View Full Version : River squire

Fish_gutz
23-01-2008, 04:15 PM
Fished the full moon last night in the river for a pb of 68cm 3.3 kilo fish was caught @ 3.00am with another two following not long after. also had a snap off on 60lb gear before this one came to the surface. fish was caught on pillie and two gang .
Also while I`m here I put in @ boggy creek last friday and there is heaps of prawns up boggy on the low tide and pulled 3 good bucks also cheers Muz.

23-01-2008, 04:46 PM
Good score FG. A bust off on 60lb! looks like another session coming up for ya.

Ive been driving past that ramp at Boggy over the past week and checked it out a few times. Was wondering how deep it is and any prop nasties in there? What size boat do you run out of there?

chief
23-01-2008, 07:06 PM
Great stuff muz,thats a nice river fish.Theres still a few hanging around.A mate picked up 2 on monday on pillies as well. Busted off on the 60 bl gear mate,theres some big fish around those wharves.Wait till you hook one of those suckers on the new plastics outfit ;D ;D Well done.Cheers

chief
23-01-2008, 07:09 PM
Sorry mate, how do you think the water looks out there?

ddobson
23-01-2008, 07:23 PM
Done well to stay out till 3 am You matched my PB but on bait. That rod was probably glad to have the leader bust because that sounds like one huuuge fish. I think the only way we are going to hit the big ones is with bait in that merky water but i just cant go back. Well done.

Fish_gutz
23-01-2008, 08:04 PM
dogsbody, as for launching @ boggy I found out the hard way and done plenty of dredging so check google earth and follow the channel.

Chief, the new reel would cope ok but the rod i bought is ordinary so going to go all silly and by an egrell. the one i had was a dropshot 4-8kg and felt like it was about to snap with a 1kg shovelnose on so it`s getting the flick. water still pretty dirty .

Ddobson, I was only out at that hour cause i had to be (@work shh!)and the 60lb bust of was on a handline so he deserved to get away.
Cheers Andrew

SWANY22
23-01-2008, 08:09 PM
ah you defently got the life do you eva work.arnt you gonna put thoes tuna pictures up so i can droll a bit more.

yanjarra
23-01-2008, 08:09 PM
well done mate,
i woulda thought one that big would of been considered a snapper or are they not considered such until they head out to sea?

Fish_gutz
23-01-2008, 09:20 PM
yanjarra, a few years ago the smaller ones were called squire and the big ones snapper, then they were all called snapper .Swanny and myself have decided we will call it a snap when it`s four kilo plus but thats just a rule of thumb we`ve given ourselves when in search of a snapper! just like "our" legal size is 40cm not 35.

No Bob no reports about tuna......what tuna ...... we didn`t see any tuna!!

plaztix
23-01-2008, 10:05 PM
No Bob no reports about tuna......what tuna ...... we didn`t see any tuna!!

MMMMMMMMMM tuna:D.

nice river snap. which stretch of the river? mouth/wharves i assume.

Fish_gutz
24-01-2008, 07:57 AM
both guesses very close plastix.

SnagMaster
24-01-2008, 08:53 AM
very very nice pinky im jealous.

T1
24-01-2008, 09:19 AM
Hey FG!

Did you fish the Full Moon or take smoko :P ???? What a great workplace you have... and well done on a good Snap from the river - guess all that burleying can pay off :-X ;) !

Take Care T

plaztix
24-01-2008, 10:02 AM
both guesses very close plastix.

:-X ..................... ;);)

Fish_gutz
24-01-2008, 05:07 PM
No burley this time T1. and yes smoko was the first fish.

jarhead
24-01-2008, 05:14 PM
Good stuff Muz. Am also a supporter of the min size of 40cm.

Cheers Wal

ddobson
26-01-2008, 09:33 AM
Do you think we would get larger fish late in the night or was it the tide that brought them past your boat ? Just a thought because the 63 cm i caught in the river was not until 10 at night near a ship tie structure on the shallow side in 9 feet. Maybe they settle down at night for a feed once all quiet. Your thoughts.

Fish_gutz
28-01-2008, 08:36 PM
it was getting close to bottom of the tide but my thoughts would be the moon and the lead up to the full have always fished the best for me. and in winter it`s normally a good bight session around dusk and dawn, tides irrelevant but plenty of others will have many different opinions. the night after these fish were caught i couldnt get baits past the pickers then the next night I couldn

Fish_gutz
28-01-2008, 08:40 PM
it was getting close to bottom of the tide but my thoughts would be the moon and the lead up to the full have always fished the best for me. and in winter it`s normally a good bite session around dusk and dawn, tides irrelevant, but plenty of others will have many different opinions. the night after these fish were caught i couldnt get baits past the pickers then the next night I couldn`t lose a bait! the pilons of the wharf go underneath the wharf for about fifty meters which equals lots of structure and lots of big fish with plenty of hiding places. Cheers Muz.