View Full Version : Live Bait session 29-01-08
Pistol_P
30-01-2008, 10:19 AM
Went for a lazy livebait yesterday arvo in a creek that runs off Lake Weyba.
After netting some nice poddies I sat down on my fold up chair and did it old man style...;D
First bait was monstered by an absolute pig of a cattie which I took a picture of as it was sooo fat....Horrible creatures the old catties...>:(
Next bait I managed a big Long Tom which jumped and thrashed around then Just on dark I manged two small Jacks at 30cm a piece.
I was surprised the jacks were there as the water in the creeks is still filthy.
Anyway Was good to sit on my bum and get a few fish.
ffejsmada
30-01-2008, 01:17 PM
Hahaha Pete,
Mate you would have a hard on when you hooked that Cattie, thinking it was something else maybe?????;D;D;D;D Come on tell us the truth!!
Bloody mongrels aren't they??? He's a big sucker!!
Good to see the jacks there.
Cheers Jeff.
Gladdy
30-01-2008, 01:31 PM
Pistol_P the cattie would have gone hard mate pain in the butt when you finally see what they are.
Cheers Gladdy
BrandonH
30-01-2008, 01:35 PM
Lol that does sound like a lazy fish Pete;) Good work getting the long tom and 2 little jacks in there!! I have caught a catfish just like your's in another little creek further up the Noosa and dam did it go hard!!! I did think I had something big and red on until I saw the slime half way up my trace:'(
Guess the downstream areas are still the go for now then... Will have to give that a good test this Friday;D
Brandon...
Pistol_P
30-01-2008, 01:40 PM
Yeah the big old catties go hard.....I actually thought it was a small shark at first till he popped his greasy head up!....::)
chief
30-01-2008, 04:32 PM
I know what you mean when your always thinking and up and about casting .Its nice to put a couple of livies out and have a kick back. Thats one big old cattie mate. Still a fun little session,Cheers
jeffo
30-01-2008, 05:21 PM
good job Pete, Jeff- this may be an answer for our thoughts for the creek we spoke about via PM a while back.
ffejsmada
30-01-2008, 05:47 PM
good job Pete, Jeff- this may be an answer for our thoughts for the creek we spoke about via PM a while back.
Yeah mate, that's the creek alright. I tried to get in a few weeks back in the boat, it was too shallow.
When things start picking up again Jeffo I'll send you a PM.
Cheers, Jeff.
imnotoriginal
30-01-2008, 06:05 PM
Good fun just waiting to hear the drag. Love the teeth on those long toms, great photo.
Joel
abbot_86
30-01-2008, 06:18 PM
that cattie is huge. i bet it was carefully lip gripped and released unharmed as well::)
Pistol_P
30-01-2008, 07:20 PM
that cattie is huge. i bet it was carefully lip gripped and released unharmed as well::)
I did let that one go Nick.....Kinda thought well he is so old let the poor old slob go...::)
jeffo
30-01-2008, 07:35 PM
jeff- ive gone bonkers waiting for the weather and billfish to come good, so im now in the market for a new river tinney. Once i track one down ill be up at noosa a bit trying a few old spots...and hopefully a few new ones. Will be looking for a crew to throw lures with.
sharkymark2
30-01-2008, 09:11 PM
When I was on a prawn research trawler in Karumba I saw a barra fisherman filletting big catties and throwing the fillets in with the barra :). Put a smile on my face.
nuggstar
30-01-2008, 09:12 PM
hehehe cat fish pete hehehehaha
Pistol_P
30-01-2008, 10:10 PM
I reckon that cattie would eat those little bream you catch.....;) ;D ;D ;D
nuggstar
31-01-2008, 12:47 AM
hehehe yer your right hehehe catfish pete
ffejsmada
31-01-2008, 10:05 AM
I reckon that cattie would eat those little bream you catch.....;) ;D ;D ;D
Good comeback .........."catfish" hehehehehe;D
BogusPokus
01-02-2008, 12:22 PM
THat cattie is a stonker.
DICER
02-02-2008, 07:21 AM
great place where you were - nice to relax there - did the mosies have a pick?
BTW that's one big cattie :D
codz22
02-02-2008, 03:10 PM
Nice cattie pete he was probly feedin on those little jack
fish_on
02-02-2008, 03:45 PM
make sure that one goes in ya photos of pistol petes fish of 08. ring me when ya going next ill come down. we should go to our spot in weyba creek for another shot one arvo. just as long as ya dont tell that abbot fellow