View Full Version : Quiet arvo at Aplins...

18-01-2008, 08:26 AM
Went down to Aplins for a quick flick with some small hard bodies yesterday arvo. Worked my way around the rocks for naught. Thankfully nobody else had any bites either... There were a few people there, and the water is still coming over the weir steadily. There were people live baiting, plastics & hard bodies, and none of them produced.

There was one good barra boof in front of a few of us, but after about 3 hours of casting, I packed it in and went home. Just have to keep trying until I get something.

kingkev
18-01-2008, 11:13 AM
Good effort mate

At Midday on the 1st they will be looking for your lure

18-01-2008, 02:35 PM
He he he - Only if I can get my lure past the 400,320, 976 other lures that will be there that day!

18-01-2008, 02:42 PM
And the rest....

I read in the paper to day in the fishing section that it is illegal to even target barra during the closed season. Some bloke that lives near Aplins was complaining about it and said that anyone seen using large lures and blatantly targeting barra will be dobbed in to the DPI (how aussie is he?). Its good to see you were using smaller hard bodies so you won't get done.

Good to see you putting the effort in too. Only 13 more sleeps until it barra time again (YAY!!)

Mozza
18-01-2008, 10:16 PM
GRRR!

It gets me riled to see so many guys livebaiting there with big mullet for er, Fingermark er, Threaddies er, Sharks no, BARRA. That's the only fish you might catch with a big mullet right now below Aplins with all the fresh water in the system.

Talk about stating your (as in their) intentions!! "No sir, I was just collecting live mullet for the fish tank.... "

Thats my beef over - anyway, bad luck Dan - you'd be a big chance for a Jack too with small HB's.

Doug

21-01-2008, 09:42 AM
I was talking to a guy at Pro Tackle yesterday (Spent the morning browsing tackle shops :) ) and he was saying that there have actually been a few fines handed out at Aplins to people because they were "targeting Barra".

Looks like they're actually doing something about it.

kingkev
21-01-2008, 02:00 PM
Good to hear

borisdog
21-01-2008, 05:07 PM
Can anyone actually direct me to the piece of the rules/regulations that specifically states it is illegal to "target" ( And I want to see that EXACT word ) barra during the closed season.
I've seen this debate raise it's head every closed season and not once have I seen the particular word mentioned in any rule/reg.
I don't usually even bother fishing for them myself, they're usually just by-catch for me on Jack hunting expeditions but once it all gets a bit flooded the Barra are usually a bit easier to find.
With the amount of people you see fishing Aplins, AIMS rd etc during the closed season you'd reckon it would be lot's of easy money in fines for the Govt.
I just really doubt the truth of the "target" thing.
Like I said - I'd like to see it in writing.

Rod Fishing
21-01-2008, 07:50 PM
It was my understanding that is ok to target but not keep. I have been over and over the DPI website and it says nothing about targeting.

Lets be serious anyway if the fish is sporning it isnt going to take a bait, they only thing on its mind is getting rid of the eggs, same as the fish on the reef with their fin fish closures.

IMO its a joke. Not the closure for barra just the fin fish closure as i usually dont atrget barra anyway.

Cheers Rod....8-)

21-01-2008, 08:10 PM
I also have been over what laws there are, and the most I can currently come up with is this: http://www.legislation.qld.gov.au/LEGISLTN/CURRENT/F/FisherR95.pdf

Basically it says it is NOT an offense to UNINTENTIONALLY catch a barramundi during the closed season, as long as it is release unharmed ASAP. I suppose this pertains to it being illegal to target them during the closed season, but it does not exactly say that, but like all QLD laws, it is very ambiguous in this regard. I have emailed the Legislative body, asking where I could find the specifics of the legislation that outlaws the practice.

i also just read up on this year's coral reef finfish closures. This year they've got the hide to make them off limits from Dec21-29, just before Christmas. I don't know about all of you, but one of the highlights of christmas dinner for me, is a whole BBQ'd Trout, emperor, nanny etc, not the traditional christmas ham or turkey. Its just going to have to be a thawed fish this year, rather than fresh...:'(

Rod Fishing
21-01-2008, 08:25 PM
I cant believe that they are having a closure over Christmas bloody b@st@rds, I cant believe that no fresh fish for Christmas lunch.

Starting to get really annoyed everyone knows that when fish are sporning they dont eat........

Bloody Greenies

Cheers Rod....8-)

22-01-2008, 04:52 PM
Just got a reply ti my email I sent yesterday. They have provided me with the current legislation and a brief explanation. Basically, they deem there are 2 ways you can be pinned during the Barramundi closed season, that is in possession or taking a barra. They deem taking to be the act of fishing for and removing the fish from the water, hence why it is not an offense if you unintentionally catch a barra, that is, if the fisheries officer is satisfied that your methods and gear are not specifically targeted at barramundi.

I can't attach the files as they are too large, however, I can forward the email to you if you like.

kingkev
22-01-2008, 05:57 PM
Bring on the barra season. That will take the ho-hum out of everything for a year at least. Thanks for all the info...............it is wise to be clued up on whats law and whats crap

borisdog
23-01-2008, 07:07 AM
Thanks for that Scott, I read through the legislation link you provided and agree with your conclusions. I still reckon they'd have real trouble making it stick if any-one tried to fight it.

nonibbles
24-01-2008, 10:35 PM
Why risk it for a piece of fish? Some things are worth waiting for. If anything, it probably assists in maintaining the species' prestige hence all the virgin lures in my tackle box and many others.

PS the lures don't work - never caught a virgin on any of em.

tony_fish
26-01-2008, 09:38 PM
The problem is that these fish are not spawning, most are sub adults moving between the salt and fresh. The weir slows down their movement and keeps them in the one place. That's why they are easy to catch.

As for the reef fish, they school up to spawn and that's why we have closures. When they school up they are easy targets, it's an old line fisherman trick.

Mozza
27-01-2008, 09:51 AM
I think that THEY chould make the weirs a licenced fresh water impoundment during the off-season so fishos can target barra without fear of recrimination.

Plenty of barra do go over the wall when its overflowing but for the ones that remain, it should be open season.

Mozza