View Full Version : Quiet brissie river but Garretts 2 PBs
chief
26-01-2008, 12:24 PM
Garrett and myself hit the river this aussie day morning and i thought we were in for a corker of a day when my first cast was converted into a nice bream. It certainly was not a sign of things to come. We put in a lot of casts until Garrett had his new P.B bream at 39 cm so that picked up spirits again. I was smashed by a good river squire/snapp who took me to deep into the pylons and left me with no chance so things were looking up. It makes it hard when your doing the hard yards and its slow and then a good fish hits through your persistence and he burns you.Well onwards and a lot of casting practice was to follow . I scored another bream and again out of no where another horse who had a well thought escape plan leaves me with half a leader . Garrett has the same problem with 2 bust offs on some solid fish. Now the young bloke is really excited of the chance to better his river PB on squire so he's really pumped and determined to land a new Best which he does when this squire doesn't quite have the size to escape from his 10 lb braid and after some tense moments Garrett has him out in good water and to the net.We worked dam hard to get a result today but full marks goes to the young bloke on some nice fish
26-01-2008, 01:11 PM
A couple of nice fish there for Garrett.
You forgot to take off the secret weapon and stick a Nuke Chook in the frame before taking the pics;) . Now the secret is out;D
chief
26-01-2008, 01:46 PM
Hey horse, don't pay attention to those hunks of rubbish, only put them in the fishes mouth to throw everyone. there crap ;D
Pistol_P
26-01-2008, 03:23 PM
Nice effort chief....Some quality fish there Garrett.
great fish there mate, was taking wife and 2 kids there tomorrow appreciate the info on the bait hahahahahaha.
chrisallangler
26-01-2008, 06:02 PM
I can't say i'm not envious of Garrets two great catches, well done! Im looking forward to that first squire, if it ever come ha ha ha. Those Sp's are seriously deadly in the river. Did you get my Pm? Thanks for the Report
chief
27-01-2008, 07:08 AM
Got your pm mate,i'll find out the go and give you a reply. You'll get your first squire . It is a bit finicky at the moment and there playing so hard to get and not playing real fair. there is some cracker fish around but landing them is the problem. Good mate of mine said the boys had pulled a cracker on the wharves the other night .Huge big knobby like nothing they had caught before so they released her. I wanted to know if she had a row of my jig heads in her mouth.You wouldn't get that size around there without stealing a fair bit of fishing tackle.When winter comes and the water temp drops and the squire are going off,If you haven't got a squire by then we'll deffinantly get you one
ddobson
28-01-2008, 08:16 AM
Well done again chief you got some good spots there. Hows the water colour doesnt seem to slow bites down using turtlebacks or are you still in that clearer water. I went right under the gateway pilons this week and still dirty water. Got some hits but no big brim. My mate caught a few only small brim but the sounder was telling me otherwise. Stayed out ther till 10.30 at night pretty empty in the esky due to mate dropping 2 flatties at the boat (new to plastics) Will keep trying.
28-01-2008, 09:35 AM
Garrett will be entering competitions soon, Chief! ;)
A great result. Well done! :)
chief
28-01-2008, 11:25 AM
went again this morning monday 28 th . Still slow on the chew. Portwatch doing the rounds , police and endless pleasure craft made it a little uncomfortable to fish. Pulled another 2 nice bream off the sticks and got burnt by a nice squire on the bream gear(No chance) so i began casting the squire stick with bigger plastics and couldn't get a touch so I rigged the heavier rod with a 1/12 jig head and a squidgee wriggler and wham that did the trick but i still couldn't get him out of the pylons. It seems as if these squire are very fussy at the moment and hitting a lot smaller profiles. I think for my own sanity,I'll have to give them a miss and get a trip into the bay and fish some open water.I can tell you ,I'm getting dam fast at rerigging .I'm getting heaps of practice;D Just thought i'd tag this on to Garretts fish ,Cheers
Silent
28-01-2008, 02:13 PM
Just got home from Brunswick Heads with no result but beats staying in Brisvegas...
Garrett well done! and nice cap...although a true proud aussie bloke!
tailorboi99
28-01-2008, 06:48 PM
Nice work... Say to Garret i got nothing at Amity just a Tailor and some Bream and stuff.
niceone
29-01-2008, 09:36 AM
Well done again chief you got some good spots there. Hows the water colour doesnt seem to slow bites down using turtlebacks or are you still in that clearer water. I went right under the gateway pilons this week and still dirty water. Got some hits but no big brim. My mate caught a few only small brim but the sounder was telling me otherwise. Stayed out ther till 10.30 at night pretty empty in the esky due to mate dropping 2 flatties at the boat (new to plastics) Will keep trying.
i might be new to plastics dobson but i still out fished you
chief
29-01-2008, 04:47 PM
Hey Dobson ,I think the difference is in our own perceptions of clean. That dirty water your fishing is probably is probably what i call clean. I'm usually just concerned that it isn't to fresh after a flush.The water looks good to me at the moment.Mate i fish by the sounder and as long as i can find big shows of bait and areas just out of the main tidal flow I'm happy
ddobson
30-01-2008, 09:04 AM
Thanks chief i see what you mean by what your used to and the colour of the mouth water. I see the same huge fish on the sounder so i will just have to be patient. I am after a big brim on plastics. That is my main goal. Niceone is the mate i took and he flogged me the bugger.
richieboy
30-01-2008, 11:41 AM
Great fish there Chief! Still reading the reports, just can't log on and write my own at the moment.
Computer gets hooked up within the month then it's all good.
Gonna fish the riock at Shoal bay Friday if the weather holds out. Big barra and Jew so hopefully I get a few pics now the camera is back.
Keep the reports on the Garret and Chief show coming mate. good to see some pics. take care and be in touch soon.
Richie
chief
30-01-2008, 01:47 PM
Hey richie, going to Monduran dam in 3 weeks for 5 days and when we get back we'll be planning the next trip up to you . Cant wait to see a few pics of your fish Cheers
nuggstar
31-01-2008, 01:12 AM
well done chief's mate, have the fish gorn off the critters as i see you's are using the bigger stuff, i dont like them worms but i love them turtles.
Great fish and just rewards Chief and Garrett,
I haven't been out on the river for a while as my wife had our first child on 29/11. The week before I took a mate out and we got busted off 4 times over a 2 hour period, all in the same place - just couldn't turn them on the 4kg gear.
Managed to get a fish in over the long weekend. Hit the pin in 25 knot winds and to our surprise found a patch of good flathead in shallow water - best went 79.5, which is a great fish for this time of year.
OB1
chief
31-01-2008, 01:56 PM
G/day Oliver,read that report of yours on the lizards ,great stuff. We've been busted off continiously lately as well. There has been some good fish around . Come to think of it I haven't hooked a fish under 50cm when fishing for squire for a few weeks. Garretts fish here was a whisker under 60 cm See ya on the river.Cheers
Chief, we've managed to catch quite a few fish between 50 and 60 and although they put up a good fight they were never in doubt of finding the wharves. Still haven't managed to pull one over 60 - it seems to be the magic number in the river. It's these fish that find their homes!