View Full Version : PB Horse on the islands with plastics

ddobson
06-02-2008, 08:07 AM
Had a tip off that a younge fella got a 78cm & 80cm snapper in the bay on sunday from the saturday before and since then been thinken were did he get it. So after havin a chat at work with marlin mike i looked out and i almost saw sun shining through the clouds so i packed up and headed out to see what i could muster up before the storm hit. I started my first drift in 35 feet of water and got bites and no hits so second drift i got bites and then zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz the ol 4000stradic on the t curve with 14 pound braid and 20 pound jinkai leader with a big bozo flouro head with a 7 "nuclear chicken went down and out in to the sunset. This time like last time i started the motor and gave chase. Held the tension with a loose drag to not get head shaked (and no structure just sand)and then i would let go loose and he would sit and then i pull hard and jig to make him run and then give chase. This went on for over 20 minutes which is no longer than a 60cm fight by the way and then the big fella came up under the boat i could see leader but by then the nerves had cut in and we sat there for a few minutes shaking and light headed until i grabbed the net and led him in without any fuss. As he tail wipped the deck i sat there in ore at the shere size of him and wondered how i was going to fit him into the esky which was only 50cm long. After a few solo shots i had a few more drifts but the storm (which didnt come) had me thinken i had enough time on the water as the wind picked up i couldnt swim that far with a snapper that size to shore if the tinny had flipped. You can not feel the joy of wanting to get over 70cm and then smashin it with this beauty of a horse. It was the night before the new noon to which has changed my thoughts on the full moon and before idea. Mind you i have never fished here yet and might have to have another at my new spot x Cheers and enjoy.

niceone
06-02-2008, 08:18 AM
Dobson
What a horse! niceone dave when you rang me to let hear that line peeling off the dribble started to come from my mouth Good Job Mate;D

baitwaster
06-02-2008, 08:20 AM
Very nice fish, mate please leave a big red "X" in the water where you found him for me would you?

Much appreciated. ;)

I can only dream of gettin fish like that.

06-02-2008, 08:35 AM
Good work mate! That's a top fish! Bet you're still smiling too aren't ya ;)

Pistol_P
06-02-2008, 08:39 AM
Ver nice fish....looks very tasty too.
well done mate.8-)

bayfisher
06-02-2008, 09:21 AM
Congrats on the new pb its a very nice snap, all the effort you have been putting in has paid off.

Cheers Chris

06-02-2008, 09:47 AM
Gentlemen, Gentlemen.......................... take note of the name in the second line of dobson's post...........................;D

Marlin Mike......................... hey thats me ::) ..................... you owe me dobson, you wouldnt have gone there without my secret info ;)

Well done, when bradshaw said you caught a horse i thought B*****itting fisherman ::) :P , but there she is. cracker snap mate, well done.

mickstar001
06-02-2008, 10:30 AM
Well done dobson, great fish mate, surely between you and marlin mike you could give some kind of clue as to where you caught it? Thats a stonker, and as previously said a fish a lot of people dream of!

Mickstar

Leighton
06-02-2008, 11:40 AM
time for a new esky mate, that is a thumper
Im Green with envy.
What sort of weight were you using in 35 foot?

niceone
06-02-2008, 12:14 PM
its a wonder you could hear the line peeling off with all those cars going overhead dobson spot x the bay island you say mmmmm 35 feet of water mmmmm

bondy99
06-02-2008, 12:51 PM
Well done, congratulations, looks very tasty too. Peter

Silent
06-02-2008, 01:09 PM
Congrat's for PB & new member of 5 kg club

chief
06-02-2008, 02:04 PM
Well done Dobson a beauty. Good to see someone putting in the yards and coming up with the prize. Congrads

marty+jojo
06-02-2008, 02:24 PM
Well done mate, that is a quality snapper.Did you weigh it?
Marty.

ddobson
06-02-2008, 02:31 PM
Thanks boyz the jighead was about a 1/2 ounce from bozo. The time i have spent at work has been hard to concentrate due to my dream fish but i will get a bigger one or i will get board. Tanks chief i do put a lot of time in with my snapper (no squire here) all i need is a bigger motor and a larger area to fish. I still cant get brim on plastics. I can catch snapper but. Cheers PS. Does anyone know how big they get in the bay ?

Leighton
06-02-2008, 03:03 PM
Duncan from Fishhead pulled a 95cm beast from the Bay reportedly

ddobson
06-02-2008, 03:22 PM
I held the big boy up on my scales and it only said 5.1 kilos but my last 68cm was 5 kilo so i am not sure which one is wrong.

bayfisher
06-02-2008, 04:20 PM
A 68cm snap should weight around about 3.5kg. 5kg-6kg looks about right for your latest fish.

Cheers Chris

Fish_gutz
06-02-2008, 05:59 PM
well done thats a cracker for the bay!congrats on the new pb.
ps. time for a new esky!

Why-ting
06-02-2008, 06:36 PM
Nice fish Dave. Bet your probably out there now trying to get another. As to your question about how big the get in the bay, John Palermo told me his sons pb snapper came from the bay and it was over 12kg. they are out there mate so might give you some more to dream about.

Well done again top fish mate.

Whytey

06-02-2008, 07:18 PM
I have heard reports of big Snaps from the central Bay but that is a cracker of a summer fish from around the islands

Nice work and well deserved

Silent
06-02-2008, 07:55 PM
Does anyone know how big they get in the bay ?
I remember and saw the report of biggest snapper in Bay by foggy

http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/showthread.php?t=89884&highlight=10kg+snapper

alleycat
06-02-2008, 08:17 PM
Great fish mate, cant beat the feeling when the drag screams can ya, gives you something to beat this year as well.

chief
07-02-2008, 05:03 AM
Biggest bay snapper I;ve actually seen was by my mate 10.2 kg on 4 kg pretest at good old green. You could hear us cheering up at Bribie. Weighed on approved govt. scales. that was a bay snapper.

07-02-2008, 06:24 AM
Nice to see a quality snap from the bay again, they have been few and far between, so your new avitar photo deservedly should be displayed with pride. Well done.

07-02-2008, 07:13 AM
:o:o Wow. Nice snapper indeed. Here I was starting to think that there were no nice snapper in the bay anymore. Way to prove me wrong. Congratulations!

plaztix
07-02-2008, 07:42 AM
Nicely done ddobson. That is a quality snap for the bay.

What time and stage of the tide did you hook him?

Bloody good bay snap.;)

Aquarius
07-02-2008, 09:23 AM
Another quality bay snapper, Well done ddobson thats a nice fish.
Congratulations on joining the 5kilo+ Club.
My PB Bay snapper caught last year measured 80cms and weighed 6.2 kilo so yours might be a bit on the slim side.
Foggy's mate caught a snapper in the bay that went just a little over 10 kilo.
Cheers Brent

ddobson
07-02-2008, 04:18 PM
The tide was half up and sucking hard. I had drifted about 800 metres once i had shot a snap and ready to go again. And it was on dusk. Every good fish i have caught has been rirht on dusk. Never dawn for the big ones but always dawn. When fishing i get get agitated when dawn comes cause i know once gone go home or sit out in the dark and hope for a miracle.

plaztix
07-02-2008, 04:27 PM
Cheers mate, always do dawn sessions as theres usually less wind but will have to get some balls and brave the mighty wrath of the bay for a dusk session one of these days.

tin arse tony
07-02-2008, 07:27 PM
What a f----en ripper bloke. sounds like he went hard. Hope there is more of that 4 you in tha future.:thumbsup:
Tony.

nuggstar
07-02-2008, 07:52 PM
you the man ddobson, i wish i could catch a snapper

08-02-2008, 05:50 AM
Dont believe every pic dobson posts.............the snapper pic was photo shopped ;D ::) , ruly and truly it was..........................;D ;D ;D

ddobson
08-02-2008, 06:55 PM
I do enjoy a good 20 notts of 2 metre swell to get the ol tinny swaying and then i know it is time for my ol mate snap to go feeding. My last log said dawn is better. Sorry i meant dusk and only dusk. Every time i go dawn i get tired and empty in the esky and sleep the rest of the day. To all those dawn boys your a better man than me. I do like my sleep.