View Full Version : Turbo timer wiring

Maria
16-01-2008, 05:34 PM
Gday all,

I've just bought a brand new turbo for my 2.8L diesel hilux after the other one bit the dust. I've also bought a new turbo timer to go with it. The timer has three wires - one for battery positive, one for negative and one for ignition. Being a diesel engine, can anyone suggest where to wire the ignition one to?

Thanks in advance.

Benno

Reel Hard
16-01-2008, 06:12 PM
The fuel shut off.

Simmo2
16-01-2008, 07:40 PM
Can you get to the back of the ignition switch?

Maria
16-01-2008, 08:50 PM
Thanks for the replies guys. I was pretty sure could run it to the fuel cut solenoid but wanted to get another opinion. Just finished it then - works fine.

Thanks again.

Benno

Simmo2
16-01-2008, 09:01 PM
Glad we could help!!! ;)

Benny01
19-01-2008, 01:35 PM
hide it cos they are illegal

Simmo2
19-01-2008, 11:40 PM
hide it cos they are illegal

Why?? (are they illegal)

MY-TopEnder
20-01-2008, 12:17 AM
Apparently a vehicle cannot be left running unattended.

I've never ever seen or heard of anyone being issued a defect notice for having one.

Benny01
22-01-2008, 06:31 PM
plenty of people get defected for them. mainly youngens in the rice brigade. any car that i roadworthy with one i fail it

Simmo2
22-01-2008, 09:14 PM
plenty of people get defected for them. mainly youngens in the rice brigade. any car that i roadworthy with one i fail it
On what grounds?
What part of the act did/do you use to defect the vehicle?

Benny01
23-01-2008, 06:48 AM
dont defect the vehicle as im not a cop or DOT person

Simmo2
23-01-2008, 08:00 AM
OK! I'll rephrase my question, on what part of legislation do you use to fail a roadworthy certificate, when it has a turbo timer?
Not having a dig at you mate, I just cant find any reference to them being illegal.
I just fitted one to my mate diesel ute the other day! Have I broken the law? If so which one?

23-01-2008, 08:14 AM
All the truck manufacturers are in strife then if timers are illegal.
A mate of mine has about 10 new ones all with factory timers.
They're Kenworth and Isuzu and Mack

23-01-2008, 08:55 AM
Well I had a yarn with QLD transport modification unit (Ph 3253 4851) and the fitting of a turbo timer isn't illegal.
The leaving of the vehicle whilst the motor is running is the illegal bit.
You need to be within 3m of the vehicle until the motor stops.
And they need to have a bypass switch so you can turn the motor off instantly if need be.
The rules under the transport rules act or something like that and is policed by the coppers not the transport inspectors.