View Full Version : GC topwater Jack and Bream

marty_z
10-02-2008, 07:52 AM
Headed out to the northern Gold Coast early Saturday morning in the hope of finding red fish. Was reasonable confident after a couple of hot days in a row and light winds forecast. I concentrated on rock walls at the bottom of the tide and found the water was still very discoloured, although out of the main flow the water was a bit cleaner.

The sounder showed very little action on the bottom, but I noticed a bit of surface activity so started throwing around a popper. A few casts in and I hook up to a good fish - after a short fight a solid Bream comes aboard. I continue with the popper and slow down my retrieve to target Bream (with a 65mm popper ;D ). Manage to land a few more quickly - all solid fish around the 30cm mark.

Decide to move on to a new spot and after a couple of casts the popper is smashed and the rod loads up. A second later, the popper comes free and I quickly duck to one side as it sails past my ears. Two more casts later in the same spot, the exact same thing happens again. I continue working the same area and finally the popper disappears and line is stripped off the reel. The fish runs down the side of the rock wall and heads towards the pylons so I gun the electric out to the middle of the canal. The fish has a few more runs before I start to get some line back. My first look at the fish gets the pulse racing and I finally get the net under the fish and into the boat. A quick check on the lie detector and it measures 52cm. Couple of happy snaps and the fish disappears into the dirty water with a few tail beats.

I fish till mid morning but the action slows down. I do not get a single hit on hardbodies or plastics fished below the surface - admittedly I was throwing large lures.

Marty

skipjack
10-02-2008, 08:10 AM
Well done mz that a fantastic jack and to catch it with current water clarity and temp is an extra bonus.

Leighton
10-02-2008, 08:12 AM
Solid Jack mate, great pics. The Bream looks like its crossed with a Grunter:P

Why-ting
10-02-2008, 08:51 AM
Cracker jack off the surface marty, but whats with the glove? Dont want to scratch your computer fingers?:P

Have to catch up for anther sess soon mate.

Cheers Whytey

ffejsmada
10-02-2008, 09:14 AM
That's a ripper popper caught Jack Marty.

The take would have been sensational!!!!

Cheers Jeff.

marty_z
10-02-2008, 09:16 AM
Cracker jack off the surface marty, but whats with the glove? Dont want to scratch your computer fingers?:P

Cheers Whytey

Whytey,

Yeah mate, bit soft I know. That's what happens when you have a really slow Summer and haven't handled enough Jacks!

Hopefully we get a few more in the next month before they slow down!

Marty

MickThe
10-02-2008, 10:07 AM
One great fish makes a whole sesh worthwhile - well done!!

I am still looking for my first popper caught fish in the salt, but this gives me the encouragement to have a rod rigged in case i see some surface activity.

I did see some bait being chased yesterday in the brissie river etc

Mick.

jackextracter
10-02-2008, 01:43 PM
NIce looking jack mate good on ya to for getting him on a popper nice stuff.

bondy99
10-02-2008, 01:57 PM
Good one, well done, I'm still trying to catch one from the shores near pimpama. Takes a long time though especially with all the fresh.

Luke mcleod
10-02-2008, 08:03 PM
The amount of time i have spent targeting the jack with poppers is crazy and am still yet to land one on a popper or even get a hit from one on popper.
Nice fish mate

chief 1
10-02-2008, 08:08 PM
Nice fish,expecially on a popper

the gecko
12-02-2008, 07:21 AM
What sort of fish is that again? I havent seen one for sooo long Ive forgotten.

Well done mate. I wonder if matty is still checking the boards....hed be jealous.

DICER
12-02-2008, 09:52 AM
that's a big 52 cm model - nice colour

ddobson
12-02-2008, 07:52 PM
Good head shot mate. Nice fish on poppers. Must have speeded up the ol heart after that fight. Must have a steady camera. Well done.

richieboy
13-02-2008, 09:28 AM
Very Ghostie looking Jack Marty. Awsome on the topwater. Was he redder before you took the pic?
The big boys seem to be coming out to play lately. Good work.

Richie

marty_z
13-02-2008, 12:31 PM
Richie,

Good to hear from you - looking forward to more of your posts.

I have included a pic on the ruler which was taken in the shadows of the boat - this shows the true colour. The other shots were a bit washed out from the sun. Still not a deep red fish though.

Marty

gregdeeth
15-02-2008, 06:20 PM
nice jack marty

codz22
16-02-2008, 09:00 AM
Nice fish there mate that jacks a ripper nice lookin fish

greenie.77
17-02-2008, 05:28 AM
well done marty good to see the poppers getting the action