View Full Version : Townsville barra utter stupidity

Mozza
11-02-2008, 09:07 PM
Fellow Fishos,

I’d like to think that when it comes to catching barramundi, I’ve have improved to the point that I almost always return from a trip with 1 or 2 good barra in the esky. On this particular trip however, things took a turn for the worse.

Yep, courtesy of yours truly, I single-handedly ruined a couple of good chances for a barra and all Curmudgeon could do was watch on with mounting exasperation.

The day started normally enough with a 4 a.m. start and a tropical shower to boot. A couple of comments were made about fellow ausfishers too pansy-ish to brave the pre dawn downpour in recent posts. ;)

We trolled the breakwater up to the high tide at 7:30 for no barra and a number of small cod, three of which, were barely legal (released) before we dashed off to spot X. A 1 hour fishing session with livies resulted in what I swear was the same reefie being caught 3 or 4 times, I forget exactly. After that we began trolling a selection of hardbody lures. Things were pretty quiet with a couple of ‘cuda and the odd small GT hitting the deck before being given their freedom. Around 1:30 pm, the trusty old abu6500 went off. I yanked the rod out of the holder and my first reaction was ‘oh, it’s just another small ‘cuda’ but, then it really took off!! It turned out to be a fat, 60 cm salmon and the fight reminded me very much of a typical trout fight. After much yahooing, handshakes and back-slaps later, we settled down for a bit more trolling and casting.

With the turn of the tide approaching, I was running out of ideas. In a fit of desperation, I put in 2 extra lines so we had 4 lines out the back, 2 shallow and 2 deeper lures. Suddenly one of the deeper diving lures got hit but missed as the rod bounced in the rod holder then, seconds later, the shallow diver got smashed and line started peeling rapidly off the spool. I grabbed the rod and stood up yelling to Curmudgeon to sort out the mess of line behind the boat. I set the drag a touch heavier and could immediately tell that this was a big fish and my instincts were telling me this was a stonker barra. “Its gonna jump, its gonna jump!” I yelled as the line started to shallow out.

But I never got to see that jump because I had a brain explosion. With Curmudgeon yelling at me not to worry about the other lines, in a fit of utter stupidity, I tried to pass my rod over one of the other lines to make it easier for Curmudgeon to reel in the other rods. What was I thinking of! Line is screaming off my reel with what may be a P.B. on the end of the line and I start messing around with irrelevant issues. I’ve done this a dozen times on my own so the lessons have all been learnt: ‘Worry about the spider web of fishing line AFTER YOU BOAT THE FISH, YOU IDIOT!’ Better yet (I’m sure many of you would say), stick to one rod. Well to cut a sob story short, my braid wrapped around one of the guides on the other rod and SNAP! “Catch ya later P.B.”

I could have cried and I didn’t need to see the look on Curmudgeon’s face to know what he was thinking. Well, with that little saga over, everything else was going to be a bit of an anticlimax but we did hook a respectable barramundi that spat my lure out with distaste after it jumped clear of the water.

And that was that – the tide turned and the fish went off the bite. So, for 14 hours fishing, we had a one hour window of opportunity where the fish were biting, that was fun, but could have been memorable if Doug the dunce had used his noggin. Still, the salmon tasted great with a light beer/corn flour/flour batter and the potential P.B. is still out there somewhere and with a bit of luck, it’ll be Curmudgeon that nails it.

...Although I must say it's quite pleasant having Curmudgeon as a deckie since the fish seem to avoid his lines like the plague.;)

11-02-2008, 09:33 PM
Nice salmon there Doug! Shame about the Barra though... You'll only do it once (You hope!) ;)

levinge
11-02-2008, 10:08 PM
Hey Mozza,
Ya PB wouldn't have looked someting like this one

Sorry to see you drop a Poss PB, but your on the edge of success, so keep hanging in there.

By the way thats my sons PB not mine, yet to land a 1m+ my best is 95cm

Fish was my young fellas first Barra 14 years old at the time and lands a 22.5kg 118cm monster, little @#%&^@!

Followed it up with a 108cm 12 months later, I put him on the fish and he keeps beating me!!!

Best of luck with your PB

Chuckmeister
12-02-2008, 06:43 AM
A great read, mate. A pity about losing the barra. It's hard to keep a cool head with one of 'em on the end of the line. Better luck in your next trip out.

baitwaster
12-02-2008, 07:04 AM
Sounds like a good sesh.
Don't beat yourself up too much, - that's what mates are for.
Always next time mate ;)

Silent
12-02-2008, 07:17 AM
I'm with baitwaster...and
I personally don't like to troll more than 2 lures and it would cause disaster!
Anyway a great read!

Mozza
12-02-2008, 10:01 AM
Thanks guys,

Curmudgeon and I went back Sat eve believing we had a date with destiny but missed the 'bite' by about an hour but, we did pick up a nice grunter and a goldie as well. After that we fished with livies after dark and found the reefies again.

Curmudgeon had a definite barra run but missed. I chucked the ever faithful skitter pop out for a doz. or so casts and was smashed at the boat. Wasn't expecting it so missed it then missed another small barra that went into orbit and spat the popper. I'm now looking forward to a ngihttime poppering session and I can think of at least half a dozen good spots to try.

Silent, yeah I agree, I'm usually a 2 line man for trolling - in this case it was pure desperation.

Mozza

PS Levinge good fish - I bet he keeps reminding you about it too

12-02-2008, 11:48 AM
Bad luck Doug.....it might be a lesson hard to learn but I guess you did, don,t screw around when you've got a good fish on.

There's always next time. I'm still yet to get on the board, starting to get real impatient now.

levinge
12-02-2008, 07:27 PM
Mozza, he never lets me forget it, as well as his other 1m+ up at Tinaroo.

Mozza
12-02-2008, 08:20 PM
Makes me sigh to see this again - those were the days.

Here's a pic of the 113cm beast I trolled up along the breakwalls a few years ago. It's not my biggest but, it may as well be because I don't have the photo evidence and noone believes me 'cept the family but they don't count do they?

THAT one was caught down below Aplins so don't let anyone tell you there're no barra down there. They're just well fed is all...

Mozza

levinge
13-02-2008, 09:09 AM
Nice fish Mozza, those will be back again all tooooo soooon. This year is going to be a bumper Barra Season, me feels it in me bones.

Remember

Any day fishing is a good day on earth!!!!

kingkev
13-02-2008, 05:50 PM
Come on Mozza................2008 season is well and truly here. Show us your barra mate. You consistantly put the time and effort in...............we are just waiting for your new season barra. Nice read about the one that got away..........can't wait to read about the one that didnt get away. Thanks mate............like reading your posts. Take the young boys out.........they might show you how its done

Curmudgeon
13-02-2008, 07:30 PM
Thanks again for the trip(s), Moz.

Thoroughly enjoyable, despite the lack of barra.

Just chuckling to myself remembering the celebrations when that salmon hit the deck.

Standing on the front thwart seat, our intrepid thread starter threw his arms up so enthusiastically, he nearly threw himself overboard. There's a look that people get when they realise that they've lost their balance and are in imminent danger of going in the drink. Mozza had exactly that look for a moment there. To his credit, he somehow saved himself (with all the finesse of a giraffe on roller skates). Alas, his threadline got a quick dunking in the process.

And while Mozza's casting aspersions on my fishing ability, I'd like to point out that I caught (almost) as many fish as he did last week. He did best me with the salmon and the grunter though. His barra hookups count for NOTHING. :P

ps. a 12.5kg barra won the Burdekin Barra Comp last weekend. Dunno who won the boat.

Brian.

Mozza
14-02-2008, 02:28 PM
Kev,

I should've known better than to rib a bloke who already has runs on the board!

Curm. and I just returned from a quick looksee at the Ross mouth and the walls - to guys with tinnies: find the colour change between the Ross River coffee and the relatively clearer sea water and good luck. Plenty of action with bait up to 25cm mullet going into orbit with BIG swirls and strikes. Couldn't attract a nudge, tried poppers, fizzers, bombers, barra baits etc, trolling, casting. A bucket of livies and a nice, outgoing tide should see some success.

Too bad I got work to do.....

Kev, you corner was the only spot closer in with activity with a 38cm goldie and a ~50cm 'cuda hitting the deck. Well the 'cuda didn't - I can't stand those buggers anywhere near any of my extremities after impaling myself with hooks when they start their head-shakes.

BLOODY HOT too.

Mozza

kingkev
14-02-2008, 05:47 PM
next week looks good enough with making tides.........just got to get time off work

Going to Brissie for a few days so Hopefully when I return I can give it a go