View Full Version : big catfish at the hornibrook

Michael D
10-01-2008, 08:38 PM
Had a bit of fun down the old bridge (well under the road bridge any way) a couple big cat fish . WoW what a fight on light gear...

jaredluke
10-01-2008, 08:56 PM
lol. Catfish they are everywhere around Scarbie reef and Redcliffe as well.

theclick
10-01-2008, 10:53 PM
Bloody things.

Went out on the brissi a few weeks back for a day and caught about 5 of the slimey bastards. You can tell when they been near your line cause they leave their slime behind

Michael D
10-01-2008, 10:57 PM
lol
Not good .Last one i got my mate scooped it up in the net before i could say other wise .And what a mess white slime allover and sh-t is so hard to clean of .DAM

codz22
11-01-2008, 11:09 AM
I think that the old catties are everywhere at the moment they have taken over the noosa river as well it must be the fresh that flushed em down the river, I wish that other fish would breed as much as them we would all have a good days fishin then

nob
11-01-2008, 11:26 AM
Great Crab Pot Bait

BAR UP
11-01-2008, 01:28 PM
I know a bloke who fishes in Baffle Creek for Jacks & he says the best bait for Jacks is a big chunk of fresh catfish with a 5/0 hook in it.

loomis_guy
11-01-2008, 01:46 PM
we regularly go there and get heaps of those guys... went on monday night and landed 15 around 60-70cm... theyr great fun!

11-01-2008, 07:38 PM
Bloody vermin, but rue, a very good fight on light gear.

The old man's decided to bite the bullet and see what they go like on the tooth, so the next one I get is going in a SEPARATE esky to the other GOOD fish, crazy old bastard if you ask me. They are only good for 2 things, one being the fight, the second, as said before, crab bait.

ffejsmada
11-01-2008, 08:37 PM
You'd think they would taste better than the fresh water models.
But then again...............:-/

theclick
11-01-2008, 08:42 PM
I actually dont really enjoy their fight. They are like dragging a small log up from the sea floor. Tend to make 1 small run at the bottom, and then another run at the top when they see the boat. But i hauled in atleast a 70cm model on 6pound trace without even a thought of it breaking me off

sharkymark2
11-01-2008, 10:15 PM
Wow I fought a couple in the southern bay the other day and put up a fantastic fight. Just didn't give up. I thought it was a good one till the fight characteristics began to show what it was. But then I I am only using whiting rods for the squire. ;).

jez and suze
12-01-2008, 07:24 AM
grr grr grr grr grr

wide_body
12-01-2008, 11:48 AM
cattie's are awesome bream bait!! tough flesh soo it stays on the hook better

o bag
14-01-2008, 11:23 AM
also very good from what ive heard anyway shark bait...also do ya find the big catties dont really make any sound when ya pull them up?