View Full Version : Fraser 1st Timer!
dsh1970
02-01-2008, 03:01 PM
Have had a read through the previous posts, plenty of good advice there. Heading to Fraser next week with family to Kingfisher and plan to put the 4wd on the sand for the first time. Can you get to most of the interesting spots without too much fuss, any recommended spots for the kids, have heard about a blue water lake, fast flowing stream for swimming in? Best spot to get a 4wd track map? Any advice appreciated.
02-01-2008, 05:20 PM
Just came back from fraser. The road in and out of kingfisher is pretty bad at the moment, the surface is hard but it is up and down. When returning I would cross over the the other side of the track for the last 2 humps before the bitumen.
Everywhere inland is in pretty good nick, the beaches may be questionable due to the recent wind and wave action.
For swimming the 2 most common spots are lake McKenzie and Eli Creek, and both are worth your time visiting.
Other notable spots worth a look are Central Station, Lake Boomajin, Lake Allom, Lake Wabbie, Indian Head. There are plenty of other spots too. You can download a mudmap from the EPA website which is sufficient for the island. Also worth taking a look at the conditions report from EPA website. IF you are after a better map grab a copy of the Sunmap Fraser island map which can be had from BCF or Anaconda or your local camping store.
whynott
02-01-2008, 05:42 PM
Good luck up there.
Hope the weather improves for you.
If the weather picks up, you will have a lot of fun.
Don't forget to drop your tyre pressures.
Graham.
darylive
02-01-2008, 07:30 PM
Tyres down to 20PSI mate and go steady. you'll be right. ;)There is no need to go flat out like you see some lunatics. If it looks dodgy go 2nd in low range and go steady, the trick is just to keep moving don't race it. back off to stop don't brake in soft sand unless you have to or you will be digging it out. Accelerate slowly or you will dig in. Steady as she goes is the secret and watch the temp guage. The rule is avoid 2hours either side of high tide.
;D
You will probably come out at Eurong, check out the surf bar hidden behind the shop, it's more 'Island' than the flashy big resort bar. Then head Nth to 'Happy Valley' pub, a nice spot for a refreshing beverage. But take an esky or plenty of spending money.
:'(
Go for a walk up Indian Head for a look it is worth the hike to look ::) down the Island and be able to look down into the water; if conditions are good you can see Manta rays, turtles, sharks etc. If you are lucky enough to be there when there is a school of bait fish you can see the sharks feeding through them :o. There is really nothing much to see north of there, just more of the same, nothing at Orchid beach anymore.
At this time the East coast is closed due to gale force winds :'( but it might ease by next week. Good luck
8-)
dsh1970
02-01-2008, 11:13 PM
Thanks guys, that's great advice. Another question, if the eastern side is still closed or not drivable can you still get to Indian Head / Eli Creek / the wreck via inland tracks?
03-01-2008, 09:12 PM
As far as i know most of the eastern side was not drivable due to the low pushing the tides up, given the latest low off brissie i would expect things are not better yet . From memory you can get up near eli and indain head via inland track but most of the small tracks are closed to general traffic now and are signed as fire breaks only. The beach is the best way to go if possible.
I dont know when you booked in but it is worth noting that the EPA is not issuing new permits for camping as yet. I highly recommend that you visit the EPA website here:
https://www.epa.qld.gov.au/projects/park/index.cgi?parkid=1
and the conditions report here:
https://www.epa.qld.gov.au/publications/p01663aa.pdf/Fraser_Island_conditions_report_last_updated_3_Jan uary_2008.pdf
Jabba_
04-01-2008, 07:15 AM
You guys have not mentioned the champaign pools.... Top spot for a swim and fish off the rocks... It the next headland after Indian Head...
dsh1970
05-01-2008, 01:41 PM
Looking Better -
"Camp grounds on Fraser Island are being re-opened.
Queensland Parks and Wildlife Service, in consultation with Emergency Management Queensland, have assessed the situation following a significant improvement in the weather and ground conditions and a favourable long range weather forecast.
Beach driving is now possible with great care on the eastern beaches on Fraser Island, except for the beach around Hook Point which remains impassable.
Beach driving should be attempted only one hour each side of low tide as road and beach conditions are still difficult in some areas. "
castlemaine
05-01-2008, 10:01 PM
Careful of Hire 4WD and buses on blind corners on inland tracks. Follow ranger instructions given to you on arrival re: dingoes, or you may end up with a fine. Envious of you as I have to go back to work next week. Good fish to be had off the jetty at Kingfisher. Let us know how you get along. Cheers.
dsh1970
05-01-2008, 10:36 PM
Staying at Kingfisger...good fish off the jetty, now you're talking, day/night...what's a 'good fish'?
05-01-2008, 10:52 PM
Looking Better -
"Camp grounds on Fraser Island are being re-opened.
Queensland Parks and Wildlife Service, in consultation with Emergency Management Queensland, have assessed the situation following a significant improvement in the weather and ground conditions and a favourable long range weather forecast.
Beach driving is now possible with great care on the eastern beaches on Fraser Island, except for the beach around Hook Point which remains impassable.
Beach driving should be attempted only one hour each side of low tide as road and beach conditions are still difficult in some areas. "
I went home via hook point, and I reckon that there was 1-2 hours left before it became completely impossible. I think that was the 28th. I ended up having to drive up on the dunes near the end.
dsh1970
12-01-2008, 09:15 PM
...2 out of 5 days fine, saw most of what was recommended above, simply awesome. Took advice on 4wd tips above and all went well, only one near head on. Our 11 year old was also 1 metre from being hit by a tool doing high speed on main beach, happened as he walked from the car down to surf, neither seemed to see each other? The jetty did the job, my 1st ever jewie after 3 nights trying, though couldn't catch a squid. Thanks again to all of you .