View Full Version : fun on 2kg string
06-01-2008, 08:55 AM
great to finally have a break in the weather, was starting to go crazy. Mate (Outcast) caught and released 3 threadies on Friday night and I met him down there early Sat morning to target one on lures and then we were planing to head out into the bay to chase some mackerel.
Bit harder than usual to get the livies (backup plan) but I got a dozen good size herring and some nice gar which I kept for mackerel baits. Anchored up in the usual spot and threw lures for the next two hours or so. Few boats came and went and another mate (Lundy) of mine found it a little crowded so found himself an alternate spot. He reported 2 caught by others on lures and one by his deckie by about 8 am. None of the boats including me had caught any where I was, so I decided I would go and take his spot as he was ready to head out into the bay.
Dropped the anchor again (no 'leccy) and began casting lures again. I was using the regular jackals, a 5" shad, some other bibless lures (lipless crankbaits) mainly. I decided maybe I would put a bait out while I kept casting lures. I wanted to keep my 3 kg spin and 6 kg baitcast outfits for lures, and the only other gear I had was 1 kg ad 2 kg spin, so I rigged up the 2 kg spin with a herring.
About half an hour later it goes off with a good run. Pretty sure it was a threadie, but there are alot of similarities with the way a 'good' stringray fights in shallow water, so I was not certain and had to wait and see.
I dumped the anchor overboard straight after the first run so I could follow it and to avoid problems with the anchor rope later. It is on a buoy for pickup later. Pretty clean area where I was fishing but there was a shipping marker about 300m away so I tried to lead it/follow it out into the middle of the river where it was cleaner. It was staying deep and occasionally putting on bursts of speed and power. We were gradually heading downstream with the tide and went within 30 m or so of the channel marker. It was hard slog on the 2 kg line (pretest mono). I decided to lead it towards a sandbank to help raise it out of the depths which did gradually work. Went from around 16 m to 3-4 m deep and I finally saw colour after 45 minutes and put lingering doubts about a stingray to rest. They look amazing with their size and golden colour.
I kept this fish to get accurate weight and size measurements for a record claim. 10.00 kg 1173 mm. 950 ANSA points!!
Photo tomorrow.
Good to meet a few other ausfishers and others out on the water. Congrats on ur first threadie Marty and top work on the lure!
Greggo1
06-01-2008, 09:10 AM
Great stuff Jeremy. Which approximate patch of river were you fishing?
shin25
06-01-2008, 09:37 AM
well done mate sounds like an epic battle
good luck on the record
what do you think your chances are?
Cheers Shane
marty+jojo
06-01-2008, 10:03 AM
Thanks Jeremy, and congrats to you to mate, 10kg fish on 2kg string is a good effort.
Mine only went 6.3kg and my snapp went 6.75kg:D :D . I will put a post up later with some pics.
Marty.
imnotoriginal
06-01-2008, 11:34 AM
Excellent work. Takes a lot of skill to land a fish that size on light string, especially solo in a boat. Full credit to you mate.
Joel
alleycat
06-01-2008, 11:51 AM
Just reread your post and noted it was caught on mono and not braid, what a great feat, well done, and what reel did the deed for you?.
Leighton
06-01-2008, 12:55 PM
Nice work mate, not sure I would have the patience to battle for that long
ffejsmada
06-01-2008, 01:09 PM
Great fish jeremy, top effort. What size leader were you using????
The Bris river must be chock full of threadies. Wonder why considering they're not in Noosa anymore ?????
Cheers Jeff.
07-01-2008, 06:14 AM
interesting you comments about the threadies in Noosa Jeff. I have heard about them being in the Noosa and passage for years and read the yarn by Ern Grannt about them at Noosa. There must be heaps in the Brisbane river at present. I saw or heard of about 10 or so caught from Friday arvo through Sat arvo.
Was taken on 40lb mono leader. Really only scuffed and abraded. Reel was a stradic 2500 - I have just reworked the drag with graphite powder - and a new Reddington rod (first fish on that rod).
Here is the photo
07-01-2008, 06:15 AM
Great stuff Jeremy. Which approximate patch of river were you fishing?
lower reaches
Silent
07-01-2008, 07:25 AM
Top effort 10kg on 2kg line you're too good!!!
Sounds like heaps of threadie there at the moment I should get out to target them soon
Another good threadie JEREMY! Nice to meet you a few weeks back too!
How do you like your new Reddington? I've got 2 of them and couldn't be happier!
Take Care T
bundylundy
07-01-2008, 05:26 PM
Nice fish Jeremy, makes up for Steve getting one longer than yours the night before. Good to see Darryl putting his skipper duties ahead of catching threadies. ;) Keep perservering, you'll get one lurecasting.
Jeff.
bayfisher
07-01-2008, 05:56 PM
In the last few years there does seem to be an abundance of threadies in the river. Or are angler just more switched on to them and targeting them? A couple of weeks ago i was cast netting the mouth of boggy for some live bait and caught a 2" model. Looked just like the big ones but in miniature, so they are more then likely breeding and doing well in the Brisbane river.
Cheers Chris
07-01-2008, 07:22 PM
makes up for Steve getting one longer than yours the night before
not really. I thought that fish would take more beating than that. Steve is trying to get the biggest in nearly every category and might well end up doing so. All good fun tho.
Darryl has been doing a bit of putting his skippering duties ahead of fishing recently LOL, but he has had his share of good fish also. I am sure he will get one soon if he perseveres.
I was a bit amazed that this fish wasn't an Australian record in sportfishing, but I'll take gamefishing anyway.
Barralundee
07-01-2008, 08:55 PM
Nice fish Jeremy, makes up for Steve getting one longer than yours the night before. Good to see Darryl putting his skipper duties ahead of catching threadies. ;)
Jeff.
Nice sledge Jeff. I am going to turn the tables with my deckie so he can skipper me to a thredie. ;D Good skipper though first time chasing tham and picked a spot that produced 5 for the morning :D
08-01-2008, 06:37 AM
How do you like your new Reddington?
Nice action and beaut rod for the job on 2 kg line. I am not happy with the sliding reel seat arrangement. Can't keep the bloody reel on. I have had to tie the two catches together. Any clues?
maccaril
08-01-2008, 07:23 AM
Gee that Darryl is a great Skipper
08-01-2008, 10:39 AM
Gee that Darryl is a great Skipper
sounds like it is your turn next Rob!!
chief
08-01-2008, 03:06 PM
Wow, 950 points mate. Mate used to fish with ANSA in the 80s . Interested to know what do they give as a fighting factor to the threadies. A fantastic fish on any line but 2kg pretest, you'd have to be dam happy with that capture.Deffinantly a talking point at that next meeting.Congradulations
kingtin
08-01-2008, 05:47 PM
Jeremy, you're a nutter! The only thing 2lb test is for for is dental floss ;)
You're a champ mate. Well done.
Nice action and beaut rod for the job on 2 kg line. I am not happy with the sliding reel seat arrangement. Can't keep the bloody reel on. I have had to tie the two catches together. Any clues?
Hi J
Sounds like a fault perhaps with the rod? Maybe you should take it back and get them to look at it. Never had an issue with my 2 fortunately...
Take Care T
3rd degree
08-01-2008, 10:42 PM
Jeremy,
thats a deadset cracker on 2kg!
James
09-01-2008, 06:48 AM
fighting factor for the threadies is 1.9. The factor is based on both the fighting ability and how hard it is to find and hook the fish, but IMHO they are nowhere near a 1.9 compared to other species. The fight is clean and they do not have too much stamina or even speed. Still a great sportfish for the size and look and they are still a good fight.
maccaril
09-01-2008, 08:12 PM
Will talk to you at the meeting on Wed, but guys that fish other areas of the river only use 50lb braid as the fish swim out to the middle of the river initially but go hard at coffee rock when brought close to land
Maybe the area we fish is a bit more freindly, dont forget Darryl got buried on one of his runs
gone_phishin
10-01-2008, 04:59 PM
Great fish Jeremy!! Should be a fine addition to your Top Ten for this year!
Geoff
BLOOEY
10-01-2008, 05:57 PM
fighting factor for the threadies is 1.9. The factor is based on both the fighting ability and how hard it is to find and hook the fish, but IMHO they are nowhere near a 1.9 compared to other species. The fight is clean and they do not have too much stamina or even speed. Still a great sportfish for the size and look and they are still a good fight.
Were you fishing deep water. I ask because the two i have hooked in shallow water have absolutely hammered across the surfrace like a torpedo and got massively airborne and then tried to get me around the nearest structure. Sounds like they may behave differently in the shallow stuff. Ben
Jimbo73
10-01-2008, 07:07 PM
I know my fish isnt as big as your one Jeremy . i said fish nothing else:P .But as Blooey said, mine was hooked on shallow ground at low tide and the speed that the fish was moving was like a torpedo like Blooey said and acrobatics when first hooked as well. definately no slug and totally buggered itself before coming in. was hard to get her going again but swam away nicely after few minutes. Im going chasing another tommorow with success i hope.
11-01-2008, 06:24 AM
That is interesting to read Ben and Lizard Wizard. The stuff Gavin Dunne has written has said the same thing, but very different from my experience. The four I have caught have all been hooked in 8-10 m on the edge of a dropoff and all headed out to deeper water on the first run. I have a theory that the heavier your drag setting/line class, the harder the fish (any fish) will fight. Hookup location (jaw, gut etc) might also play a part?