bballfisho
05-01-2008, 11:59 AM
gday all,
went for a sesh with some mates in the pouring rain from 3 till 7 down at the ol faithful brisbane river in hope to pick up a shark or a thready. we were slightly diappointed in not catching a shark of getting any shark hits but the catching nearly 40 other fish kept us entertained. out of the many sessions in the river weve done this one was by far the most action packed even if the fish quality was down.
although many of the fish were not the biggest most were caught on 4pd to 8pd on some dodgy gear. we made the mistake of leaving all our better gear up the coast with the boat. luckily we found some gear in the garage that was up to the task.
we got there at 3 and chucked out a few 4pd cattie lines with mullet fillet whilst my brother cast netted a heap live prawns, a few biddies and bout 5 undersize bream. the greatest surprise occurred wen he chucked the net in a new spot a he pull it up he see a few praws kicking inside and thought there was heaps more because it was heavy and was flickin around. much to our surprise up comes a nice flattie. first 1 weve seen. in flesh. in the river. he was of nice size too around 45-50cm. since were not the type to eat from the river (spoilt from eating mostly reefies and tings) we sent the fella back into the drink. we soon got live prawns out there and a couple of small live catties on shark rigs. from then on a stream of small to medium size catties scoffed the prawns and we ended up landing about 15 before running out of prawns. as the tide cam in the prawns were soon everywhere and we had no trouble catching plenty of liveys and sent em back out. something hit the prawn hard on 4 pd and had a bit more kick than the slightly sluggsih catties. up pops a 32cm bream quick foto and back he went. we threw a few lines into the shallows and proceeded to bring in the bream (great fun on 4pd) we ended up with about 6-7 legals to 30cm plus the 32cm and 6-7 just unders. my mate also managed to hook something more substantial in the shallows that after a short but powerful fite managed to brick him and wrap his line around a crab pot. whilst snagged we could still feel the fish attached and after a while broke it off when it was evident it would swim out. we suspected a cod. but if we were in a different river i would have thought it maybe to be a jack. because if been bricked by jacks before that was pretty similar. altho i do know cod have been caught in the area we fish so we assumed it was one.
seeing as there was soo many prawns in the water we thought there should be a few threadys around as we spoke my brothers line went off in the holder. thinkin it was another catty he let a mate pull it in. it wasnt until the fish did the tell thready thing and swim in a big arc and pull a bit of line did he realise it wasnt a catty. up pops a nice lil thready of about 1.25 kg. a great sign to see that small threadys are being found in the river aswel!. my bro is the only 1 of us who hasnt caught a thready and he was already pissed off caus he had to dive in after the castnet wen it wasnt looped round his wrist one time . lol.
10 mins later my lil baitcaster goes off and its fighting like a thready again. much to my delite. and my brothers(to a lesser extent) up pop a lil thready of round the 3 pound mark. on light string. great fun!!. a couple of catties later and one big one round 3kg there was no more threadys and i was nearly time to head home as the rani was getting heavier and everything in our lil pop tent was getting wet. wen BANG! the live cattie on the sharking gear gets hammered . we quickly pulled all the other lines in while my bro fought this thing. it wasnt running as hard a a shark usually would it was just heavy and pulled in short bursts. much to ur disapointment a big fat lump of vermin surfaces. a v large pike eel. we recken it was nearly 5 feet long. it was a big sucker. using 3 set of pliers to hold this evil beasts mouth open and secure we finally manage to get the hooks out but not after sever very purposeful lunges towards our fingers. nasty bastards. so we packed up and left jus as ther rain was beginning to get painfully heavy.
final tally- 20 or so catties to 3kg, aroun 15 bream to 32cm, 2 thready, one nice flattie, big pike eel and one bust off
AND ALL FISH RELEASED IN GOOD CONDITION!!!!
pics to come of best fish
cheers bballfisho
went for a sesh with some mates in the pouring rain from 3 till 7 down at the ol faithful brisbane river in hope to pick up a shark or a thready. we were slightly diappointed in not catching a shark of getting any shark hits but the catching nearly 40 other fish kept us entertained. out of the many sessions in the river weve done this one was by far the most action packed even if the fish quality was down.
although many of the fish were not the biggest most were caught on 4pd to 8pd on some dodgy gear. we made the mistake of leaving all our better gear up the coast with the boat. luckily we found some gear in the garage that was up to the task.
we got there at 3 and chucked out a few 4pd cattie lines with mullet fillet whilst my brother cast netted a heap live prawns, a few biddies and bout 5 undersize bream. the greatest surprise occurred wen he chucked the net in a new spot a he pull it up he see a few praws kicking inside and thought there was heaps more because it was heavy and was flickin around. much to our surprise up comes a nice flattie. first 1 weve seen. in flesh. in the river. he was of nice size too around 45-50cm. since were not the type to eat from the river (spoilt from eating mostly reefies and tings) we sent the fella back into the drink. we soon got live prawns out there and a couple of small live catties on shark rigs. from then on a stream of small to medium size catties scoffed the prawns and we ended up landing about 15 before running out of prawns. as the tide cam in the prawns were soon everywhere and we had no trouble catching plenty of liveys and sent em back out. something hit the prawn hard on 4 pd and had a bit more kick than the slightly sluggsih catties. up pops a 32cm bream quick foto and back he went. we threw a few lines into the shallows and proceeded to bring in the bream (great fun on 4pd) we ended up with about 6-7 legals to 30cm plus the 32cm and 6-7 just unders. my mate also managed to hook something more substantial in the shallows that after a short but powerful fite managed to brick him and wrap his line around a crab pot. whilst snagged we could still feel the fish attached and after a while broke it off when it was evident it would swim out. we suspected a cod. but if we were in a different river i would have thought it maybe to be a jack. because if been bricked by jacks before that was pretty similar. altho i do know cod have been caught in the area we fish so we assumed it was one.
seeing as there was soo many prawns in the water we thought there should be a few threadys around as we spoke my brothers line went off in the holder. thinkin it was another catty he let a mate pull it in. it wasnt until the fish did the tell thready thing and swim in a big arc and pull a bit of line did he realise it wasnt a catty. up pops a nice lil thready of about 1.25 kg. a great sign to see that small threadys are being found in the river aswel!. my bro is the only 1 of us who hasnt caught a thready and he was already pissed off caus he had to dive in after the castnet wen it wasnt looped round his wrist one time . lol.
10 mins later my lil baitcaster goes off and its fighting like a thready again. much to my delite. and my brothers(to a lesser extent) up pop a lil thready of round the 3 pound mark. on light string. great fun!!. a couple of catties later and one big one round 3kg there was no more threadys and i was nearly time to head home as the rani was getting heavier and everything in our lil pop tent was getting wet. wen BANG! the live cattie on the sharking gear gets hammered . we quickly pulled all the other lines in while my bro fought this thing. it wasnt running as hard a a shark usually would it was just heavy and pulled in short bursts. much to ur disapointment a big fat lump of vermin surfaces. a v large pike eel. we recken it was nearly 5 feet long. it was a big sucker. using 3 set of pliers to hold this evil beasts mouth open and secure we finally manage to get the hooks out but not after sever very purposeful lunges towards our fingers. nasty bastards. so we packed up and left jus as ther rain was beginning to get painfully heavy.
final tally- 20 or so catties to 3kg, aroun 15 bream to 32cm, 2 thready, one nice flattie, big pike eel and one bust off
AND ALL FISH RELEASED IN GOOD CONDITION!!!!
pics to come of best fish
cheers bballfisho