View Full Version : Making the transition

Adamy
29-01-2008, 08:12 PM
Its been a long time between reports for me and mine - theres not too much to report here - but just thought I'd let the regulars know I'm not dead.

We made the move from the fish rich waters of sunny Queensland to cold ole Canberra, much of my 40plus rod collection is useless here, being better suited to boating activities such as chasing snapper with placcies and mackeral etc - how I envy you guys!!::)

Anyway I have a couple of lighter outfits and these are almost suitable for chasing redfin locally which I heard was the predominant catch around here - that and carp.

Most of the redfin we've been catching over the last week or so have struggled to get to the 10cm mark. I have attached 3 pics, 1 with the very first redfin any of us ever got, in this case it was my 9 yr old who was first off the mark, then continued with 3 more before I nailed a single fish, by the way almost all of the fish over the first 3 outings were about this big... not too much to get excited about.

2nd pic is a goldfish/carp trip, the kids wouldnt pick it up but it was an estimated 4kgs - these things are fat. They arent all pretty like this one but I've seen 10kgplus fish out there and maybe bigger.

The 3rd pic was just yesterday when we finally started to understand these little critters, we probably caught a couple hundred each (kept 6) the smaller ones at the bottom of the pic were the biggest we'd ever caught up to that point.- the bigger reddie is 41cms and a shade under 1.2kgs, quite a big fish for these waters and put up a reasonable fight (on 4lb line) - but give me a snapper or squire any day.

Big shout out to my old ausfish fraternity - hope to get back "home" one day.

Adam

BAR UP
29-01-2008, 08:31 PM
Hey Adam, you must have a good job to lure you from QLD down to that place.

bennykenny
29-01-2008, 08:37 PM
oh the memories, i moved away from canberra three years ago and i still dont miss those lonley old days fishing for carp and redfin, you should zip down to the coast, between ulladulla and batemans bay, ill give you a few of my old landbased haunts if you want,cheers bennykenny

Adamy
29-01-2008, 08:49 PM
Bar up: Yep good job.. or rather I hope it will be - I start thursday - Federal Treasury.

Bennykenny: I hear good things about batemans bay, but maybe thats only because its the closest saltwater to Canberra? Hope to get down there some public servants holiday... so any suggestions or recommendations more than welcome! The reddies are great to kid the kids entertained thats for sure.

Cheers all

Pistol_P
29-01-2008, 09:04 PM
mmm....That move would kill me Im afraid.....

Earn the big dollars adamy then get out...;D ;D ;D

Aquarius
29-01-2008, 10:05 PM
G,Day Adam, I thought you had left the country its been awhile since you posted a report.
That must be a good job to lure you all the way down to the ACT.
Are the redfin good to eat?
I wish you well in the new job and maybe oneday soon we will see you back here on the water in Qld chasing the snapper.
Cheers Brent

29-01-2008, 11:42 PM
Easy <1.5 hour run to some great trout fishing ?

BB ... Very nice ..... Are you a boatie Adam ?

Nagg

30-01-2008, 06:29 AM
Jeez Adam. What did you do wrong to get sentenced to bleak old Canberra:P

You arn't missing much on the Macky front this year and most boats have spent a lot of extra time on their trailers with some pretty ordinary weather conditions.

At least you will get the chance to cull some of those imported feral Redfin, Carp and Trout to make some room for proper native fish;D

30-01-2008, 06:40 AM
Good to hear you are alive and kicking Adamy. The redfin are worthwhile, but I hope you don't have to hit the water at 1st light like you do on Moreton bay??

Good photos!

Chris Ryan
30-01-2008, 06:45 AM
Hey bloke.

Glad the move went well and you're settling in. I will be in Canberra next Monday /Tuesday for work so if I can get a break, I'll give you a shout.

Hope the Mrs and the kids are well.

30-01-2008, 07:04 AM
Gidday Adam :)
Well now I know why you've been quite.
Bloody hell...Canberra...gees it gets cold there.
The cook and I went there once. Just the once. I couldn't handle the cold.
She reckon's I looked like the Michelin man with all the clothes I had to don to try and keep warm. Well a bigger Michelin man then the usual 'cause I'm a bit like him normally :confused:

Just had a thought....get in real cosy with some pollies and tell them what the average Joe Bloe thinks and sort all the crap out will ya. Please!! :-/

Anyways all the best and have a go at the local little fishies. The boys will love every minute out on the water with dad :)

ddobson
30-01-2008, 08:31 AM
You poor bugger to have to put up with that weather and miss out on the snapper. Dont worry mate i will try to keep the posts coming of the local fish up here in the sunny state. Good catch on redfin and a huge carp so at least you still get a good fight. Have fun mate will see you soon.8-)

mickstar001
30-01-2008, 09:09 AM
Nice to hear a report from you Adamy, albeit not the size we are used to seeing from you!! Hey if that 40+ rod collection isnt any good to you down there and you would like to eliminate a mackeral/tuna combo let me know, wouldnt want them collecting too much dust down there!

Mickstar

T1
30-01-2008, 01:23 PM
Gee mate, you snuck away rather quietly didn't you! You haven't missed much up this way as most have said, the weather has been shyte! Have been sticking to the estuaries trying for whiting. Plus, the bay is fished out at all the usual spots so no point going there :P :-X ...

Great to see that it hasn't taken you long to get into the local wildlife though! Like someone mentioned earlier, there's some nice Trout grounds not far from you and one in particular - Lake Talbingo - always holds some awesome trout! You'll have to give it a go!!

Give us a call sometime...

Take Care T

GES
30-01-2008, 01:25 PM
G'day Adam

Nice to hear form you. You're now going to find out, in May to August, why I left Canberra to live in Qld in 1969.
Like the other boys have said, the Mackies are a bit quiet in the Bay (despite my little bush being in full flower). Could be something to do with the rain and strong winds we've had for so long.
Redfin are OK to eat but I don't know how "clean" the ones from the lake are. The copper mines that were once at Captains Flat, upstream in the headwaters of the Molonglo River, probably still puts some nasty stuff in the lake. See if you can check it out in one of the relevant departments.
You are not too far away from some good trout fishing there though. Go and have a chat to the Fisheries Inspectors at Cooma and Jindabine, they might give you the drum on places to go (I know they'd tell me ;D ;) ).
There should be some bass fishing down the south coast and the usual range of salt-water species are on offer along the south coast of NSW.
Hope the misses and kids are all ok. Give 'em our regards.
We might be going to Canberra in March for a week (family wedding). I'll see if we can get to see you there. PM me your address and phone number mate.

George
GES

chief
30-01-2008, 01:54 PM
G/day Mate, good to hear from you. When your up here even for a few days post ahead and let us know and the boat will be hooked on and ready. Best of luck to you and the family . cheers

30-01-2008, 01:54 PM
Adam you are full of surprises. Canberra? Well bugger me. Good to see you posting. Hope to see you back in the neighbourhood in the not too distant future.

Barraboss
30-01-2008, 09:13 PM
Adamy,

Try fishing around the Molonglo under the bridge that heads out to Fyshwick (next to the ski park). I use to use Oargees there to get decent size Yellowbelly.

Also the rock walls over near Ngunnawal/Gunghalin where you will pick up cod. They are not monsters but still fun. My biggest cod from ACT came from the dam over at Belconnen trolling big oargees (orange) in my punt.

Good luck

Whiley_Whiting
30-01-2008, 09:36 PM
hey Adamy

Not all is lost, i used to travel across to canberra and meet up with my sister and brother in law and travel to Tuross. You can hire houses for the weekend and fish the beaches and the lakes. Very productive. if you want to know more let me know.

Adamy
01-02-2008, 06:29 PM
Sorry its a bit late (started work in the big office and its already blowing my mind) but thanks for all the well wishes! GES look out for that PM - I tired to get around to say goodbye but just didnt get the time and T - tried to call you too.

Have no boat here, sold it b4 I left but must look at "investing" in a canoe or small punt with a lecky as it seems they are all the go here. Matt (BBoss) I know where you're talking about as I have been doing a little reconnoitering. I fell over (not watching my step) at Belconnen dam wall and busted my pride as well as my 1-2kg spin stick so am now chasing reddies with 3-6kg sticks - not as much fun but must have a go at the cod soon.

WhileyW - and anyone else any tips you have on the local scene are more than welcome .

Cheers all and Chief... Thanks mate! I'll be taking up that offer if/when I get a chance to get back.

Tight lines!

Adam

01-02-2008, 07:43 PM
Canberra Adam??? I opened a branch there for a company I was working for about 15 years back..I spent 6 weeks there in May/June..staying in 4 star hotel at company's expense..that was ok..but the weather..so depressing..not a leaf on a tree..fog till 2pm almost every day and the temp did not get above 12C the entire time I was there. They wanted me to move there...offered me an extra 50k per annum..told them no way...I could not handle a complete winter there...you are a better man than me Adam for taking that one..best of luck.

Oh..and some of the addresses down there are classics..I was staying at a motel on Jerrabomberra Avenue, Narrabundah..then of course there is the Tuggeranong Valley..the list is endless.