View Full Version : old tec or etec
cod muncher
31-01-2008, 11:32 AM
just got the latest etec catalogue , so many pretty pictures of lovely motors,that excited i had to go to sleep with me boxing gloves on:o
sea raider
31-01-2008, 12:10 PM
Ha Ha Ha
:laola: :laola:
31-01-2008, 12:55 PM
maybe you should get a Suzuki Brochure as well and have a threesome?
Fish Guts
31-01-2008, 04:24 PM
really getting sick of etec threads.
31-01-2008, 04:56 PM
Shiny is shiny
31-01-2008, 04:59 PM
Personally I would like to see threads such as "Etec 10 years and still going strong...with no expensive parts replacements...with no hours of dealer hourly rate for chasing down intermittent pesky stoppages/rough running" in about 9 years time...then I will really take notice and think seriously about upgrading what will then be my 22 year old Yammy 2 stroke old tech.
Interestingly, I was told my my mechanic today that Optimax has now been around since 1996 and that Merc are not shelving it and are in fact sinking more money into it (he is a dealer but I have known him for years and trust him) and he reckons thats from the 'orses mouth. He reckons that they are reliable. He also pointed out that there dual phase low pressure direct injection.
31-01-2008, 05:12 PM
Its just funny that all these etec threads seem to be reassuring all the current owners that they made the right decision. Seems they don't have as much confidence in the engine as they claim and keep coming back for their 'fix'.
Wahoo
31-01-2008, 05:16 PM
thats right, they made a mistake and now have to wear it,
stuartym
31-01-2008, 05:24 PM
Once you go BLACK you never go back, i concur with Wahoo
Stuart
Its just funny that all these etec threads seem to be reassuring all the current owners that they made the right decision. Seems they don't have as much confidence in the engine as they claim and keep coming back for their 'fix'.
JUST LIKE POLY OWNERS! ...... They even have their own web site where they can chat without getting crap dumped on them ::)..... How dare they ? ;D
Nagg
Wahoo
31-01-2008, 05:33 PM
JUST LIKE POLY OWNERS! ...... They even have their own web site where they can chat without getting crap dumped on them ::)..... How dare they ? ;D
Nagg
LOL at Nagg ;D
Mercury16
31-01-2008, 05:51 PM
I still cant get over shanoss' thread about an etec catching fire and melted his poly, PMSL,
death_ship
31-01-2008, 05:56 PM
lets face it, just more seppo bullshit.
manchild
31-01-2008, 06:11 PM
Whats wrong with polys now?
Probably nothing;)
Nagg
Poseidon
31-01-2008, 06:37 PM
just got the latest etec catalogue , so many pretty pictures of lovely motors,that excited i had to go to sleep with me boxing gloves on:o
Every time I see your name I giggle to myself, 'cod muncher' I love it....;D
Seriously, tonight after putting the gloves back on give yourself and upper-cut and knock this ETEC foolishness out of your system.
31-01-2008, 06:41 PM
Seriously, tonight after putting the gloves back on give yourself and upper-cut and knock this ETEC foolishness out of your system.
Why put gloves on? He'd knock it out of himself much faster without them:P;D
Wahoo
31-01-2008, 06:47 PM
ROFPML, gee you crack me up;D;D
31-01-2008, 07:22 PM
Unfortunately, I don't really like the image that comes to my mind when I see his name.http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/../yabbfiles/Templates/Forum/default/sad.gif
captain rednut
31-01-2008, 09:39 PM
more e tec w...kers haven a dribble god they cant help them selves ?
31-01-2008, 10:18 PM
more e tec w...kers haven a dribble god they cant help them selves ?
Come on now,captain rednuts,
We are just a bunch of guys having a bit of a laugh and a good time.No need to take it all too seriously.
BTW if you actually have a look at the veiwing numbers of the E-Tec threads you might be amazed at how many people get a fair bit of enjoyment out of them.
So just piss off if you dont like them and take your unnecessary vitriol with you.http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/../yabbfiles/Templates/Forum/default/smiley.gif
Longshot
31-01-2008, 10:40 PM
[quote=Seriously, tonight after putting the gloves back on give yourself and upper-cut and knock this ETEC foolishness out of your system.[/quote]
:-X Leave te gloves on or get a manager and stop handling yourself.:-X
01-02-2008, 06:24 AM
what is an etec????
01-02-2008, 06:59 AM
hahaha ...l love it Pinhead....hahahah
cod muncher
01-02-2008, 07:04 AM
captain one-nut has no sense of humor
I love BRP........... love the etec or hate it doesnt matter, BRP has EVERYONE talking about it......
Such slick advertising!! I reckon their marketing people did a ripper job.
Lets give the 4 strokes a few years and see what type of valve train problems develop. Tippin they'll be a whole lot more expensive than DI 2 stroke injectors :)
polky
01-02-2008, 01:51 PM
It don,t take much to excite a etec owner, the don,t get a lot of thrills Polky. Thank neptune for the etec boys.
Wahoo
01-02-2008, 04:30 PM
Lets give the 4 strokes a few years and see what type of valve train problems develop. Tippin they'll be a whole lot more expensive than DI 2 stroke injectors :)
BM, have a chat with the Sydney water taxi Co, 6000hrs in 18 months without a rebuild, or a major hicup,with 4 strokes, i would really like to see a 2banger have this hrs in so little time, it would never happen
average fisho =150hrs a year, so that would be 40yrs of running time:o
01-02-2008, 05:45 PM
The actual hours is never usually a problem for most outboards used every day - like a taxi hot hours - 1mil klms pretty easy with a basic FalcaDore. Commercial operators have secured similar hours with old tech carbed Yammy 2 strokes.
The real test is where there is infrequent use and then sitting - and condensation gathering in those little black boxes... and corrosion.
leezor
01-02-2008, 06:52 PM
I love BRP........... love the etec or hate it doesnt matter, BRP has EVERYONE talking about it......
Such slick advertising!! I reckon their marketing people did a ripper job.
Bla bla bla, here we go again, the valve train dribble... because valves are so unreliable. I hear rumours that every internal combustion engine manufacturer are doing away with valves and valve trains because they are so unreliable....YEAH RIGHT
They are so unreliable every internal combustion engine manufacture has atleast 4 per cylinder, damn they must be unreliable ;)
Sorry for the rant, have had big week and few to many bourbons :)
Be back later, gotta go and change all the valves in each of my 4 stroke engines LOL
01-02-2008, 07:04 PM
Bla bla bla, here we go again, the valve train dribble...
Be back later, gotta go and change all the valves in each of my 4 stroke engines LOL
No worries Lee.
I guess that may be why you are buying your next boat with a 2 stroke on the backhttp://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/../yabbfiles/Templates/Forum/default/wink.gifhttp://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/../yabbfiles/Templates/Forum/default/grin.gif.
leezor
01-02-2008, 07:08 PM
No worries Lee.
I guess that may be why you are buying your next boat with a 2 stroke on the backhttp://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/../yabbfiles/Templates/Forum/default/wink.gifhttp://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/../yabbfiles/Templates/Forum/default/grin.gif.
Gee Scott, I thought I explained thaty to you the other day>:( The neighbours have been complaining about the mosquito plague around here, I needed something cheap to and nasty to smoke em out ::)
01-02-2008, 07:11 PM
Sorry, mate it's just such an easy target.
leezor
01-02-2008, 07:15 PM
Sorry, mate it's just such an easy target.
Thats it, your off my Christmas list!!
Jabba_
01-02-2008, 07:42 PM
Gee Scott, I thought I explained thaty to you the other day>:( The neighbours have been complaining about the mosquito plague around here, I needed something cheap to and nasty to smoke em out ::)
Arr, iff you want a smokey motor, the Optimax is for you;D ;D ;D ;)
01-02-2008, 07:44 PM
Thats it, your off my Christmas list!!
aw,man...and i was so looking forward to that suzuki stripogram.http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/../yabbfiles/Templates/Forum/default/rolleyes.gifhttp://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/../yabbfiles/Templates/Forum/default/grin.gif
leezor
01-02-2008, 07:56 PM
Hahaha, I think all the stripograms are busy with Shanoss tonight...
01-02-2008, 07:59 PM
so what's that about Lee...bucks night ?
leezor
01-02-2008, 08:03 PM
No mate, Manpower is in town.....no, really! Hmmm, I wondered why Shaneoss is not around...
BM, have a chat with the Sydney water taxi Co, 6000hrs in 18 months without a rebuild, or a major hicup,with 4 strokes, i would really like to see a 2banger have this hrs in so little time, it would never happen
Wahoo, Ozscott actually nailed this in the very next post after yours. The engines are running all the time...
As mentioned its the infrequent recreational use that is the real test. Ford Falcon taxis can clock incredible mileage without a rebuild but the privately driven same vehicle won't get remotely close to it before it has issues.
In any case, I don't own either engine type and I don't sell either engine type. My preference is DI 2 strokes. Other peoples is 4 stroke. To each his own. I certainly believe that more moving parts equals more potential for trouble - thats logical. However, fuel issues in terms of particle contaminants able to pass the filters could spell real trouble for DI 2 strokes.
leezor
01-02-2008, 08:23 PM
C'mon BM, I am sick of your logical answerrs!! Say something stupid and stop making me look bad!!!
"something stupid"........ there you go Leezor;D ;D ;D :P :P :P
leezor
01-02-2008, 08:38 PM
Yeah ok, I will pay that :)
That's it then ..... I'm going to complain to the boss that I'm not fishing enough as I only managed 60 hrs ...... How pathetic!
Nagg
PS ... It might be because my number 1 fishing location is 3km from the ramp:P ;D
tin can marlin
01-02-2008, 10:32 PM
All this etec crap is getting a bit much we all know they would love to have a silver motor on there boat.
Wahoo
02-02-2008, 01:52 AM
The actual hours is never usually a problem for most outboards used every day - like a taxi hot hours - 1mil klms pretty easy with a basic FalcaDore. Commercial operators have secured similar hours with old tech carbed Yammy 2 strokes.
The real test is where there is infrequent use and then sitting - and condensation gathering in those little black boxes... and corrosion.
G'day ozscott, i know what you are saying, but i was refering to the Valve train probs as bm stated, if they have not let go after 6000hrs, well thats saying something to me
02-02-2008, 08:13 AM
agreed Wahoo...I think they all still require valve timing to be checked an adjusted as part of regular servicing, but I didnt think that they would let go.
Jabba_
02-02-2008, 09:06 AM
The likelihood off the valve train failing is low, but still a real posibility.... What is most likey to happen is valve seat to wear and then valve damage will occure..
deadbeatloser
02-02-2008, 09:16 AM
what is an etec????
its one of those things on the back of those boats that zoom past you as if you wernt moving, uno wat i mean it happens to you 4 tosser all the time....
dbl
02-02-2008, 08:13 PM
its one of those things on the back of those boats that zoom past you as if you wernt moving, uno wat i mean it happens to you 4 tosser all the time....
dbl
Yeah they usually zoom straight past me cos I'm not moving, I'm fishing a shallow rock wall, reef, and they like to prove they're so much faster that they can just zoom straight over the top.......not..::). True story, though it wasn't a rockwall or reef, in this case it was a submerged log...and instead of going through the channel like a SMART person, they decide to cut the corner and, you guessed it bang!:o, guess thats the price you pay for showing off something inferior to the 4strokes;). Ended up with a nice split in their hull they did, They were lucky someone with a trusty 4 Stroke was their to tow their asses out of croc infested water.
Shanoss
02-02-2008, 08:51 PM
dbl
The only time i let another boater overtake me is if he is driving an Etec. I mean, why would anyone want somebody silly enough to buy an Etec behind them? Prefer to keep you in sight at all times.
captain rednut
02-02-2008, 08:52 PM
captain one-nut has no sense of humor
yes i do, i think of what you do to fish when you catch them? (cod muncher)
02-02-2008, 09:25 PM
The only time i let another boater overtake me is if he is driving an Etec. I mean, why would anyone want somebody silly enough to buy an Etec behind them? Prefer to keep you in sight at all times.
So Shanoss...I heard a rumour that you were moonlighting as a manpower stripper to pay for the 4 stroke's service fee's....
Could this be true...http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/../yabbfiles/Templates/Forum/default/lipsrsealed.gifhttp://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/../yabbfiles/Templates/Forum/default/shocked.gif
Shanoss
02-02-2008, 10:10 PM
So Shanoss...I heard a rumour that you were moonlighting as a manpower stripper to pay for the 4 stroke's service fee's....
Could this be true...http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/../yabbfiles/Templates/Forum/default/lipsrsealed.gifhttp://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/../yabbfiles/Templates/Forum/default/shocked.gif
Well Scott, i was offered the job, but they said they would have to put you off as a consequence. I was tempted, but then i though of you and how you would have no oil for your motor.
Shanoss
02-02-2008, 10:12 PM
Not to mention your superannuation funds for when your three year service comes up.
Wahoo
02-02-2008, 10:15 PM
LOL, are you two still at it ;D