View Full Version : Pine River session that wasn't

mad_pierre06
05-01-2008, 01:52 PM
Well, this was the plan. Following forecast of possible early morning shower clearing through the morning, up at 5 to head out near the Hornibrook to catch the last of the in and first of the out. I had wired up one of the crab pot frames i made a few years back ( 800 x 500 x 450 mm, 6mm round hard drawn steel ), and was keen to walk it to a spot under the mangroves. Lobbing a prawn or two around the 'groves for bream or whatever needed a feed, and on the second rod i was planning to throw a pilly or two out to let 'em wash over the sand banks. By now i was hoping to be cleaning up some nice bream around the 30 - 35cm mark, a coupla nice pan sized lizards, and maybe have a muddie or two cooking in the pot.

What went wrong! ::) Stayed up late as daughter was fairly unsettled, eventually crashed around 1.30. This was ok. Woke around 5.30, a little later than planned. This is were things went askew. Wife wakes and asks, "where are you going" ( reality sinks in that in the excitement of wetting a line after the rain, i had neglected to advise my dear better half of my plans).

"Well, i'm heading off the catch a fish, remember i told you yesterday arvo". ( tried to bluff my way through).

"Sorry, i need you to help me clean up the laundry/storage facility. Then i was hoping you'd help me rearrange Brett's (the young bloke) room, and clear away all the growth that's started to envelope the shed over the last couple months. Can you go next week"?

So i sit here now, thinking of the session that coulda been, shoulda been. And can't get out this arvo, am heading off at 3.30 to work at the soccer. The best laid plans of mice,eh. ;D I might duck down there early in the a.m., get a couple hours in before i head off to church.

Flattie Assassin
05-01-2008, 03:46 PM
Pussy whipped!!! :whip:

DC
05-01-2008, 04:11 PM
"Sorry, i need you to help me clean up the laundry/storage facility. Then i was hoping you'd help me rearrange Brett's (the young bloke) room, and clear away all the growth that's started to envelope the shed over the last couple months. Can you go next week"?
Couldn't/Shouldn't you have been doing those jobs while the weather was cr@p?

LOL.

corby12
05-01-2008, 05:36 PM
you need t stand your ground and tell her your going weather she likes it or not. i fish 3 or 4 times a week. but all jokes aside im just very lucky to have a great wife that is happy for me to fish , she even comes out a fair bit as well. but good luck next weekend and hope the fishing is better than this week wld have been.

P.S dont tell the wife what i said joe lol

jim_bream
05-01-2008, 05:36 PM
well, even after a marathon sesh at the Jubilee Hotel last night I managed to drag my sorry @ss down to wet a line today in the pine. man, it was tough going and HOT! Heaps of boats towing waterskiers, up and down, up and down, up and down.... shoulda taken the long gaff.
Anyhoo, flicked some lazer pro's, towadi's, lazy ikes, assorted soft plastics and prawn.
End result, 1 bream 22cm.
Came home and am getting into some lovely cold refreshing hair of the dog... hic!

jaredluke
05-01-2008, 06:51 PM

I would have said something along the lines of "Can't the shed and rom wait till next week. Nah mate anyway I haven't heard of any good reports yet. There was nothing happening much today at Scarbie Reef.

Lapras
05-01-2008, 08:57 PM

Have to agree, but you aint alone !!!

Too much fresh in the Pine yesterday so tomorrow morning if it stays fine may be OK.

Good luck with it on both fronts.

mad_pierre06
05-01-2008, 11:08 PM

:D Yeah, you're probably right there. She's pretty easy going, to be honest. I think she was narky at getting woken without any prior warning. Generally she has no worries if i say i'm heading for a fish, it's not her cup of tea.

And to be honest i was probably overestimating my possible successes. Gonna head for a more realistic session early in morning.

Couldn't/Shouldn't you have been doing those jobs while the weather was cr@p?

You know how it is, why put off today.........

zigfreed
05-01-2008, 11:42 PM
You know how it is, why put off today.........[/quote]

Pierre

Have you had two weeks off and left this till the last minute? If so no wonder she got the cranks.

Every rainy day at home doing stuff should be banked for a day of good fishing......................