View Full Version : what is the best 7.0 trailer boat.

nobody
15-02-2008, 06:48 PM
I am in the fortunate position of getting a new boat.Looking for around 7 mt trailable.Had a 2400 kc/honda and a 6.6 noosa cat with optimax/not bad but just dont like the motion of the cats.Had a 6.0 sportfish good at punching in but not so great in a following sea.If you had a hundred G budget what would be THE BOAT.Ive got in line for a fisher with twin 140 zukes.(long wait though)I like a boat that when it gets ugly you can pull back to 10/12 knots without going on and off the plane. I prefer the motion of a mono in all conditions.I would like all feedback good and bad.
first post and hopefully not my last,
with thanks
nobody.

sid_fishes
15-02-2008, 07:01 PM
this will be good as i,m looking at building a plate cat 7mtr. can i ask why you dont like cats? cheers ian

SgBFish
15-02-2008, 07:22 PM
Mate if I had your money this is what i would get.

Depends on your needs and situation.

http://boatpoint.ninemsn.com.au/boats-for-sale/details.aspx?R=2794884

I can dream.

nobody
15-02-2008, 07:24 PM
Ian,
cats dont like punching straight into a head sea.Im not interested in quartering this way and that.Im just looking for a all round boat thats happy in all directions.Doesn't have to be the fastest ,just point it there and go.(autopilot)Thats why im going mono.
thanks nobody.

15-02-2008, 08:00 PM
Well Nobody have you looked at these?

http://www.seafarerboats.com/html/6_8_voyager.htm

DAVE_S
15-02-2008, 08:14 PM
nobody
i think your choice of a 7 metre boat will not disappoint .just wait in line and as they say all good things come to those who wait . i know its hard but least you have time to sort out what you want .
iam a x cat owner and i know what your saying thats why i just love my 680 ;D

15-02-2008, 08:18 PM
Youre already on track Nobody. Just upgrade them DF140s to DF150s and it will be a sweet rig.

bustastu
15-02-2008, 08:27 PM
Looking at a 680 Haines Hunter Patriot, I think that would do me nicely...

nobody
15-02-2008, 08:30 PM
greg,
Can they handle the extra weight of the 150s.
At rest do you get any water on the back deck through the scuppers.
thanks nobody.

15-02-2008, 08:34 PM
Check with Col mate but I think the weight would be sweet. Ive owned the DF140 and now a DF150 and they are a sweet engine.

As far as the scuppers on the Fishers - No water comes in mine as the set up is first rate

nobody
15-02-2008, 08:37 PM
I agree very nice but i beach launch and sometimes drive up onto gravel beaches.thats why im going plate.
thanks nobody

nobody
15-02-2008, 08:43 PM
greg,
what moters do you have

15-02-2008, 08:49 PM
Nobody

what ever you narrow it down to and there a many suitable choices in that size , just make sure you go for a test ride in 15- 20 knot conditions, this will sort the chaff from the hay, as almost any boat goes well on a good day.

nobody
15-02-2008, 08:59 PM
finding time,
what are the suitable choices in your eyes.

sid_fishes
15-02-2008, 09:03 PM
any really bad day lol ian

hungry6
15-02-2008, 09:12 PM
nobody, I was in the exact position as yourself about 12-18 months ago and even went down the same route as you did, I got treated, or should I say lack of attention or reply from boat builder, especially when you're slapping around a 100K on the rig, I ended up walking away from the deposit went and loked around for the best posible value for that sort of money in a boat that will return decent resale. I'm now steering a 2300 CC noosacat, and believe it or not the service I got from noosacat who I never bought the boat from was many times better than the original builder who I made a deposit with. This is just my personal experience with local boat ppl and it has sort of left sour taste in my mouth.

Wahoo
15-02-2008, 09:17 PM
here is a few i like

http://www.bluewateralloyboats.com.au/index.php?pr=Our_Boats

http://www.platemaster.com.au/

http://www.fisherboats.com.au/

http://www.australianmastermarine.com.au/product_weekender.html

all very good boats

15-02-2008, 09:52 PM
Is that a photo of your boat on the bluewater site, Daz?

nobody
15-02-2008, 09:53 PM
hungry 6,
if you got more attention from the boat builder,
Is that the boat you wanted.
thanks nobody

captain rednut
15-02-2008, 11:13 PM
hi nobody you cant beat the patriot 680 or the haines 233 formula, thanks jim

backlash08
16-02-2008, 06:28 AM
I was in a similar situation to you nobody (although I havnt owned cats) I'm now in the line waiting for a 7M fisher centre cab, single 250 suke, after all my homework the fisher had the goods
happy looking

nobody
16-02-2008, 08:22 AM
Has any one with first hand experience with a 7mt fisher with twins. Say how they compare pound for pound with other hull and moter combos .(the good and bad.)Im in line for one and just want to confirm the wait is worth it.
thanks to all for your input to date.
nobody.

16-02-2008, 08:34 AM
Ian,
cats dont like punching straight into a head sea.Im not interested in quartering this way and that.Im just looking for a all round boat thats happy in all directions.Doesn't have to be the fastest ,just point it there and go.(autopilot)Thats why im going mono.
thanks nobody.

I drove a sharkcat a few times years ago and ended up giving myself a fright, the skipper was Ok with it though. Just a thought but isn't a cat as good as a mono for the same length into a head sea, its just that quartering they are even better again.

I have had lots of cats overtake me traveling into a headsea I don't flog boats though, this is not my current boat either which is easy to pass in anything above a ripple.

nobody
16-02-2008, 09:01 AM
I drove a sharkcat a few times years ago and ended up giving myself a fright, the skipper was Ok with it though. Just a thought but isn't a cat as good as a mono for the same length into a head sea, its just that quartering they are even better again.

I have had lots of cats overtake me traveling into a headsea I don't flog boats though, this is not my current boat either which is easy to pass in anything above a ripple.

thanks FNQ,
i agree cats are good but you have to drive them to get there best.
I guess the day i got over my 6600 noosa was when a 22 odd foot haines with a inboard went past me and doing it a lot easy than me.
(That day was ugly coming back into evans head with a howling westerly standing the sea straight up.)and if i pushed the cat over 15 knots it became a handful/properly bordering on dangerous.
Im just believe monos in the rough stuff are a better option especially if you can hold a clean plane at 10 to 15 knots in any direction.Im not into flogging a boat to get somewhere.
regards nobody

16-02-2008, 11:02 AM
If you have allready signed up for a Fisher what are you really asking? Are you just looking for some comments to back up that you have done the right thing? Your thread title is therefore pretty misleading contributing to a lot of the off target comments above.

I like a boat that when it gets ugly you can pull back to 10/12 knots without going on and off the plane.

I was out in a 6.6m Fisher the other week. Admittedly the trim tabs weren't working but to me it had the feel of an old school deep V glass boat and was sort of neither here nor there at those speeds. Once on the plane it really wanted to race away and we kept accelerating away too fast for the conditions imho. With the V those things carry it just had that deep V feel about it and at 10-12 knots it would really struggle. Maybe working tabs would make a huge difference. I dunno. This thing really only got down to 15knots. The torque of twins might help you as well keeping it on the plane at low speed. I would fit a foil/foils as well if that is your concern. I am an advocate of them. I have had them on all of my boats whether they needed them or not for the very reason you are talking about, that dead mans land of 9-15knots. I also used to high speed troll a lot trying to keep my speed at a constant 12knots and they really seemed to help there.

Say how they compare pound for pound with other hull and moter combos

Seeing as you have discounted glass it is pretty hard for me to compare. I haven't been out in that many plateys and then that 6.6 was the biggest. Most I have been out in have been round the 5.2-5.5m size.

Azura1
16-02-2008, 11:08 AM
Nobody , I have a 6800 AMM current hull it has single 225 Suzuki, its handling has only been tested once Australia day long weekend 10 to 15 forcast
blew 20 to 25. I had the family on board we had to travel from Bribe to Scarbrough beam on in 25 + The 2 year old sleept the whole way , not open ocean but nasty chop to have family in . the boat returns good fuil economy, AMMs are large for there size. Have been in a 7400 amm with twin 175s , this boat performed well with these motors on it . Regards Azura 1

Alchemy
16-02-2008, 11:35 AM
I was out in a 6.6m Fisher the other week. Admittedly the trim tabs weren't working but to me it had the feel of an old school deep V glass boat and was sort of neither here nor there at those speeds. Once on the plane it really wanted to race away and we kept accelerating away too fast for the conditions imho.

Smithy, I find with my Fisher that it will plane at around 10-12kn but I need the tabs to pull the nose down. Not the most economical situation, but it does allow a comfortable ride in ordinary conditions.

16-02-2008, 11:40 AM
Mine planes at around the same as Dave with just the outboard trim pulled right in - no tabs. It has no tendancy to run off in any conditions 8-)

hungry6
16-02-2008, 11:42 AM
Nobody, no it was my second choice, as my first choice at the time was actually 9m jobie and I though about getting a place up CQ coast, but that never eventuate, so I went with what I posted above.As for the local bilder, in my mind, if someone takes 3-4 weeks to return a email regarding specs and trims.. Also it was bordering on near impossible to me a time for an appoint. to discuss detail.. this was prior to "build" Yes so at that stage I'm thinking, if it was like this prior to completed sale, I hate to see the after sale service after the $$$$ have been handed over. Anyone who gives a I'm too busy attitude doesnt understand free enterprise, and they're going to be taugh a hard lesson by the competitor.
But since I got the cat and still looking around for a second boat, I have run into "grady white" on the surface so far, they are the bench mark in mono under 10m, I'm still looking, I like to buy an aussi built boat, but I just cant get past the customer service that is getting dished out. Maybe alot of these ppls are trades---> business owner, and lack the finesse of a truely proffesional outfit.
Honestly I would pay 10-20K more for a boat, if I know the after sale service is 5stars... people who buy new Riviera will know what I' talking about... Riviera are selling their boats nowaday pretty much based on customer satisfaction and not much else. I know alot of ppls will say, it's only a small boat, but you have to understand the $$$$ that you'll be handing over is hear earnt money and you want to know that the factory has got you backed when you need them.

Jabba_
16-02-2008, 11:56 AM
thanks FNQ,
i agree cats are good but you have to drive them to get there best.
I guess the day i got over my 6600 noosa was when a 22 odd foot haines with a inboard went past me and doing it a lot easy than me.
(That day was ugly coming back into evans head with a howling westerly standing the sea straight up.)and if i pushed the cat over 15 knots it became a handful/properly bordering on dangerous.
Im just believe monos in the rough stuff are a better option especially if you can hold a clean plane at 10 to 15 knots in any direction.Im not into flogging a boat to get somewhere.
regards nobody
Theres a guy on the goldy who owns a 25KC.. I guess he is feeling the same as you were when I passed doing 32mph into a bumpy 2.5mt swell... Old mate in the KC upped the anti and put the peddle to the metal, only to be put to shame when I passed him again at 45mph, and held it there till I got to the 50'sF..... I was suprise that the Seafarer 5.9m was getting a smoother ride at 45mph then it was at 30mph.. OH well, live, learn and have fun....

nobody
16-02-2008, 11:57 AM
Smithy,
ive put down a get in line deposit.Im trying to work out the best setup or is there something better.
so how would you rate the 6.6 (pound for pound) against other monos including glass.Agree with you about the foils.
Modern boating review CLAIMS they could hold on the plane down to 7 knts trim tabs on and off.
thanks for your comments as i find other peoples personal experiences the best information.
nobody.

nobody
16-02-2008, 12:18 PM
hungry 6, thanks for your comments and have taken them on board,nobody.

nobody
16-02-2008, 12:22 PM
Theres a guy on the goldy who owns a 25KC.. I guess he is feeling the same as you were when I passed doing 32mph into a bumpy 2.5mt swell... Old mate in the KC upped the anti and put the peddle to the metal, only to be put to shame when I passed him again at 45mph, and held it there till I got to the 50'sF..... I was suprise that the Seafarer 5.9m was getting a smoother ride at 45mph then it was at 30mph.. OH well, live, learn and have fun....
jabba,i saw a boat called shampoo which i think you would like.nobody.

16-02-2008, 01:57 PM
Hi Nobody

The 6.8 Voyager hull is a further development of what the hull Jabba "races". But at least he can get his fishing done and be home playing with the kids in no time.

What your looking for probably does not exist. To get a hull with the characteristics you are seeking and still be able to crunch it up on rocks and the beach etc is a big ask not to mention the interesting sized tow vehicle your going to need to do the stuff you have mentioned.

Be interesting to see what you end up with.

fishing111
16-02-2008, 02:19 PM

Shit doing 72kmh into 2.5 metre swells. You must have been jumping from one swell to another, just in time to take off again:)

legless
16-02-2008, 02:27 PM
Haines Hunter 6.8mtr Patriot.... Some good second hand ones getting around that are fully decked out..Boatpoint/Ebay etc. Top boats ,will handle anything you can throw at it

nobody
16-02-2008, 02:57 PM
Hi Nobody

The 6.8 Voyager hull is a further development of what the hull Jabba "races". But at least he can get his fishing done and be home playing with the kids in no time.

What your looking for probably does not exist. To get a hull with the characteristics you are seeking and still be able to crunch it up on rocks and the beach etc is a big ask not to mention the interesting sized tow vehicle your going to need to do the stuff you have mentioned.

Be interesting to see what you end up with.

hi chimo,
ive have no kids to race home to anymore.Properly the boat im looking for does not exist..........THE IMAGINARY BOAT.............................................. ..................up to 7 mts..........trailable...................prefer plate then glass.................twin outboards..............2.5 beam...........................quite at cruise...........................able to plane at 10 knts ...........................good in all directions..................long range...............good ride..........able to keep up with jabba should the need arise.Thats why i have a (get in line deposit) on a fisher 7.0 --------7 months is a long wait and it could be longer. thanks nobody.

Jabba_
16-02-2008, 02:57 PM
Shit doing 72kmh into 2.5 metre swells. You must have been jumping from one swell to another, just in time to take off again:)
It actually isn't as bad as you would think.... I only got the prop out off the water twice, and I was belting along at that speed for near 10 mins.... It was the first time I had travelled at that speed in those conditions, as I mostly sit just above 30mph for better economy.... I was amazed at how easy the Vermont took the swell in its stride at 45mph, It absolutely blew me away how smooth it rode and hence why I didn't back of after I passed the KC....... I was tempting to go a bit further and hit 50mph, but to tell he truth I was scared off the unknown and didn't want to bury the nose if got to much air, and I think I might also need a helmet a that speed, in that swell... No doubt I will try for 50mph in 2+m swell as really want to see what the Seafarer can deal out.....
What I am keen to do on a flat day is hit 60mph and get some smooth air.... Watching that Verardo video with the 24fter doing 81mph on the open water got me excited.......

nobody
16-02-2008, 03:15 PM
It actually isn't as bad as you would think.... I only got the prop out off the water twice, and I was belting along at that speed for near 10 mins.... It was the first time I had travelled at that speed in those conditions, as I mostly sit just above 30mph for better economy.... I was amazed at how easy the Vermont took the swell in its stride at 45mph, It absolutely blew me away how smooth it rode and hence why I didn't back of after I passed the KC....... I was tempting to go a bit further and hit 50mph, but to tell he truth I was scared off the unknown and didn't want to bury the nose if got to much air, and I think I might also need a helmet a that speed, in that swell... No doubt I will try for 50mph in 2+m swell as really want to see what the Seafarer can deal out.....
What I am keen to do on a flat day is hit 60mph and get some smooth air.... Watching that Verardo video with the 24fter doing 81mph on the open water got me excited.......
it must really pi$$ off those kc drivers when you range up beside them and put the hammer down.must be a good hull / moter /driver combo.

16-02-2008, 05:22 PM
Jabba

Just take Lindsay for a run, he will show you how to do it!

16-02-2008, 05:40 PM
Hi jabba and chimo,

Good to hear you guys beating the Seafarer drum.
If money were no object for me ,then I reckon the best 7.0 trailerboat would have to be a voyager with a pair of E-Tec 150's on the back.
What a beast of a reef boat that would be.http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/../yabbfiles/Templates/Forum/default/cool.gif

deadbeatloser
16-02-2008, 06:56 PM
what about the 659 super cab stabi craft or the mighty tassie typhoon in a 7metre

dbl

16-02-2008, 07:16 PM
I love my old generation one 1970s Seafarer Vagabond. 800kg bare hull with nothing, not even the screen (armour plate) in...not a bad weight for 6m. She is 21 degrees at the transom and goes very well...the glass thickness in the transom is solid 10mm and in other places such as the dash its more like 20mm solid glass - no wood there at all. In the transom the only wood is in the centre section. The stringers are huge in diameter.

I love my old girl - when I got her there were not tabs....tabs on she is a beast and will hold the plane at about 25kph nicely (but that might have something to do also with the 115 V4 Yamm 2 stroke not adding too much weight off the far back end...but I have added heaps of weight in the form of one inch thick wooden rear seating, dual batteries, tabs, heaps of very heavy (old Telstra earth cable!) wiring, bilge pumps, carpet bottom and up sides, anchor winch, big plough with chain and 200m of nylon rope, multiple sounders and multiple radios, CD, etc etc....phew!

nobody
16-02-2008, 07:19 PM
Modern boating review/performance on fisher 6.6
Performance
When we ran up our usual performance figures in the Fisher we expected the big Suzuki four-stroke mounted on its blunt end to perform well. We certainly weren’t disappointed as you can see from the nearby performance table.

Top speed was just under 38 knots, and cruising speeds from 15 into the low 20 knot bracket were achieved from a mere 3000rpm up to barely 4000rpm.

At this, the Suzuki was whisper quiet, and although we had no means to measure fuel consumption at the time, figures this industry leading V6 powerplant is returning in applications indicate outstanding economy in the mid range. Nonetheless, it was when we eased back the throttle to check the Fisher hull’s minimum planing speed that our eyebrows rose dramatically.

At 5.4 knots and 1900rpm, the hull finally gave up the ghost and slipped off the plane. That was with the Bennett trim tabs ‘dug in’ as far as they would go. “Must be the tabs that hold it up,” someone commented. So the tabs were backed off , minimum planing speed, sans tabs, 5.4 knots at 1900rpm!

Fisher’s Col Svennson told Modern Boating the unusually low minimum planing speed has much to do with what he terms a large ‘keel flat’; plus, the planing surfaces offered by the hull’s chines and a pair of strakes each side.

At sea this translates to the boat being able to ease through the worst conditions without continually falling off the plane. Neither does it lower its stern as it rises to a planing attitude, coming up level and simply increasing speed until the wake flattens aft long before you expect it to.

sounds ok. ...........nobody

16-02-2008, 07:48 PM
Nobody - relax, you made the right decision. The boat will exceed your expectations just as mine has for me and every other Fisher owner. It seems a long wait but there is a reason for that as many have discovered. I would be more concerned about a builder not having a similar wait period.

Where r u from ?

DAVE_S
16-02-2008, 07:50 PM
nobody
what i would suggest is asking col if he could put you in touch with some body who has a 7 metre and go for a run .
if you live in brisbane you are welcome to come for a run in mine its a 680 .

nobody
16-02-2008, 08:07 PM
thanks dave s for the offer,
.If you had your time over what if any changes would you make.Im looking for all feedback to put together the best package.regards nobody...............ps i live in mackay/waterworld.

DAVE_S
16-02-2008, 09:30 PM
nobody
if i had my time over again to build a custom plate boat i would change nothing iam very happy with what i have chosen .
the thing i most like is the hard top with the toughened glass windscreen , as you start to get older you have to look at a few comforts .
i have been lucky as i have a uncle who designs and builds custom sports fishing boats and he gave me a lot of advice thats why i choose a fisher mainly because of there hull design .
i hope this helps you . p.s also one thing to look at is how many fishers are sold second hand not to many, now thats gotta tell you something .

16-02-2008, 09:36 PM
..............ps i live in mackay/waterworld.

When mine was being built I am pretty sure the one behind it was a 700 maxi with 2 x 140s and it was going up your way. Give Col or Max a call and maybe you can set up a ride.

edit - found it http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/showthread.php?t=114938&highlight=No+Worries

Jabba_
17-02-2008, 08:57 AM
thanks dave s for the offer,
.If you had your time over what if any changes would you make.Im looking for all feedback to put together the best package.regards nobody...............ps i live in mackay/waterworld.
If I were you, I would be focusing on the most economical motor you can fit to you boat... A 7m plate will be the goods, but with the distant you need to travel at Mackey to get to the fish is a long way from the Port off Mackey.....

I did some fishing up there last July, and we were heading out to St Bee's and Keswick... At Cruise speed (30-35mph) it was taking 40-45 mins to get to our fishing spot. And that not were the BIG fish were.... Another 30min travel to the Power Pole which is 40mile straight out from the port.... To ge to Coles Reef just over 60miles, or was it 70miles.... A lot off petrol is needed at Mackey to get to the top fishing grounds...

Then you got the passage between St Bee's and the main land.... FARRK does that get rough.. You got 2 Currants comming together, making a nice soup. Add 25-30kn South Easterly, and yeah, it get interesting.... I had to go though that passage in those conditions.. The chop was 1.5 to 1.8.... You couldn't sit down as you would off compressed your spine... I was in my 5.9 Seafarer and came home dry as a nun's #$%@.... But it would off been more enjoyable ride in a bigger boat.... Hence something around 7m. And definetly don't under power you boat, or it will need to rev high and it will take you all day just to get to the fish.... Again I would certainly go 4st up your way, and get a 250 so it isn't working hard when cruising...

deadbeatloser
17-02-2008, 10:49 AM
If you have allready signed up for a Fisher what are you really asking? Are you just looking for some comments to back up that you have done the right thing? Your thread title is therefore pretty misleading contributing to a lot of the off target comments above.

I was out in a 6.6m Fisher the other week. Admittedly the trim tabs weren't working but to me it had the feel of an old school deep V glass boat and was sort of neither here nor there at those speeds. Once on the plane it really wanted to race away and we kept accelerating away too fast for the conditions imho. With the V those things carry it just had that deep V feel about it and at 10-12 knots it would really struggle. Maybe working tabs would make a huge difference. I dunno. This thing really only got down to 15knots. The torque of twins might help you as well keeping it on the plane at low speed. I would fit a foil/foils as well if that is your concern. I am an advocate of them. I have had them on all of my boats whether they needed them or not for the very reason you are talking about, that dead mans land of 9-15knots. I also used to high speed troll a lot trying to keep my speed at a constant 12knots and they really seemed to help there.

Seeing as you have discounted glass it is pretty hard for me to compare. I haven't been out in that many plateys and then that 6.6 was the biggest. Most I have been out in have been round the 5.2-5.5m size.

so smithy you dont rate your stabi at the top?
why didnt you buy the boat you wanted or was it the dollar factor?
i see you tow your boat with a falcon, so bigger boat out of the question?

dbl:)

nobody
17-02-2008, 01:11 PM
Thanks to all that contributed ,so what i have to date is...........7.0 fisher..............cuddy cabin.....glass hopper front windows.........full length hard top...........twin 140 zuke............thats what i ordered. The only thing to consider is maybe upgrade of the moters to 150. There is one in mackay i have seen and liked it.(no test drive) i prefer a cuddy cabin to the walkaround but thats just me.the build quilty on the one i saw was very good. im always looking for the perfect boat.It has not been made yet but im always looking.........nobody.

17-02-2008, 06:43 PM
so smithy you dont rate your stabi at the top?

It was in the thread the other day in my list of top 10 trailerable monos under 7.0m or whatever it was, but not at the top - I am a realist!

why didnt you buy the boat you wanted or was it the dollar factor?

Yes it was the dollar factor and the weight factor and time factor. I was keen on a 6.0m Seafarer Victory and had some phone conversations and e-mails back and forward with Lindsay. Realistically that was going to end up a pretty exxy package, I dunno, $80K+? I was also going to be in over 2.0 tonne territory meaning break-away brakes and all that. Plus the limit with the Ford is 2.3T so I might have been creaping toward that as well. Ad in the time factor and when the Stabi popped up 2nd hand I jumped at it. I hadn't even pestered Fisher or Riptide etc., etc. as I knew their waiting lists were long and I was keen on glass. My long service was looming and I had been scanning Boatpoint and the Trading Post etc. waiting for something small and in survey to pop up for ages and nothing had come up and I didn't want a build time of 6 months plus or whatever. 3 Stabis in survey came up around the same time and I would have bought any of them the way it all worked out.

i see you tow your boat with a falcon, so bigger boat out of the question?

Yes it is. Hey I have spun on the ramp twice now at dead low tide since I have had it but I have seen Rodeo 4WDs and stuff do the same on same tides. I have contingencies and got around that both times no probs. Last year at Port Stephens I had a 6.2 Seafarer Vagabond on behind the BA and at the sand covered Little Beach boat ramp I only needed a push by some bystanders once in 11 days use over a fortnight so we experienced all sorts of tides there. Some mid-size 4WDs were doing it tough on some tides as well. My particular Stabi on a tandem trailer comes in at 1740kg lightly loaded and 1920kg in fighting trim with full fuel and half a 200 litre esky full. Keeping to cable actuated brakes is a big relief maintenance wise.

The main reason for either the Stabi 609, the 6.0 Seafarer Victory, the 565 Edencraft etc., etc. that I was looking at around that time is I wanted a boat with a hull length under 6.0m for survey purposes. We are lucky here that Qld has what is called 2C inshore survey. The survey requirements are so much less onerous for a boat in that survey I thought it was a good way to learn the ropes so to speak.

Yes a 4WD is on the agenda if this weather lets me start making some money and I don't go bust in the mean time but I would have been crazy to purchase that before setting up the business wouldn't I? In the future I don't think I would go a bigger boat anyway. I think I will stay in something in that 2C inshore survey. That being the case a 4WD is not a neccessacity, still a luxury. I would maybe repower my current boat at some stage with a 150-175. I am in no way getting any economy approaching what Greg P is getting.

Anyway this has all been way off tangent of what Nobody asked. I wish I wasn't on the stupid computer but what is one to do in this bloody weather? Hopefully we get some good weather and you won't hear from me for a few weeks other than the fishing reports!

DAVE_S
17-02-2008, 06:50 PM
nobody
that to me sounds like one awesome rig ,iam like you i love the full cabin i have no problems walking up the side .
i have had a few blokes looking at mine in regards to the hard top they were going to have the same windows as yours but changed to toughened glass ,they were concerned it may get hot but told them i have no problems .
i have a hatch above the drivers side so i can look out .
there getting a 7metre with a 250 suzi .

Tim_N
17-02-2008, 07:48 PM
Go the twin 150's, not the 140's

nobody
17-02-2008, 09:21 PM
Dave s,I am trying to configure it so i can go through the front hatch to work the anchor.(if my head will fit through)I simply love pulling up the anchor especially if it gets stuck. Im a bit like jabba,nothing beats me......In saying that jabbas hull sounds like the one..........Thanks tim and Greg.......Smithy... like your style....................you should have been a lawyer.... So what is the best 7.0 trailer boat...........................................its still to be made.