View Full Version : Trol a matic anyone got one?
Magella
07-01-2008, 12:28 PM
Just wondering if anyone has a trol-a-matic fitted to there motor and what are your thoughts on them Good/ Bad or what.
Cheers Foxie
When I need to troll really slow, I used to tow a bucket behind the boat.
Towing a sea-anchor may be a better proposition.
Bear001
07-01-2008, 12:58 PM
Im the same as Luc - I chuck out a bucket......actually now upgraded from 30 to 40HP i throw 2 buckets out....ha
Im debating on one of these also? I dont have an electric motor - but I mainly troll - so Im wandering if I would really use an electric - or put the money toward the troll-o-matic.
Hey Foxie - how many dollars for one by the way?
Cindy
Solas market one called "Troll-easy" for $149.
Magella
07-01-2008, 01:32 PM
Hey Luc , Cindy,
Yea I do that to, but a lot of handle less buckets floating round Monduran from when I forget to pull them in. I usually only troll with my two young girls and I beleive the less hassles the better.
They sell for around the the $149 mark
Cheers Foxie
Bear001
07-01-2008, 02:08 PM
I've also heard that they cause you to lose some of your pick-up also.
Would you guys recommend a troll-o-matic thingie or an electric motor?
rayken1938
07-01-2008, 07:59 PM
I have one fitted to a 115hp mariner mounted on a hydrofield.
Have lost about 5kph on top speed.
When trolling at 750 rpm I get passed by the walkers on the river bank. MY gps wont register under 2kph.
1000rpm 2.5 kph
1500 rmp around 5 kph.
at 1700 rpm the thrust from the prop blows the flap up and speed os around 12kph.
I reckon it is great especially trolling for cod. Only problem is if you wish to troll between 5kph and 12 kph.
You cant.
I havent taken any notice of fuel consumption.
Ray
nipsta
07-01-2008, 08:50 PM
Hey Luc , Cindy,
Yea I do that to, but a lot of handle less buckets floating round Monduran from when I forget to pull them in. I usually only troll with my two young girls and I beleive the less hassles the better.
Cheers Foxie
hey foxie i have the same issue with my tohatsu 25 hp so i use my electric to trolll and also use a sea anchor only cost me around 15 dollard for one alot easier then pulling a bucket back to the boat and having the handles break off
i also inquired about a trollamatic and was concerned if it would affect the motor so gave up that idea and just thought if the electric dont cut it a sea anchor will do
Simmo2
07-01-2008, 09:02 PM
Oops, I didnt even know what one was!!
So incase anybody else is in 'the same boat'! This is what one looks like!
Buddy Mania
08-01-2008, 07:21 PM
I've fished in a few boats with the Troll-a-Matic. They are excellent trolling baffles and noone I know has had anything but positive things to report. I wouldn't hesitate if I needed one (which I don't).
Flattie Assassin
08-01-2008, 08:09 PM
Im the same as Luc - I chuck out a bucket......actually now upgraded from 30 to 40HP i throw 2 buckets out....ha
Im debating on one of these also? I dont have an electric motor - but I mainly troll - so Im wandering if I would really use an electric - or put the money toward the troll-o-matic.
Hey Foxie - how many dollars for one by the way?
Cindy
I would say an electric is better value for you Bear. Have a look at the Watersnake motors. Everything I have read has been positive, and they are a third of the price as a Minn Kota equivalent in the Bow mount. ;D
FA
Shun-the-nonbeliever
08-01-2008, 08:11 PM
I have one fitted to a 115hp mariner mounted on a hydrofield.
Have lost about 5kph on top speed.
When trolling at 750 rpm I get passed by the walkers on the river bank. MY gps wont register under 2kph.
1000rpm 2.5 kph
1500 rmp around 5 kph.
at 1700 rpm the thrust from the prop blows the flap up and speed os around 12kph.
I reckon it is great especially trolling for cod. Only problem is if you wish to troll between 5kph and 12 kph.
You cant.
I havent taken any notice of fuel consumption.
Ray
I have a 40hp Honda Four Stroke. At idle it trolls at only 2.3km/hour and is extremely quiet. Don't have a leccy and don't intend to buy one!
This troll speed has been great for impoundment barra and estuary flathead!
My question is "What is the correct trolling speed for different species?". Am especially interested on recommended trolling speeds for murray cod, yellas and bass in the fresh and macs, tailor and tuna in the salt with only hard bodies being trolled.
Sorry to hijack this thread!
Shun
rayken1938
09-01-2008, 07:39 AM
Shun
The main reason I installed the trollmatic was that My trollong speed used to be 5kph which was way too fast for cod who like a really slow troll. I also had problems with rough running and plugs loading up after 30 minutes trolling.
Now I can finely control the trolling speed to maximise the lure action most of my freshwater trolling is now done at around an estimated 1.5 kph.
I also forgot to point out that the trollmatic is only recommended with motors of 60hp and above.
Ray
Bear001
09-01-2008, 04:19 PM
Have done some more homework & as noted by Ray above, the trollomatic is only for 60HP plus - so that shoot me out.
I troll for cod & yellow-belly. Whilst my bucket out the back slows me down enough - I've noticed since upgrading to 40HP ETEC my lures are'nt getting down as deep.
I dont have a GPS or anything to record my speed, I just know that certain lures used to hit the bottom at certain depths and now I cant get down there.
I think I will take your advice FA, and save up for an electric for next summer. The only reason beeing that like Ray said, trolling for cod has to be at super slow speed. (Although I did manage to catch 6 55cm cod yesty in 1.5hrs at the dam - go figure!!)
Cindy
KAGEY1
10-01-2008, 03:34 PM
The 115 Etec On Mine Will Troll Against A Small Tidal Run At Just Under 2kts. Motor Is Doing 400rpm And Using .5l/hr In Fuel. Trolled Like This For Cod Along The Rock Walls In The River For Nearly 2 Hrs Then Opened Her Up. No Smoke, No Hesitation. No Worries. 6 Fish!!!
Haven't Tried It In The Impoundments Yet. Hoping To Get To Eungella For Aus Day W/end.
Cheers, Geoff
Steve B
10-01-2008, 05:17 PM
foxie, what are you doing trolling;D
you gettin old and tired :D :D !!!
your 60 4st should be perfect speed for the barra.
Hey Luc , Cindy,
Cheers Foxie
How do the girls go? are they your secret lure? ya never mentioned this to me when i was up there....i woulda picked up a couple!!;) ;D
Does their mother know what it means when your taking the girls for a troll:o ?
Cheers Roo;)
Ps. small drogue from Whitworths is about 20bucks...if you tie a second piece of rope to the pointy end(longer than the main length you attach to the tow point) and attach a float here, you can use this rope to pull it in and as you'll be pulling from the top, there will be little resistance. that float stops it dissapearing to the depths and possible snagging down there if you just stop to adjust something.
nedoleboy
11-01-2008, 04:46 PM
gday foxie
ive been usisng the trollamatic for about 4 years now on my 40hp 4stroke yam.its great.you do lose a bit of top end but buggar all.when i go to the coast i just take it off.4 bolts.my gps loses speed at 1.81kph so i would say i'd be doing 1.5 kph.ive got a mate with a 115 4 strke yam and trolamatic and it gets him down to2.5kph.a bit to fast i reckon
i have found that reversing is affected a bit .you dont notice that much until you need to go backwards quickly.whether you just click it in reverse or give it the herbs you pretty much go the same speed due to the bffle plate
i have broken a spring on the prop reversing (into a rock) which i fixed.blackwoods stock a very similar spring.
next time it broke where the spring is fixed to the baffle with a 's'piece of s/s.the 's' piece broke out the glass/nylon bit of the bffle.i bought another one and am going to have a crack at fixing the old one.
overall they are great .drive to where you want to troll slow down and just get into it no mucking around.get into strife just hit the throttle.not so with the fixed/manual baffle.similar to reversing.ned
Magella
12-01-2008, 10:56 AM
Hey Roo,
Two perfer methods of trolling with my daughters are the high speed soft body trolling or the the slow rolling action both are surface actions.
Cheers Foxie
;D ;) like jitterbug...or a fizzer?:-X :P