View Full Version : Burrum heads holiday
crazboutfishin
20-01-2008, 05:19 PM
We have just come back from a pretty useless 3 week holiday from Burrum heads in regards to weather. We only go out 3 times in the 3 weeks but mind you those 3 times produced some very good fish. The first day we went out we got 25 makeral along with some good reefies. The second day showed up some 12 very good nannagye and the 3rd was a total of zero fish. Even though we only got out 3 times we are pleased with our catches. There is a video in the video section of travelling back home on one of the days if you want to take a look. Here are some pics
Crazy
pursuit001
20-01-2008, 07:45 PM
hi some nice good lookin quality fish there
cheers shane
RAGINGBULL
20-01-2008, 07:48 PM
Good one Crazy
Nice size spotties
Burrum is a beautifull spot and produces well where did you get them on the dropoff near the channel or on the reef 6km out
Cheers Mark
crazboutfishin
20-01-2008, 08:46 PM
G'day Mark,
The Spotties were caught near the 25 Fathom. They were chopping big time and we were just chucking hard lures through the centre of them. The nannagye were caught on a patch of reef about 2 miles from the 8 mile. Just soundered over the spot.
Crazy
nathan dumschat
28-01-2008, 05:52 PM
nice feed of scarlets almost as nice to eat as pearlies wouldyou agree
hoodunnit
28-01-2008, 07:02 PM
great catch crazy,sounds expensive chucking hardbodied lures at chopping macks. Nathen you didn,t happen to race bikes at the Gympie speedway years ago did you?
crazboutfishin
29-01-2008, 08:31 AM
Nathan, i reckon so. They are both beautiful eating fish and both two of my favorites.
Hoodunnit, hahaha well we werent really prepared for it and thats all we had on board. Mind you we did lose a few. The second day we went out chasing macs again but only came across mac tuna but there were dozons of sharks chopping around with them. And what do we do? We chuck lures in! hahaha.
Crazy
nick_fish
27-06-2009, 02:52 PM
Hey mate,
Its funny you should mention pulling some makeral because just the other week me and some of the fellas went down to milf river and pulled a good dozen beautiful makereral as well as a bunch of nice looking reefies.
Your pictures look great but i think you should grow your hair long. I dont like to toot my own trumpet but my makeral were substantially bigger than yours mate, and my reefies were more silky. Maybe you should try fishing wtih a soft-bodied scrounger i find it riles the bad boys up pretty good.
Take it easy mate, keep trying and you'll start pulling some decent fish you just gotta keep at it, dont get disheartaned by the rubbish you got there.
Matt.
27-06-2009, 04:10 PM
nice catch of macks guys well done
cheers justin
greggo55
27-06-2009, 10:45 PM
how long does it take to get out to the 25 fathom hole from Burrum.I was at WOODGATE for a few weeks and fished the Burrum 8 mile and woodgate 8 mile for very little result.Came to the conclusion that i will have to go wider next time.I have heard mention of the 25 fathom hole but was wondering what areas it covers and is it genuine reef?
That is a great feed of mackeral you got.
greggo;D
rainbowrascal
28-06-2009, 01:25 PM
The 25 fathom hole is 28 kms from Burrum. There are a number of spots there covering a fair bit of ground, mainly rubble and coffee rock patches, nothing spectacular. As always you need to do your homework and sound for the fish and anchor correctly.;) ;)