View Full Version : A day of firsts "and a jack"

RAT-KING
07-01-2008, 09:02 PM
I had not given Noosa ago since i got my boat so next thing u know i'm getting up at 3:30 friday morn to drive up! Intentionally having no bait on board i was determined to get my first cod and fish in general on soft plastix. so we first tried trolling around woods bay at dawn Where my mate hooked up after a small fight i netted him a 46cm cod, not bad especially since it was his first on lure and the first target species in my boat!! So we continued trolling woods i had 10lb braid set fairly tight hoping 4 a jack wen i hooked up it was a small cod 36cm it didnt go that hard but it was my first cod so i was still excited by we trolled 4 an hour or so it was getting late in the morn so we gave it away for a few hours hoping for an awesome arvo sesh! We arrived at the ramp at 3:00 later that arvo and headed up the river planning on casting the snags! we cast for an hour changing from hard 2 soft plastix no luck except for my first fish on placcys it was a bream nearly the same size as the lure but i was still happy! so we changed the game plan trolling the snags after 10 mins my mate got a snagg so i put the engine in neutral and started to bring my lure in wen WHACK!!!!! a jack smashed it had 20lb braid on the calcutta 200 hoping for a bigger 1 it went hard 4 its size anyway got him in the boat pretty quick took a photo and forgot to measure him b4 i let him go! "I always do that!" but all in all it was a pretty good day and very much a day of firsts!
file:///C:/Users/Simon/Pictures/2008-01-07%20kayla/kayla%20013.JPGhttp://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/C:\Users\Simon\Pictures\kayla 022.JPGhttp://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/C:\Users\Simon\Pictures\2008-01-07 kayla\kayla 020.JPG

Nico.d.R
07-01-2008, 10:42 PM
good work mate , nice fish .

chrisallangler
08-01-2008, 07:42 AM
Great stuff, I bet you find it more exciting that drowning a bait.

greenie.77
08-01-2008, 04:37 PM
lures are a lot more fun but try casting them then you will love it even more especially on the jacks.

codz22
10-01-2008, 09:05 AM
A few nice fish there mate what type of lures were you trollin if you dont mind me askin

yanjarra
10-01-2008, 01:29 PM
nice work mate. wat leader were u using?

cuzzamundi
11-01-2008, 09:53 PM
Congratulations on your first bruiser - many to come mate.

cuzza

RAT-KING
12-01-2008, 12:27 AM
gday mate it was rapala X rap bright yellow dont know the actual name!

RAT-KING
12-01-2008, 12:29 AM
I was using a 40 lb leader I know it sounds like over kill but i heard that u get anything up 2 80cm jack in SEQ and thats wat i was going 4 I dont eat fish its all about the fight!!

RAT-KING
12-01-2008, 12:31 AM
Cheers cuzza
it wasn't my first jack it was my first southern jack! and i hope theres plenty more 2 come!!!