View Full Version : Drool over these

snelly1971
10-01-2008, 08:16 PM
Headed down the Coast today here in Tassie...Whilst travelling down we seen a huge pod of Dolphins and seal chasing a school of bait fish...I have seen these balls before on Tv, but never in real life...

We had a great day on the crays bagging 46 ....

whatscracken
10-01-2008, 08:34 PM
You got me drooling mate, looks like you had some good weather to boot. nice work

10-01-2008, 08:37 PM
Is there an airport in Strahan that can park a Virgin Blue or Jetstar bus with wings??
I'll give you a call when I get there for the feed.

Just remembered. I haven't got your number Mick. Bugger :(

Conditions look pretty tough to take as well hey.
Only one thing to say then. Enjoy them ya bugger :D

snelly1971
10-01-2008, 08:45 PM
Is there an airport in Strahan that can park a Virgin Blue or Jetstar bus with wings??
I'll give you a call when I get there for the feed.

Just remembered. I haven't got your number Mick. Bugger :(

Conditions look pretty tough to take as well hey.
Only one thing to say then. Enjoy them ya bugger :D

Yes its a shame you`s guys are so far away...As i dont eat many cray...prob 4-5 a year....and the rest i catch just get given away

Wahoo
10-01-2008, 08:51 PM
nice catch Mick, the water looks good as
them cray taste much better than the painted cray we have

rob tranter
10-01-2008, 09:41 PM
Ahh

Another Perfect Day in Paradise

Bastard:D

Or should I say a rare Pearler of a Day on Tassies West Coast

Your still a Bastard though Mick;D

I bet they ate as well as the ones you served up for us last year.:D

Good on you Mick keep it up, The boss and I will return and I will get out there with you.

Weather's been crap up here, rain, rain and more rain, though not as bad as an hour or so up the road, there rain has turned into flood rain. Same up parts of Queensland as well.

Great pic's what are the balls?

See you later on

Rob T

Oh yeh thanks for the PM or I probably would have missed your post.::)

seabug
11-01-2008, 12:51 AM
Hi Mick,
Thats a mighty catch of crays.

Better watch out,you will have all those Vic's that went to QLD for the fishing migrating to Tasmania.

Alan

Hi to Steve
A

Grand_Marlin
11-01-2008, 07:40 AM
Very nice Mick.

I see the boat seems to handle the calm water ok ;D

The bait balls are common on the east coast during "tuna time".
Off St Helens, we saw a ball so tightly packed by dolphins, seals and tuna that the top fish were literally being lifted a foot out of the water!

Maybe there could have been a nice Bluefin lurking beneath Mick.

Mad-One
11-01-2008, 08:34 AM
I'm going down in feb to visit family and already have my order in for fresh cray mmmmmmmmmmmmmm can't wait been 3 years

Mad

twotins
11-01-2008, 08:59 PM
Well Mick, that modified post hole digger is becoming quite famous on this website, showin its face, and its bounty, so many times in the last few weeks while us QLDer's sit here in the rain and wind. Well done son. Cheers Shawn.;d

12-01-2008, 08:07 AM
Mick,

Nice. I thought that looked very unlike a pot hauler.

On my last trip I managed to dive somewhere that could only be accessed in the best weather. The amount of crays - and big crays was unbelievable. I could only imagine what it would be like further down the coast.

Where abouts were you?

I reckon I'll be down in about a fortnight. Hope you may be able to manage a day off - a stripey trip would be EXCELLENT!!

How did you get them? Rings?

I'm heading up to Arthur's today for a spot of fresh fishing.

larfin
12-01-2008, 08:15 AM
Great feed there mate
greg

snelly1971
12-01-2008, 10:59 AM
Mick,

Nice. I thought that looked very unlike a pot hauler.

On my last trip I managed to dive somewhere that could only be accessed in the best weather. The amount of crays - and big crays was unbelievable. I could only imagine what it would be like further down the coast.

Where abouts were you?

I reckon I'll be down in about a fortnight. Hope you may be able to manage a day off - a stripey trip would be EXCELLENT!!

How did you get them? Rings?

I'm heading up to Arthur's today for a spot of fresh fishing.

Ha...Brett...secret location:-X:-X:-X:-X....Give me a buzz when your down...I have to take a group of 6 blokes out for 3-4 days on the 27 th...They are going down the coast 30- 40 nm ...for a few days to camp...

PS...Yes..They were all caught in rings and a few in the pots..

reidy
16-01-2008, 12:29 PM
Good one snelly,The blokes up/over my way all jelous as.Wish i could spell.
Reminds me of the good old days on Flinders
All the best,
Reidy
Georgetown

Willow1
19-01-2008, 05:16 AM
Dam, thats a nice catch Mick. Great photos. Strange seeing blue sky as it was grey for nearly the whole time I was there. Looks like that new pot hauler is doing the trick. Keep wetting those lines mate. Cheers Shane