sum

First two photos of ramp near cabins

Cheers Foxie

Magella
14-02-2008, 12:44 PM
And some more

wheezer
14-02-2008, 12:44 PM
awesome! hope the rain keeps coming, can't wait to be there next weekend. thanks for the updates

Magella
14-02-2008, 12:55 PM
And the good news is they are catching good meter plus barra around the dam wall and ramp areas.
Cheers Foxie

Peter4
14-02-2008, 01:00 PM
Great news Foxie.

Any reports from further up the system?

DECKA @ NOOSA
14-02-2008, 01:01 PM
Hi Foxie looking good ...send her down ...'HUEY'...long term benifits will be great ...plenty of fresh branches for the BARRA to hide under..
anyone out there no how the dam will fish short term with the rising water had plans to come up for a fish sun/mon weather looks ok except for the wind forecast...fish the runoff in the NT at least twice a year...dirty water and rain dont seem to be an issue with BARRA...maybe temp and winds ????

Is it better to give it a miss for awhile..dont they still have to eat ????

Magella
14-02-2008, 01:50 PM
Hey Peter4

No reports from upstream except for a lot of weed.

Cheers Foxie

McCod
14-02-2008, 03:27 PM
Good stuff Foxie.... have ta get me but up there soon!

Cheers Les

CATFISH BEAU
14-02-2008, 04:35 PM
Decka @ Noosa
Don't Let Your Wife Out Fish You Again, What Was The Score 19 To 1.

barra_mauler001
14-02-2008, 04:55 PM
Good to see mate!
thanks for sharing cheers barra

tanglefoot
14-02-2008, 06:38 PM
And again from me, thanks Foxie good to see

BR65
14-02-2008, 06:43 PM
bloody hell, how much rain have you blokes had up there?????
Good to see the old dirt ramp back in action, got a photo here abouts of what it looked like in the dry.

Magella
14-02-2008, 06:55 PM
BR65

I remenber what it was like when it was dry, we were up there when the lake was 2.8 % and the road down to to that ramp was just our shortcut to the amenities block on the boat ramp side. when the lake filled up we decided that the area would make a good boat ramp.
On another note anyone heading up this way over the weekend take it steady on the highway as the as it is full of bloody huge potholes not good for cars or trailers

Cheers Foxie

BR65
14-02-2008, 07:00 PM
2.8% foxie, wouldve made for some interesting navigation I reckon.
Looks like Im scratchin J and H arms off this week ends list, any info on whats happening in B mate, any one catching fish casting at all ?????????
brian

chewy01
14-02-2008, 08:05 PM
Thanks for the road update also. its bad enough on those hills without the potholes.

the_matrix
14-02-2008, 08:53 PM
anyone out there no how the dam will fish short term with the rising water had plans to come up for a fish sun/mon weather looks ok except for the wind forecast...fish the runoff in the NT at least twice a year...dirty water and rain dont seem to be an issue with BARRA...maybe temp and winds ????
Is it better to give it a miss for awhile..dont they still have to eat ????
Hey Decka,
Depends on where you fish mate. I'd expect the inflows to be low on oxygen, high silt and cool water but the dam fringes and freshly flooded grass would be less affected.
Some readings I took with a dissolved oxygen probe yesterday on Awoonga support this.
Awoonga fringes are fishing very well, but inflows are colder and do not seem to be supporting life.
Use your eyes and ears on this one, if there is bait flicking around, Barra will be there!

In regards to Barra having to eat, yes they do but they can also support themselves easily on reserves as required.
Small fish will be readily more hungry as they carry less body mass, those big metreys have plenty to keep 'em low key for extended preiods of time.

I'd be getting amongst the fishing as soon as you can, who knows what tommorow will bring?
Cheers and good luck
Jas

moggy1
14-02-2008, 10:03 PM
Thanks for the photos foxie. They are better than a 1000 words.
Cheers Moggy

Magella
15-02-2008, 09:01 AM
Monduran water heights
Friday 8/2/08 61.747
Thursday 9.00am 64.947
Thursday 4.00pm 65.206
Friday 9.00am 65.840

4.093 metre rise in a week

Cheers Foxie

black_sheep
15-02-2008, 10:14 AM
That's awesome Foxy. Even if the rain eases a bit, should have good run-off.

Downside - I did have awesome spots that I was keen to fish if it ever got back down to 3%. Years ago we got busted up big time along a particular stretch when fishing a lot lighter. Now that our tackle is more up to the challenge, I was somewhat hoping to get another crack at that stretch.

Upside is that I have been marking a spots over the last few months in case you got good rain so will be keen to get back up there when it settles and flog a few of these spots I now know have great structure beneath the surface.

15-02-2008, 11:03 AM
Monduran water heights
Friday 8/2/08 61.747
Thursday 9.00am 64.947
Thursday 4.00pm 65.206
Friday 9.00am 65.840

4.093 metre rise in a week

Cheers Foxie

Bugger ...... That means it will be like a whole new impoundment for me. I guess the cattleyards would now be under:-/

Nagg

BLOOEY
15-02-2008, 11:57 AM
Wow.Looks pretty different from when i was there 2 weeks ago.Thanks Ben

nipsta
16-02-2008, 10:39 AM
Hey Peter4

No reports from upstream except for a lot of weed.

Cheers Foxie

any word on catches in h area or c foxie also are they still catching in main bassin

Magella
17-02-2008, 06:25 PM
Catching fish in main basin trolling, Casting in Bird Bay Wiggle Bay and all the way up to about white rocks. It gets fairly dirty after that, Yea the Cattle yards are under.

Cheers Foxie

nipsta
17-02-2008, 08:10 PM
Catching fish in main basin trolling, Casting in Bird Bay Wiggle Bay and all the way up to about white rocks. It gets fairly dirty after that, Yea the Cattle yards are under.

Cheers Foxie
no worries foxie i call in and see ya on the way up and see what and where its happening cheers

shaneoo
19-02-2008, 05:36 PM
hey nipsta mate i will be back at the dam at easter if you are going up let me no, so we can catch up for a rumbo
cheers shaneoo