View Full Version : copeton dam yellas
bdowdy
27-12-2007, 08:12 PM
went for a day trip to copeton to catch up with some family who are camping there, dropped the kids off at the water slide and went for a fish;) , weather was all over the place raining then the sun would come out. met up with wamjam from this site after afew years of chatting FINALLY GOOD TO MEET HIM IN PERSON and even got afew fish.8-) sum
18180 great spot if any ones keen for a family holiday and afew fish thrown in. cheers bdowdy...brett
barra_mauler001
27-12-2007, 09:17 PM
Sounds like a nice spot and some nice yellas! Thanks for sharing
cheers barra
derfla
28-12-2007, 09:43 AM
geez bdowdy, that place looks like it could be hazardous with a little more water in it. do the edges mirror whats under the surface at the moment. nice yellas btw.
russ
rossco
28-12-2007, 11:28 AM
Nice scenery in the back ground there Brett, nice chunky yella's as well.
Getting closer now can't wait, I might have to buy another carton or two the way the weather looks .Will be in Tenterfield on Thursday the 3rd.
cheers rossco
bdowdy
28-12-2007, 01:00 PM
hi RUSS those boulders are everywhere and i hit one but hey thats were the fish are so thats were you fish,hi ROSSCO there was a38lb cod caught yesterday at the dam so there still chewing mate, youll be right, i might even stay over night so we can have abeer one night. thanks guys bdowdy..brett
fatboyfishing
28-12-2007, 01:35 PM
top fish
nice colour too
fatboy
wamjam
28-12-2007, 02:32 PM
Gday mate
I stuck with the bigger lures and got nothing again.Got chased home about cod o clock by a wet looking storm, just got the boat on the trailer and drove about 100mtrs and it p#ssed down. Anyway thats another fishless day closer to the big fella.
wamjam
bdowdy
28-12-2007, 02:58 PM
hi mate yeh i was leaving as it started it looked pretty bad, yeh the yellas were just starting to bite as i left,tryed to find you but couldnt see you,good to catch up and next time a few ales may be on the cards. cheers bdowdy...brett
rossco
28-12-2007, 03:52 PM
Your getting me excited now Brett. will be arriving on the 1st now & going to Tenterfield on wednesday the 2nd to pick up Jeremy's mate off the bus. A few ales sound good have been getting plenty of practice lately .
Only a matter of time wamjam, I'm still keen to meet you at Pindari if you have time.
cheers rossco
bdowdy
28-12-2007, 04:00 PM
hi rossco you can never have enough practice mate, im working nights till the 3rd but you can call in at home and say hi if you want , just ring me mate. cheers bdowdy.MIGHT EVEN HAVE ACOLD ONE IN THE FRIDGE.
wamjam
28-12-2007, 10:11 PM
Gday rossco
Mate Im starting to make a habit of making time so let me know the best day for you.
We got all our jobs finnished at work so I dont have go back untill the 2nd, Im devastated::) .
Might try and get out to Pindari on Monday ,last chance to get that metery for the year, sus it out and see what going on.
bdowdy dont work to hard mate.
wamjam
rossco
29-12-2007, 06:24 AM
I'll give you a ring Brett,bus arrives at 10.45am.
Wamjam any day after the 2nd will suit,5-6th is the weekend if your working after the 2nd.
cheers rossco
bdowdy
29-12-2007, 07:24 AM
WAMJAM that WORK word what is that, ok ROSSCO WILL SEE YA SOON. cheers bdowdy..brett
wamjam
29-12-2007, 09:04 AM
rossco
hows sunday the 6th ,lunch time till dark sound ?.
W#%k another one of those nasty four letter words:-[ .
wamjam
bdowdy
29-12-2007, 11:01 AM
like the new avatar wamjam.cheers bdowdy..brett
rossco
29-12-2007, 12:52 PM
Sunday 6th it is, I'll give you a ring about friday wamjam.
cheers rossco
wamjam
29-12-2007, 01:54 PM
Looking forward to it , might see you there bdowdy?.
wamjam
bdowdy
29-12-2007, 03:28 PM
sounds like agood day been wanting to fish this place for ages.cheers bdowdy
rossco
30-12-2007, 07:16 AM
Come over for the day Brett if you can.
rossco
bdowdy
30-12-2007, 08:27 AM
sounds like its a go rossco, hey wamjam is there still redfin in there. cheers bdowdy..brett
wamjam
30-12-2007, 09:46 AM
Mate I don't think there is as many as their used to be, plenty yellars and the odd speckly thow. Mate wait until winter and I'll take you to catch as many reddys as you want!.
wamjam
yellahunter
30-12-2007, 12:55 PM
great report Brett,
those fish are great colour too,
hey is it windy as out there...? down here on the coast its been blowing a gale for a week. Considering driving out for a shot at the yellas.
bdowdy
30-12-2007, 01:22 PM
mate it hasnt been too bad, overcast days then hot but today were starting to get the wind, be worth atrip once it dies down but there always abit of fun. cheers bdowdy...brett
bdowdy
30-12-2007, 01:27 PM
hi rossco and wamjam depending on weather ill be camping at glenlyon from friday the 4th and 5th and then meeting at pindari on the 6th, hey wamjam ill keep you to that REDFIN TRIP,keen to get back into afew reddys, heard malpas dam at gurya has agood population. cheers bdowdy..brett
rossco
30-12-2007, 04:05 PM
That will be good Brett, I hope the weather stays good for us.
rossco
wamjam
30-12-2007, 07:53 PM
Gday yella pretty windy here this arvo and an easterly is the worst but still hearing of the odd fish.
Rossco ,bdowdy if one of you has room for me to roll out a swag on sat the 5th ,I wouldn't mind going out to Glenlyon for the night and going back to Pindari sunday morning?.
wamjam
rossco
31-12-2007, 07:53 AM
Yes we would have some room for your swag wamjam. we can have a bbq saturday night & a few ales .
rossco
bdowdy
31-12-2007, 02:56 PM
sounds good lets hope the sun comes out,hey rossco is your wife still coming as mine wants to come also.cheers bdowdy...brett
wamjam
31-12-2007, 04:05 PM
OK rossco thanks ,hope the weather improves these easterlys suck.
wamjam
rossco
31-12-2007, 06:33 PM
Yes Brett, Fiona is going. We will on the road in the morning, hopefully 3 or 4 am.
Yes we don't need the wind.
rossco
bdowdy
03-01-2008, 08:12 PM
hi all went for aquick fish this morning with rossco and his young fella for acod well we got at least 6 fish and missed a few the boys were keen to get a cod on surface and i finally made there wish come true,rossco and jeremys mate got the first one and will probably post a report when they get back. good to see someone catching a fish and enjoying it. myself included. cheers bdowdy..brett
Bear001
06-01-2008, 09:43 AM
Well I hope you lot actually CAUGHT some fish.....cause geez you did a lot of talkin about it...ha
Bit sick of the easterly's over here too. Went out to Split Rock earlier in the week and by the time I came home, the whole dam was white cappers...fun...not.
Still managed to get a few yellows even in the wind. Went out yesterday in the rain and all I managed to get was a wet ####....and then spent an hour towing people out with a ski boat who didnt have a 4x4 to get out!!!!
But on a positive, got to give the new hornet trophy a run in the rough and loved it......really impressed.
Cindy
bdowdy
06-01-2008, 01:35 PM
hi cindy the weather turned to s#$#%t so we went nowhere, brigdes were under water and cold and wet, good to see kermit get a run in the rough stuff they handle it pretty well dont they.cheers bdowdy...brett
virty
08-01-2008, 07:14 PM
G'day there i have not been around for a while nice yella's brett....What lure's have you been throwing.
cheers virty
bdowdy
08-01-2008, 08:10 PM
hi virty been throwing the river to sea vibes,,, have been working and the ever reliable CHEAP berkley frenzys to get my fish. jackalls occasionally when i get really desperate for afish .. still scared losing 25 dollar lures to yellow belly. cheers bdowdy...brett