View Full Version : Blood on the rocks at last
aussiefool
31-01-2008, 10:19 AM
I was asked not to put this report in for a few days by my mate as he didn't want spot X over populated this weekend, but bugger him he never visits this site anyway::)
To start with I have not been able to wet a line now since before Christmas and the nerve endings were getting very fraided... just ask the :gorgeous::furious2:.:argue:
I was out of bed at 1.30 (NSW) and Keen as mustard for a fish but didn't ring my offsider till 4am and we were on the rocks by 430am.
The sea had dropped off heaps since the other day when we went for a look see.
First cast and my mate said watch you'll get one ...... no sooner said than done ( poor bugger was still getting rigged up):dankk2:. Well a small schoolie starts flapping on the rocks, no real size but well legal.As is the norm at spot x one jew and you may aswell pack up and go home. Bugger that I thinks after just one cast. A few more flicks, not really expecting any thing bump bump zzzzzz on again and another shoolie hits the rocks ( great tea for me as the mate recond. that the first one was his as he had held the torch or something. A few more cast and was on again but this time it spat the hooks, that had to be it for sure now but I managed to land yet an other one and dropped 2 more. By this time the sun was just starting to poke it's nose over the herizon and we swiched to a spinner for me and a home made popper for him. We were not really expecting any real action from the tailor as it's not really the right time of year..... or so we thought for the next few hrs we got tailor after tailor all ok size with the odd good one tossed in for good measure. Then they went off the bite at around 7am (NSW) I think that we dropped just as many as we landed with the full time score being 3 school Jews and 19 Tailor. between the 2 of us.Cleaned the fish and home by 8am for breakfast.
Aussiefool
aussiefool
31-01-2008, 10:22 AM
Opps forgot the photos :-[
Nice catch there mate, always good to hear quality reports from a fellow rock hopper
Juzo
aussiefool
31-01-2008, 10:37 AM
always good to hear quality reports from a fellow rock hopper
Juzo
Mate it has been a while since I had something to report about ;D
Silent
31-01-2008, 10:59 AM
Excellent haul off rock and better keep your X spot!
Well done!
ffejsmada
31-01-2008, 12:26 PM
Excellent catch, top stuff.;)
What was the tide doing????
Jeff.
Pistol_P
31-01-2008, 12:28 PM
Great Haul aussie....I know where the jew are here so next flat day I am going to have a crack too.
Mate it has been a while since I had something to report about ;D
You and me both. The new baby in my house has kept my lines dry for nigh on 7 months.:'(:'( I'm hoping she'll start sleeping through the night soon so I can get back into it.
Juzo
the gecko
31-01-2008, 01:53 PM
You are the jew guru!! Keep it up mate.
aussiefool
31-01-2008, 01:57 PM
Excellent catch, top stuff.;)
What was the tide doing????
Jeff.
The tide was just starting to fall
JEWIENEWIE
31-01-2008, 02:30 PM
Still using the same lure aussifool, rmg scopian in 150mm, i think it was?;)
Jewie
Freeeedom
31-01-2008, 03:17 PM
Great stuff Aussie - well done. You're making me jealous. I love rock hopping, but don't get to do a lot these days. It's a bit dangerous clambering about on rocks in the dark when your legs and knees don't quite work the way they used to.
Cheers Freeeedom
abbot_86
31-01-2008, 04:07 PM
yeah to stuff. it would have been a long heavy walk back with that haul. nick
childers
31-01-2008, 04:23 PM
lot of blokes think theres no tailor until winter ,what a legend,you no fool !
31-01-2008, 04:27 PM
yeah to stuff. it would have been a long heavy walk back with that haul. nick
Yeah I hope it was heavy to haul and your all sore and sorry now you old bugger...;D
Good to see another report Andrew. About time too I reckon.
Now...this spot X???
I reckon the only way to find out where X is is too get one of those spy satellites or something to keep tabs on you. ::)
Cheers then
Scott :)
31-01-2008, 05:27 PM
Very nice catch:) . Its funny, my best Tailor have been from the summer run ;) .
What bait scored the Schoolies
Great catch, makes up for the time off.
nuggstar
31-01-2008, 06:33 PM
huge bag there, i wish i was there. well done
sandbankmagnet
31-01-2008, 08:16 PM
what a cracking catch! I'd be putting the queue in the rack for a while after that.... sitting back with a massive grin....
or would I try again tomorrow......
Best bag of surf/rock fish I've seen in a long time. Well done.
rockfisho
31-01-2008, 08:43 PM
Great catch there mate. I'm quite envious. I having a serious crack at the jewies this week. Rest assured it isn't at your spot :D:D
Owen
31-01-2008, 09:08 PM
Just the sort of result we all dream about most of the time. Congratulations. Well done. It was obviously your turn.
aussiefool
01-02-2008, 12:56 AM
Still using the same lure aussifool, rmg scopian in 150mm, i think it was?;)
Jewie
Yet sure was..... Dark Blue colour
Great stuff Aussie - well done. You're making me jealous. I love rock hopping, but don't get to do a lot these days. It's a bit dangerous clambering about on rocks in the dark when your legs and knees don't quite work the way they used to.
Cheers Freeeedom
Mate I know what you mean.... Bad back buggered knees,but this spot you can almost drive to :-X
Yeah I hope it was heavy to haul and your all sore and sorry now you old bugger...;D
Good to see another report Andrew. About time too I reckon.
Scott :)
big time but worth every ache & pain
aussiefool
01-02-2008, 01:02 AM
Very nice catch:) . Its funny, my best Tailor have been from the summer run ;) .
What bait scored the Schoolies
Only ever use Hard bodies in this area, to many snags around to use bait.
what a cracking catch! I'd be putting the queue in the rack for a while after that.... sitting back with a massive grin....
or would I try again tomorrow......
Best bag of surf/rock fish I've seen in a long time. Well done.
Mate the time is 2am my time and I'm up and ready to go again. The problem with living in a relocatable home park and one of the only serious fisherman everyone know's that I'm a soft touch and comes running to "have a look" ..... ended up giving my share away and took the Mrs out for tea :o
DICER
01-02-2008, 06:12 AM
Excellent catch - really nice jew for the rocks.
It's a pity you didn't chuck back a tailor with a stinger in it.
aussiefool
01-02-2008, 06:31 AM
Excellent catch - really nice jew for the rocks.
It's a pity you didn't chuck back a tailor with a stinger in it.
We got a few just under size, and if I had any hooks other than my spinner I would of though of it
el_carpo
01-02-2008, 09:13 AM
Heyyyyyyy, alright!!! That's more like it eh? Great catch Aussiefool! I'll bet that was mighty fun. Congratulations!
fishingnottaken
01-02-2008, 11:58 PM
that's a great haul mate well done, let me know if you need an offsider at all, i'm free most morning this week.
masterdusky
02-02-2008, 10:44 AM
another great catch mate, none of them had my xrap in ther emouth did they :( hehehe