View Full Version : I'll Be Damned

10-01-2008, 07:12 PM
Arrived home from work today and walked to the front of the car and then noticed that the black trim above the windscreen has mysteriously vanished. Only thing I can think of is that the last time I had the windscreen replaced that the guy that did it didn't clip the trim in place properly and the wind got under it whilst driving and "Poof!".... gone. My big question is where on earth would I get something like that? Seeing the gap above the windscreen is a tad unsightly. Would windscreen replacement companies carry them or would that be a genuine part where I need to go to a Mitsubishi dealer and have them rape me of my money. (Bearing in mind the last time I went there 5 years ago they wanted over $100 wholesale for a plastic centre cap for the wheels) :-X Perhaps a wrecker might have one.

catfishkid
10-01-2008, 08:11 PM
4WD wreckers are the way to go mate,there are plenty about.

Cheers Craig

11-01-2008, 06:55 PM
4WD wreckers are the way to go mate,there are plenty about.

Cheers Craig

I could just flog the one off my wife's Pajero. Do you think she will notice? ::)

11-01-2008, 08:09 PM
Wrecker for sure should be cheap as chips ;)

or flog the wifes one :P ;D ;D ;D

catfishkid
11-01-2008, 08:45 PM
Mate if the wifes car has one just go outside and get it she will never notice;D

Cheers Craig

14-01-2008, 02:57 PM
Hi mate,
They actually are supposed to replace these strips when they do the window replacements, if it is the one I think you are talking about.. Anyway, often they scrimp on it to save themselves some bucks, and they re-use them, but still charge you for a newby.
Wherever you got your last window replacement from will have one.

Russell

14-01-2008, 06:40 PM
Hi mate,
They actually are supposed to replace these strips when they do the window replacements, if it is the one I think you are talking about.. Anyway, often they scrimp on it to save themselves some bucks, and they re-use them, but still charge you for a newby.
Wherever you got your last window replacement from will have one.

Russell

Thanks Russell. I will chase them up and see what the go is. Had a slightly bigger problem rear its ugly head. Recently the car wouldn't start and I assumed the battery died prematurely. Seeing as I was in the bottom carpark at the Loganholme Hyperdome I decided that I was probably due for a new battery so I went back upstairs and purchased a brand new $180.00 battery. Went back down and installed it only to find that the car refused to start still. There was no telling how long the battery had been sitting on the shelves for on display so the assumption was made that it was probably flat. I flagged down the trolley boys on the tractor and asked if they felt energetic enough to give me a push to clutch start it. They obliged and off I went. The car started no problems since but now a couple of months down the track it started to occasionally not start again. I knew the battery was good so the next assumption was the starter motor. A few taps of the hammer and it would start. Bingo! The only thing is that there is only a few times that you can start the car with a hammer and yesterday was the day where it would start no more. Bugger. Anyway, $300 later I got a new one from AutoBarn and installed it myself in less than an hour. Not used to home mechanics going quite so smooth actually. ;D:P So the poor old 390,000 klm Pajero soldiers on yet again. Now to chase up that strip for the windscreen. ;) The never ending saga continues. Stay tuned. Lol

14-01-2008, 09:42 PM
When I was about 15 I had a beat up old corona with starter problems. After one to many blows with the hammer it decided that it was going to stay engaged. It throws you a bit, beacuse you never expect it and of course you never have a shifter handy to pull the battery cables.

15-01-2008, 07:05 AM
When I was about 15 I had a beat up old corona with starter problems. After one to many blows with the hammer it decided that it was going to stay engaged. It throws you a bit, beacuse you never expect it and of course you never have a shifter handy to pull the battery cables.

I can imagine how that would catch you out. As part of my job I have to carry a huge tool box in the back so I am never without tools in case of things going wrong.

16-01-2008, 02:25 PM
Blimey mate, thats a pain in the bumski, what year model is this beasty ?

Sounds like you have a spare battery now eh ? :D

DR
16-01-2008, 02:41 PM
Thanks Russell. I will chase them up and see what the go is. Had a slightly bigger problem rear its ugly head. Recently the car wouldn't start and I assumed the battery died prematurely. Seeing as I was in the bottom carpark at the Loganholme Hyperdome I decided that I was probably due for a new battery so I went back upstairs and purchased a brand new $180.00 battery. Went back down and installed it only to find that the car refused to start still. There was no telling how long the battery had been sitting on the shelves for on display so the assumption was made that it was probably flat. I flagged down the trolley boys on the tractor and asked if they felt energetic enough to give me a push to clutch start it. They obliged and off I went. The car started no problems since but now a couple of months down the track it started to occasionally not start again. I knew the battery was good so the next assumption was the starter motor. A few taps of the hammer and it would start. Bingo! The only thing is that there is only a few times that you can start the car with a hammer and yesterday was the day where it would start no more. Bugger. Anyway, $300 later I got a new one from AutoBarn and installed it myself in less than an hour. Not used to home mechanics going quite so smooth actually. ;D:P So the poor old 390,000 klm Pajero soldiers on yet again. Now to chase up that strip for the windscreen. ;) The never ending saga continues. Stay tuned. Lol

i always chuckle when i hear the 'old hammer tap & start' starter motors..
in the seventies i had a lovely old FL that had similar probs. one nighgt coming up past the Hilton Hotel in Kings Cross, Sydney, i stalled in heavy traffic. popped the bonnet & grabbed my trusty ballpein hammer & went to do the tap thing. a couple of cars behind was a few excitable ethnic gentlemen who were spoiling for a bit of a blue, they leapt out of their car in a pretty aggressive way & proceeded in my direction calling me all the dirty names you can think of & telling me i was going to get a flogging for stopping their progress through the Cross..not thinking too clearly about what was about to happen i stepped out from under the bonnet with a shrug & asked what their effing problem was, forgetting i was waving the hammer around ::) poor little tough guys ran over the top of each other to get back to the safety of their vehicle;D;D

Reel Hard
16-01-2008, 06:31 PM
Get a bigger hammer.
Sounds like the brushes were just plain worn out, 390k who can blame them .
When she gets to 780 just be sure to park facing down hill Poo.

16-01-2008, 06:53 PM
Blimey mate, thats a pain in the bumski, what year model is this beasty ?

Sounds like you have a spare battery now eh ? :D

Hi Dirtysanchez. Yes it was a pain in the posterior part of my anatomy. The car is a 1993 model NJ Pajero. I have not discarded the old battery yet so I might put it on test and see how it comes up. It has been sitting still not being charged for a while now.

i always chuckle when i hear the 'old hammer tap & start' starter motors..
in the seventies i had a lovely old FL that had similar probs. one nighgt coming up past the Hilton Hotel in Kings Cross, Sydney, i stalled in heavy traffic. popped the bonnet & grabbed my trusty ballpein hammer & went to do the tap thing. a couple of cars behind was a few excitable ethnic gentlemen who were spoiling for a bit of a blue, they leapt out of their car in a pretty aggressive way & proceeded in my direction calling me all the dirty names you can think of & telling me i was going to get a flogging for stopping their progress through the Cross..not thinking too clearly about what was about to happen i stepped out from under the bonnet with a shrug & asked what their effing problem was, forgetting i was waving the hammer around ::) poor little tough guys ran over the top of each other to get back to the safety of their vehicle;D;D

Classic DR. I can imagine that happening. Those little ethnics get enraged pretty darn fast. Had one get abusive at me because he pulled a daring stunt in peak hour traffic one morning near the airport and he thought I beeped him. Just put him down as the tosser he was and ignored him.

Get a bigger hammer.
Sounds like the brushes were just plain worn out, 390k who can blame them .
When she gets to 780 just be sure to park facing down hill Poo.
Well I found out that the starter was still the original starter so that is amazing stuff really. In fact most of the car is still original including the motor. At 390,000 klms it is still not blowing any smoke. Have I found myself a freak of a Pajero? Actually shame on me for letting it go so long past due but I only changed the first cam belt, water pump, clutch, after 350,000 klms. :-X::)

ColacGirl
17-01-2008, 10:07 PM
Arrived home from work today and walked to the front of the car and then noticed that the black trim above the windscreen has mysteriously vanished.......
Perhaps a wrecker might have one.

Hi Poodroo,
Parkridge Wreckers (Railway Parade, Loganlea) has a few Pajeros at the moment, so could be worth a look.

--
Bev

18-01-2008, 12:40 AM
Hi Poodroo,
Parkridge Wreckers (Railway Parade, Loganlea) has a few Pajeros at the moment, so could be worth a look.

--
Bev

Thanks Bev. I will check them out.

CreelReaper
18-01-2008, 09:44 PM
Hey Poodroo,
Yeah it can be a bugger......I had the same with my 89 model. Decided to do a strip and clean of the original unit and saved myself a couple of hundred buckeroonies. It seems that they get a bit sticky inside with gunge and sometimes lock everything up. A kero bath certainly did wonders.

Just out of curiosity I too have a 93 model. Bought in April 07. What kind of economy are you getting out of your beast. Even though the 89 and 93 models had the same size 3l I think the 89 gave me a better ride and performance than this 93 model. I am currently getting 6 to 6.3km/l around town.

Shane

20-01-2008, 05:22 PM
Hey Poodroo,
Yeah it can be a bugger......I had the same with my 89 model. Decided to do a strip and clean of the original unit and saved myself a couple of hundred buckeroonies. It seems that they get a bit sticky inside with gunge and sometimes lock everything up. A kero bath certainly did wonders.

Just out of curiosity I too have a 93 model. Bought in April 07. What kind of economy are you getting out of your beast. Even though the 89 and 93 models had the same size 3l I think the 89 gave me a better ride and performance than this 93 model. I am currently getting 6 to 6.3km/l around town.

Shane

Hi Shane. You know to be quite honest I have never seriously sat down and tried to work out my fuel economy. When I stop at a fuel station the tank is full and when it is empty I fill it again. I have stated before that I never purchased a 4x4 for fuel efficiency but with that in mind I did take on board a lot of information regarding the fuel usage of all the 4wd's prior to buying one. I knew a lot of people with different makes and models who were more than happy to tell me how much fuel they used in their 4x4's and the 3.0 litre Pajero whilst thirsty were quite economical by comparison to some of the big 4wd's like the Landcruiser. It helped with my decision to invest in one and I have not regretted owning it. I get around 600-700klms out of a 70 litre tank but my types of driving vary heaps. I now own a heavier boat than I used to tow around as well. One of these days I might accurately work out my fuel consumption perhaps when we start paying $1.50 per litre plus.