View Full Version : PENN 309 levelwind reel
reggy
09-02-2008, 06:17 AM
Does anyone have one of these, and what do you think of it?
I can get one cheap, made in China, but all metal construction. Looks like a good
bottom fishing reel.
Any_Weather
09-02-2008, 07:56 AM
Reggy, mate this was the 1st reel I ever bought for general outside fishing. I have had it for about 15 years and have caught some BIG fish on it. The level wind mechanism doesn't last long as it wears on each end and under load it wants to stop at each end. Simply remove the level wind when it plays up and thumb it level. I have since upgraded to TLD's but do still use it if I take extra blokes who dont have any gear and it performs faultlessly. Mate I would imagine a good price to be fairly cheap as I think you can but them now as a combo for about $120-$150. In saying all this, a TLD has a much better drag system and they are getting cheaper all the time. Goodluck with it if you go with it, I dont think you will be dissappointed.
Lee
reggy
09-02-2008, 10:15 AM
Lee
Thanks for the tip on the levelwind. I was wondering what the spring loaded dial on the end of the levelwind shaft was for.
I`ll put 30lb mono on it. Actually, I quite like Penn`s HT 100 drags.
The TLD has a canvas drag.
thanks
Reggy
moater
09-02-2008, 08:53 PM
Salt of the earth I reckon - I've got a 209 and down south (Vic) here it's only been used on gummy sharks,snapper etc with the nuisance rays thrown in.Performs faultlessly with a guttsy feel,good gear ratio-not too low so you can winch up some heavier snapper weights etc.Depends on what you want it for mostly...most on this site are northerners so they might want a bit of speed.
I've got some 'ancient' reels by today's standards ie some Penn Delmar 285,Penn Longbeach 65 (older ones).These reels aren't all glitzy and flashy but I know they won't fall apart and will last a loooonngg time.The Delmar is a bit slow with about 2:1 gear ratio but plenty of guts,typical Penn.Drags are good but I wouldn't mind the Erskine treatment or similar...just for more smoothness.
Of course I've also got some more 'flash' gear but whether I really need it???
Hate levelwinds!!!...I still go to use my thumb with reels that have one...old habits.;D
reggy
09-02-2008, 09:25 PM
The 309 was released in 1966 and still being made. Mine has an aluminium spool, unlike the originals that were chromed brass. I don`t like levelwinds much either, bought this as a backup reel that guests could also use.
Could not ignor this reel at $75.00 new.
Lee
Thanks for the tip on the levelwind. I was wondering what the spring loaded dial on the end of the levelwind shaft was for.
I`ll put 30lb mono on it. Actually, I quite like Penn`s HT 100 drags.
The TLD has a canvas drag.
thanks
Reggy
Canvas drag, 'please reggy'::) ,
the TLD's have a Titanium Composite large lever drag which has given them a reputation as the best in mid range reels for 30 years, super smooth, long lasting and tough ;D .
moater
10-02-2008, 01:23 PM
The 309 was released in 1966 and still being made. Mine has an aluminium spool, unlike the originals that were chromed brass. I don`t like levelwinds much either, bought this as a backup reel that guests could also use.
Could not ignor this reel at $75.00 new.
G'day reggy,
Yeah I knew they were still being made--sorta when you're on a good thing..
I've actually got another 209 that I forgot about,it's unused with the heavy stainless spool that I think the yanks brought about mostly for using wire lines in deep trolling for big salmon...might be wrong but something like that.Of course back in the old days before braid was common there were a lot of 'spread' spools where the mono would want to return to it's normal state after being wound on under pressure...POP goes the sideplate(s).Maybe that was partly why the heavier spools came about?Sorry for gettin' off track a little.:P
Darren PS:Got too many reels I think!
reggy
10-02-2008, 06:35 PM
Canvas drag, 'please reggy'::) ,
the TLD's have a Titanium Composite large lever drag which has given them a reputation as the best in mid range reels for 30 years, super smooth, long lasting and tough ;D .
The TLD 15, 20 and 25 all have a drag plate that is partly titanium, but the drag washer is a heavy canvas. Nowhere near as long lasting, or tough as a carbon drag washer such as you get with Penn, Avet or Carbontex.
Reggy;)
reggy
10-02-2008, 06:41 PM
G'day reggy,
Yeah I knew they were still being made--sorta when you're on a good thing..
I've actually got another 209 that I forgot about,it's unused with the heavy stainless spool that I think the yanks brought about mostly for using wire lines in deep trolling for big salmon...might be wrong but something like that.Of course back in the old days before braid was common there were a lot of 'spread' spools where the mono would want to return to it's normal state after being wound on under pressure...POP goes the sideplate(s).Maybe that was partly why the heavier spools came about?Sorry for gettin' off track a little.:P
Darren PS:Got too many reels I think!
Hi Darren
Yes, one of my mates had a Penn spread it`s spool from winding wet mono on too tight. I can`t remember the exact model, but I can remember it was red.
10-02-2008, 06:44 PM
Bullet proof reel, but a bit slow for me.
banshee
11-02-2008, 09:26 AM
The TLD 15, 20 and 25 all have a drag plate that is partly titanium, but the drag washer is a heavy canvas. Nowhere near as long lasting, or tough as a carbon drag washer such as you get with Penn, Avet or Carbontex.
Reggy;)
Interesting statement,I have never had to replace a TLD drag plate or washer,have done a few Penn HT 100's though.
reggy
11-02-2008, 01:37 PM
Interesting statement,I have never had to replace a TLD drag plate or washer,have done a few Penn HT 100's though.
Hi Banshee
I don`t think there is anything wrong with the plate, but with regard to the canvas washer, I would reccommend a look at Alan Tani`s post in Western Angler`s tackle forum on the TLD 15 upgrade.
Make sure you read the last paragraph.
Reggy
banshee
11-02-2008, 01:55 PM
No offence to Alan I'm sure he is an experienced reel technician but he dose seem preoccupied with upgrading reels just for the sake of doing it,often with little regard for the consequences (refer to the TN 30 upgrade posted on this site).I will not be chasing his article down because my own experience shows the drags on the TLD's are smooth and extremly durable even when used in situations they were not designed for,every bit as good if not better than any HT 100.
reggy
12-02-2008, 08:56 AM
OK Banshee, we`ll just have to agree to disagree, but I will choose carbon over canvas anyday, especially when you can add a little Cal`s drag grease and improve the performance of carbon washers even more.
Reggy