View Full Version : 2/2/08 brisbane river

Nico.d.R
02-02-2008, 11:26 PM
CATFISH

more catfish

and what do you know
more catfish :'(

Headed out this arvo about 3pm put the boat in at pinkinba boat ramp and headed over to boggy creek to get some livies , the wind was being a pain in the arse so we decided to use the pillies and gar that we had instead of trying to throw my net as it is full of holes and half the pockets are hanging down . we anchored up at the pinkinbah rockwall . While we were getting blown all over the place we got a few small bream and threw out a pot . The wind kept blowing us towards to rocks so we pulled anchor and went and had a look at the mouth and it was not as bad there heaps less wind , found a spot and droped the anchor in , first cast squire 29ish second cast another 29cm squire , i started thinking this is looking good than the catties invaded and we only caught catties the rest of the time there . i did have a big run and had something tail dancing on the surface but it spat the hooks , i think bully or thredy(if it was a thredy im glad i didnt see it ). went back about 8.30/9.00 checked the pot and had a nice male sandy in it .

nico

ps. had 2 dolphins right at the side of the boat checking us out , we could have patted them they were so close.

beefaman
02-02-2008, 11:36 PM
The dolphins would have been old lilly and her calf. Always looking for a free feed.

Bad luck about the catfish mate.

chief
03-02-2008, 05:19 AM
Saw old lilly yesterday as well ,going from boat to boat looking for a free feed. She had a lot concerned when she had that prop slash acrross her back but she certainly recovered well.As for the catties there"s heaps. Last 2 weeks I've got them on my plastics which i've never done before. Its the masses of prawns in the river that has them in numbers. There is a few monsters and very disappointing when a livie goes off to one of these vermin.

Nico.d.R
03-02-2008, 09:16 AM
It was like a switch was turned soon as the sun went down they were there , we didnt get any before that . cheif do you get them during the day aswell or mainly at night ?

greg123
03-02-2008, 09:35 AM
nice pic of dol

Rautie
03-02-2008, 11:26 AM
We fished there last friday from 2pm till 7pm and got a squire 39 and small tailor. put a tailor out live and it got monstered by something big, had it on for awhile but could not lift it must have been a bull shark. clean cut on 40ib leader. then the catfish arrived and caught some pretty big ones as well. nothing after that.

BrandonH
03-02-2008, 01:14 PM
Nice pic mate, shame you didn't get anything worth taking for a feed:( Plenty of catfish everywhere atm.

Been slow up Noosa this weekend too, got a couple of Bream but thats it.

Brandon...

theclick
03-02-2008, 03:36 PM
Id say the fresh has let them come down the river a bit and terrorise our usually good fishing ground. They give me the poops big time

Nico.d.R
03-02-2008, 10:55 PM
We got all small ones 20-30cm and a heap of them , no big ones that we saw .

Lapras
04-02-2008, 07:24 AM
Nico,

Too bad about the fishing.

My kids appreciated the picture of Lily. We had her nudging our boat last year - scared the bejeezes out of us plus cost me a couple of whiting.

Nico.d.R
04-02-2008, 07:32 PM
Its to bad i didnt get the camera out quick enough they were both there and i was stuned how close they were and when i snaped out off it it was to late to get them both in the shot .

Lapras
04-02-2008, 07:56 PM
Its to bad i didnt get the camera out quick enough they were both there and i was stuned how close they were and when i snaped out off it it was to late to get them both in the shot .

For us they stayed around for 5 minutes or more - they had obviously conned a feed many times before.