View Full Version : Fluga Rods and reels
Tassie JR
15-02-2008, 08:24 PM
Can anyone tell me what fluga rod and reels are like.
cheers tassie JR
Leighton
15-02-2008, 08:39 PM
PFlueger, not bad value for money
kamiza
15-02-2008, 08:59 PM
Dunno bout the rods but bought a pflueger spin reel used it only a couple of times and had bearing probs, Never again wasn't a cheap reel either, I have had good runs with okuma & shimano.
Cheers Mark
Simmo2
15-02-2008, 09:02 PM
Have you got one Captain?
A bloke that owns a tackle shop that is on TV all the time told me they were Shakespear...
A bloke that owns a fishing shop up the road said they werent...
Either way they look ok, for the money, no doubt!
I chose Daiwa!!
15-02-2008, 09:06 PM
i have 2 phugluers a G40L that i have spooled with 80lb mono on a 24 kg shakesper powerpiont and a phugluer G30L that i have spooled with 50 lb on a phuguer 15 to 24 kg rod and all level drags and have had no probs whats so ever and find the G40L great on big reefies
Leighton
15-02-2008, 09:19 PM
Have you got one Captain?
A bloke that owns a tackle shop that is on TV all the time told me they were Shakespear...
A bloke that owns a fishing shop up the road said they werent...
Either way they look ok, for the money, no doubt!
I chose Daiwa!!
Not sure what model, but had a graphite spinning rod. Paid about $100 for it, had no troubles pulling in 8kg's of Long Tail
Jeremy87
15-02-2008, 09:46 PM
dam it i hit the back button on my mouse.
Ok in summery
Pflueger is owned by shakespeare and marketed as there top end gear
Good rods, have some, happy with them recommend them
Reels sub standard in light spin and better quality overheads, stick with daiwa, shimano penn.
BARRAkid
15-02-2008, 10:08 PM
pfulger trion and trion tournaments are good excpt for that i wouldnt touch them
stick with penn,shimano and daiwa
GO DAIWA
scottym
16-02-2008, 12:52 PM
Ive got a pfluger trion baitcaster that im happy with and a mate has the trion spinning reel which he also likes. both of us have pulled some nice trevelly and barra and both the rods and the reels have performed well.
barra_mauler001
16-02-2008, 01:23 PM
I have an echelon b/caster and its a great little bass reel.
Both my dad and my brother have pflueger bream specialist rods (1-3kgs) and they are great performers and look awesome too...
Dad also has a pflueger trinity eggbeater, very smooth and nice looking reel.
I regard pflueger as a highly good brand and have not had any problems with any of the gear we have.
cheers barra
bayfisher
16-02-2008, 01:33 PM
Pflueger are actually pretty good for the money, the rods are great. Not top of the line stuff but up there with Berkley drop shots etc. I have only limited experience with their reels, but i would hardly call my supreme spin 40 sub standard. Out of the box the drag was pretty ordinary but after lapping the the drag washers flat it has become a real favorite. So much so i find my self using it more than my Diawa SOL. It has caught plenty of fish from a big brissie river threadfin to little tuna in the bay. It has a nice quick 6 to 1 gear ratio and I'm just itching to get stuck into the spotties with it when they turn up. How long will it last? I'm not sure, but it is doing pretty well for harsh life that it has lived for the last 9 odd months i have had it. I have also read some good reviews of there higher priced bait casters (patriarch, supreme, president etc) but have no personal experience with them.
Thats my 2 cents anyhow
Cheers Chris
matt w
16-02-2008, 02:11 PM
i use a 7 foot trion 1to3 kg for catchin bream on lures and it is great value for money as for the reels i only use shimmano
Tassie JR
16-02-2008, 02:22 PM
Thanks for your replies everyone i might have to invest in one to try.
cheers tassie JR
bassman94
17-02-2008, 10:31 AM
i have a pflueger allusion. its the same reel as the echelon but a special addition with better paint job and an extra bearing and a pflueger graphite rod... awsome bass rig good value for money giv it a go!!!
Little grey men
18-02-2008, 10:48 AM
I use a Pflueger trion baitcaster, pulled stacks of fish with it and give it an absolute floggin. I've had no problems at all with it. I've just put a Chronarch reel on mine.
My young blokes birthday is coming up and I was thinking of getting a little Pflueger spin stick for his bass fishing.
Good gear:)
shaneomack05
18-02-2008, 04:28 PM
i just bought a echeleon combo and its awesome. put some good braid on it and i'm taking it up to borroloola to try it on (hopefully) some bigger fish.
good luck with the decision.
shane
Tassie JR
19-02-2008, 08:51 PM
Thanks for the replies ill be defintly having a good look at them on the weekend and make my mind up on what i get.
cheers tassie JR
19-02-2008, 09:25 PM
I have a pflueger GX-7 spin reel and can't fault it, excellent value for money IMO, very smooth drag, and goes well under pressure. Paid $70 for it 18 moths ago. I use it for everything from whiting, bream, jack, small barra, queenies, trevs, cod, grunter, jps, sooties (though not much use on these 2 yet), using 6 and 4lb fireline, teamed up with a 6'6ft 2-4kg strudwick sicstick, heaviest fish I have caught was a Barra, coming in at just over 5kg (took 1/2 hour to land). The most maintenaince I have done is I oil it with inox every month or so, and most of its use is in the salt, and its still going strong, definately the best purchase I've made in a while.
Munchy
28-02-2008, 05:20 PM
I have a pflueger g30 and a g40l reel on the standard rods they came with. Very happy with them and would recommend them to everyone.