View Full Version : Townsville 16 FEB Rattlesnake

levinge
16-02-2008, 04:07 PM
Took a punt and had a go at Rattlesnake Island today for our Clubs First Comp of the year (yep so much for the shitty weather). Had a trip arranged with a mate out in his Plate Side Console. We decided that if the weather was still ugly we would cancel. Got to his place about 4:30am and the rain had eased up to a drizzle. Hooked up the boat and took a short drive from his place at Mount Low down to the ramp at the Bohle River. Ramp water level was about 3 metres from the top, water running steady in the creek.

Dropped in the boat and headed for the mouth, wanted to take a look at the outside before a final decision on fish or not. Entered the main river and aside from a fairly strong current with the odd bit of debris in it, it was relatively good. Water level was high with alot of run-off from the flood plain. Ran down to the mouth and all we saw was overcast skies with squalls offshore. Wave height was less than a metre in height and an open rolling swell. Off we go toward Rattlesnake, channel out is still in good nick with little change.

Got about 2 kms offshore and saw a heap of crab pots dragging around. 10 more minutes and skipper announces that he has left his wallet and Phone in the centre console of his Landrover (easy pickings for someone with light fingers). SO! we 180 Degree and head back to the ramp. Collected wallet and phone, boat off again on its way to Rattlsnake.

Weather still ordinary but sea state easy to navigate and at good speed. Spotted heaps of debris, from very small stuff, right up to trees (photos will be attached). Got over to Rattlesnake and prepared to Troll up some nasties.

Skipper in charge and away we go, Bait balls everywhere, but really widespread. 9am and skippers rod goes off with a scream, fish is heading out toward Lorne Reef and after a 5minute fight we have the first fish of the day, 96cm 8KG Giant Trevally netted and in the boat, photo taken and fish released. Continued to troll the area for another hour with no luck. Birds diving on bait, so we decided to throw a few slices in their direction, no luck.

Moved around to the channel between Rattlesnake and Herald, lots of debris still pushing through the area and a distinct line in the water, trolled it in case there was some predators hanging around it. No Luck!

Moved into the channel and trolled again, debris moved closer to the channel and we had to do a right turn to avoid the line of crap, sure enough, Skippers rod goes off AGAIN!!!!

Only problem fish is doing a reel scream straight for the debris line. Skippers on him but not quick enough to stop it going through the debris. I jump on the wheel and commence the chase, once we got to the debris line, we both realised that the fish has us tangled up on a small 3metre long log, boats in Neutral and skipper plays with the drag, allowing the fish a little head, while I do some gardening and free the line. Line Free again, we are off and chasing. Fish has about 150 yards of line on us, so I open up the throttle a little while the skipper gains a bit of line back.

Now its on, Boat in Neutral, Skipper fights this Stonker, he calls it early as a GT, strong bugger is actually pulling the boat around when he changes direction. Skipper got the drag at almost lock and this fish is not giving up. 15 minutes of tooing and froing and finally the fish comes up. Colour - GT, one big pass by the boat and he's in the landing net. Skippers buggered but I make hime hold up the fish for a photo.

He's a happy boy as he just knocked off one of his mates from our Clubs Record List, Old Record GT 102cm. New Record GT 102.5cm 14.5 KG (remeasured a number of times to accurately record the catch.

He's a happy man, but unfortunately I didn't catch a thing this time, but lifes like that, just happy I could be there to see the look on his face.

Headed home about 12:30pm as we knew the weather was supposed to be changing and wind was gradually picking up.

Saw a large log on the way back (Photo attached)

Poorish weather, but a bloody good day on the water.

ffejsmada
16-02-2008, 04:44 PM
Nice GT, well done!

Impressive photo of the runoff.:o You'd think there'd be fish hanging around there.:-/

Jeff

levinge
16-02-2008, 04:51 PM
I nosed into the swell and had the suzuki on about 3000rpm just to keep it stable enough for the skipper to have a for shots with the good old gold bomber. Tried about 7 or 8 places, but I have a feeling that the Barra had relocated somewhere else.

Heres another photo of the run-off

16-02-2008, 05:18 PM
A lot of rain fell out here last night, we caught 380mm in our rain gauge at home so no wonder there was a lot of debris about.

Those are some cracker fish mate well done to your mate, and good on you for doing a bit of marine gardening.

levinge
16-02-2008, 05:39 PM
Hey Scott, all I can say is the Bohle looks a whole lot bigger now.

Don't know when and if the Barra will be back, I have a sneaking feeling they have taken up residency over at Maggie Island!!!!!

Fisher4life
16-02-2008, 06:22 PM
Hey Scott, all I can say is the Bohle looks a whole lot bigger now.

Don't know when and if the Barra will be back, I have a sneaking feeling they have taken up residency over at Maggie Island!!!!!

I'm thinking a trip over to west point might be a good call when the weather settles

levinge
16-02-2008, 06:46 PM
We saw caramel/coffee colour right out to Rattlesnake Island, so I guess its going to take at least a week of decent weather to clean up any of the areas from the Palms right down to Salamander Reef. I hope that the water clears alot quicker than that. But good luck anyway..

Sandbar
16-02-2008, 06:56 PM
I used to fish Rattlesnake regularly 50years ago .Great to see there are still plenty of fish about.Always enjoyed going there.

marty+jojo
16-02-2008, 07:31 PM
Good report and a great read, nice trevor, well done to ya mate.
Marty.

Mozza
16-02-2008, 09:27 PM
Great read - amazing to hear that the saltwater fish haven't all ducked away from the reduced salinity.

Mozza

Freeeedom
17-02-2008, 04:40 AM
What a great GT. Well done and thanks for a great report
Cheers Freeeedom

dipster2
20-02-2008, 02:10 AM
Hi Brett,
great report mate and congrats on the GT as it seems like a good reward for alot of trouble to get out to Rattlesnake. I wasnt as brave as you for the comp, but am hoping for better weather this weekend to head out and still figure in the weigh-in.

The GT's around Rattlesnake do get pretty large and are great fun although the arms get a heck of a stretch when they go deep and set themselves side on to the current. Have attached a couple of pics of one (21kg) that a mate snagged on Lorne reef a few weeks ago and another (20kg) that took my Wolfie at the Cape before Chrissy.

It amazes me that we can be so lucky to have top class game fish in TVL that can be accessed from fairly modest capacity boats.

Good luck next weekend and hopefully we dont get more rain (he says as its pouring outside!)

Daryl

20-02-2008, 03:25 PM
Good luck next weekend and hopefully we dont get more rain (he says as its pouring outside!)

We did get lots of rain again last night, along with a lot of thunder an lightning. Got woken up at about 1.30am this morning with a huge clap of thunder, the lightning must've hit the shed or something cos it was close, and that loud, that when it woke me I almost lost control of the old bowels, I nearly head butted the ceiling fan when I jumped. I wonder how much the bohle channel will have changed by the time all this bad westher has gone?? Last time we got a lot of rain, the water messed up a few of my spots, with silting up and covering structure, and even the extra current from all the fresh moving rises, filling holes, shifting timber....I hope it doesn't shift the few spots I have now......it took me ages to suss that creek and i don't feel like sussing it out again!

nuggstar
20-02-2008, 06:58 PM
awsome trevs there

levinge
20-02-2008, 09:11 PM
Sorry Scott, but on Saturday my mate wanted to flick for a few barra in the eddies, I had the boat on 3000rmp revving and to hold that I have a feel the bottom on the bohle is now out around Burdekin Rock. Low tide is going to be the scene next I go to the Bohle, just for sus of what has happened to the channel.

Dipster, worst luck I have a course on Saturday and Sunday from 9am to 4pm each day and can't chuck a sicky. My boat will be ready to go and 4:30 I will be hooked up and gone for some late arvo fishing. Might even give the Casino rockwall a troll to see if anything is lurking. Gotta be in it to win hey!!

dipster2
21-02-2008, 02:25 AM
Brett,
dont dismay if you intend on trolling the rockwall, have heard of plenty of 80cm+ barra being picked up there recently, if you pick the right tide you may be surprised. Once again good luck and I'll see you at the club.

Daryl

SnowE
21-02-2008, 12:15 PM
Nice GT Sid, looks like you guys had fun Brett.;D

SnowE