View Full Version : Cabbage Tree Creek session - Thursday

Freeeedom
31-01-2008, 03:29 PM
Launched at the co-op about 5am - was the only trailer in the whole car park! Went up Nundah Creek looking for some live bait. Had to work for them, but managed just under a kilo of prawns, mostly medium bananas, plus a few herring and silver biddies. Went down to the mouth of Cabbage Tree and anchored up just off the channel to fish the bottom of the tide. It was pretty slow until the turn, by which time I'd released 2 shovellies, 1 ray, I moses perch and an undersize bream. As the tide began to turn I picked up some better quality fish, using the smaller prawns as live bait. Scored a nice lizard (50cm), a solid bream (36cm) and three other legal bream (plus a few undersized) in about an hour. As the tide got a run on the smaller fish returned and I gave it away. Took some pics of the lizard and the big bream just out of the water, but I managed to stuff up somehow and the pics were hopelessly overexposed, so I had to take some more pics on the bench at home. Had enough prawns left over for some sangers for lunch!
Cheers Freeeedom

noosa_nipper
31-01-2008, 04:28 PM
nice catch mate!!!

breams a stonker :)

RayDeR
31-01-2008, 04:45 PM
nice catch mate!!!

breams a stonker :)

Stonker ? :D

Ray De R

84mick
31-01-2008, 05:01 PM
YumO! nice looking lunch.

Cheers, Mick.

lunatic
31-01-2008, 08:15 PM
That bream is a bloody ripper!
Well done mate.
Lunatic

sandbankmagnet
31-01-2008, 08:19 PM
It takes a lot of strength to turn away from a spot you've just caught a kg of medium bananas... well done.

Dorado
31-01-2008, 09:53 PM
Great catch out of the Pine! Well done mate.

Dorado

01-02-2008, 11:05 AM
Nice fish, but whats wrong with calling it a stonker ? OK, it's not in the dictionary, but I have heard it before in reference to BIG fish etc ?

RayDeR
01-02-2008, 11:53 AM
Nice fish, but whats wrong with calling it a stonker ? OK, it's not in the dictionary, but I have heard it before in reference to BIG fish etc ?

G'day Dirtysanchez!

The word stonker meant nothing to me so I was enquiiring as to irts meaning. Like you said it is not in the dictionary.

Language is supposed to communicate meaning.

Ray De R

BogusPokus
01-02-2008, 12:09 PM
Yup that bream is a stonker!
And some of those prawns are sizeable as well. I beleive it will be an awsome prawn season this year. And with the impending green zones closing off this creek and the ground imediatley at the mouth I wonder if it will be the last for me in this area.

BaitThrower
01-02-2008, 02:16 PM
Re: Stonker

This was a big marble back in the marble playing days of the 80's. Playing for stonkers was high up in the marble game order :-)

Little grey men
01-02-2008, 02:43 PM

This was a big marble back in the marble playing days of the 80's. Playing for stonkers was high up in the marble game order :-)

Still got my stonker at home from my marble days at school, it's a big shiny steel bearing about as big as a plum. Good for smashing glass stonkers, and making other kid's cry....yep, I was a lil prick:P

RayDeR
01-02-2008, 03:16 PM
G'day!

I remember a "stonker" from marbles back in the 50s. But had never since then seen or heard it used to describe "big".

To me in marbles it implied something more than big. It was something like entering a Hummer in a Mini Moke race. Seemed to have implications of unfair advantage or "give up now".

Ray De R

01-02-2008, 04:02 PM

:D :D Bloody ripper matey, thank you for the memory trigger, I remember them too, and I was lucky, a mate of mine's dad worked in the navy and they got some mighty steel ball bearings that were great marbles, Steelo's we called them and they were kings. Then came yo yo's and the butterfly yo yo

Crikey it makes me feel old, it was a while ago now :-[

Freeeedom
01-02-2008, 05:44 PM
Yup that bream is a stonker!
And some of those prawns are sizeable as well. I beleive it will be an awsome prawn season this year. And with the impending green zones closing off this creek and the ground imediatley at the mouth I wonder if it will be the last for me in this area.

Do you know something I don't? I haven't seen this area marked on the maps posted of the proposed green zones. Can you post a map if there is one about?
Cheers Freeeedom

DICER
02-02-2008, 07:17 AM
I think I'd be happy with a haul like that - yum

Dezzer
02-02-2008, 08:54 AM
Stonker bream, stonker flatty, shame the prawns weren't stonkers but a good feed anyway.

Dezzer
02-02-2008, 09:08 AM
Freeeedom

Unless you zoom right in on Nundah Creek you can't tell it's green. Bit sneaky.

http://www.epa.qld.gov.au/media/parks_and_forests/marine_parks/mbmp/draft_zoning_plan_1.pdf

RayDeR
02-02-2008, 09:40 AM
Gday Dezzer

I increased the size to 400% and the creek does not appear green . Just outside to the south was though.

Ray De R

Dezzer
02-02-2008, 10:16 AM
Try 1200%. Like I said, bit sneaky.

Captain Jack Zero
02-02-2008, 10:20 AM
sounds like a great session.have you tried to bbq the fresh prawns?i think they taste better that way .

Freeeedom
02-02-2008, 02:24 PM
Freeeedom

Unless you zoom right in on Nundah Creek you can't tell it's green. Bit sneaky.

http://www.epa.qld.gov.au/media/parks_and_forests/marine_parks/mbmp/draft_zoning_plan_1.pdf

Thanks Dezzer - I see what you mean. I guess you can understand why the creek which is within the Boondall wetlands would be made into a green zone whereas Cabbage Tree Creek with all of its development and trawler moorings is not. I notice on that map that the reefs off Woody Point are marked as a green zone while the Scarborough Reefs are not. This is the exact opposite of what was shown on the maps first posted by Webby. Anyone know what happened there?
Cheers Freeeedom

ddobson
03-02-2008, 01:34 PM
Good day out and a good feed there. Well done.

RayDeR
03-02-2008, 04:44 PM
Try 1200%. Like I said, bit sneaky.

G'day Dezzer!

Thanks. Yes, very sneaky!

Ray de R

Yab Man
05-02-2008, 01:44 PM
dumb question how did you catch the prawns?

Freeeedom
05-02-2008, 05:17 PM
dumb question how did you catch the prawns?

Lots and lots and LOTS of throws of the cast net!
Cheers Freeeedom