View Full Version : Garretts on a roll

chief
02-02-2008, 12:34 PM
Fished the brissie river this morning and it was quiet. River quality was a little disappointing and the visabilty for throwing plastics was down but we took our chances . Second week in a row that we've had catfish take plastics so that was a let down>:( Garrett achieved another P.b by 20mm over last weeks squire so all is good. He was pleased as punch,;) but I think its the skipper who puts him on these fish ;D. I can see what Dodson was saying about the weed .It was a dam nuisance as well today. It was nice to see old lilly the dolphin and calf again but on one poor note we did come across a Rainbow effect of fuel floating on the surface for about 1 klms in the river. S$#ts me when you have the EPA claiming bay closures for the good of fish stocks and you see such enviromental crap and polution that industry contributes to our waterways.This spill was around the wharf at the refinery where a boat was docked. Screw us fisherman and let big business do what they Bloody like.So don't forget the protest next week>:( Cheers

RayDeR
02-02-2008, 01:06 PM
G'day Chief!

Remove the fishermen and the polluters will have no one to report them.

Pity Garrett was not the Federal Minister for the Environment who should see something of this midnight oil on the river.

Ray De R

Hamish73
02-02-2008, 01:32 PM
I was out there early today too. The plan was to go to mud, left Whyte Island about 3:30, but I made it about 200m past the mouth before I thought better of that idea, stiff SW blowing and a bit lumpy for a dark run for my liking. Was like picadilly circus in the river early this moring, with cruise ships coming, and big ships leaving. Couldnt even raise a bite in the river. I did see the dolphins too, very close to the sewage outlet. ::)

Callop
02-02-2008, 02:01 PM
Thats a nice fish. A good test of the shoulder before you hit Monduran's barra.

chief
02-02-2008, 02:45 PM
Hamish 73.. we missed the cruise ship but we did see the tugs and the port security coming back from hamilton. By the time we got to the wharves they were empty with only 2 small ships docked.We saw old lilly up past pinkenbar ramp and she was harassing some poor bloke for a feed. She heard our boat and made a b line for us and then the port security boat cruised past and she was over there trying to scam a feed.Slim pickings with us ,I don't think plastics are on her menu.
Callop..Yeh, and he wanted to at least try his new bear S 10 he's brought. Never looked like being in trouble. Had the fish in control the whole time. Mate ,We're both keen for Monduran. How did you go?

02-02-2008, 05:40 PM
Nice fish Chief (well - er - Garrett really :) )

That is very sorry news to hear that fuel has been dumped in the river somehow.

The EPA should know about that. We used to accept that sort of thing around ports as a by-product of having a shipping industry but that is not the way things should be these days. >:(

02-02-2008, 06:07 PM
Nice solid squire. Always good to up the PB level a notch or two. Can relate to how annoying it is to see the rainbow on the water. Something really needs to be done about it. So does this mean I will see you at the protest rally then Chief? ;)

chief
03-02-2008, 05:39 AM
Poodroo, deffinantly will see me there. It is important and it would be fantastic to see some great numbers turn out. EPA needs to deal with real issues and not play politics

ddobson
03-02-2008, 01:19 PM
Nice reddy boys. It keeps my hopes up to see a good squire still being caught in the river being one of the only places left if the closures come in effect. A younge guy caught 2 reds of about 80cm last saturday on one of the islands on plastics so it isnt to bad. I still recond i need my nuclear chicken colour to fire them up. Chief what are your thoughts on colour in the river ? The old snapper dont have the best eye sight from what i see. I noticed you had turtlebacks or were they only for the brimbos. I was getting hits on my 2'GRUBS no takers with the brim.

chief
03-02-2008, 02:20 PM
Personally i like dark natural colours for squire in the river,colours that mimic prawns . Young bloke Garrett has just come home after a sesh in the river with his mate and they scored another 15 keeper bream with the majority on H.Bs but no squire.All bream released .

Callop
03-02-2008, 10:19 PM
Haven't been up yet. We arrive at Monduran on 14/2 and leave 17/2.
When are you going?

chief
04-02-2008, 05:12 AM
Callop, sorry mate I thought you were going on the aussie day weekend, we're going on tues the 26th. Don't forget to give us the good oil when you return,speaking of OIL ,I followed through emailing the EPA ( Enviromental Propaganda AssH%$#s)with pictures and complaints and also constructed a letter to local MP and deputy premier,Paul Lucas. It was sarcastic but factual so gee i had some fun writing it ;D Cheers