View Full Version : Donnybrook boats everywhere

robersl
27-01-2008, 04:27 PM
Well took the boat for a run from donnybrook to militry jetty at caloundra and back today launched at about 10 am there were boats every where at the ramp and beside the ramp not sure if there was a fishing club up there but there were bluefin boats formosa,ozcraft, quinnies,stacers ,haines,allycraft it was like being at the boat show, there was no parking you had to walk about 10 minutes to get a park , mission pt was packed with cruisers rafted together and tiinies linning the beaches i have got to say it is the most people i have seen in the area and i have fished there a lot

shane

BR65
27-01-2008, 05:27 PM
Thanks Shane, Im heading up there tomorrow to try and knock a lizard or two on the noggin, missus is demanding fresh fish.
Looks like an early launch to beat the mob for me
brian

Seahorse
27-01-2008, 08:05 PM
Where do u put in?
Never been there before.
With all those boats, i guess its out of the wind.
Whats ramp like. Sandy?

punter
27-01-2008, 09:41 PM
I heard a rumor that the banana prawns were on in that area thats maybe why their were a heep of extra boats

robersl
28-01-2008, 09:59 AM
Where do u put in?
Never been there before.
With all those boats, i guess its out of the wind.
Whats ramp like. Sandy?
greg you can not miss the ramp only one in town and it is behind the camping ground, take the donnybrook/toorbul turn off the bruce highway turn right and go over the highway about 6 km to you get to donnybrook turnoff turn left follow rd into town about 5 km first shop on the right turn there then left you will see all the boat parking.the ramp has a bit of sand at low tide around the edges and a bit of rubble but not bad but not a lot of room for boats waiting to go back on the trailer if the tide is up, the breeze does affect this ramp as it is pretty open but if there are 2 people it is ok
hey brian hope you get some today spoke to a guy yesterday that got 3 sandies and a muddie in hussey creek and a few nice grunter bream

shane

legsy11
28-01-2008, 10:41 AM
hey robersl,
took a mate up there yesterday as well.been fishing there the last ten years and i also have never seen that many people.still a good day,took home 5 bream,whiting,grunter and caught plenty more.also took home 5 nice muddies which was surprising with how much the area is being flogged of late.we got out there at 3 and all our regular spots were smothered.stiil a great day cheers mick.

BR65
28-01-2008, 04:37 PM
Gday Shane, I gave the passage the flick mate, couldnt be bothered with the crowds, ended up throwing some sp's down at the local from the shore, got a couple of unders and missed/dropped another half dozen or so.
Hows the new boat, sort out the power prob???
brian

Kleyny
28-01-2008, 06:27 PM
Well took the boat for a run from donnybrook to militry jetty at caloundra and back today launched at about 10 am there were boats every where at the ramp and beside the ramp not sure if there was a fishing club up there but there were bluefin boats formosa,ozcraft, quinnies,stacers ,haines,allycraft it was like being at the boat show, there was no parking you had to walk about 10 minutes to get a park , mission pt was packed with cruisers rafted together and tiinies linning the beaches i have got to say it is the most people i have seen in the area and i have fished there a lot

shane
and the wife wonders why i didnt put the boat in this weekend

neil

pommo
28-01-2008, 06:50 PM
Tried to fish the passage today. along with the other thousand or so boats. came home with no fish again, since buying my bigger boat,, haven't had any luck inshore or offshore.... gotta keep trying I guess.

29-01-2008, 05:03 PM
yep, there were heaps of people up at mission point over the weekend shane, we had four boats bumped up for saturday night there ourselves. passage was absolutely beautiful, stinkin' hot and go for a swim with ya beer, does it get any better? we didn't fish but some of the other guys with us did and one caught the biggest whiting i'd ever seen.