View Full Version : Pelagic Activity Yes / No

madmackrel
07-01-2008, 08:23 PM
8-) GDay Ausfishers, headed out sat morn little later than normal (wasnt to sure what the weather was doin ) Manly to the four beacons, no activity at all, could only manage to raise two decent tailor on slugs. Put both out as livies only to have the Tangolooma terrorists:( (dolphins) decide that tailor was the fish of the day. Anyway couldnt get any livies, so we upped anchor and haeded south to harrys, with still no surface activity. Just wondering if anybody else had some luck with the pelagics, Horse how did you go mate?8-)

Cheers MM;D

07-01-2008, 08:40 PM
No go for me. I went Sunday and bashed into 15knts of Northerly. I went Manly, Harries, Sandhills, Cowan and the beacons. Not a sighting on the whole trip. The water was dirty even on the top of the tide and full of weed. Got livies on M9 but could not lose them. Came home early with my tail between my legs.

snapperbasher
07-01-2008, 08:43 PM
nothing in rous, rainbow or peel Perry.

3rd degree
07-01-2008, 08:44 PM
Went Saturday and Sunday........

Nothing

Good to hear I wasn't alone

Leighton
07-01-2008, 08:45 PM
Yeah nothing around Peel

07-01-2008, 08:58 PM
I went out there today - Manly to sand hills - Shark Spit - 4 Beacons and all parts in between.

Saw nothing - no surface activity at all, no bird activity, and nothing came from drifting with a pillie. Did not see anyone get anything by jigging at the beacons either.

Thank goodness for my crab pots labouring away on their own in the deep water. :)

The weather was magnificent, though ...

http://img.skitch.com/20080107-mhxx4ciw2r3yrtgg82iyp898ep.jpg

(Eat your heart out you weekend fishos!) ;D ;D ;D

07-01-2008, 08:58 PM
nothing in rous, rainbow or peel Perry.

That at least makes me feel a bit better. The Southern circuit was my other option with the darn northerly. I went for the run north instead

"Oh where oh where can the little Spots be?"

Lea26
07-01-2008, 09:02 PM
Left Spinnaker Went out to hutchies back to Curtain and over to spitfire, Plenty of bait around but no surface action.

Baycruiser
07-01-2008, 09:09 PM
went out Sunday...Bris river to Tangalooma.......no birds no surfacr activity all day

death_ship
07-01-2008, 10:54 PM
bit of action at combie pointon saturday. not really busting the surface but.

08-01-2008, 12:30 AM
Out from Tangalooma and north a bit and the 4 beacons had a mass of birds bombing on Saturday but nothing breaking the surface from below.

Cheers Chris

jez and suze
08-01-2008, 06:06 AM
yeah not sure what the birds were eating on sunday.....past bulwer the air was thick with them......we trolled crome and deep runners and not a hit......maby the birds were picking weed off the surface?

rakinray
08-01-2008, 07:28 AM
G/ day all it seems that it wasnt just me having a bad one ! We took the brothers whittley out from Whyte on sunday morning at around 5.30am, punched our way over to the paddock,sandhills,beacons area with no surfacec activity at all. We slow trolled pillies, jigged, and drifted for only one hook up of a rat kingy at the beacons, which i dropped at the side of the boat (say no more) all in all i can safely say they aint there yet ! PS we also tried the area from the beacons to the MM and thru to the river entrance with not even a bird to be seen. Just hope they are late !

CHEERS RAY.

08-01-2008, 05:32 PM
Has anyone heard any reports from up north yet? Everything is looking towards a big no show this season

death_ship
08-01-2008, 05:33 PM
are the yellow raincoats flogging the measured mile yet? if so they are around

Ideas
08-01-2008, 06:41 PM
no fish anywhere for anyone. still bloody good to get out but. to long in between trips latey. boses weather got to hate it

SNAFU
10-01-2008, 01:08 PM
hi all,

same for me. went to mud for some reef action in lumpy conditions. a couple of just legal sweeties , a squire and a good taylor. lost a couple of better quality sweeties to the reef. went for a long trip back to manly wide but no surface action. i think it (mackies) will either not happen this year or go OFF soon. if this weather keeps up they might not come in bay this year....NOOOOOOO!!!!.

SNAFU.

scarby
10-01-2008, 05:52 PM
the boys are back in town, got my bag out from woody point 2 days ago.

Smallunit, were they spotties? If so, any pics? you've got me excited.

bayfisher
11-01-2008, 08:51 AM
Good to see the spotties are here,..... now for the weather to do its bit ::)

needmoretime
13-01-2008, 08:35 AM
Small Unit,

2 bagouts in quick succession - well done - I am very jealous - would be great to just be able to get out every couple of days rather than work but what can you do.

Hopefully this is the sign of a good late season.

Good luck to everyone chasing them.

Hopefully we can all nail a few.

NMT

ddobson
13-01-2008, 02:04 PM
I was at straddie for 2 weeks over chrissy and the second week had birds working all over the place but to far to cast from shore and to rough for a tinny with a 25 horse. They were huge on the north end if you can brave the bar in 20 notts. We spotted some action on the north east end of Peel as well but no birds working just leaping out of the water.

13-01-2008, 09:49 PM
Mackerel dont jump

death_ship
13-01-2008, 10:15 PM
spanish do

Pistol_P
13-01-2008, 10:57 PM
Yeah I have seen spaniards launch clear out of the water.

plaztix
14-01-2008, 08:20 AM
Spanish?? Yeeha:o

14-01-2008, 08:31 AM
I bet you have seen a spottie or doggies launch whilst feeding as this is what this post is about ????

Tim_N
14-01-2008, 11:48 AM
We tried the shipping channel off Bribie for zero result. The water was dirty, rough and the bait was non existant. Let's see what shows up when the water clears up a bit. It has been real lean up this way for Schoolies and Spotties so far but we may be in for a good late season.

14-01-2008, 12:16 PM
I have seen heaps of Spaniards flying through the air ( over the boat once at 1770) but I am yet to see a Doggie or Spotty get airborne that i can recall

2DKnBJ
14-01-2008, 06:58 PM
The only time i have seen a mac get airborne is inbeetween the water and the floor of my boat.

Cheers Dazza

plaztix
15-01-2008, 02:23 PM
So the airborne fish would be ............................??

Tuna of some sort??

bayfisher
15-01-2008, 03:32 PM
Most likely mack tuna or bonito. That would be my guess anyway there doesn't see to be too many long tails around at the moment.

kingtin
16-01-2008, 04:36 PM
So the airborne fish would be ............................??

Flying fish :P ;D

16-01-2008, 09:54 PM
ducks fly if that helps;D

oddbudman
16-01-2008, 10:06 PM
angry mutated sea bass- possibly with lasers

Silent
17-01-2008, 07:25 AM
angry mutated sea bass- possibly with lasers
;D you have seen "I'm legend"