit of getting used to steering.

A mate has got the minnkota and it always seems to be having problems with it.

But please note my preference is CABLE STEER I wouldn't even consider getting the Motorguide wireless but I would get a minkota cable steer if I had too.

mick

GardenGnome
19-02-2008, 10:14 PM
I have the latest 55lb salt water Terrova, autopilot, co-pilot. I would buy another one if I had to. But having said that... the foot pedal is playing up. The main foot cotrol only steers left, not to the right. The secondary foot steering controls work fine. Autopilot spits the dummy, about twice a day, you have to react pretty quick sometimes, as it just spins around by itself. Once the "motor cut out" when stowed failed, its a bit scary when the prop's spinning while the motor is in the stowed position. On a positive note, I could not live without autopilot;and copilot is the best thing since they invented Bourbon flavoured toothpaste.

Simmo2
19-02-2008, 10:17 PM
Gotta get one!

Where do you buy them?

Pharmacy or bottle shop??

;)

bassfanatic5
10-03-2008, 03:10 AM
I have just replaced the minnkota RT55AP on my boat with a new motorguide digital. The mg is a lot quieter than the mk and i like the lower foot control on the mg but the servo motor turns in stages unless the button is held down and then it turns to fast, mk is better in that field. The auto pilot was great on the mk when it worked. I have had 2 motorguides and 3 minnkota's and each have had good and bad points, so i would buy either again.

22-03-2008, 07:48 PM
My Frustration continues with my Minn Kota >:( Driving 1500km & it packs it in half way through the trip ....... very frustrating!!!! This will be the 3rd time its been sent away in 16months >:( >:( >:(

Actually ... I'm furious ( not frustrated!!!!)

Nagg