View Full Version : Superior engineering radius arms??
BenDover
04-02-2008, 12:10 PM
Hey guys, Who's got a set of superior engineering (super flex) radius arms? Im ditching these stupid castor plates. And they are bosting aprox 260mm travel over any other arms on the market. Which is about 400mm of travel more than nissans standard arms. And have the braking/torque and ride charactoristics of stardard height trucks. No more flogging out the bushes in my patrol. Does anyone have any or know of anyone that does. I wouldnt mind finding out more info from people who run them before handing over $1300.
Thanks BD
www.superiorengineering.com.au/ (http://www.superiorengineering.com.au/)
MY-TopEnder
04-02-2008, 06:07 PM
Yeah i have a mate with a set who absolutely loves them.
He used to have castor plates in there and it handled like a pig. Now it is so much smoother to drive its a different truck.
Well worth the money.
He pushes his truck to its absolute limits and they haven't given him a moments grief.
BenDover
04-02-2008, 07:19 PM
Hey my top ender, thanks mate. How long has he been running them for? Any wear and tear yet on bushes or tie rod ends? Im going to replace everything in my front end. Toe rod ends, bushes, king pin bearing (hardened, heavy duty ones) if this fixes the problems in my front end. Ill be promoting them to everyone. Did he have any problems when he had castor plates?
BD
MY-TopEnder
04-02-2008, 10:12 PM
He's only had them in for maybe 2 months, but no problems yet.
In that 2 months he's driven all of Ormeau, and the extreme stuff at Rover Park. No sign of wear yet, and trust me, these guys work their gear hard.
Between him and his old man in his GU, they can bend chromoly drag links like banana's.
Castor plates worked, but nowhere near the flex of these new arms.
Ben,
are you running drop boxes?
c.j.
BenDover
15-02-2008, 05:00 PM
Yeah mate, now i am! I went to superior and got the low down on everything (as they have been running and designing things for patrols for years) and they recomended just running drop box's (in which im already maxing out my shocks now) and if thats not enough for me :). Then get the radius arms in the standard size and cut and remount for longer shocks up into the engine bay.
I just wanted it to be better on the road. The bottom line was when you lift a patrol. You change point a and point b. And no arms will help you recover the the good ride and characteristics as standard. (its like wheeling a wheel barrow by the handles and then lifting it upto your shoulders and doing the same thing.) Drop box's brought it back down to standard point a and b again. Massive difference.
After the drop boxs and all the new bush's went in, tie rod end's where checked and swivel hub bearings checked and retightened. Steering checked aswell. She drives like a dream now!! Now comes the hard part of tyres and rims. Geez nissan patrols are shit!! Cruisers have no problems with arms as they have more tollerances and are eyelet bush's. And you can run what ever rims you want aswell. You just cant beat an 80 series!!!!!!! The designs are just easier and better.
I have to go a bigger offset in the rear so my tyres dont bind on the chassi. And a 0 offset in the front to take any pressure off the hubs and avoid any shakes or wobbles. What do i do now :).
It never ends. Dont get me wrong, she is just a project and will be dynamite when im finished with her. But she already owe's me 67k and im still not happy with a few things. Maybe later ill custom build an 80 series ute with all new panelling and people wont even recognise it. Maybe
BD
Pics mate - pics!!!!
Keep us informed about the project.
Have you had to reverse the shafts? I didn't ask first if it's a ute or a wagon (G Q/U ?)
BenDover
19-02-2008, 01:02 PM
Its an 02 Gu Patrol Ute. I went to nissan after owning my cruiser and a hilux before that. And I wanted electric windows and all the mod cons, and a smooth ride with coil springs. So i drove a 4.2td St ute. Slow as anything and there was no way i was gonna pay that kind of money. Checked out all the turbo extra's and statts of what the max power is etc.. :( Got the reports on the 4.8 petrols aswell. Not good, drink heaps and go even worse. So i got my 02 patrol a few years ago just out of warrantee. And ready for a new lease on life. :)
ps. Yes you have to spin the rear drive shaft around for it to clear the chassi cross member. Patrol line line are TUFF!!!!!!! Handle all my horse power with no hick ups at all. And me frying the tyres the lenght of the street. Cruiser floating axles would have busted along time ago.
I will take pics
Ammo79
19-02-2008, 08:34 PM
Hey mate glad you are happy with the truck. Hope it helped.
Nissans are a bit of a pain in the front end department but there are ways around it!8-)
Brian
BenDover
20-02-2008, 06:15 AM
Ahh your a member now!! Thanks mate. Im getting a shorter steering arm and lengthening my steering bar to get rid of the bump steer aswell. Although its not much. But you where right. Its a different truck to drive now with COMPLETELY different charactoristics. I have a few other things in the works aswell that i will run by you.
Isnt it funny. I knew almost everything there is about cruisers. And as soon as you change to Patrol you have to start all over again and relearn.
BD aka Mark