View Full Version : Opened my account

BAR UP
20-01-2008, 08:39 PM
Hey all, well got my new E-TEC & am loving it. Went up the Passage today for a squirt & a fish. Dropped the pots first then got some live bait, Herring, Mullet, Hardyheads & a few Yabbies. Went looking for a Jack but got smashed buy large bream all on livies. Went looking for some Whiting & Lizards but only caught heaps of small Grunter, greedy little bastards most swallow the hook. I thought i saw some prawns jumping in our wake so went up to my prawn spot. Got about 30 big Banana Prawns, not the best time at the top of the tide, 8 Gar & a gazillion more Herring. Went back looking for a Jack & bye this time the tide had turned . First Gar out & 56cm Jack then got smashed up on the next 5. Caught Bream on the Prawns & Herring then everything went quiet. Got one good Muddy & reckon someone pulled my pots the bait was pulled to bits but nothing in the pot. Had a good day & the E-TEC went great.

20-01-2008, 11:44 PM
Nice work B-U. Solid looking jack.

breamnut
21-01-2008, 02:22 AM
nice jack.
what hp is the etec? they have a long tiller

21-01-2008, 05:48 AM
Nice Jack. Too dirty to try a BART ;)? Those Gar must be the gun bait. Sounds like you have a spot worth ttrying again to see if you can pull some of the ones that smashed you

BAR UP
21-01-2008, 06:55 AM
nice jack.
what hp is the etec? they have a long tiller
Gday breamnut, my e-tec is a 40hp & yes the tiller is long about the same as a new 4stroke Yamaha.
Horse i did use the "BART" but you cant live bait & cast plastics at the same time. Put out a livie then cast out your plastic rod then the livie goes off so then put down your plastic out fit, wind up your live bait rod get tangled with the other line. Just cant do it:o

DICER
21-01-2008, 06:57 AM
ripper jack

21-01-2008, 07:06 AM
Hey all, well got my new E-TEC & am loving it. Went up the Passage today for a squirt & a fish. Dropped the pots first then got some live bait, Herring, Mullet, Hardyheads & a few Yabbies. Went looking for a Jack but got smashed buy large bream all on livies. Went looking for some Whiting & Lizards but only caught heaps of small Grunter, greedy little bastards most swallow the hook. I thought i saw some prawns jumping in our wake so went up to my prawn spot. Got about 30 big Banana Prawns, not the best time at the top of the tide, 8 Gar & a gazillion more Herring. Went back looking for a Jack & bye this time the tide had turned . First Gar out & 56cm Jack then got smashed up on the next 5. Caught Bream on the Prawns & Herring then everything went quiet. Got one good Muddy & reckon someone pulled my pots the bait was pulled to bits but nothing in the pot. Had a good day & the E-TEC went great.

Nice Jack Bar Up. Well done. Something I learned in the days of crabbing myself is that there are some very clever species of fish which we all know as Scats. They swim into the pots and find their way back out again. Just help themselves to the bait, pull it apart and have a great time. I actually watched them doing it in the shallows. Flathead have also been known to get into the pots to help themselves to the bait but the silly buggers stay in there and get caught usually. I once caught a big scat in a pot that was probably just a very unlucky fish who happened to be in there when I pulled it up. I know there are a few crab pot thieves out there but they are a minority group (at least I would like to think so) but when a pot comes up empty with the bait all torn to shreds it is not always human intervention.

BAR UP
21-01-2008, 07:24 AM
Nice Jack Bar Up. Well done. Something I learned in the days of crabbing myself is that there are some very clever species of fish which we all know as Scats. They swim into the pots and find their way back out again. Just help themselves to the bait, pull it apart and have a great time. I actually watched them doing it in the shallows. Flathead have also been known to get into the pots to help themselves to the bait but the silly buggers stay in there and get caught usually. I once caught a big scat in a pot that was probably just a very unlucky fish who happened to be in there when I pulled it up. I know there are a few crab pot thieves out there but they are a minority group (at least I would like to think so) but when a pot comes up empty with the bait all torn to shreds it is not always human intervention.

Thanks Poodroo for your remarks. I now use the gutter guard bait bags in my pots (like 90% of all crabbers i suppose) & they were torn to threads which is why i think they were raided. Could have been a Pike eel maybe ??

plaztix
21-01-2008, 08:45 AM
Nice Jack Bar up. Good to hear some prawns are starting to appear as well.

Aquarius
21-01-2008, 09:30 AM
A quality jack there mate.
I can understand why you like the new E-Tec so much.
Quiet, no smell of 2 stroke oil and easy on the wallet!!
Cheers Brent.

Why-ting
21-01-2008, 01:41 PM
Rippa jack to open your account mate. might take you a while to match that 1. Once you get an E-tec theres no looking back. :P

Whytey

Didley
21-01-2008, 02:56 PM
Good stuff Bar up, Glad to see someone is doin OK after the rain. I'll have to learn to prawn, the thought of those prawns makes me hungry:D.

B U Z Z I N
24-01-2008, 06:45 PM
Looks like that fish is a bit smaller than 56 cm - it's not quite at the start of the ruler.. and it's a bit short of 56 at the other end. I heard that you didn't actually catch it... your uncle did!! ::)
I'll see you up at that spot on the weekend. Oh by the way, you should change your username to sand bar (up).

Jimbo73
24-01-2008, 07:33 PM
Looks like that fish is a bit smaller than 56 cm - it's not quite at the start of the ruler.. and it's a bit short of 56 at the other end. I heard that you didn't actually catch it... your uncle did!! ::)
I'll see you up at that spot on the weekend. Oh by the way, you should change your username to sand bar (up).Sounds like you know something we dont know Buzzin. Is someone stretching the truth abit as well as the fish.::)

BAR UP
24-01-2008, 07:46 PM
What kind of a name is BUZZIN, sounds like something that needs a good smackin. Is this the same Uncle that takes 3 goes with the net to get that Jack & the some Uncle that has 8 shots with the gaff to get a Mack in the boat & still misses & the fish gets away??..Anyhow this fish was measured on a Alvey folding ruler so the 56cm was actually accurate. Any fisho that knows what he's talking about knows that "Brag Matt" is not an accurate way to measure your catch just a way to make erm look good for a photo!!. We'll just wait till you get a bigger Jack to post on this site CUZ.

bluefin59
24-01-2008, 08:16 PM
Nice fish mate obviously the e-tec is a good thing ,enjoy .....matt

ddobson
26-01-2008, 09:27 AM
Great story and great jack. I have given up on putting pots out for everyone else to check. And chasing the jacks i keep catchin on the line they have tied to a tree in the small local inlets so cant win either way. Cheers.