View Full Version : Hot session!!!!
simool-awiad
29-12-2007, 07:35 PM
Fished plastics in a great spot yesterday the pair of us had a ball catching over 20 good size fish all up we caught about about 8 cod and only 2 were rats,3 snapper between 55-58 cm,5 flathead two oversize,1 broad barred mackeral,3 solid bream and three big tailoir between 2.6 and 3.7 kg.also we lost some real smokers! HOPE THIS PHOTO WORKS IF IT DOES I WILL SEND SOME MORE.
BILLSMITH
29-12-2007, 08:02 PM
good on ya mate, some nice feeds there. what area were you fishing? have a good1 bill.......
Pistol_P
29-12-2007, 08:03 PM
Some excellent quality fish there mate.
That Mackeral isnt a spaniard though....Its a broad barred mackeral....
Well done.
nuggstar
29-12-2007, 08:07 PM
wow thats a awsome mix bag mate. realy well done
simool-awiad
29-12-2007, 08:09 PM
Got the photos sussed now.here is a few more.
simool-awiad
29-12-2007, 08:20 PM
Thanks pete.
bobby26
29-12-2007, 08:34 PM
hey mate nice fish were u located
Silent
29-12-2007, 08:46 PM
I'm guessing those fish caught at west side of our belove country right?
Because I can tell on sea so clamer than our present sea! also XSO tailors are easier catch there...
Top catch although...
simool-awiad
29-12-2007, 08:55 PM
I'm guessing those fish caught at west side of our belove country right?
Because I can tell on sea so clamer than our present sea! also XSO tailors are easier catch there...
Top catch although...
As much as i would love to give my spot away,i would be stupid to do so .All i can say is it is much closer than you think ,south east qld in fact sure aint WA thats for sure.start streching your thoughts through the morton bay area. oh yeh squidgy fish don`t work really well either,especially 80mm in gold.the tailor keep bitting the tails off em:'(
loophole
29-12-2007, 08:56 PM
nice fish where from?
sandbankmagnet
29-12-2007, 09:39 PM
wow massive tailor! awesome!
if you're releasing the big flatty, you might want to support it's body weight a bit better, but since you won't tell us where you fished, I'll assume it was a legal one to keep.
nice haul.
loophole
29-12-2007, 09:45 PM
deffinently not seqld
simool-awiad
29-12-2007, 09:53 PM
wow massive tailor! awesome!
if you're releasing the big flatty, you might want to support it's body weight a bit better, but since you won't tell us where you fished, I'll assume it was a legal one to keep.
nice haul.
mate you have a good point and yes the big girls were released,i am actually quite big on catch and release myself.but my mate doesn`t fish a lot, we got a photo and put her back in the water asap.She swam away no worries.
simool-awiad
29-12-2007, 11:23 PM
deffinently not seqld
If you choose not to believe that is your problem but i tell nothing but the truth ,SOUTH EAST QUEENSLAND! 20 minutes from home if you must know but that is about all you will get out of me sorry.Next you will be trying to say i caught the thready up north somewhere i suppose?::)
Leighton
29-12-2007, 11:42 PM
Nice fish mate, some late season tailor
Scorpion1080
29-12-2007, 11:52 PM
You cannot say something like.. "somewhere off sunshine coast or gold coast" because that would be giving away your spot?
get real!!
30-12-2007, 12:47 AM
Full credit to you guys, I think most of us are still rubbing our eyes thinking we are seeing things......
You've started a new drama series not unlike a murder mystery... I wonder where they went considering the way the weather is????::)
Enjoy!
reelemin1974
30-12-2007, 06:54 AM
Its def not SEQ....I can tell because of the salinity in the water of the photos, and its def. a different sky then what we see here.....and theres no way someone else can catch a fish when I can't....and,and,and,and cause I said so!!
Good fish mate.
I don't get people who have to say someone is lying, I think that means they must lie a lot as they can't believe anyone as they know the *rap they always speak.
Tri-Kun
30-12-2007, 07:14 AM
holy i though i had a hot session, but yours is even hotter great stuff guys. dont mind me asking where about you fished
SWANY22
30-12-2007, 07:28 AM
top fish there guys well done.
simool-awiad
30-12-2007, 08:05 AM
Its def not SEQ....I can tell because of the salinity in the water of the photos, and its def. a different sky then what we see here.....and theres no way someone else can catch a fish when I can't....and,and,and,and cause I said so!!
Good fish mate.
I don't get people who have to say someone is lying, I think that means they must lie a lot as they can't believe anyone as they know the *rap they always speak.
Good point there mate i think you hit the nail on the head.Iam so tempted to give away my spot as everyone would be amazed but that would be silly.you can be sure of one thing though,it is in morton bay and a lot closer to shore than most are probably thinking,i only own a 4 meter boat.:dankk2:
Silent
30-12-2007, 08:22 AM
As much as i would love to give my spot away,i would be stupid to do so .All i can say is it is much closer than you think ,south east qld in fact sure aint WA thats for sure.start streching your thoughts through the morton bay area. oh yeh squidgy fish don`t work really well either,especially 80mm in gold.the tailor keep bitting the tails off em:'(
No worries and keep your a big X spot and keep up report...
30-12-2007, 08:31 AM
Dude they are some serious tailor. top stuff.
Tell em you caught them at Luggage Pt.
manchild
30-12-2007, 08:48 AM
Good on ya mate.I got abused on another thread for going out in the conditions we have,but here is proof .Well done again.
George
simool-awiad
30-12-2007, 08:52 AM
You cannot say something like.. "somewhere off sunshine coast or gold coast" because that would be giving away your spot?
get real!!
Who said it was off any coast not me you need to get your facts straight,could have been of the bank you wouldn`t know.
masterdusky
30-12-2007, 08:57 AM
some quality tailor mate, great mixed bag also :D
well done.
30-12-2007, 10:09 AM
It doesn't matter where you caught them, but that flatty is bl@@dy huge. Well done on the other stonker fish.
Your photographing skills are pretty good too. For those who don't know ...if you hold the fish closer to the camera (without showing arms stretched out), they do look bigger.
Anyway top effort guys and I wish I was out there with you.
84mick
30-12-2007, 10:23 AM
Dont give spoy X away mate! Some awesome fish there, did you only use SP's if so what kinds?
Cheers, Mick. ;)
simool-awiad
30-12-2007, 10:35 AM
It doesn't matter where you caught them, but that flatty is bl@@dy huge. Well done on the other stonker fish.
Your photographing skills are pretty good too. For those who don't know ...if you hold the fish closer to the camera (without showing arms stretched out), they do look bigger.
Anyway top effort guys and I wish I was out there with you.
thats the golden rule in fish photography so say the eggsperts,im no pro but holding the fish out a bit not so much makes the fish look bigger but sometimes it can show tru size a bit better as it is hard to do the fish justice with a photo most of the time.another tip i was told is to fill the photo as much as possible with the fish and the angler and to keep everything in the centre of the pic,also have the sun in front not behind. if the day wasn`t so overcast we would have needed to turn around the other way,oh thats right we were in w.a. weren`t we.:lost:
30-12-2007, 10:48 AM
Some good fish there mate. If you have a honey hole 20 mins from home that can produce like that that in this sort of weather then I would be keeping it quiet too
Well done
A bit of background on technique and tackle would be nice
simool-awiad
30-12-2007, 10:50 AM
Dont give spoy X away mate! Some awesome fish there, did you only use SP's if so what kinds?
Cheers, Mick. ;)
all we used all morning was soft plastics yes,squidgy fish 80mm in gold also caught a few on other plastics but the squidgies were the standout on most fish that is for sure ,they just can`t resist that big paddle tail.1/4 oz nitro`s were the jigheads we used mainly but we started on 1/6 before the run picked up to much.:dankk2:
Leighton
30-12-2007, 11:18 AM
another tip on taking pics, if you get a honker flattie I was told to put a bend in the fish. Makes it look bigger
codz22
30-12-2007, 11:37 AM
some nice quality fish mate well done
legsy11
30-12-2007, 02:05 PM
awesome session.great tailor .keep your spot well an truly xxx and dont listen to some of the tossers on here mate .just soak up the glory.
cheers mick
p.s was a great threadie.
jaredluke
30-12-2007, 02:31 PM
Nice fish mate. That mackeral is a good sized and those cod are a good size.
2DKnBJ
30-12-2007, 03:37 PM
Some damn nice fish.
When the the weather is the way it is at the moment it is not uncommon for fish to head inside to calmer waters.
Looks to be inside Moreton or maybe Amity.Is that the Combie in the background of the pic with the flatty?
Cheers Dazza
plaztix
30-12-2007, 03:40 PM
Your getting amongst some very nice fish mate. Keep up the reports.
Haven't seen a quality mixed bag like that for quite a while. I can think of quite a few places that are only 20 minutes from shore in these conditions but only 2 of them would produce all that variety.
This weather is going to stir things up big time and i think that we might be in for some cracker sessions once the wind drops.:P:P
robersl
30-12-2007, 04:10 PM
Its not that they don,t believe you it the fact it hasbeen blowing 20-50 kn in brisbane and the surrounds for 3 days now and water in back ground is not rough. people are not asking for your spot just want to know if brisbane gold coast sydney where
shane
Nico.d.R
30-12-2007, 04:28 PM
great work jason , when are you taking me out for a fish ? just let me know so i can book my plane ticket to WA ;D , doest it cost much to fly from brissy to wa ::)
marty+jojo
30-12-2007, 04:58 PM
Those tailor are awesome, they would have gone hard. The only places i can think of in the bay that would be protected like that would be in the southern bay, around the islands Mcleay, Lamb, Karragarra etc or maybe tucked in close at wello...
Don't tell anyone mate, keep em guessing.
Marty.
petelaska
31-12-2007, 07:55 AM
We also caught a few xos tailor around the top of Moreton Island A week before Xmass
chrisallangler
31-12-2007, 01:44 PM
Awsome bag mate alot of variation in the species, good to see a few getting out in these conditions.
Absolutley AWESOME Tailor there fella's!
I certainly wouldn't be revealing that Spot X to anyone either, but you can PM me if you like and i'll guard it for you like a hawk!! :-X
Take Care T
PS: You may want to check your camera or photo editing software out... the 2nd pick in your first post (with the Snapper) shows the horizon on a different angle to your left as opposed to the right and the light appears to be brighter on one side... your lens may need cleaning on one side perhaps?
Dorado
01-01-2008, 09:26 AM
Some horse fish there guys! Bloody great catch indeed. Now tell us all where the heck you really got them from! j/k ;)
Dorado
simool-awiad
01-01-2008, 03:53 PM
Some horse fish there guys! Bloody great catch indeed. Now tell us all where the heck you really got them from! j/k ;)
Dorado
mate i know it is hard to believe but it`s true.if someone else had of posted a report like mine a couple of weeks ago i would have found it just as hard to believe so i can understand where you are comeing from .the best part about it is like a lot of people i have just gone on the first two weeks off i have had for a very long time and my plan was to fish every day i could and fish a lot of places i have been wanting to have a look at for a while,when i saw the outlook i couldn`t believe it.My first thought was great, i could just picture myself catching nothing the whole time,then i saw a slight break in the weather and decided to give this spot another go while i have the chance.the weather wasn`t the greatest but it allowed me to fish it.I have caught fish there before but nothing like that!must have been in the right place at the right time.anyhow i havn`t done much in the way of fishing since but i got my fix so even if i don`t catch another fish for the rest of my time off i will be content.WILL BE OUT FIRST CHANCE I GET BUT!!!!!!!
Fish_gutz
01-01-2008, 04:26 PM
thats a top mix of fish. well done and hope you get more sessions like that.
Nice healthy bag there mate, good to see somone getting stuck into them.
Dont blame you with keeping your hot spot hush, with that mixed bag it is obviously good ground.
barrajack84
02-01-2008, 09:50 AM
uh huh the photos give it all away! I seen the same clouds the other day when i was fishing at noosa. i am sure i seen you and nugg throwing towadis around that mourning! SPRUNG!!!
simool-awiad
02-01-2008, 11:33 AM
uh huh the photos give it all away! I seen the same clouds the other day when i was fishing at noosa. i am sure i seen you and nugg throwing towadis around that mourning! SPRUNG!!!
yeh mate yoy got mi,it`s amayzin wat you can catch on tham things,we also lost some metre queenies and about 20 jacks im getting sick of loosing thim thongs.
needmoretime
02-01-2008, 11:47 AM
Mate,
that is a great haul - congratulations - I wouldn't mind catching a mixed bag like that before heading back to work - hope the weather improves.
I too was hoping that maybe the weather would have stirred the fish up a bit for when the wind drops.
Well done.
NMT
barrajack84
02-01-2008, 10:05 PM
Just wondering if you and nugg have gotten back down to the hot spot yet? :ears:
reelemin1974
02-01-2008, 10:45 PM
Absolutley AWESOME Tailor there fella's!
I certainly wouldn't be revealing that Spot X to anyone either, but you can PM me if you like and i'll guard it for you like a hawk!! :-X
Take Care T
PS: You may want to check your camera or photo editing software out... the 2nd pick in your first post (with the Snapper) shows the horizon on a different angle to your left as opposed to the right and the light appears to be brighter on one side... your lens may need cleaning on one side perhaps?
Gotta say, after reading this comment i went back and checked the photo. I have to agree, there is a definite mis-alignment of the horizon and in extreme zoom a bit of a colour change around your outline, and to think I stood up for you...I feel.....violated ad I might just go and have a cry.:'(
simool-awiad
02-01-2008, 11:17 PM
Gotta say, after reading this comment i went back and checked the photo. I have to agree, there is a definite mis-alignment of the horizon and in extreme zoom a bit of a colour change around your outline, and to think I stood up for you...I feel.....violated ad I might just go and have a cry.:'(
all i think all old mate was trying to say was my lense needs cleaning i thought that is what he was getting at anyhow,unless i was suppose to take it adifferent way.but if what you are saying is for some reason i have edited the photo to try and fool people you re wrong.the only thing i would have done to that pic is shrink it so i could post it.that is the only thing i can think of that may have caused this as i always check the lense before photos.so don`t feel violated because you had good reason to stik up for me and i appreciate it too,cheerse.
mate dont worry like most forums ithis one is littered with f#$Kwits
top job
simool-awiad
03-01-2008, 07:12 PM
HEY B-J,that spot where you caught that big golden in your avatar lookes very familiar,it lookes like a spot down in tassi.I can tell by the look of the air for one and the other thing that gives it away is the bird flying in the back ground i can just make out when i zoom in.it`s one of those double headed,small breasted,long leged,one winged, pigon brain pelicans that are exclusive to that area.:hammer: SPRUNG!!!!!!!!!:smug: here is another photo by the way,thought i better edit this one,just in case the sky or the horizon give it away:alien:
smiley_doobinator
03-01-2008, 07:54 PM
Just a tip dont use layers when editing your photo's guys, the edit can be removed wih most good editing software. What can i say I'm a huge geek.
mangrove dan
04-01-2008, 11:20 AM
Good call 63eh.
Great report simool, looking forward to your next lot of pics.
Dan.
Nico.d.R
04-01-2008, 12:22 PM
hey jason the wind is looking like it will be between 5-10 knots most of this weekend , but off course if the weather is good my missus is working so i will only be able to do a afternoon/night fish , give us a yell if your interested in heading out .
Nico
Gator
04-01-2008, 12:32 PM
Well Done. Nice work.
greenie.77
04-01-2008, 01:05 PM
great day there well done
abbot_86
04-01-2008, 07:10 PM
good fish mate. tell em nuthin
bayfisher
04-01-2008, 07:29 PM
Maybe it was Murphy's or the house boat at peel ..................lol ;)
(there was one former ausfish members that has pulled some great catches from them ;D)
Great catch mate!
Cheers Chris
loophole
04-01-2008, 09:19 PM
who knows ?
mangrove rat
06-01-2008, 07:15 PM
i zoomed in on the reflection on his eyes and i reckon its the mouth of cabbage tree creek, i can see the jetty reflection in his pupils, great fish!
simool-awiad
07-01-2008, 01:02 PM
i zoomed in on the reflection on his eyes and i reckon its the mouth of cabbage tree creek, i can see the jetty reflection in his pupils, great fish!
good observation mangrove rat that probably is a jetty reflection or something like that anyhoow.very close guess but not close enough.keep thinking but?????cheerse mate:dizzy:(and the saga goes on )