View Full Version : new estuary setup??
chris_lure_man
02-01-2008, 06:13 PM
hey i am keen to up grade one of my setups in the next few weeks and am thinking of a daiwa sol or advantage and a Loomis??
any recommendations i will be chasing bream, flathead,whiting and other estuary species all on lures??
cheers to any one who replies
hodaddy_11
02-01-2008, 06:22 PM
i would have to go with the loomis drop shot and the advantage
Leighton
02-01-2008, 06:31 PM
Loomis or Egrell S2
marty+jojo
02-01-2008, 06:43 PM
I have a daiwa sol 2000 and it is a great reel, i have caught heaps of bream, flathead and squire also a 72cm snapper that went 4kgs. It is loaded with 6 pound fireline, the drag is strong and smooth. I have it on an E.Grell S2 (2-4KG) 7 foot rod. It is a great combo. I also own two Loomis rods and i reckon the E.Grell is just as good if not better.
Marty.
Need to change this, best snapper on sol is now 6.75kg and 88cm;D ;D ;D
Marty.
killitfillit
02-01-2008, 07:03 PM
carefully match the gear to the job it will be doing most of the time.i have a loomis sjr781 gl2 6'6''light with a sustain 1000fe and 6pound crystal fireline and 8 pound yamatoyo leader and use it for light hardbodies and small plastics for bream.it is perfect up the creeks and casts well in the open.it also loads up nice with big bream and still has enough grunt to control fish.stiff enough to work poppers and hard bodies yet soft enough to cast light ones.great combo and i have had a few
simool-awiad
02-01-2008, 07:51 PM
LOOMIS has a great range but if your budget allows i would suggest going for something in the IMX or even better GLX range,they really are a pleasure to use i also own a couple of e grells and they are worth a look as specially the new bear range if IMX or GLX are a bit out of your price range.smith also make some pretty mean light rods but not cheep!.As far as reels go they may not be the best reel on the market but don`t overlook the diawa capricorns,i have one and also some much more expensive reels but i still love the capricorn.I have had it for a fair while and it`s still just as smooth as the day i bought it.You can pick these up on e bay for under $150 brand new.maybe a slightly cheaper reel can allow for a better rod. In saying that i have heard a lot of good reports on the sol also so that is up to you to decide. hope i havn`t confused you to much,good luck with it mate ,it can be a hard decision i know but do yourself a favour and have a :vrolijk_1: look on e bay!
corby12
02-01-2008, 07:52 PM
go the sol, i have 2 and will never look back
BAR UP
02-01-2008, 08:08 PM
Gday chris_lure_man, i have a sol 2000 on a 2-4 daiwa procaster & reckon it's a shit hot match. I use 3lb stren microfuse with 6lb fluro leader.
abbot_86
04-01-2008, 10:39 AM
i think your on the money with the loomis and sol mate:D . but have you thought of giveing the nitro rods a shot?? just a thought
Leighton
04-01-2008, 10:42 AM
had a bit of a fiddle with a TD Advantage rod yesterday, for the money they are pretty sweet
abbot_86
04-01-2008, 10:48 AM
had a bit of a fiddle with a TD Advantage rod yesterday, for the money they are pretty sweet
captain i did the same and was impressed also. hard to go past that one. very good price
chris_lure_man
08-01-2008, 05:46 PM
thanks heaps everyone for the imput
mitch_lureassasin
08-01-2008, 07:20 PM
go the sol and the loomis dropshot chris