View Full Version : Great little break at Evans

29-12-2007, 08:21 AM
While all you fellas have been complaining about the weather the cook and I had a pearler of a few days down at Evans.
We didn't mange to get the big boat wet but we had a ball up the creek.

The ramps were empty, the river was fairly boat free, the weather was good, the sounder was saying fish were around and the cook and I were going fishing. What more is there in life???::)

Day one saw us just drowning some fresh prawns from the bait shop.
We got lots and lots of smaller bream below the 250mm (0ver 250mm is the legal down there) and a few over the 270 mark.
Also a lot of flathead about with most in the 400mm range.
My dad and brother-in-law also went out in dad's boat (with live worms) and got some bream and good quality whiting.

The cook and I went late in the arvo to get some yabbi's for the next day.
Was a good expedition too except a boat load of drunkin' wankers sinking their boat near us and we had too try and save the boat.
We got the boat out OK but one of the wally's sunk it again somehow and that happened for the 3rd time.
I don't know how but the Yamaha (that I saw going under) started the second pull. How lucky were they.
We saw them going down again near the boat ramp but it was an outgoing tide so we let them be.
Their tinny had level floatation so they weren't going to go under.
And after that we thought we'd check out the bar.
Coming back another wally nearly ran over us.
The tinny was trimmed that badly he couldn't see out the front. Guess were we were??

The next day saw a small change of captures. We got whiting as well as the bream on the yabbi's and after a pretty good session we come home with another feed of whiting and bream (no flatties that day).

The next day saw a bit of rain coming in.
The cook got drenched (something about the wet-weather gear been sh--house or something like that) and got crook from the cold or a bug that was going around.
We went home with only 3 or 4 keepers that morning.
I took my dad though that arvo while the cook was sleeping and spewing etc and we boated lots of smaller fish with about 5 or 6 keepers.
He was using the good old worms and I was using yabbi's.
I caught more but he reckon I handicapped him by not having any red hooks onboard that he wanted to use. ;D
Dad got a stonker whiting though and had another bigger one let go at the boat's edge. Gees he was peeved. The language ;D

All in all a great few days with fish for tea.
I'm still amased with the performance of the little Honda.
In 3 days of ripping up and down the river we used a whopping 7litres of fuel.

There's no pictures of the fish because everyone's seen bream and whiting and the odd flatty or two on here so here's a picture of the boat ramp.
Nice hey?? No crowds and nice conditions 8-)

PS I was even able to give 'Junior' a real good tubbin' with the no water restrictions down there. Wasn't that a pleasant change :D

PPS the bait shop had these funny brightly coloured thingo's called Nuclear chooks and they're about 7 inches long. I was told to buy them all and take them back to Brisbane and resell the buggers. Apparently they're not that common up here??:-/
I dunno. I use prawns and yabbi's and good sticky stuff like that. They're everywhere 8-)

stonecold
29-12-2007, 08:33 AM
Ssshhh... ahh to late!

Glad to see you had a good time. Bad luck about the cook. It seems that bugs there year round. It did the rounds of the caravan park last xmas to.

Saw a simlar boat load of drunken w#@nkers there few weeks back. They dropped a few mates off on the sandbar across from the ramp with a 6 pack of bundy and cola. I had to pick up the empties on my way back to the ramp >:( .

Flattie Assassin
29-12-2007, 09:02 AM
Great report finga.

29-12-2007, 09:15 AM
Sounds like a good get away Finga.

Nice shot of ya hat mate. What you to ugly to have ya mug showin. ;D;D

29-12-2007, 09:25 AM
Goodonya Finga! :) Sounds like you had a great time. Great report! :)

2DKnBJ
29-12-2007, 02:30 PM
By the sound of it you had a good little break Finga.
Certainly is nice to get away from the crowds occasionly and you still got a few feeds.Pity about the Cook gettin' crook.Don't think she will let that go in a hurry.

Cheers Dazza

29-12-2007, 06:38 PM
Thanks guys.
The little break was great to say the least.

The good news is the cook's recovered. Looks like I get a decent feed tonight.
Guess what it is?? Yep, the last of the fish :D

Gees it knocked her around though. She didn't have a smoke for a day :)

Really sad thing is that my sister's 50th is in 2 weeks and nephews baptism is on the long week-end and they're all down that way so I might just have to stay for a week or 2 :D.
Bad bit is the cook has to work :(

29-12-2007, 06:59 PM
Nice shot of ya hat mate. What you to ugly to have ya mug showin. ;D;D

Nice hat hey ;D
And YES a bit embarrassed to have my picture taken. I'd forgot to shave 8-)