View Full Version : Brissie river sun 6th
chief
06-01-2008, 12:28 PM
Fished the river again this morning with Garrett and chased a few bream becauce the young bloke (under doctors orders )can only put the slightest pressures on the shoulder. Anyway day started a bit ordinary with the electric having a spat attack and the foot control and auto pilot wouldn't work , so we were up against it from the start.We just used the Squidgees again and produced a few fish Started off with a few small cod and ended up with 8 keeper bream, A couple weren't bad size .think i've had enough of the bream for a while so time for a change next time.
Pistol_P
06-01-2008, 12:50 PM
Good going again cheif...
I bet its a bit quiter in the Brissie River.....I reckon half the boats from Brissie are on the Noosa river....::) .....Man I have never seen it soooo busy.
Leighton
06-01-2008, 12:53 PM
Nice catch lads, was it crouded there?
Pistol, if one half are at Noosa then the other half were in the Southern Bay. We gave up and pulled the boat out at 7:30am. It was like fishing in a car park, not much on the chew anyway
nuggstar
06-01-2008, 12:57 PM
im deffenetly getting some of them critters. your the man chief
alleycat
06-01-2008, 12:59 PM
Your doing well on the bream chief, i was out off wellington point this morning and gave up on going to green because of sea of boats and fished south off the wello leads and then near mangroves for a few bream, i work weekends but am on holidays atm, man if i had to battle that crowd every weekend i would be put right off going, it was like Kmart on xmas eve.
marty+jojo
06-01-2008, 02:28 PM
Hey Chief, i was down the river yesterday, i kept an eye out for you. With ya leccy check the contact points, if they have any corrosion on em it will make it play up.
Marty.
chief
06-01-2008, 04:09 PM
Big thanks Marty,i'll check that.We fished a few wharves and walls around pinkenbar,found a lot of Bream (a lot of little ones ).Thanks to the rest of you fellas,I must admit when it was around 8 am and it was humid and not a breath of wind, the thought of being out on the bay and chasing speedsters weighed pretty heavy but the old mates shoulder will be right soon and it will happen. Pete thank god the old Brissie river has so many rock walls and wharves and structure to fish and not many fishos really throwing plastics ,hard bodies for bream/Etc . Only came across one other bloke working along the same walls and wharves as us this morning and had a quick chat ,seemed everyone was out in the bay in a carpark ;D
codz22
06-01-2008, 07:06 PM
Some nice fish there chief well done yet again those critters are great. The jig heads in the photos the other day were 1/12 and 1/16 bit big but had nothin else. Thanks again mate
Another successful stint on the river i see! Mate, i think i recognise that fence in the background...
Take Care T
bayfisher
07-01-2008, 12:58 PM
You have been doing well on those breambos lately keep up the good work
Cheers Chris
chief
07-01-2008, 03:53 PM
T1 , garrett pulled a nice bream right on that fense. There is a lot of bream in the river at the moment. Feeding right up on the walls and eager to take a plastic
Marty.. checked that connection out on the river and it still wouldn;t work . Gave it blow with the compressor and fixed it right up. thanks mate
Codz22 .. cheers mate, thought they looked heavier than that ,must have been the shot. Can't weight till a big mullet takes one of those critters, you'll know about it;D
chrisallangler
07-01-2008, 08:26 PM
Well done Cheif, sounds like another good sesh in the river. Do you prefer softer plastics more than the Gulps!? I am finding the bream are taking the softer plastics like powerbaits and Squidgys over Gulp! shrimp and the like. But there is still a definate place for Gulps!.
chief
08-01-2008, 05:09 AM
Hey Chris,one of Garretts was on the 2inch shrimp but the rest on the squidgee.
Mate, got your pm and haven't forgot, I'll search out a decent tide and when the river looses a bit more fresh , we 'll have a go at some Squire/bream.